Sleeping Dogs Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 453 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 453
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    Ignore anyone who says this game is bad. I am extremley picky when it comes to games, i recently bought Darksiders 2 and found it boring.

    This has some new elements, high speed car hijacking is fantastic. Combat is great and the graphics are fine.

    If you are looking for a great story and something to entertain you until GTA V buy this game.
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    8
    Sleeping Dogs is like if Mafia II, GTA IV and Yakuza mixed together, sadly It won't blow you away but Sleeping Dogs is a unique, good quality open world game. It lacks a bit of polish and it's graphics and character models feel somewhat dated but it maintains a great variety of mission types and gameplay. It incorporates a combat system similar to the Batman games but contains more depthSleeping Dogs is like if Mafia II, GTA IV and Yakuza mixed together, sadly It won't blow you away but Sleeping Dogs is a unique, good quality open world game. It lacks a bit of polish and it's graphics and character models feel somewhat dated but it maintains a great variety of mission types and gameplay. It incorporates a combat system similar to the Batman games but contains more depth and violence, that's mixed in with some decent third person shooter styled sequences. The narrative and story progression is good and major plot points occur over it's 15 hour long campaign quite rapidly and at a good pace, the narrative itself in the broadest sense is quite predictable but still remains quite well done and there is enough surprises to keep you enthralled.
    Sleeping Dogs feels like it could of been a lot more, but is definitely worth a play for an gamer.
    Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    It's simply like GTA, just better and more rewarding fun without pointless gimmicks you won't enjoy doing over and over. One of my favorite games of the year.
  4. M1R
    Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This game is AWESOME. To be honest, the story, characters, features and all that are GREAT. The best part of the game is the dopeness of the melee combat system. If you're the guy who plays this type of game and haven't played it before yet, I'D SAY YOU GO GRAB THIS GAME AND U WON'T REGRET IT!!!
  5. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    Sleeping Dogs was a great surprise, a sleeper title if you will haha. Sorry, back to the review. I had not heard about this game until I searched for one similar to GTA and found it listed among some other more familiar open world games. Sleeping dogs is set in Hong Kong, and the city scape and people really come to life in a novel way, it was a refreshing change from the typical US openSleeping Dogs was a great surprise, a sleeper title if you will haha. Sorry, back to the review. I had not heard about this game until I searched for one similar to GTA and found it listed among some other more familiar open world games. Sleeping dogs is set in Hong Kong, and the city scape and people really come to life in a novel way, it was a refreshing change from the typical US open world experiences. What I loved best was the combat system, it was similar to Batman but with martial arts. Guns are included but most of the glorious violence is dished out with your own two hands. Unlike other games that reward player performance with money sleeping dogs rewards us with new combat moves. orchestrating fights with a plethora of melee attacks was actually quite fun, and advancing further in the game was in part fueled by the desire to acquire new moves. Advancement was also propelled by a terrific story and interesting characters. Vehicles and racing missions are also executed way better in sleeping dogs than any GTA game. My only criticisms were that the game was semi-lacking in side missions, and other open world shenanigans typically found in GTA titles, and some of the side missions were repetitive and lacking in creativity. Overall I liked sleeping dogs better than GTA IV and I highly recommend. Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    Pretty much a GTA IV on drugs, in hong kong. Freaking awesome, great graphics, awesome story, and a buy for any sandbox lover like me.
  7. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    I loved the story in this game, and Wei Shen is a bad ass. If you are looking for another awesome open world game then look no further, Hong Kong is a beautiful place and a great location for a video game. The fighting in this game is brutal and so satisfying, there isn't a lot of guns in the game but you don't need guns when the hand to hand combat is brilliant. The driving is arcadey butI loved the story in this game, and Wei Shen is a bad ass. If you are looking for another awesome open world game then look no further, Hong Kong is a beautiful place and a great location for a video game. The fighting in this game is brutal and so satisfying, there isn't a lot of guns in the game but you don't need guns when the hand to hand combat is brilliant. The driving is arcadey but it works really well. Overall this game is a must buy for open world fans. Expand
  8. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    the gameplay is solid and smooth. although there is nothing new and creative in this game, i somehow enjoyed it a lot. for sure it is better than SR:the third. plus, i am from China, i can say they put hard work into the city and environment design to make the city a real HONGKONG. the background voice acting and sound are just amazing. i like gta mostly for the free roaming in cars, samethe gameplay is solid and smooth. although there is nothing new and creative in this game, i somehow enjoyed it a lot. for sure it is better than SR:the third. plus, i am from China, i can say they put hard work into the city and environment design to make the city a real HONGKONG. the background voice acting and sound are just amazing. i like gta mostly for the free roaming in cars, same here, love driving cars around the city. the combat is ok, not as fun as in batman game, but better than in AC. For me, it is a 7 game, i give it one more point for the believable hongkong feelings. Expand
  9. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    Sleeping dogs is an amazing sandbox game from square enix, who in the last few years have had som pretty terrible games. the story is awesome way better then what gta has done in the past few attempts as you play both sides of the law in the game and the writing/voice acting int the game is top notch. there are some truely big stars in this one. the combat is alot like the latest batmanSleeping dogs is an amazing sandbox game from square enix, who in the last few years have had som pretty terrible games. the story is awesome way better then what gta has done in the past few attempts as you play both sides of the law in the game and the writing/voice acting int the game is top notch. there are some truely big stars in this one. the combat is alot like the latest batman games but with more depth such as unlockable combos and perks. the driving and gunplay are also quite good with the driving being quite arcady feeling and the guns dealing definative damage. the graphics in the game are definately not going to blow you away like crysis 3 or skyrim but they are seviceable and some of the textures are quite nice to look at. over all the game is quite amazing, the story is good, gameplay is enjoyable, and its a fairly long game if you want to get 100% completeion. also at 30 bucks used right now at gamestop, nows the best time to experience this gem. Expand
  10. May 19, 2013
    9
    Between its fantastic melee combat, rich visuals, engaging story and well-done RPG elements, Sleeping Dogs raises the bar of the open world genre. Your move, GTA.
  11. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    Definitely worth a buy, but I'd wait for the first price cut if you are the type of gamer that doesn't explore open world games ad nauseam. The story is done very well, with some awesome voice acting. The only bad voice acting is street vendors screaming at you, often in tandem with the same voice and same line. It was funny the first time, the next few times not so much. There are someDefinitely worth a buy, but I'd wait for the first price cut if you are the type of gamer that doesn't explore open world games ad nauseam. The story is done very well, with some awesome voice acting. The only bad voice acting is street vendors screaming at you, often in tandem with the same voice and same line. It was funny the first time, the next few times not so much. There are some expected glitches since the game is brand new, but nothing game breaking that I've run into.

    The only true problem with this game is a $60 price point with the ONLY multiplayer experience being comparing scores of random "achievements" with those on your friends list. Since I am the only person on my friends list with this game, I compete with myself. A bit lame honestly.

    It's GTA with a proper story and combat. Well, for an oversimplification that is how I would describe it. I personally cannot stand Rockstar games, but I very much like Sleeping Dogs. It's a solid buy for anyone that will play open world games for more than their story. If you are looking at this for the campaign only, then I'd wait for the first price cut.
    Expand
  12. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    This game owns!!! The martial arts is super sweet, if you like running around Hong Kong super kicking fools as hard as you can, I would highly suggest this beast. This one dude on the skreet looked at me funny, so i took his umbrella and beat the living heck out of him with it. Its cool cause if you start fights with people who can't fight, they will try to punch you like a woman andThis game owns!!! The martial arts is super sweet, if you like running around Hong Kong super kicking fools as hard as you can, I would highly suggest this beast. This one dude on the skreet looked at me funny, so i took his umbrella and beat the living heck out of him with it. Its cool cause if you start fights with people who can't fight, they will try to punch you like a woman and you simply RUIN THEIR WORLDS. If you like tooling around a foreign city, wrecking lives all day, then I would deff check this nasty mess out, the gunplay is pretty fat too, the driving is acceptable, the streets are narrow so that can be a little tough but the fighting is super nasty, i forget to do the missions most of the time cause I'm too busy WRECKING SHOP Expand
  13. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game. Superb city that is huge and has a lot to offer. The graphics are outstanding and all of the gameplay elements work really well. Sleeper hit of 2012, no doubt in my mind.
  14. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    This is a class game, it's different but good in its own way. Way too many people comparing it to GTA and saying it doesn't compare. But That's good, I think because GTA is such a benchmark for open world games every other open worlder is then compared to it. When I want another GTA game il buy GTA 5 and then compare that to the past GTA's. Rant over, Sleeping dogs is a different creatureThis is a class game, it's different but good in its own way. Way too many people comparing it to GTA and saying it doesn't compare. But That's good, I think because GTA is such a benchmark for open world games every other open worlder is then compared to it. When I want another GTA game il buy GTA 5 and then compare that to the past GTA's. Rant over, Sleeping dogs is a different creature entirely. Gritty and violent, class graphics and good slick gameplay and fight scenes, comparable to assassins creeds fight system. The driving and gunplay are equally sick. And the slow motion is a nice feature and works well. The game is far from sluggish and who doesn't want to blaze into a fight, parkour over a market stall at breakneck speed, smashing the contents of the stall over and bowling over the shop vendor in the process, charge into a few guys, throw some sick combos in, counter a guys attack the. Charge him onto a shop counter and smash down the roller shutter through his torso. To sum up, the game is awesome, a good solid free roamer with good voice acting, believable characters and good story. All of the things a story driven game should. A good driver, shooter and fighter. And all the while you feel like a bad ass. For all those comparers out there it's a Gta, Assassins Creed, Just Cause, Max Payne, True Crime, Warriors mix, and it's good for all those reasons. Expand
  15. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    I was expecting this game to be very good and it has proved to be an amazing game... I really love the way they have given so much oppurtunities for the gamer... Such side missions and all.... Its an amazing game.
  16. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    I truly loved this game, from the very exciting start to the climatic ending I sat there with a look of awe, the world that the team at United Front Games did a wonderful job. I loved the characters the missions and the combat, really their was no fault that i found with the game, ya the graphics isn't on a frostbite 2 level but it was so immersing that you will not care, in fact the onlyI truly loved this game, from the very exciting start to the climatic ending I sat there with a look of awe, the world that the team at United Front Games did a wonderful job. I loved the characters the missions and the combat, really their was no fault that i found with the game, ya the graphics isn't on a frostbite 2 level but it was so immersing that you will not care, in fact the only other world i can think of with this much detail placed in it is Skyrim. In short it will not be the general GOTY but it will be the sleeper hit of the year, I can not wait for another chance to hope back in now if you will excuse me a second play-through is in my future. Expand
  17. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    I was really looking forward to this game, and I am not disappointed. The story (so far) is believable and well written. The city is living and breathing and very enjoyable to inhabit. The attention to detail is remarkable: you can see bugs crawling on the ground! The voice acting is superb. As for the gameplay, the driving is great, a great mix between realistic and arcadish. The freeI was really looking forward to this game, and I am not disappointed. The story (so far) is believable and well written. The city is living and breathing and very enjoyable to inhabit. The attention to detail is remarkable: you can see bugs crawling on the ground! The voice acting is superb. As for the gameplay, the driving is great, a great mix between realistic and arcadish. The free running sections are very fun, it's great to run around jumping and sliding to evade the cops. The combat is perfect and challenging. Some may find it a little too challenging... it takes some time getting used to, but free flow with counters and environmental takedowns is just awesome (it's like Batman meets the Bourne Conspiracy). Gunplay is satisfying and focused on moving forward, since you can combine some free running and melee with it, giving a good pace to it. You can stay in cover if you want to, but it's a lot more enjoyable not to. Had this game been published by Rockstar, the reviews probably would have been better. I mean, GTA4 was good, but not as enjoyable as this game was for me... and the reviews were so biased it's not even funny. If you're looking for a solid open-world game with great gameplay and a compelling storyline, I recommend this game hands down. Expand
  18. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best, if not the best, games of the year, Sleeping Dogs hits all the right notes in all the right places. An engaging story, well developed characters, multiple side-missions, a great balance between realism and arcade style driving, fast-paced shooting, and last, but definitely not least, an excellent hand to hand and melee weapons combat system. This game is for sure a mustOne of the best, if not the best, games of the year, Sleeping Dogs hits all the right notes in all the right places. An engaging story, well developed characters, multiple side-missions, a great balance between realism and arcade style driving, fast-paced shooting, and last, but definitely not least, an excellent hand to hand and melee weapons combat system. This game is for sure a must play this year, and who knows, it could be a contender for GOTY. Expand
  19. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Sleepings Dogs is just an amazing game, with a well written story and all the great qualities of a sandbox game, so hopefully this can become a well known a series as GTA and SR. If you haven't played it yet, your denying yourself from playing one of the best games of the year.
  20. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    This game has potential! Yes, it may be similiar to gta but this is not GTA! For example you can buy a drink or sing a karaoke, hang out with girls (love that way in games :D ) and lots of more. Of course, if you stick only on main story, game will not be long. But! Try to do some spillover missions, its a fun! Also I like car model (not so overhandling like in gta). If you want realThis game has potential! Yes, it may be similiar to gta but this is not GTA! For example you can buy a drink or sing a karaoke, hang out with girls (love that way in games :D ) and lots of more. Of course, if you stick only on main story, game will not be long. But! Try to do some spillover missions, its a fun! Also I like car model (not so overhandling like in gta). If you want real racing model, go for forza or grand turismo. The Hong Kong is huge but I was suprised by left side driving (not on the right side like in EU, still in problems with accidents :D ) I´d finished about 10% of game at all, not only main missions as I mentioned before. The weaker part of game is a story, but still enough. Soundtrack is good, gameplay briskness, graphic could be better but looks good. If you like motorbikes, fast cars, chasing with police and you want to feel flavour of orient, go for it! Expand
  21. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    Great open world game with decent graphics and solid gameplay mechanics, some varied gameplay aspects in the game is good enough to build upon a new linear game on its own. Points are deducted for a bit of wonky camera, bugs and draw distances but the overall experience is fun, addicting and humorous.
  22. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    Scratching and clawing for its existance, the open world prodigy formerly known as True Crime Hong Kong has now been given a new identity and a new publisher. For what seems like development turmoil has actually worked in Sleeping Dogs' favour as it's the freshest open world game in some time. Sleeping dogs has some of the best combat ever seen in the open world game genre and boastsScratching and clawing for its existance, the open world prodigy formerly known as True Crime Hong Kong has now been given a new identity and a new publisher. For what seems like development turmoil has actually worked in Sleeping Dogs' favour as it's the freshest open world game in some time. Sleeping dogs has some of the best combat ever seen in the open world game genre and boasts influences from GTA, Saints Row, Batman and Yakuza to great effect throughout. The only sticking points are the absense of a true sense of its own identity, often leaning towards inspired games rather than its own game. Also some missions are rather pointless and meandering like when you show a rapper about town, despite being a welcome change of pace. With the scant number of open world games to ponder this year, Sleeping Dogs is ripe for a good playthrough and it doesn't disappoint in the slightest. Expand
  23. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This game deserves to be Game of The Year in my opinion. Everything that is put in this game is amazing. The story is absolutely amazing and how it is told is amazing. The combat is fluid and fun and never gets boring. When you are done with the campaign no worries you can do the very fun activities and favors that are in the world. You can also collect the hundreds of lock boxes the worldThis game deserves to be Game of The Year in my opinion. Everything that is put in this game is amazing. The story is absolutely amazing and how it is told is amazing. The combat is fluid and fun and never gets boring. When you are done with the campaign no worries you can do the very fun activities and favors that are in the world. You can also collect the hundreds of lock boxes the world has along with the Jade statues that unlock you new moves to use in combat. A very solid title and i hope to see some dlc for this game very soon and hopefully a Sleeping Dogs 2. 10/10 Expand
  24. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    Easily one of the best open world games I've played in my life. The combat, the driving, and everything else is INCREDIBLY well done, miles ahead of the competition. The story is very good with some classic undercover cop twists, and the same goes for the rest. You should play it.
  25. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    (in portuguese)

    Sleeping Dogs é um jogo de proporções muito grandes. E consegue ser um excelente jogo, um dos melhores do ano. Um jogo enorme, com uma cidade com muito a se fazer, que desafia e recompensa o jogo a cada ação feita, a aventura de Wei Shen consegue seu lugar ao sol de um gênero muito difícil de ser acertado: o sandbox,
    (in portuguese)

    Sleeping Dogs é um jogo de proporções muito grandes. E consegue ser um excelente jogo, um dos melhores do ano. Um jogo enorme, com uma cidade com muito a se fazer, que desafia e recompensa o jogo a cada ação feita, a aventura de Wei Shen consegue seu lugar ao sol de um gênero muito difícil de ser acertado: o sandbox, principalmente por possuir uma cidade muito rica e dar desafios justos e recompensadores, tudo incrementado por um combate muito diversificado e cheio de possibilidades, um enredo bastante chamativo, músicas licenciadas de peso e gráficos muito bonitos pelo tamanho do jogo.

    Check the full review at http://jogadorpensante.com/2012/09/10/netos-review-sleeping-dogs/
    Expand
  26. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    Awesome! This game has to be the best I've played in a while, whilst GTA focuses on endless pockets you can only really carry 1 gun in Sleeping Dogs. Which I think is a good thing and helps the game seem more realistic, gameplay is great and the free roam aspect is so in-depth I forget the missions are even there. 10 out of 10 and a must buy (or rent)
  27. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    Not GOTY but still better then saints row serious ignore the reviews you read on the big websites this is a game to buy

    not as good as GTA but it comes very close im sure if they continue this franchise in the future it could out shine Grand theft auto
  28. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    Giving it a 9
    No matter how bad people say it is
    I still enjoy it especially I'm a Hong Kong people
    Hugh props to the developer on data researching
    With one example
    I saw a bus in the game with a no. 307 to Tai Po
    I live in Tai Po and the bus no. of the bus that go between Hong Kong Island and Tai Po is 307!
    I was stunned
  29. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    The Grand Theft Auto we deserve, is also the one we desperately need right now. Innovates, and reinvigorates the worn and tired genre. Truly a feat in today's gaming atmosphere.
  30. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    Certainly very refreshing. Story is compelling and sticks to you. Living in Hong Kong myself certainly plays a part in the attractiveness as well. Chase seen is amazing.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    Sleeping Dogs had been in development as the next installment of Activision's "True Crime" franchise but the publisher ceased funding and cancelled it. Square Enix turned up to salvage the project and Sleeping Dogs was the result. The fact it turned out as good as it did -- that it's executed so well, performs as well as it does, sets the bar for open world combat and driving -- made Sleeping Dogs, story stumbles aside, the most surprising game of 2012.
  2. Sep 23, 2012
    80
    As much as it may lack polish and finesse, Sleeping Dogs makes up for its minor shortcomings with pure entertainment. [Issue#89,p.78]
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Sep 18, 2012
    80
    Sleeping Dogs is an addictive diamond in the rough with a compelling story and insane combat only slightly let down by poor driving and racing mechanics. [Oct 2012, p.54]