Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 405 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sleeping Dogs is an open world cop drama set in the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Taking the role of undercover cop Wei Shen, players must take down one of the world's most lethal criminal organizations from the inside. Featuring imaginative combat systems, Sleeping Dogs empowers enables players to perform an array of martial arts moves, singlehandedly taking on numerous opponents. Players perform visceral kicks and combos, vicious counters and a cinematic set of environmental takedowns making use of real-world items from circular saws to phone booths, incinerators to refrigerator doors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Aug 25, 2012
    92
    Going back to the opening question and whether there is anything bad about Sleeping Dogs, there are a few rough edges here and there but absolutely nothing to write home about. The overall experience from start to finish is brilliant and the only disappointment is the wait you'll have until some DLC hopefully comes out. Even if you're currently playing something right now I urge you to stop and go buy this right now!
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    90
    This is a fantastic game. Where some strive for realism while sacrificing fun, or focus on fun to the detriment of realism, Sleeping Dogs manages the impressive feat of finding a between the two. The characters are universally interesting, the story is engaging, there is never a shortage of things to keep you busy, and it all comes packaged in a gritty and visceral virtual version of Hong Kong. What more could you want?
  3. 88
    United Front Games has crafted a stunning open-world action romp that draws on a variety of cinematic influences to startling effect. Sleeping Dogs is by no means perfect, but at times, it comes painfully close.
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Despite several setbacks with authenticity and character depth, Sleeping Dogs delivers an entertaining and realistic enough interpretation of Hong Kong to warrant a sequel.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    After the two mediocre True Crime games, we had abandoned all hope for a good project by United Front Games. Sleeping Dogs proved us wrong. It's a great, open world game, with beautiful graphics, engaging gameplay and one of the most interesting stories this genre has to offer.
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    So perhaps Sleeping Dogs isn't one of those games you'll want to keep on playing long after you've seen its story's conclusion. But while you're engaged with that story, this is an effective open-world experience, filled with interesting characters, some exciting action, and enough unpredictability to keep you hooked. It might feel familiar, but that doesn't make it any less fun.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    40
    A middling open-world game can get by if it's well paced. The Saboteur and Prototype 2, for instance, weren't necessarily good, but they moved. Really moved. They pulled you forward, thanks in large part to great progression systems. There is no such sense of progression in Sleeping Dogs. You have a few tracks that gradually unlock moves you may never use.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 108
  2. Negative: 7 out of 108
  1. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This game deserves to be Game of The Year in my opinion. Everything that is put in this game is amazing. The story is absolutely amazing and how it is told is amazing. The combat is fluid and fun and never gets boring. When you are done with the campaign no worries you can do the very fun activities and favors that are in the world. You can also collect the hundreds of lock boxes the world has along with the Jade statues that unlock you new moves to use in combat. A very solid title and i hope to see some dlc for this game very soon and hopefully a Sleeping Dogs 2. 10/10 Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    I was really looking forward to this game, and I am not disappointed. The story (so far) is believable and well written. The city is living and breathing and very enjoyable to inhabit. The attention to detail is remarkable: you can see bugs crawling on the ground! The voice acting is superb. As for the gameplay, the driving is great, a great mix between realistic and arcadish. The free running sections are very fun, it's great to run around jumping and sliding to evade the cops. The combat is perfect and challenging. Some may find it a little too challenging... it takes some time getting used to, but free flow with counters and environmental takedowns is just awesome (it's like Batman meets the Bourne Conspiracy). Gunplay is satisfying and focused on moving forward, since you can combine some free running and melee with it, giving a good pace to it. You can stay in cover if you want to, but it's a lot more enjoyable not to. Had this game been published by Rockstar, the reviews probably would have been better. I mean, GTA4 was good, but not as enjoyable as this game was for me... and the reviews were so biased it's not even funny. If you're looking for a solid open-world game with great gameplay and a compelling storyline, I recommend this game hands down. Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    Sleeping dogs is an amazing sandbox game from square enix, who in the last few years have had som pretty terrible games. the story is awesome way better then what gta has done in the past few attempts as you play both sides of the law in the game and the writing/voice acting int the game is top notch. there are some truely big stars in this one. the combat is alot like the latest batman games but with more depth such as unlockable combos and perks. the driving and gunplay are also quite good with the driving being quite arcady feeling and the guns dealing definative damage. the graphics in the game are definately not going to blow you away like crysis 3 or skyrim but they are seviceable and some of the textures are quite nice to look at. over all the game is quite amazing, the story is good, gameplay is enjoyable, and its a fairly long game if you want to get 100% completeion. also at 30 bucks used right now at gamestop, nows the best time to experience this gem. Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    Ignore anyone who says this game is bad. I am extremley picky when it comes to games, i recently bought Darksiders 2 and found it boring.

    This has some new elements, high speed car hijacking is fantastic. Combat is great and the graphics are fine.

    If you are looking for a great story and something to entertain you until GTA V buy this game.
    Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    the gameplay is solid and smooth. although there is nothing new and creative in this game, i somehow enjoyed it a lot. for sure it is better than SR:the third. plus, i am from China, i can say they put hard work into the city and environment design to make the city a real HONGKONG. the background voice acting and sound are just amazing. i like gta mostly for the free roaming in cars, same here, love driving cars around the city. the combat is ok, not as fun as in batman game, but better than in AC. For me, it is a 7 game, i give it one more point for the believable hongkong feelings. Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    Sleeping Dogs was a great surprise, a sleeper title if you will haha. Sorry, back to the review. I had not heard about this game until I searched for one similar to GTA and found it listed among some other more familiar open world games. Sleeping dogs is set in Hong Kong, and the city scape and people really come to life in a novel way, it was a refreshing change from the typical US open world experiences. What I loved best was the combat system, it was similar to Batman but with martial arts. Guns are included but most of the glorious violence is dished out with your own two hands. Unlike other games that reward player performance with money sleeping dogs rewards us with new combat moves. orchestrating fights with a plethora of melee attacks was actually quite fun, and advancing further in the game was in part fueled by the desire to acquire new moves. Advancement was also propelled by a terrific story and interesting characters. Vehicles and racing missions are also executed way better in sleeping dogs than any GTA game. My only criticisms were that the game was semi-lacking in side missions, and other open world shenanigans typically found in GTA titles, and some of the side missions were repetitive and lacking in creativity. Overall I liked sleeping dogs better than GTA IV and I highly recommend. Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2013
    2
    I am quite disappointed with the game. The story is waaaaaayyy too predictable and a bit too boring. The fighting is fun but the AIs are a bit too sluggish. As a kung fu based game I really thought the fighting would be very fast, quick and tense but instead the most of the AIs are always standing around waiting for you to go to them and attack them then they attack you. The driving mechanic is bit clunky. The Hong Kong theme is quite good though and some of the activities are quite cool like the karaoke. But the game became quite boring too quickly. SOme of the side missions are quite boring but there are some quite fun side missions especially the ones that have Wei surrounded by enemies and Wei have to fight his way out. Sleeping dogs went below my expectation but this game got potential. Expand

See all 108 User Reviews