User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 121
  2. Negative: 18 out of 121

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 7, 2012
    7
    This game realy does deliver on its core gameplay mechanic. The sniping is brutal, beautiful and rewarding. There is a lack of narative but it is not a problem in this game in my opinion. The problem is with the game's direction as it is in so many other titles. The enemies can be a real annoyance, as they have superhuman abilities. I found getting the drop on an enemy sniper is nighThis game realy does deliver on its core gameplay mechanic. The sniping is brutal, beautiful and rewarding. There is a lack of narative but it is not a problem in this game in my opinion. The problem is with the game's direction as it is in so many other titles. The enemies can be a real annoyance, as they have superhuman abilities. I found getting the drop on an enemy sniper is nigh impossible. The music is also inapropriate a lot of times. But if you can forgive some minor hindrances and like a WW2 sniping game, look no further! Certainly worth a 2nd hand or discounted buy. Expand
  2. May 8, 2012
    7
    Sniper Elite V2 is a game that clearly has one main goal. This is to allow the player to step into the shoes of a sniper deep behind enemy lines and who is tasked with assassinating several Nazi scientists that hold the key to futuristic 'Wonder Weapons' that could change all future warfare. The game delivers in this respect, Setting up traps for any flanking enemy soldiers, boobySniper Elite V2 is a game that clearly has one main goal. This is to allow the player to step into the shoes of a sniper deep behind enemy lines and who is tasked with assassinating several Nazi scientists that hold the key to futuristic 'Wonder Weapons' that could change all future warfare. The game delivers in this respect, Setting up traps for any flanking enemy soldiers, booby trapping bodies and even making your way to that perfect location to get the right shot on your target feels authentic and fun. By far the most fun you will have in this game are the killcams you get when taking out your targets. These are made up of gory X-Ray style shots that show exactly what bones and organs your bullet hits on its travels through the enemy. There is however some downsides to this game. It can become frustrating when you find yourself surrounded by closing in enemies soon after pulling the trigger on your target, as your character doesn't last very long at all when the fighting gets up-close and personal. Sniper Elite is at it's roots a remake of an original Xbox title that came out towards the end of the consoles life cycle, and most people seem to forget this fact. The majority of reviews seem to complain about the graphics being of low quality, and whilst i disagree with this, I will admit that they are not up to the standard of other games coming out this summer. The game looks heaps and bounds better than the original, with the war torn Berlin setting playing a huge role in the game. The character models are not bad, but do lack some of those subtle animations that can make then seem believable. The weapons all seem very realistic when compared to how they look in other games. Basically if you are going in to this game thinking it is going to be the next 'COD killer' then don't bother buying it, you are going to be disappointed. If you are looking at is as you are interested in stealth game play and the whole sniper aspect that seems to get very little spotlight in other titles on Xbox 360, the Sniper Elite V2 might be just the game you are looking for. If you are still not sure, there is a free demo available to download on Xbox Live, so why not try it out for yourself? I did, and the next day i went out and bought it! Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2012
    6
    game was boring after 2nd mission co-op was the only thing that kept me from giving it a 5 but the game had its own unique visual style i would like to see it perfected in a future installment
  4. May 4, 2012
    7
    Well. The kill cam is great. The kill cam is really great. And you see a lot of it. But the game has many downsides. The AI is running back and forth when it's supposed to shoot you and take cover. And often times it's shooting repeatedly to a wall or some other obstacle. Also it's a bit annoying to sneak around, because the sneaking movement is veeeryyy slooooowwww. And if you decide NOTWell. The kill cam is great. The kill cam is really great. And you see a lot of it. But the game has many downsides. The AI is running back and forth when it's supposed to shoot you and take cover. And often times it's shooting repeatedly to a wall or some other obstacle. Also it's a bit annoying to sneak around, because the sneaking movement is veeeryyy slooooowwww. And if you decide NOT to sneak, tons of enemies hear in no time you and you're dead, because of the clumsy CQB controls. You can't really tell when it's safe to walk normally, so you'll have to sneak pretty much all the time. The game doesn't save checkpoints, so if you want to take a break and play the mission tomorrow or some other day, you'll have to start from the beginning of that mission. But the sniping mechanic is cool and the kill cam just never gets old. The game has it's moments, mostly moments in which you have a vantage point or other safe spot to snipe, and shoot amazing headshots from a distance. The sneaking and CQB are weak. Expand
  5. May 9, 2012
    6
    The demo was great, allowing you to make amazing shots with your sniper, in a 20 minute demo. However, once you play the full game, you start to see the novelty wear off, with repetive objectives, tedious and dumb AI, and a story that is just there for no reason. I enjoyed playing it, mainly because I loved shooting a Russian sniper 200ft away from me in the eye, but once you take a shot,The demo was great, allowing you to make amazing shots with your sniper, in a 20 minute demo. However, once you play the full game, you start to see the novelty wear off, with repetive objectives, tedious and dumb AI, and a story that is just there for no reason. I enjoyed playing it, mainly because I loved shooting a Russian sniper 200ft away from me in the eye, but once you take a shot, the AI will automatically know where you are. It is pretty lenghty, lasting about 8 hours, but for £39.99, this is not worth it. I recommend renting Sniper Elite V2, to keep you occupied for Max Payne 3 next month! Expand
  6. May 6, 2012
    5
    I loved the demo for this game. The bullet cam was great and really helped give the genre and interesting twist and got me interested for the full game which I got day 1 release. Unfortunately Sniper Elite V2 is one of those games that actually made me angry at the developers for ignoring such gaping holes in their product. The AI is the main offender followed very closely by clunkyI loved the demo for this game. The bullet cam was great and really helped give the genre and interesting twist and got me interested for the full game which I got day 1 release. Unfortunately Sniper Elite V2 is one of those games that actually made me angry at the developers for ignoring such gaping holes in their product. The AI is the main offender followed very closely by clunky controls and massive irregular gameplay. I regard myself as a pretty decent at shooters but I expect a game to play by its own rules. Sniper Elite V2 sets up the rules and breaks them every chance it gets. AI is constantly changing, one minute they're idiots waiting in the open for you to snipe they're heads off, then as soon as you take your 1st shot the whole lot of them center on your position like flesh seeking homing missiles and proceed to track you wherever you go and they're impossible to lose. This is a huge problem in a stealth shooter as ANY element of sneaking about instantly vanishes the moment you take a shot. Like wise silent melee kills are extremely difficult to pull off due to the inconsistant AI either missing you a foot away or spotting you through a wall 200 yards above them. This wouldn't be so bad if the close range combat was as fun as the sniping, unfortunately it's not. It's not fun AT ALL. The collision detection must be off because sometimes I was able to take a sniper shot to the face and other times a few stray SMG bullets would do me in. Clunky controls exacerbate this issue and often had me swearing and gritting me teeth, frustrated that yet again the game refused to play by its own rules. There are a few moments of greatness in there such as the long distance kill and the times you are facing off against solo snipers in the ruins of Berlin but they're few and far between. Overall about three hours in I started playing only to finish the game just to spite it. When I did, back to EB and got my $89 back. It's sad to see a great opportunity wasted like this but it's becoming more common nowadays with devs sitting on their laurels thinking they can make just 1 portion of their game playable and just copy paste, read: half arse, the rest.

    It's not all bad and I think it all depends on your level of tolerance with inconsistant video games and bad controls. If you can find a single gimick can carry your whole gaming experience and love and I mean LOVE WW2 shooters than it's a must by. But if you're like me, enjoy WW2 shooters but need them to be interesting enough not to have to rely on bullet cam and fairly decent graphics, then give it a miss, or a rent. The story is generic but not terrible, bullet cam xray sniper kills are brilliant, close combat and AI are totally broken and the less said about the repetitive level design the better. We've all played old call of duty, we know what crumbling buildings look like and night time fighting in said buildings is not "a different environment". Concentrate on the whole game next time please Rebellion.
    Expand
  7. May 2, 2012
    5
    The more you play the worse this game gets. In larger maps the AI is highly problematic. You snipe someone, they see you despite your best efforts, you hide, they find you, you wind up killing everything with 1 of 3 guns sometimes even the AI enemies pass near your without shooting. The more levels you get through, the more boring it gets with "run of the mill" type of missions, the singleThe more you play the worse this game gets. In larger maps the AI is highly problematic. You snipe someone, they see you despite your best efforts, you hide, they find you, you wind up killing everything with 1 of 3 guns sometimes even the AI enemies pass near your without shooting. The more levels you get through, the more boring it gets with "run of the mill" type of missions, the single player is overall a extremely short experience. I recommend renting this but not buying it Expand
  8. May 3, 2012
    6
    Sniper Elite V2, ok the game is better than the first Sniper Elite, have great graphics, and good gameplay, but have much problems, the concept of the game is same, and is boring in some parts.
  9. May 7, 2012
    6
    Wow! Since my last review was deleted due to childish sensitivities and melodramatic over-reactions from amateur reviewers who either can't score games properly using decimal points or believe this game A.I is the second coming, to those professional reviewers who disgracefully rewarded this game a 4 when awarding Ridge Racer Unbounded a 9! Since my previously comments were judgedWow! Since my last review was deleted due to childish sensitivities and melodramatic over-reactions from amateur reviewers who either can't score games properly using decimal points or believe this game A.I is the second coming, to those professional reviewers who disgracefully rewarded this game a 4 when awarding Ridge Racer Unbounded a 9! Since my previously comments were judged inappropriate, I'll simply say this is a rental at best though you're welcome to believe the sheep and waste your hard earned! Expand
  10. Feb 24, 2015
    5
    The awful control interface, terrible combat mechanics, disastrous musical score and complete lack of story line to care about is almost made up for by the amazing sniping fun and legendary kill-cam... almost.
  11. May 23, 2012
    5
    The first game was a surprisingly entertaining and tactically deep budget title. The sequel retains most of the mechanics, but seems to have taken a few too many cues from Call of Duty when it comes to level design. It's short, very linear, and nowhere near as fun as the first. The kill-cam is pretty spectacular, but the ridiculously stupid AI with occasional superhuman senses neverThe first game was a surprisingly entertaining and tactically deep budget title. The sequel retains most of the mechanics, but seems to have taken a few too many cues from Call of Duty when it comes to level design. It's short, very linear, and nowhere near as fun as the first. The kill-cam is pretty spectacular, but the ridiculously stupid AI with occasional superhuman senses never makes the kills really satisfying. Expand
  12. May 27, 2012
    6
    This game isn't as bad as everyone says it is. Noted it is repetitive and lacks a very direct and thrilling story-line, however the kill cam feature showing the bullets effect on your enemies body is impressive. This game has a multiplier mode in which I did not fully explore as I don't see how a game of this caliber would have an enticing multiplier experience. The emphasis on being "theThis game isn't as bad as everyone says it is. Noted it is repetitive and lacks a very direct and thrilling story-line, however the kill cam feature showing the bullets effect on your enemies body is impressive. This game has a multiplier mode in which I did not fully explore as I don't see how a game of this caliber would have an enticing multiplier experience. The emphasis on being "the most accurate sniper game, ect..", is very far from the truth. The sniping experience is no different than Battlefield 3, the height needs to be adjusted due to range of the target, however bullet drop seems far from accurate, the scope is too steady and AI is a joke. I think it should be more challenging and actually take the prospective of a sniper and not some Rambo style game play. If this game didn't have the kill cam they incorporated I'd have given it a 3 Expand
  13. Aug 15, 2012
    5
    Overall, this is a fun game. However, it didn't meet my expectations, which were somewhat high considering the original is a gem of a game. The first and greatest issue I have with this game is that the tension from the first one is simply not there. This is a big disappointment. Getting spotted in the original meant running for your life and trying to find a hiding spot, crossing yourOverall, this is a fun game. However, it didn't meet my expectations, which were somewhat high considering the original is a gem of a game. The first and greatest issue I have with this game is that the tension from the first one is simply not there. This is a big disappointment. Getting spotted in the original meant running for your life and trying to find a hiding spot, crossing your fingers that the enemy didn't see you crawl under that car. In V2, you can just relax and shoot everybody coming at you without a sweat, especially since they're not very smart and just line up in front of your rifle most of the time. The second biggest problem with this game is the AI, that have X-Ray vision and bionic hearing. It's very hard to sneak around, which should basically be the whole point of this game. Lastly, there is no sense of story whatsoever: you just get teleported to what seems like random locations and are asked to assassinate people, which again is something that was done better in the original as well. Those frustrations aside, the game is still enjoyable as a sniping game. It's fun to plant traps and lure enemies in them. The ambience is somewhat okay and the difficulty is respectable (without considering that enemies spot you from behind walls). You'd be better off buying this game on sale or renting it on a rainy afternoon. If you liked the original, you will probably be disappointed like I was... Expand
  14. Apr 24, 2013
    7
    I like this game personally, it is great, pardon the expression, gun porn. Get the St. Pierre DLC, and your favourite rifle and plunk some guys in the head and feel better about life in general.
  15. Apr 4, 2015
    7
    Sniper elite v2 is an enjoyable game, but not enough for me to give this an 8 or a 9 score or even a 10. This game has some good stealth mechanics but not very good mechanics for action sequences. Its hard to tell if this game is meant to be a stealth game or a third person action sniper game. In each level you have three different weapons, a pistol, a machine gun and of course a sniper. ASniper elite v2 is an enjoyable game, but not enough for me to give this an 8 or a 9 score or even a 10. This game has some good stealth mechanics but not very good mechanics for action sequences. Its hard to tell if this game is meant to be a stealth game or a third person action sniper game. In each level you have three different weapons, a pistol, a machine gun and of course a sniper. A trip mine, a rock and a dynamite ect. But the funny thing is, that you will barely use any of these weapons except for the sniper unless your playing on higher difficulties. I'm not saying that this game is bad, but there must be improvements, if you like snipers then get this game. Expand
  16. May 21, 2015
    6
    Good? Yes. Great? Far from. I enjoyed the game for its sniping and its slow-motion close up ultra-violent sniping kill animations but that's the only reason. The story is uninteresting and the other modes (aside form single player) are pretty lackluster. If you like sniping in video games, there's little doubt you'll like this game. If you don't, you won't. This game can be picked up forGood? Yes. Great? Far from. I enjoyed the game for its sniping and its slow-motion close up ultra-violent sniping kill animations but that's the only reason. The story is uninteresting and the other modes (aside form single player) are pretty lackluster. If you like sniping in video games, there's little doubt you'll like this game. If you don't, you won't. This game can be picked up for cheap now (or bought digitally for cheap) so it's probably worth its price now, but it would not have been when it was first released. It's a pretty good game with solid sniping mechanics but it doesn't excel...at all. Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    75
    While there's been plenty to complain about in Sniper Elite V2, I can't condemn the game overall. There are great 1st- and 3rd-person shooters out there, and this can't be counted among them, but in the sniping subgenre, V2 is basically peerless and should be respected as such among its audience.
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    79
    It's a shame that the AI behaves so irrationally and the levels are so small. With a little bit more ambition Sniper Elite V2 could have been a real gem. [June 2012]
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    Sniper Elite V2 is a fantastic game and is definitely something different from the usual shooter we have come to know and love. While the close combat can be frustrating at times, the sniping is brilliant, and there's nothing better than getting that kill cam right between the eyes of an enemy. If you're looking for something fresh to play this is a must buy.