Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The democratic government of Isla Trueno has been overthrown and a military regime comes into power. The country becomes a theatre of influence war. You are sent as one of the covert commandos to support the rebels fighting their oppressor. [City Interactive]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 39
  2. Negative: 20 out of 39
  1. Sniper: Ghost Warrior isn't flawless, mainly due to a sub-par technical production and some mediocre run-and-gun shooting sections; nevertheless, the developers managed to bring us a very involving and atmospheric game, suited to everyone who has always been charmed by the sniper profession.
  2. Nice graphics but lackluster story and gameplay.
  3. Much scope for improvement. [Sept 2010, p.89]
  4. Unfortunately, Sniper is a "meh" experience with a very limited appeal; gamers with extreme patience and a passion for sniper rifles might enjoy themselves.
  5. We've seen all of Sniper: Ghost Warrior's tricks before, and in far superior games. [Issue#62,p.88]
  6. Tiny price or not, there are flaws every game should avoid. Starting with bugs, and other gameplay approximations that spawn frustration, when they are not simply getting the player plain angry. And as you no doubt have guessed, Sniper Ghost Warrior has all those flaws. Even for 40 euros, I'd recommend one less game in your collection, but more money to buy the next real one, which will be undoubtedly be better. After all, it's not like quality First Person Shooters with an enjoyable sniping experience are an unrealistic expectation to have for upcoming action games.
  7. Brilliant sniping mechanic; too bad you're spending most of your time fending off the poor game design in the sea of nauseating textures.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 9 out of 19
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    ever thought about strapping on some camo paint and snipering some creeps...then this is the game for you,its a very realistic take on being aever thought about strapping on some camo paint and snipering some creeps...then this is the game for you,its a very realistic take on being a sniper,you get to explore a jungle environment that is very large and runs very smoothly,very good game Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    8
    It's a stealth based game if you treat it as such, for the price it is these days and you like fps games you would be remiss not to give it aIt's a stealth based game if you treat it as such, for the price it is these days and you like fps games you would be remiss not to give it a try. I never played it online but I was very satisfied with the gameplay while I wait for dishonored, develepers should release more in the summer months Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2010
    7
    It just goes to show how little critics know about the game play or interest of so many gamers. Yes the game does not compare to MW2 orIt just goes to show how little critics know about the game play or interest of so many gamers. Yes the game does not compare to MW2 or greater franchise games. But it does deliver a gaming expierence by trying to do something different, gets you involved and provides you with some much needed action and excitement. Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2011
    5
    Okay first off. This game is no different than any other of city interactives range of sniper games. I looked on the case of them when i wasOkay first off. This game is no different than any other of city interactives range of sniper games. I looked on the case of them when i was in the shops and said hey these games look good i got them because they were on sale, But the gameplay was stale... I thaught their new sniper ghost warrior was going to be different but not a chance. The graphics were amazing i have no doubt about that. Okay first of all this game is too fast paced for its sort of genre in my opinion, i was looking for a slow paced sniping game when the targets required more stealth to hit. Also the sniping system is somewhat good but the instant hit bullets when not in scope is just awfull. I was hoping for bullets that actualy took time to hit their target such as in stalker and BFBC2. The assault rifles were just terrible to handle also. it felt like they were welded to my monitor. Also the npcs are just retarded. they can spot me in a ghillie suit under a canopy in the shade and in a bush when i fire my sniper rifle which is suppressed at 50 meters wehen they arent looking!? The story line was good enough. Again the graphics were great also but it was just these things that annoyed me. Just felt like playing Marine sharpshooter 3 with new textures and story... Expand
  5. May 9, 2012
    2
    Really a terribly bad game. Frustrating movement, and horrible gun mechanics make this near impossible to enjoy. It's only redeeming qualityReally a terribly bad game. Frustrating movement, and horrible gun mechanics make this near impossible to enjoy. It's only redeeming quality is the rag doll mechanics after a headshot. Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2013
    2
    The only thing this game is good on is PISSING ME OFF! This game is just out right terrible! Every time someone mentions this game I just wantThe only thing this game is good on is PISSING ME OFF! This game is just out right terrible! Every time someone mentions this game I just want to skin a cat! Well, maybe not that bad, but still Sniper Ghost warrior is a horrible game! One of the worst games I have ever played. Terrible graphics, horrendous controls, s###ty story, and a multiplayer that would make you go INSANE! I bought this game thinking that it will be a very good and well-managed sniper game and the thought of a sniper only game was ingenious. Instead it ended up being a huge flop! I should have known that this game was terrible when it was selling for $10 in a bargain bin. I don't even remember what your suppose to do even though I finished the whole game. The story is so forgettable! You won't care about the main character nor the other characters in the game. Do not buy this game! This game is just TERRIBLE! Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Buy this game and die of boredom, Its rubbish graphics, engine and frame rate, tell you what forget it this game sucks dick dont buy it ever,Buy this game and die of boredom, Its rubbish graphics, engine and frame rate, tell you what forget it this game sucks dick dont buy it ever, unless you plan to commit sucide Expand

See all 19 User Reviews