User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 130

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EdP.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Excellent game which provides real value for money. EA must be commended on their efforts for reviving a flagging skateboarding genre.
  2. NedB.
    Oct 17, 2007
    9
    This game is awesome! I had never played a skateboarding game before this and only downloaded the demo on a whim. It hooked me immediately and after it was released I've found it hard to play anything else. As someone new to the genre, I found the controls incredible intuitive with the 'right-stick' 'flick-it' actions. To people also unfamiliar with this genre, if This game is awesome! I had never played a skateboarding game before this and only downloaded the demo on a whim. It hooked me immediately and after it was released I've found it hard to play anything else. As someone new to the genre, I found the controls incredible intuitive with the 'right-stick' 'flick-it' actions. To people also unfamiliar with this genre, if a big part of your enjoyment of the GTA games was finding interesting places to jump your motorcycles and cars, then you'll LOVE this game. The city is full of challenging and crazy fun areas just begging to be jumped, ground, or bailed over. At the very least, download the demo. You won't be disappointed. The only element I wish they could've added was 'walking'. Sometimes you'll wish you could just walk up a set of stairs. Expand
  3. LiboWang
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    I give it a 10 to counter the comment below, skate tricks are much more intuitive and yet challenging than Tony Hawk. All my buddies that loved tony hawk and skated enjoy EA Skate so much more.
    [Nick D.] argues that Skate is easier/simpler.... I can't be sure but I suppose Nick has here never skated for real before. Even the ollie or the way you manual in Skate is a lot more
    I give it a 10 to counter the comment below, skate tricks are much more intuitive and yet challenging than Tony Hawk. All my buddies that loved tony hawk and skated enjoy EA Skate so much more.
    [Nick D.] argues that Skate is easier/simpler.... I can't be sure but I suppose Nick has here never skated for real before. Even the ollie or the way you manual in Skate is a lot more intuitive and sensitive(to failure) and takes much more mastery than just pressing specified buttons in certain combinations.

    You will never have the same feeling playing a video game and when you are skating, but "Skate" shortened that distance more than tony hawk ever did. After more than 5 (correct me if I'm wrong) Tony Hawk games, I think most people are sick of the crazy fly off 3 story building 5-0 onto handrail. If you are 12 (about how old I was when I got into Tony Hawk) then the insanity of the THPS tricks will awe you, if you are over it, then Skate is the right direction to go.
    Expand
  4. GastonH.
    Sep 20, 2007
    9
    Revolionary tp the genre. Playing THawk next to this feels tired and stilted. The twin sticks work wonders and truly emulate skateboarding in comparison to the farce that other games have made out of skateboarding. On top of that, it looks gorgeous, the city is huge and there is a ton of things to do! EA is focusing on quality rather than on quantity this year it seems!
  5. AarinP.
    Sep 3, 2007
    9
    With the innovative "Flick-It' control system, Skate goes beyond the button mashing, flip-grind-manual & repeat, skateboarding games, by making the player feel like they are controlling the board themselves. Skate feels like you are taking part in an actual skate video as you try to bust tricks, not only for points but for your visual satisfaction. As a skater myself, it would have With the innovative "Flick-It' control system, Skate goes beyond the button mashing, flip-grind-manual & repeat, skateboarding games, by making the player feel like they are controlling the board themselves. Skate feels like you are taking part in an actual skate video as you try to bust tricks, not only for points but for your visual satisfaction. As a skater myself, it would have been nice if addition tricks such as darkslides and Rodney Mullen-type flatland tricks were incorporated, however Skate does offer countless hours of trying to master a triple-flip over a 20 stair or switch big flip to blunt slide, late flip out. Peace Expand
  6. MattR.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    This is an awesome game with incredibly good controls. Now there's finally a skateboarding game that actually feels like skateboarding.
  7. FredD.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    If you're a board fanatic, this is the game for you!
  8. MacF
    Jan 3, 2009
    9
    I was hyped for this more than Halo 3. I think that I was correct, but you can't compare different genres. Since Tony Hawk is the only game that you can compare it to, I say that it beats it by far. But I can't say that Tony Hawk was bad, it just did well in it's time. skate. brings the most real game ever to grace gaming. It isn't realistic, it's a video game,I was hyped for this more than Halo 3. I think that I was correct, but you can't compare different genres. Since Tony Hawk is the only game that you can compare it to, I say that it beats it by far. But I can't say that Tony Hawk was bad, it just did well in it's time. skate. brings the most real game ever to grace gaming. It isn't realistic, it's a video game, sure, but it definitely captures the flow and feel of skateboarding, the sense of achievement, even of the simplest things. While there are flaws in the game sure, simple things like walking and tricks, trying to discern one trick from another. But these are easily overcome. In skate boarding, it takes practice and even natural gift to kickflip, just for that first time, and then years to do it almost at will. I played the demo a lot, and it soon became second nature (on a gaming level) to do each trick. Then finally doing the grinds and big jumps, it takes more practice, and amusment, because come on! The stacks are the best in gaming history!

    How some of these people that are rating the game low, I don't know. I have reason to belive that it's fan boy, or that they hate a lot of EA games, so they assume that skate. is a bad game. I don't know. skate. wasn't about beating the current leader, it was about making a different game, they did what they wanted for a skating game (And I played THPS2 through THPS4, [i]Nick[/i], I know how to hold a combo, and I definitely prefer this). Skate 2 is addressing many of the obvious questions and expanding everything. Tons of new tricks, some I don't know how they managed to figure out how to do (pogo hops for starters) all done in a physically realistic world. People, when you beome a hater, you better have damn good reason for it, and the info to back it up, or some bloody manners.
    Expand
  9. MarkP.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Fluid, beuatiful, realistic. Just 3 words that sum up the experiance of skate. If you have ever cruised on a snow/skate -board, you will find this title a joy joy to play. The real physics make old skateboard games exactly that. OLD. You arent whizzing round grinding everything and everyone, you cruise and find your spots. Couple this with cool challenges, an awesome soundtrack, amazing Fluid, beuatiful, realistic. Just 3 words that sum up the experiance of skate. If you have ever cruised on a snow/skate -board, you will find this title a joy joy to play. The real physics make old skateboard games exactly that. OLD. You arent whizzing round grinding everything and everyone, you cruise and find your spots. Couple this with cool challenges, an awesome soundtrack, amazing skater line up - Mark Gonzales FFS!!! and a great city - and you have a winner my friends. Takes me back to THPS used to be.. but better. Expand
  10. MartinW.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing ,the people who say this is just for people who are rubbish at tony hawks are mental. tony hawks started off quite good but all the newer versions are ridiculous , i hated the unrealism personally and the fact u can pull a combo for about 5 mins is rubbish ,the tricks are so easy and mostly immposable in real life, skate is for people who have skated in their life and This game is amazing ,the people who say this is just for people who are rubbish at tony hawks are mental. tony hawks started off quite good but all the newer versions are ridiculous , i hated the unrealism personally and the fact u can pull a combo for about 5 mins is rubbish ,the tricks are so easy and mostly immposable in real life, skate is for people who have skated in their life and i love it. The only real surprise to me was that ea have actually been involved in a good game.Oh and i agree with matey about the getting off the board bit, thats the only one thing wrong with this game. Expand
  11. JimmyP.
    Oct 5, 2007
    9
    An outstanding game which is challenging to master, but not that hard to get the basics. Moving the RS in just the right way to perform the tricks can be a little annoying, but just makes hitting that trick that much sweeter.
  12. RodS.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    This game is the most realistic depiction of skateboarding out there. Tony Hawk was great for the past several years, but the lack of realism just made it less and less fun to play. Skate's gameplay is not a cartoon version of skating and the gaming public is all the better for it.
  13. JeffV.
    Sep 16, 2007
    9
    Being a recreational skateboarder and an avid tony hawk fan (particularly TH3 and TH4) I found skate to be very engaging and well paced. It is not arcade action, however, it gives you the same feeling of wandering around some urban city, or coming up to a park for the first time, and going "whoa, I wonder if I could do those steps or that gap". You just ride right up and try it. The Being a recreational skateboarder and an avid tony hawk fan (particularly TH3 and TH4) I found skate to be very engaging and well paced. It is not arcade action, however, it gives you the same feeling of wandering around some urban city, or coming up to a park for the first time, and going "whoa, I wonder if I could do those steps or that gap". You just ride right up and try it. The controls are new, and take some learning, but feel very natural in the end and not limiting. If you are into skate games you must by this. Expand
  14. MikeL.
    Sep 17, 2007
    9
    I love this game. Totally a fresh experience from the Tony Hawk series. And I love the Hawk series. I have played every one, but skate takes the skateboarding genre to a whole new level. The only reason I don't give it a 10 is because I think it's a little too easy...I understand its a game, but still it's a little easy to go through the challenges. But just skating around I love this game. Totally a fresh experience from the Tony Hawk series. And I love the Hawk series. I have played every one, but skate takes the skateboarding genre to a whole new level. The only reason I don't give it a 10 is because I think it's a little too easy...I understand its a game, but still it's a little easy to go through the challenges. But just skating around and messing around in the huge city is a total blast. Definitely buy this game! Expand
  15. J.P.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    This game is the fire! Huge world that's fun to explore, tons of spots to skate, excellent, innovative control, feels more like actually skateboarding vs. zooming around on a self propelled rocket board and grinding roller coasters and power lines...anyway, go buy it now! Online roxxers and is super addictive too btw.
  16. NoahR
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    The environments are beautiful, the sound is great (with some truly amazing songs in the soundtrack) and the controls are nearly perfect. Coming up with new lines is one of the most fun challenges ever, and you will never run out of lines to try out.
  17. JohnG.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    amazing love it to death. being a skater my self I've been dreaming of a game like this.
  18. AuggieAnno
    Feb 27, 2008
    9
    skate. was the best skateboarding game in a very long time. This game makes Tony Hawk's more recent games look like garbage. I overlooked the glitches and graphics considering the face that it was still the best in a long time. VERY realistic compared to any skating game i have EVER played. This is the best skateboarding title out there.
  19. BenF.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Pedro 'M' u n00b u say no-one who says gud comments shows they're surname but u also hide urs u nub cake. this game is brilliant, and much more realistic than tony haks could ever be. no more pressing one button to jump, grind and then land effortlessly. i bet u haven't even played it more than 5 seconds u n00b
  20. JD
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Hey its cool man if u dont like it it probly cus u suck in games like this and suck at skating for reals putting all that aside for EAs first attempt at this type of game I think they did a pretty good job there next attempt will fill in the gray areas which isnt anything to complain about 4 me its all about entertainment and its got some. This makes TH look like a cartoon if u everHey its cool man if u dont like it it probly cus u suck in games like this and suck at skating for reals putting all that aside for EAs first attempt at this type of game I think they did a pretty good job there next attempt will fill in the gray areas which isnt anything to complain about 4 me its all about entertainment and its got some. This makes TH look like a cartoon if u ever really skated u know it takes alot of practice to do even a heel flip 4 the first time. This game takes u back there. Expand
  21. NormS.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    I don't very often consider games that don't feature epic storylines, pulitzer quality writing and amazing visuals to be worthy of a perfect score, but as a lifetime skateboarder and enthusiast of videogames, I really feel that EA hit the nail on the head with this one. Embracing the most legitimate and true aspects of modern skateboarding, EA's skate is not only an I don't very often consider games that don't feature epic storylines, pulitzer quality writing and amazing visuals to be worthy of a perfect score, but as a lifetime skateboarder and enthusiast of videogames, I really feel that EA hit the nail on the head with this one. Embracing the most legitimate and true aspects of modern skateboarding, EA's skate is not only an accurate simulation, but a great casual game to play with the most innovative, natural control scheme ever. In addition to the gameplay being fantastic, the ability to save and share photos and replays that you can edit in-game makes owning this game a no-brainer for skateboarders who play video games. Though navigating online can be a bit cumbersome due to the use of EA nation for online play as opposed to plain-old xbox live, when it works well, it really is a great experience. Racing down hills, performing technical tricks, and just cruising around and carving pools is all part of the total package, and the replayability of the game lasts way beyond the moment that your acheivements are earned and the career mode is finished. Expand
  22. AlexA.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    I say this is the best skateboarding game yet. I dont understand why people think it's so hard to get the tricks down, its so easy. the first day i played the demo i got all the tricks down. the only criticism for the game is that you aren't able to get off your board and walk around like on stairs, which gets really annoying when you get stuck and have to go around. but I say this is the best skateboarding game yet. I dont understand why people think it's so hard to get the tricks down, its so easy. the first day i played the demo i got all the tricks down. the only criticism for the game is that you aren't able to get off your board and walk around like on stairs, which gets really annoying when you get stuck and have to go around. but honestly, i dont know how people arent able to get the tricks down. gamertag: alexhxc uodtgl play me in some jam or spot battle sometime. Expand
  23. ChadE.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    This game nails the sensation of skateboarding hands down. The fact that you have to actually master the analog controls also adds to the legitimacy of it's realistic intent. The camera is familiar to anyone who's involved in skateboarding and watches skate vids and adds even more credibility to the game. This is a must have title for a skater, anyone who appreciates the sport This game nails the sensation of skateboarding hands down. The fact that you have to actually master the analog controls also adds to the legitimacy of it's realistic intent. The camera is familiar to anyone who's involved in skateboarding and watches skate vids and adds even more credibility to the game. This is a must have title for a skater, anyone who appreciates the sport and anyone interested in a unique approach to the skateboarding genre. Expand
  24. A.N.
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    A completely fresh take on the skate board genre. This game is proof that EA is not just a giant monopoly, but a publisher willing to take a risk on an innovative, original franchise. Fine tuning in a sequel, like the addition of an editor, will hopefully make the game even better and more well rounded.
  25. BrentA.
    Sep 16, 2007
    9
    I picked up this game on the release date and overall this is an excellent game. In my opinion it's the best extreme sports game ever made. I love how it controls and it seems very realistic. My only complaint is that it would be nice to be able to step off the board. Cause this can cause control problems at times in the game which can be frusterating.
  26. JohnB.
    Sep 17, 2007
    9
    I was simply blown away by this game in just about everywhere possible. I never thought I would like a SB game better than THPS. I am now a believer in Skate.. My only complaint is that it would have been great if they gave you the abilty to get off your board to walk to some of the harder to reach places. If they had that I would have given this a game a 10. Simply because it would have I was simply blown away by this game in just about everywhere possible. I never thought I would like a SB game better than THPS. I am now a believer in Skate.. My only complaint is that it would have been great if they gave you the abilty to get off your board to walk to some of the harder to reach places. If they had that I would have given this a game a 10. Simply because it would have been as close to perfection in the genre as possible imo. Expand
  27. DrewN.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    Steep learning curve leads to a satisfying skateboarding simulation. Easily the best skating game since THPS2 or Thrasher, possibly the best skating game ever.
  28. GD
    Sep 20, 2007
    9
    Spot on. I can't imagine a better simlulation of skateboarding. This is probably the closest thing that non-skaters will get to feeling the thrill of grinding a rail or dropping into a half pipe. Several decades of skating behind me, I can honestly say that skaters will really appreciate this gem. Cheers, EA. I'm not a big fan, but you did something right.
  29. JesseM.
    Sep 22, 2007
    9
    A near perfetct skating experience with out all the trips to the hospital. Since I had given up skating years ago and given up playing tony hawk even more years ago, it is great to get back on the ol' plywood and sandpaper.
  30. EugeneD.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing. It has definitely upped the bar for this genre. I love how actually nailing a nearly impossible trick feels like the greatest accomplishment. I give my respect to EA because it seems like every one of there games this year have been amazing. Tiger 08, Madden 08 just to name a few. Keep up the good work guyz.
  31. EricHill
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    I bought it because my friend had it from the moment i did my first ollie on it i loved the game. It's so much better than TH games because you have to have "thumb skill" as me and my friends call it. In this game you have to angle yourself to the rail and get good timing, where in TH you press A then Y to grind a rail when you can be far away from it. Also the visuals are amazing!I bought it because my friend had it from the moment i did my first ollie on it i loved the game. It's so much better than TH games because you have to have "thumb skill" as me and my friends call it. In this game you have to angle yourself to the rail and get good timing, where in TH you press A then Y to grind a rail when you can be far away from it. Also the visuals are amazing! EA really did a good job whatever they did to graphic this game. Many people also say the camera angle bothers them, but I got used to it so I have nooo idea what they're talking about. The only problem I have are some of the challenges, especially DEATH RACES, are very hard. But I got over that and completed them after some time and got a GREAT feeling of accomplishment. For the regular Xbox 360 game price of about $59.99, it is practicly a steal for its replay value, challenges, freeskate, and realism. Oh, and there is no loading if you travel between towns on board. The only loading is the startup character selection and if you take the transit map to an area. Expand
  32. Y.R.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    THPS fanboys dont understand that getting 10 billion points isnt what people want, if you want a good skateboarding game buy thps,if you want a skateboarding "simulation" buy this.
  33. LiefS.
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    I skateboard in real life and this is much closer to skateboarding than Tony Hawk. After 8 years of TH im a little tired of bs missiongs like grinding a lamp pole wire for 100 yards and doing one impossible trick after another you forget that its a skateboarding game. if you land a good trick in skate you have a sense of accomplishment rather than scoring 100,000 points in an impossible I skateboard in real life and this is much closer to skateboarding than Tony Hawk. After 8 years of TH im a little tired of bs missiongs like grinding a lamp pole wire for 100 yards and doing one impossible trick after another you forget that its a skateboarding game. if you land a good trick in skate you have a sense of accomplishment rather than scoring 100,000 points in an impossible combo without breaking a sweat. Nick D. Id say the exact opposite for you, you cant handle something even close to skateboarding so stick to buttonmashing. Expand
  34. JadenD.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely stunning! It clearly blows THPG out of the water with grater graphics and real life tricks unlike THPG where you can 540 flip a 35 set, as with all skating games stalling is an issue.
  35. Matt
    Sep 15, 2007
    9
    Great. A very solid skating game. Blows tony hawk away.
  36. ChrisH.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    Amazing game, the flickit system is awesome and after playing it for many many hours straight daily, im still finding new things
  37. SamS.
    Sep 27, 2007
    9
    I'm not typically a fan of the Skater games (well, Tony Hawk since it's the only real example in the genre) but I picked this up on a whim and to be perfectly honest with you I haven't enjoyed a game like this in quite a few months. All in all a top notch experience. I highly recommend it.
  38. ChrisB.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    There was so much that could have gone wrong with this game. The controls could have been unresponsive. There'd be no similarity between this and actual skating. But for a brand new concept, skate did far more than lay a solid foundation for a sequel later on, it became a full experience. This is not an easy game. The controls are responsive, but it will take time to become familiar There was so much that could have gone wrong with this game. The controls could have been unresponsive. There'd be no similarity between this and actual skating. But for a brand new concept, skate did far more than lay a solid foundation for a sequel later on, it became a full experience. This is not an easy game. The controls are responsive, but it will take time to become familiar with the way to do the tricks you want to do. And it is here where this game soars above the THPS series. Every trick is an accomplishment. Every grind is a tad different than the last. You can do the simplest things and still feel the thrill of it even after the sixteenth time you've done it. The story is simple, and not driving the gameplay. The challenges which do progress you further increase in difficulty and require a good knowledge of the control scheme later on. However, each of paths in the game are completeable through your own choice of challenges. Having a problem finishing a race? Don't worry, you can still do something else to get to that next step. Visually this game is about as real as you could ever want. All the small details just further push this game as the best skateboarding game in existence. The city is large, its occupants many, and its cars merciless. You may pass a spot you want to skate thirty times and never know it, and one day it'll hit you. Couple this with fairly solid online features, such as sharing videos and photos, and contests, this is the only skateboarding videogame experience worth playing. The THPS series lost its way years ago, and skate has filled the void in many gamers and skaters hearts by putting out a solid, heavily realistic experience. Expand
  39. FlorenceN.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Dude...this aint tony hawk...this is real deal skate heaven in the form of a cd. the people who actually skated in real life, such as myself will tell you that this is almost as fun as skating itself. the giant city you can explore should be enough to get a high rank, not to mention you can do tricks on every possible thing...rag-doll bails rock. must buy.
  40. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    The revival of an almost death genre, Activision did good stuff with Tony Hawk, the consequences? it made so many Tony Hawks you can't count how many were developed. While EA observed every move, of his rival, there you go, now you have Skate. Skate is something new with a pretty nice touches for a franchise that i didn't expect to have anything new on it. The soundtrack ( as always) isThe revival of an almost death genre, Activision did good stuff with Tony Hawk, the consequences? it made so many Tony Hawks you can't count how many were developed. While EA observed every move, of his rival, there you go, now you have Skate. Skate is something new with a pretty nice touches for a franchise that i didn't expect to have anything new on it. The soundtrack ( as always) is great. Skate goes with stylish direction. Expand
  41. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    Surprisingly innovative and hugely enjoyable, Skate (and its sequels) is a refreshing alternative to the endless button mashing of the Tony Hawk series, which have long been the go-to skateboarding game. Skate sets a new standard for realism in skateboarding games, with accurate collision detection, great physics and the beautifully implemented flick-it controls. There's an incredibleSurprisingly innovative and hugely enjoyable, Skate (and its sequels) is a refreshing alternative to the endless button mashing of the Tony Hawk series, which have long been the go-to skateboarding game. Skate sets a new standard for realism in skateboarding games, with accurate collision detection, great physics and the beautifully implemented flick-it controls. There's an incredible amount of replay value, the city overflowing with spots to skate - everywhere you look you'll find new and unique places. While the graphics are somewhat mediocre and the character animation (especially on NPCs), Skate more than makes up for its negative qualities with its endlessly fun and unique gameplay. Expand
  42. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    Best game i played because the soundtrack the story and the feeling of the game its not objective based like skate 2 or skate 3 and i honestly dont like skate 3
  43. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have spent hours free roaming on this amazing game, the soundtrack compliments is well too! The story mode is great too, as you thrive your way onto the front of magazine covers by doing tricks and beating fellow skaters in competitions. Well worth the buy. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. 90
    As a brand new IP, based on an idea that could have completely blown up in EA's face, skate is an amazingly complete experience. Those who choose to relax and skate leisurely -- looking for cool lines and taking on the occasional challenge -- will likely find the most enjoyment.
  2. 90
    Built around utterly convincing physics and animation systems and a unique control scheme that's equal parts challenge and reward, it manages to be realistic without being discouraging and feels completely different from not only the competition, but from anything else out there.
  3. These controls feel great, and they really need to since the game isn’t in the slightest bit forgiving. When you go for a grind, you won’t magically be transported onto the rail. You have to line it up and pray that you time your jump and adjoining trick correctly.