Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of the deadliest sniper in an elite Ghost Warrior unit. Dug in deep within enemy territory, throw precision firepower and test your skills in a story of intrigue and betrayal. Feel the kill as you control your breathing and experience a realistic ballistics system. Experience the single player campaign and multiplayer sniper battles. The game is powered by CryENGINE® 3 technology. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    City Interactive has done a wonderful job of improving on the first Ghost Warrior title, and while this game still has a ways to go before being stellar, it definitely has succeeded in getting us excited for what the next sniping title may look like.
  2. Apr 19, 2013
    65
    The idea of Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 is great, the execution is poor and what could have been an excellent game now warrants just a single run-through on the single-player campaign before being sold over eBay. Whilst the actual sniping experience is very realistic and on a harder difficulty very immersive, it’s let down by poor visuals, a short campaign, a bare boned multiplayer and thick enemy AI.
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    On the surface, Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 has plenty going for it. Decent visuals if you don’t pay attention, a campaign that will stretch from 6-8 hours and some solid gameplay. But it lacks the drive to go any further, resulting in a lacklustre game that misses several high value shots in the process.
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    50
    A huge disappointment and a step back from the original game. Ghost Hunter 2 is boring, repetitive, and doesn't really immerse you in the world of snipers.
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    49
    Ghost Warrior 2 falls into the trap of trying to be accessible to a wide audience - however the end result is casual and veteran gamers will feel ultimately let down by a complete lack of freedom and unoriginal gameplay.
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    45
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 fails in too many elements. It's linear, simplistic and has a guided campaign. There's little variety and it's too short. City Interactive doesn't take advantage of Cry Engine 3, and it's full of graphical issues.
  7. Mar 18, 2013
    30
    A sequel that seems to have learned almost nothing from the deeply flawed original, and which still only hints at the wider potential for a proper sniper sim.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    I think the official reviewer has lost his mind, didn't really play the game, or has a bias of thinking it would suck because of the first game. The new sniper 2 game is fantastic fun. Is it extremely innovative? No, but that's not how games should be judged, but only on quality of gaming experience. The graphics of the lush foliage environments are splendidly accomplished and the gameplay is super fun taking out russian, filipinos, and ukranians from long range. This game is meant to be played on hard if you want a true sniping experience without all the help. I really enjoyed protecting the seal teams from afar. I actually hated the first sniper game but very much have enjoyed my experience with this game. If there is one thing we've learned, don't trust reviewers (ahem Diablo 3 and Mass Effect 3, etc.). They are biased, paid off, or way too enamored with innovation. Collapse
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    I think the Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 is more better then the first game. _city interactiv made good game for low price. Graphic mayby isn't like crysis3 but is better than good. Hovever Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 is actually best sniper game and i have lot of fun playing. I'm waitting for more maps to play multiplayer. Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Fantastic game. I was extremely surprised at how much I like this game. I abhor strict script play, but going in I knew it was a linear, follow me game. The story could use a little more depth but the play is fun and the real reason I even gave the game a chance was CryEngine3. Multiplayer is intense but fairly buggy, suffering from glitchy lighting and fauna. The bare bones menu and game type simplifies things dramatically but I always say every game on the market suffers from a lack of options. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Ill be honest when I first played this game I hated it. Not because I was bad at tge game but because the game was flawed severely. The ai wasnt very smart or stupid and some of the physics and yes the dreadful bugs irritated me. But as I played more and more and got into the story (yes I do enjoy the story so far) I started really liking this game. The first one had its flaws as welk and I enjoyed that as well but I can assure you this sequel is better and more polished than its predecessor. Both games were gorgeous and to be honest I cant decide which graphics I liked more. There just really good. Anyways tge game I based on a true sniper experience so with ygat said those who ard w as nting to run and gun with machine guns and assault rifles should look elsewhere. This game requires patience and precision since you have to pay attention to wind speed and alignment when sniping. I havent beat the main campaign yet but I do enjoy the story. Overall I realky enjoyed the game as I played it more. Yes it has its flaws and its not the best game on the market but it is a gfeat sniping experience for just $40 and a pretty damn good one too Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    A huge step over the first one! AI is actually very good this time around. It's a lot of fun sneaking around the large open spaces. It's a bit linear and the graphics could be better (especially the frame rate at times) but I like this game very much! Give those guys a bigger budget and they are able to deliver a AAA-title next time around... Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    This isn't a bad game at all, it's nothing amazing but if you are the type that likes sniper games then you should like this one. What surprised me was the multiplayer, although limited (I assume more maps/modes will come later via DLC) it was good fun. Nice vantage points and sniper tactics actually play a part (relocate after shooting, fire from well within cover etc). I also liked the shooting range, gives you a chance to test your skills. The single player is rather linear, but got more a feel of working together with the spotter compared to the first game. It would be nice to have more of a free roam type of game. I think developers when they make sniper games kind of forget the creep is part of the game and try to add too much action. But then I suppose they have to find a balance to appealing to the mainstream as well. Overall I would like them to take a risk if there is a next game, leave it up to the player to decide how/when/where to take out the target. Less action, more tactical. But a good game if you like playing as a sniper. Though nothing has moved on with this sort of genre. Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2013
    4
    Very poor graphics on console, awful use of cryengine 3.
    On max difficulty the game lasted less then 5 hours, and multiplayer only 2 maps.

    Ballistic and gameplay is good, AI behaviour is terrible and unrealistic.
    Bulletcam is nice, but you will see it very rarely. Death animations are most terrible i have ever seen... Mission are straight forward and linear.
    Compared to Sniper Elite V2, Ghost Warrior looks like a bad joke.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews