Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Skylanders Giants is an all-new adventure for existing Skylanders toys that also adds 20 new characters--including eight giant ones--to the existing roster.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    You might not enjoy its concept, but if you do, then you'll find a big game with a lot of possibilities. We hope Activision will keep on improving the series, but so far it's going the right way.
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    85
    With a brand new story, more game modes, extra levels to gain for your old and new toys, and enough content and replay value to keep you entertained for weeks, Giants is an easy recommendation to any gamer looking for a fun and approachable RPG.
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    84
    The same adventuring brilliance. Some core improvements help to trump the original. [Christmas 2012, p.76]
  4. Oct 18, 2012
    80
    Pending a retail disaster this year, I suspect another Skylanders sequel is already in development and slated for release next holiday. Giants makes a good case for the fun and collectibility of this series, but also raises the warning flag for franchise fatigue.
  5. Oct 26, 2012
    80
    While the retail element is a justifiable red-flag, as an ecosystem for toys and play, Skylanders Giants is well-written, well-designed and engaging stuff.
  6. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    What value you get out of Skylanders Giants is tied directly to how much you'll be willing to spend on it and while it's definitely pricey, the added value of a physical product that is actually a pretty well made and exciting piece of tech softens the blow a bit. The game itself is way more fun than it has any right being, and while it doesn't pull off its concepts perfectly, it does manage to stay interesting throughout, with tons of clever little ideas and nods to other games.
  7. Oct 26, 2012
    67
    The Skylanders concept still feels novel and you get the feeling that there's a lot of potential waiting to be squeezed out of the experience. However, it's clearly being held back by the focus on peddling collectible toys. There's a decent game in here, but it's ultimately hard to justify the substantial investment you'll have to throw down for all the figures required to get the full experience.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Fun, Good for family's. you have to fight Kaos and on the way there there are multiple challenges in your way and I think the adventures is great for children and not bloody at all. If you are looking for a good game to get this is a really good game to get for families. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    want to play
  3. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Skylanders Giants is a huge improvement over last years game. My favorite improvements come in the form of Multiple Difficulty Levels (last years game was too easy) and this also allows you to bump up the challenge for high level Skylanders. The second big improvement is the Story and videos that move the Story, last year's game had a relatively weak incohesive story. Also, the Graphics are cleaner, Gamplay is far more active with more variety and challenge. Lots of cool new Skylanders (not cheap) but fun. If I am looking for flaws, there are a few survivable ones. Lack of 4 player, lack of splitscreen play and no real online modes are the most glaring weaknesses. Overall a great family game, don't come here lookoing for a harcore experience. Just wish I could get the kids not to play on Easy difficulty! Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    Great fun for kids and parents! The portal with the characters you can put on it is an awesome idea. The graphics are simple but pretty cute and super smooth. The game play in the story mode is pretty cool and full of nice role playing elements Collapse
  5. Oct 27, 2012
    6
    A carbon-copy sequel, which should sell you over if you liked the original. But it suffers from the same problem; swapping outtoys needs a second or so of thinking you don't have. Not saying don't buy, but think hard. Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    2
    what they should make it better it was just bad and I cant belive i wasted $50 on this game and it was on sale in Australia it should be $80 but I just hate it and I will be trading it and buy it for kids and its 2 same from the 1st Expand