User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 101
  2. Negative: 40 out of 101

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    I must admit, the discount price made me unsure if this would even be worth 39.99, let alone 60.00. After the first 2 missions I was very happy. The graphics, while not on par with Crysis 3, work fine. Some minor fade in on the trees and cave walls but nothing terrible. No screen tearing or other glaring problems. The A.I. on Hard is very tough but not to the point where they see you behind cover. If you make a mistake, they will catch you. The missions that have you covering Seal teams are some of my faves and the graphics on the wide open spaces are great. While this game is a lot more linear than I would have liked, it does the job nicely. Bullet physics are dead on and scenery is quite nice. The videos some people have posted are low res pc versions as the 360 version looks great. If you are looking for something that doesn't have you running and gunning but still shooting out skulls, this is a good buy for the price.The game is very linear and I would have liked more bullet cam shots. The occasional mission with a spotter are kind of clumsy when compared to the solo missions, but again, for the price, its a lot of fun. The thermal cam is especially nice. The multi-player is the sore note. Long connection times and very little in the way of modes and stages. Two from what i saw, unless you get the Steel box edition which comes with the Arctic DLC maps. I didn't like the first sniper game, it was slow, with terribly unrealistic A.I. This game fixes most of those problems and the assault levels are gone. You play the role of a sniper, nothing less, nothing more. Give it a chance, I think you will be happy with your purchase. Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    I think the official reviewer has lost his mind, didn't really play the game, or has a bias of thinking it would suck because of the first game. The new sniper 2 game is fantastic fun. Is it extremely innovative? No, but that's not how games should be judged, but only on quality of gaming experience. The graphics of the lush foliage environments are splendidly accomplished and the gameplay is super fun taking out russian, filipinos, and ukranians from long range. This game is meant to be played on hard if you want a true sniping experience without all the help. I really enjoyed protecting the seal teams from afar. I actually hated the first sniper game but very much have enjoyed my experience with this game. If there is one thing we've learned, don't trust reviewers (ahem Diablo 3 and Mass Effect 3, etc.). They are biased, paid off, or way too enamored with innovation. Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    A huge step over the first one! AI is actually very good this time around. It's a lot of fun sneaking around the large open spaces. It's a bit linear and the graphics could be better (especially the frame rate at times) but I like this game very much! Give those guys a bigger budget and they are able to deliver a AAA-title next time around...
  4. Mar 18, 2013
    4
    Very poor graphics on console, awful use of cryengine 3.
    On max difficulty the game lasted less then 5 hours, and multiplayer only 2 maps.
    Ballistic and gameplay is good, AI behaviour is terrible and unrealistic.
    Bulletcam is nice, but you will see it very rarely. Death animations are most terrible i have ever seen... Mission are straight forward and linear.
    Compared to Sniper Elite
    V2, Ghost Warrior looks like a bad joke. Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    I think the Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 is more better then the first game. _city interactiv made good game for low price. Graphic mayby isn't like crysis3 but is better than good. Hovever Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 is actually best sniper game and i have lot of fun playing. I'm waitting for more maps to play multiplayer.
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Fantastic game. I was extremely surprised at how much I like this game. I abhor strict script play, but going in I knew it was a linear, follow me game. The story could use a little more depth but the play is fun and the real reason I even gave the game a chance was CryEngine3. Multiplayer is intense but fairly buggy, suffering from glitchy lighting and fauna. The bare bones menu and game type simplifies things dramatically but I always say every game on the market suffers from a lack of options. Expand
  7. Mar 17, 2013
    5
    I completed this game in 4 hrs 48 mins which is an unacceptable length for a game. On the positive side the sniping aspects are really well done and are a lot of fun. on the negative side the graphics are poor and in some cases laughable and the story is boring and forgettable. The multiplayer is the biggest joke......... one game mode (team deathmatch), and two maps, it gets boring after a couple of games. I would recommend renting over buying. Expand
  8. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    With this price(Collectors edition in gamestop 60€), this is a great game! Yes it's linear but still gives you a challenge. Bullet physics are fantastic. I highly recommend!
  9. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    This isn't a bad game at all, it's nothing amazing but if you are the type that likes sniper games then you should like this one. What surprised me was the multiplayer, although limited (I assume more maps/modes will come later via DLC) it was good fun. Nice vantage points and sniper tactics actually play a part (relocate after shooting, fire from well within cover etc). I also liked the shooting range, gives you a chance to test your skills. The single player is rather linear, but got more a feel of working together with the spotter compared to the first game. It would be nice to have more of a free roam type of game. I think developers when they make sniper games kind of forget the creep is part of the game and try to add too much action. But then I suppose they have to find a balance to appealing to the mainstream as well. Overall I would like them to take a risk if there is a next game, leave it up to the player to decide how/when/where to take out the target. Less action, more tactical. But a good game if you like playing as a sniper. Though nothing has moved on with this sort of genre. Expand
  10. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Ill be honest when I first played this game I hated it. Not because I was bad at tge game but because the game was flawed severely. The ai wasnt very smart or stupid and some of the physics and yes the dreadful bugs irritated me. But as I played more and more and got into the story (yes I do enjoy the story so far) I started really liking this game. The first one had its flaws as welk and I enjoyed that as well but I can assure you this sequel is better and more polished than its predecessor. Both games were gorgeous and to be honest I cant decide which graphics I liked more. There just really good. Anyways tge game I based on a true sniper experience so with ygat said those who ard w as nting to run and gun with machine guns and assault rifles should look elsewhere. This game requires patience and precision since you have to pay attention to wind speed and alignment when sniping. I havent beat the main campaign yet but I do enjoy the story. Overall I realky enjoyed the game as I played it more. Yes it has its flaws and its not the best game on the market but it is a gfeat sniping experience for just $40 and a pretty damn good one too Expand
  11. Mar 20, 2013
    5
    cant join on a game with friends took 30 mins trying to get on game with friends last night in the end we gave up very disappointing please sort it
  12. Mar 19, 2013
    7
    I took a chance with this game because of the £25 price point thinking it would be rubbish. But I was wrong, the single player is fun, as well as the multiplayer. Graphics aren't the best but what do you expect for 25 quid. Excellent game
  13. Feb 27, 2014
    6
    compared to the first game this game looks like a masterpiece - compared to modern videogames this game is just okay.

    the game provides you will a number of interesting stealth/sniping sequences through the first of 3 acts. the game also looks fantastic throughout the first chapter due to cry engine 3's ability. The water effects are very average but the jungle, flora and fauna all look
    fantastic and the enemies are animated well. the sniping sequences in the first act make you feel like a trained elite sniper working with a team. however after the first act the game becomes fairly dull and boring, the sniping situations become limited as you spend your time close up to enemies completing stealth takedowns and sneaking past enemies which never offer much of a threat. i think i was shot once throughout the whole of the game and i was playing fairly stealthy. the sniping does make this worth playing though. the ballistics make the game fairly tough as you do have to adjust your shots due to the distance, wind, etc. which makes the shooting really cool. however you only have access to 3 sniper rifles throughout the entire game which does make the action less customisable.

    i enjoyed the story of the campaign - the revenge plot was interesting and the background to the main character was intriguing - however the overarching story of the game was fairly typical and the "general" or whoever he was in the game was a major pain and he never actually made sense. i was glad when the main character of the game turned him off.

    despite the flaws of the game it does offer a fairly cool sniping experience and if you can find it for cheap then pick it up :)
    Expand
  14. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    To clear up the previous games complaints; the graphics are much better, the pistol play, and overall feel of the movement in the game is improved to polished AAA levels, and the AI is actually pretty smart and won't give you many extra chances. That said this game is an experience like no other, it truly is groundbreaking. I allowed myself to be immersed in the environments of the game, really enjoy the suspenseful stealth action, and took meticulous time and effort to execute the perfectly orchestrated sets of silent kills, and I found a whole new level of awesomeness has hit the first person shooter genre! Lemme just say, shooting a guy in a helicopter feels pretty great, as does popping a guy in the head with your pistol and then knifing his friend standing next to him, all in one fluid motion x) Good Hunting, Gentlemen.

    P.S. At the beginning of Act 2 switch to Expert, you'll enjoy a game that makes you die a couple times
    Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. Aug 8, 2013
    40
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 does a mediocre job of offering up a shooting gallery, but it's so limited in scope that it's almost impossible to recommend to anyone who doesn't feel a strange sense of arousal whenever they imagine popping a bullet into someone's head at several hundred yards. Well, whenever Diaz finally tells them to, of course.
  2. May 13, 2013
    67
    Buggy and clumsy, yet somehow entertaining. [May 2013]
  3. May 9, 2013
    62
    Some great sniping action surrounded by ropey stealth sections and enemy AI. [June 2013, p.69]