Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    85
    Sleeping Dogs does some things better than even the cream of the crop, and its story will be what keeps you focused on playing. The fact that the game happens to play well is simply icing on the cake.
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Varied missions, hard-hitting melee combat, and a captivating setting make Sleeping Dogs an enjoyable escapade.
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    90
    This is a fantastic game. Where some strive for realism while sacrificing fun, or focus on fun to the detriment of realism, Sleeping Dogs manages the impressive feat of finding a between the two. The characters are universally interesting, the story is engaging, there is never a shortage of things to keep you busy, and it all comes packaged in a gritty and visceral virtual version of Hong Kong. What more could you want?
  4. Aug 12, 2012
    78
    Sleeping Dogs has enough entertainment value to justify Square Enix's decision to save it from cancellation, but it also displays a lack of polish that makes its troubled development evident. [Sept 2012, p.90]
  5. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    Sleeping Dogs certainly doesn't deserve to take all the blame for this situation, and Rockstar has some serious game-raising of its own to do with GTA5. But when a game is so clearly intent on being a follower of trends rather than setting them, it's hard to feel much passion for Sleeping Dogs' vanilla retread of established ideas. When compared to his open-world peers, Wei Shen's stoic promise to do "what I always do" ultimately feels more like an apology for low ambition than a rallying cry.
  6. Aug 27, 2012
    78
    From an artistic and technical standpoint, Sleeping Dogs is not a marvel, but it is perhaps my favorite summertime game. It's a game that fuses some of the best parts of other open-world titles and fuses them with Hong Kong Triads. In many ways, that's all I wanted.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    75
    Overall, I feel like Sleeping Dogs is the start to something that has the potential to get even better down the road. I really love the setting, characters, and hand to hand combat of the game, but the remainder feels a little recycled in comparison to other open-world games we've played so far this generation.
  8. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Despite several setbacks with authenticity and character depth, Sleeping Dogs delivers an entertaining and realistic enough interpretation of Hong Kong to warrant a sequel.
  9. Aug 13, 2012
    91
    Imagine if Martin Scorsese and John Woo teamed up to make a GTA game...It's that good. [Oct 2012, p.80]
  10. Aug 14, 2012
    89
    Overall, Sleeping Dogs is a remarkable game. The storyline is my favorite one yet for a sandbox game and is wonderfully-acted. It's hurt slightly by being a bit rough around the edges in places and not really doing much new, but what's done is mostly done very well and there's a lot of variety in both missions and extracurricular activities.
  11. 75
    Even with some less-than-thrilling scenarios and its failure to reward player choice, Sleeping Dogs ultimately delivers a very good open-world action experience. It hits enough high notes to warrant the trip to Hong Kong, even if the route there feels a little too familiar. [Oct 2012, p.64]
  12. Aug 17, 2012
    85
    If you enjoy the genre and, like me, love a good Hong Kong action flick, this game is a must own. It does so many things better than most open world games; things we definitely take for granted. Sure it has some rough edges, but the overall experience is more than worth taking.
  13. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Successful because it dares to be different, and actually thinks about how to make narrative, gameplay and setting play off each other. Which, for a game that no one expected much from when it was taken out back and shot, is quite something.
  14. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Sleeping Dogs may not offer anything particularly new and certainly nothing groundbreaking, but what it does do is deliver sharp, thrilling and just downright enjoyable action to savour. Other open-worlders have tried to veer from Rockstar's path, some have even tried to lampoon it, but Sleeping Dogs has shown, confidently and emphatically, that you don't always need to change the rules. You just have to know how to play.
  15. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    Sleeping Dogs had been in development as the next installment of Activision's "True Crime" franchise but the publisher ceased funding and cancelled it. Square Enix turned up to salvage the project and Sleeping Dogs was the result. The fact it turned out as good as it did -- that it's executed so well, performs as well as it does, sets the bar for open world combat and driving -- made Sleeping Dogs, story stumbles aside, the most surprising game of 2012.
  16. Aug 14, 2012
    91
    The four pillars of the game that I mentioned earlier represent a fantastic amalgamation of some of the best games we've played, giving us a serviceable shooting and driving game, a great free-running game, and a fantastic combat engine all in one package. Anywhere Sleeping Dogs might have lost points for originality, it makes up for in managing to combine all of these elements into one coherent game.
  17. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    The main story can be completed in a fraction of the time you'll actually end up devoting to the world, and ironically, it's one of the few sandbox games whose sidequests offer substantial rewards. Thus, don't be put off by Sleeping Dogs' troubled development for it's a meaty package you'll struggle to put down. And best of all, it's darn good fun.
  18. Aug 16, 2012
    90
    Sleeping Dogs is a great game with an interesting and thrilling story, with an action-packed Martial Arts gameplay and an atmospheric Hong Kong. The dialogue is well spoken and include nicely made story twists. The only thing is that the open world of Sleeping Dogs is not as perfect as in GTA IV. However, if you like action, well-narrated stories with an atmospheric city, then play Sleeping Dogs.
  19. Aug 26, 2012
    80
    Sleeping Dogs is a beautifully story-driven game that had some brutal action woven in between. It's just a shame that there is still a fair amount of glitches and that the car chases could have been more intense.
  20. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Sleeping Dogs punches you in the stomach, throws you over the railing to end it by jumping feet first on your face. Painful, intense and exaggerated? Yes, but at the same time a furious and insane rollercoaster ride that you won't soon forget. Look closely though, and you'll notice that it doesn't deliver a completely perfect experience.
  21. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    The end result still doesn't have the personality or verve of Grand Theft Auto or Red Dead Redemption, the novelty of Assassin's Creed, or the crazy acrobatics of Just Cause but it's a better action game than any of them. Clearly that's not necessarily a priority for open world games but it's nice to see it can be done all the same.
  22. Aug 27, 2012
    86
    While it's definitely not going to win any awards in the gameplay department, it does dial up the level of detail that we can expect visually from an open-world game. It also delivers enjoyable, intensely violent action for anyone who wishes they could fill the boots of Chow Yun Fat or Jet Li.
  23. Aug 14, 2012
    85
    Sleeping dogs is a fantastic game that you need to play.
  24. Sep 10, 2012
    85
    Rising from the ashes, Sleeping Dogs has proven just how wrong Activision was to cancel it 18 months ago. It takes several gameplay styles from many of the best open world games of this generation and gives them a distinct Hong Kong cinema feel.
  25. 90
    A game of rich variety and strong personality that never gets boring over its ten essential hours - many more if you stop to check out the full and entertaining world... It's shorter than GTA IV, for sure, but it's also much sweeter. [Sept 2012, p.82]
  26. Sep 12, 2012
    80
    With a stunning city to be let loose in, an excellent radio soundtrack, and a cast that Hollywood would be jealous of, Sleeping Dogs has been worth the wait
  27. Sep 23, 2012
    80
    As much as it may lack polish and finesse, Sleeping Dogs makes up for its minor shortcomings with pure entertainment. [Issue#89,p.78]
  28. Aug 27, 2012
    85
    If Sleeping Dogs started life as an unloved orphan, it's now an adult that can hold its head high.
  29. Aug 28, 2012
    75
    While it may not have the epic sweep and polish of a Rockstar title, Sleeping Dogs is refreshingly streamlined, serious, and contained, even as it pays homage to its sometimes less-than-grounded source material.
  30. Aug 25, 2012
    92
    Going back to the opening question and whether there is anything bad about Sleeping Dogs, there are a few rough edges here and there but absolutely nothing to write home about. The overall experience from start to finish is brilliant and the only disappointment is the wait you'll have until some DLC hopefully comes out. Even if you're currently playing something right now I urge you to stop and go buy this right now!
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 423 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 108
  2. Negative: 7 out of 108
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    Definitely worth a buy, but I'd wait for the first price cut if you are the type of gamer that doesn't explore open world games ad nauseam.Definitely worth a buy, but I'd wait for the first price cut if you are the type of gamer that doesn't explore open world games ad nauseam. The story is done very well, with some awesome voice acting. The only bad voice acting is street vendors screaming at you, often in tandem with the same voice and same line. It was funny the first time, the next few times not so much. There are some expected glitches since the game is brand new, but nothing game breaking that I've run into.

    The only true problem with this game is a $60 price point with the ONLY multiplayer experience being comparing scores of random "achievements" with those on your friends list. Since I am the only person on my friends list with this game, I compete with myself. A bit lame honestly.

    It's GTA with a proper story and combat. Well, for an oversimplification that is how I would describe it. I personally cannot stand Rockstar games, but I very much like Sleeping Dogs. It's a solid buy for anyone that will play open world games for more than their story. If you are looking at this for the campaign only, then I'd wait for the first price cut.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    I was really looking forward to this game, and I am not disappointed. The story (so far) is believable and well written. The city is livingI was really looking forward to this game, and I am not disappointed. The story (so far) is believable and well written. The city is living and breathing and very enjoyable to inhabit. The attention to detail is remarkable: you can see bugs crawling on the ground! The voice acting is superb. As for the gameplay, the driving is great, a great mix between realistic and arcadish. The free running sections are very fun, it's great to run around jumping and sliding to evade the cops. The combat is perfect and challenging. Some may find it a little too challenging... it takes some time getting used to, but free flow with counters and environmental takedowns is just awesome (it's like Batman meets the Bourne Conspiracy). Gunplay is satisfying and focused on moving forward, since you can combine some free running and melee with it, giving a good pace to it. You can stay in cover if you want to, but it's a lot more enjoyable not to. Had this game been published by Rockstar, the reviews probably would have been better. I mean, GTA4 was good, but not as enjoyable as this game was for me... and the reviews were so biased it's not even funny. If you're looking for a solid open-world game with great gameplay and a compelling storyline, I recommend this game hands down. Full Review »
  3. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game. Superb city that is huge and has a lot to offer. The graphics are outstanding and all of the gameplay elements work reallyFantastic game. Superb city that is huge and has a lot to offer. The graphics are outstanding and all of the gameplay elements work really well. Sleeper hit of 2012, no doubt in my mind. Full Review »