Skullgirls Xbox 360

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 50
  2. Negative: 13 out of 50

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Skullgirls, wow, is interesting watching that some companys create a new IP, and do an amazing game, is a great example of an excellent fighting game. I love this game is fantastic.
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    8
    "SkullGirls" is a 2D Fighting game for XBLA, which costs 1200ms points, developed by Reverge Lab, in partnership with Konami. The story is about the search by the protagonist girls (Skullgirls) for an ancient artifact, the Skull Heart, who is able to realize their dreams and that is (obviously) with the final boss of the game. The game displays graphics with a Noir subject, reminding the"SkullGirls" is a 2D Fighting game for XBLA, which costs 1200ms points, developed by Reverge Lab, in partnership with Konami. The story is about the search by the protagonist girls (Skullgirls) for an ancient artifact, the Skull Heart, who is able to realize their dreams and that is (obviously) with the final boss of the game. The game displays graphics with a Noir subject, reminding the decades of 40-50 (like Bioshock for comparison), with hand drawn graphics, which mocks the styles of female characters from the old, in the 30s to the latest anime and modern cartoons, each one with his particular style (in physical aspect and gameplay). In the game, the graphics are good, with a style reminiscent of Darksiders and Blazblue, with good color variations, but I missed an outline better and better detail of the characters. The backgrounds are highlighted by the colors and detail - the special moves, and indicators as well, but without many special effects. The Story mode is presented in a comic style way, with animations. Very nice work in the graphic part, in a whole. The songs play a lot of pianos and saxophones, as well as singing in some parts, remembering the songs of the decades I have mentioned - many are very good, if you like the style, but I do not know if most players today will like it, they would prefer something more upbeat and modern. Presenters voices and announces also have an Old style, as well as phrases written during the game. This game presents five difficulties, and in two basic gameplay modes (Story and Arcade), besides having a Training and Versus mode. It also has 08 characters, and depending on the mode of play, you can choose more 2 characters beside yours, to assistance. It seems that more characters will come later with DLC. Overall, the features and gameplay style remind me of Darksiders / Blazblue - the detail is that the AI Ã Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    I fell in love with Skullgirls on my first playthrough. It's charm is infectious. It's art style beautiful. It's fighting mechanics accessible yet infinitely explorable with intense depth. The passion and creativity behind the making of this game just oozes out onto the screen whether in the form of slick easy to navigate menu screens, it's uncanny attention to detail from gorgeous stagesI fell in love with Skullgirls on my first playthrough. It's charm is infectious. It's art style beautiful. It's fighting mechanics accessible yet infinitely explorable with intense depth. The passion and creativity behind the making of this game just oozes out onto the screen whether in the form of slick easy to navigate menu screens, it's uncanny attention to detail from gorgeous stages to an fighting announcer that has the potential to be as "iconic" as the NBA Jam guy. Seriously, if you're not in love with the announcer then you have no heartbeat. As for the characters, wow. I don't think an 8 roster fighting game has ever had so much depth before. This gets said alot nowadays but EVERY character in Skullgirls is genuinely unique. And they each have a plethora of tools at their disposal to stand a fighting chance against any matchup even 1 against 3! Ive been playing fighting games for a looooong time I promise you I haven't had this much fun learning combos and set ups in a fighting game since mastering Orchid, Sabrewulf, and Glacius in the original Killer Instinct. The game is so addictive, so well made (clearly this was made by a bunch of guys who love the fighting game genre and actually PLAY IT extensively themselves) you can tell by every inch of the product. This game is well worth the $15 spent. I dare say it may just be worth 20 to 30 if not more. The only gripe I have about the game is the lack of a in game movelist. Some will say, its not relevant but seriously this is a glaring omission. I shouldn't have to download the pdf file to get my characters special moves. It's not a gamechanger by any stretch of the word just a minor annoyance. I also think the METER should be located at the bottom of the screen. I hate having to look up at my life bar to see my meter mid fight. In my fighting game experience it's waaaay more convinient to have the meter at the bottom directly in your line of sight during the match. And it should be noticeable not small. The number of bars you have should glow or pulsate and change color or something the more bars you get. But other than that Skullgirls is perfect. Valentine is a masterpiece of character design and in estimation the crowning achievement of this game. She is instantly a classic fighting game character for the history books. But don't mistake this as a one woman show. The entire game is full of characters that can and most likely will win your hearts. It certainly won mine at first sight. Skullgirls is without question one of the best fighting games this generation. Hell to me it's sitting comfortably in second place only behind Super Street Fighter 4 as the best. With a roster at about 20, a robust training mode, a endless battle lobby, a replay channel, and a character movelist this game will undoubtedly become one of the best fighting games ever made. And definitely my fighting game of choice. The possibilities are boundless for this incredible for this incredible labour of love. Major fighting game publishers have been called out. How can a game with less than a 10th of the budget as other games have better visuals, better fighting mechanics, and a better announcer than games made by billion dollar companies for 1/4th of the retail price? Because they makers of the game care, that's why. And it's evident as soon as a you pick your character for battle and the announcer says, "Ladies and Gentlemen (?) [hehe nice touch with the question mark on gentlemen btw].....IT'S SHOWTIME!!!". You damn right it is, off I go to enjoy more of the show. BUY THIS GAME!!! Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    I actually bought the game on both platforms because I loved it so much and wanted to be able to play it with friends on each platform. The load times aren't as good on Xbox as the are on PSN, but that doesn't take away from the experience and there are certain things that are better on Xbox. This game is amazing. I think it's better than SFxT, and maybe my favorite fighting game ofI actually bought the game on both platforms because I loved it so much and wanted to be able to play it with friends on each platform. The load times aren't as good on Xbox as the are on PSN, but that doesn't take away from the experience and there are certain things that are better on Xbox. This game is amazing. I think it's better than SFxT, and maybe my favorite fighting game of all time. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    I remember hearing this game out of no where and thought it was just another stupid indie game that would occupy 2 min of my time. I have now spent at least 30+ hours playing this game. The art style is beautiful and has the best controls i have ever seen in a fighting game. This game has the most in depth tutorials i have ever seen in any fighting game, and it is a must buy
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 8, 2012
    80
    Amazing design, solid mechanics and gorgeous presentation. An impressive effort from newcomers Revenge. [July 2012, p.74]
  2. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jun 5, 2012
    80
    A great range of moves and some pleasantly diverse characters. [Issue#85, p.103]
  3. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    May 30, 2012
    80
    A fantastical, forward-thinking fighter. [June 2012, p.102]