Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    49
    Ghost Warrior 2 falls into the trap of trying to be accessible to a wide audience - however the end result is casual and veteran gamers will feel ultimately let down by a complete lack of freedom and unoriginal gameplay.
  2. Apr 7, 2013
    48
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 turned out to be a clumsy attempt in creating a sniper-focused FPS, with many defects and few positives. A good overall atmosphere is overcome by a bad enemy AI, an incredibly short campaign and glitchy CryEngine implementation. Forgettable.
  3. Apr 11, 2013
    45
    Sniper 2: Ghost Warrior is a well presented game, but its lack of variance quickly diminishes any entertainment and turns it into a chore.
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    45
    Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 delivers what it promised to do, meaning not much, but that fact alone is worth mentioning. Forget all about the big productions of the market, here we clearly are in another market share: Low Cost gaming. This Dacia of the videogame, once the buyer don't expect the full service, starts scoring points in the spirit of the fanatic of sniper games. If we cant consider recommending this game to the first gamer we meet, a real hardcore gamer fond of Sniper action might well like it. In the mean time, the gamer that does not want to pay the full price (70€) for a game that's so specialized in it's offering, could appreciate this games which is sold at a bargain price.
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    45
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 fails in too many elements. It's linear, simplistic and has a guided campaign. There's little variety and it's too short. City Interactive doesn't take advantage of Cry Engine 3, and it's full of graphical issues.
  6. Aug 8, 2013
    40
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 does a mediocre job of offering up a shooting gallery, but it's so limited in scope that it's almost impossible to recommend to anyone who doesn't feel a strange sense of arousal whenever they imagine popping a bullet into someone's head at several hundred yards. Well, whenever Diaz finally tells them to, of course.
  7. 40
    To really appreciate Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2, one really has to love sniping and unbelievably stupid enemies.
  8. 40
    I realize this is what’s considered a budget title at $39.99, but regardless of this fact I felt like one would not get much for their hard earned, and spent, dollars here. Give this one a pass unless you are the most addicted of scope junkies or if you enjoyed the first game.
  9. Mar 21, 2013
    40
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 atones for the sins of its predecessor by offering a more polished and playable experience. But equally, it commits its own transgression by throwing up generic, linear gameplay in the far-too-short campaign, accompanied by a weak multiplayer. This is one shooter that is certainly not sharp.
  10. Mar 20, 2013
    40
    An interesting concept that proves less interesting in execution—and ultimately suffers from repetition that’s beyond boring.
  11. Mar 19, 2013
    40
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 is a game that does little to entertain due to poor graphics and boring game design options. Keep this game carefully out of sniping distance from your wallet.
  12. Mar 19, 2013
    30
    The game's main problem, everything considered, is that it makes what should be a test of skill and patience into a series of shooting galleries that require little skill. Instead, it's a woeful Call of Duty with a telescope.
  13. Mar 18, 2013
    30
    A sequel that seems to have learned almost nothing from the deeply flawed original, and which still only hints at the wider potential for a proper sniper sim.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    I must admit, the discount price made me unsure if this would even be worth 39.99, let alone 60.00. After the first 2 missions I was very happy. The graphics, while not on par with Crysis 3, work fine. Some minor fade in on the trees and cave walls but nothing terrible. No screen tearing or other glaring problems. The A.I. on Hard is very tough but not to the point where they see you behind cover. If you make a mistake, they will catch you. The missions that have you covering Seal teams are some of my faves and the graphics on the wide open spaces are great. While this game is a lot more linear than I would have liked, it does the job nicely. Bullet physics are dead on and scenery is quite nice. The videos some people have posted are low res pc versions as the 360 version looks great. If you are looking for something that doesn't have you running and gunning but still shooting out skulls, this is a good buy for the price.The game is very linear and I would have liked more bullet cam shots. The occasional mission with a spotter are kind of clumsy when compared to the solo missions, but again, for the price, its a lot of fun. The thermal cam is especially nice. The multi-player is the sore note. Long connection times and very little in the way of modes and stages. Two from what i saw, unless you get the Steel box edition which comes with the Arctic DLC maps. I didn't like the first sniper game, it was slow, with terribly unrealistic A.I. This game fixes most of those problems and the assault levels are gone. You play the role of a sniper, nothing less, nothing more. Give it a chance, I think you will be happy with your purchase. Full Review »
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    I think the official reviewer has lost his mind, didn't really play the game, or has a bias of thinking it would suck because of the first game. The new sniper 2 game is fantastic fun. Is it extremely innovative? No, but that's not how games should be judged, but only on quality of gaming experience. The graphics of the lush foliage environments are splendidly accomplished and the gameplay is super fun taking out russian, filipinos, and ukranians from long range. This game is meant to be played on hard if you want a true sniping experience without all the help. I really enjoyed protecting the seal teams from afar. I actually hated the first sniper game but very much have enjoyed my experience with this game. If there is one thing we've learned, don't trust reviewers (ahem Diablo 3 and Mass Effect 3, etc.). They are biased, paid off, or way too enamored with innovation. Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    4
    Very poor graphics on console, awful use of cryengine 3.
    On max difficulty the game lasted less then 5 hours, and multiplayer only 2 maps.

    Ballistic and gameplay is good, AI behaviour is terrible and unrealistic.
    Bulletcam is nice, but you will see it very rarely. Death animations are most terrible i have ever seen... Mission are straight forward and linear.
    Compared to Sniper Elite V2, Ghost Warrior looks like a bad joke.
    Full Review »