Sonic Adventure 2 Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the fight between heroes and villains, will you choose to save the world or conquer it? The hunt for the Chaos Emeralds is on and battle lines have been drawn between Hero and Dark. Experience two unique adventures featuring both long-time heroes and new and returning villains as theyIn the fight between heroes and villains, will you choose to save the world or conquer it? The hunt for the Chaos Emeralds is on and battle lines have been drawn between Hero and Dark. Experience two unique adventures featuring both long-time heroes and new and returning villains as they battle for the fate of the world! Sonic Adventure 2 makes its return on Xbox LIVE Arcade with a full cast of playable heroes and villains, exciting two-player competitive modes, Chao Gardens, and more than 30 action-packed stages, all remastered in HD! Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Relive 3 Classics in this Sega Heritage Collection Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    90
    Now that this great title is available with high definition graphics, it's a great way for fans of 3D platformers to spend ten bucks.
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    Minor troubles aside, for about ten bucks you get one of the best Sonic experiences, and one that can and will keep you busy for weeks, if you're really want to see everything. If you can get past the camera issues, some control quibbles and the rather boring search for crystals, this will hook you like in the olden days. This reunion might bring with it some surprises, as your memory seems to play tricks on you, but it's still a worthwhile get together.
  3. Oct 5, 2012
    65
    The new HD graphics are not perfect, but they're suitable. The character models don't look too bad, but some of the environments and textures just look weird in their "upgraded" form.
  4. Oct 5, 2012
    60
    Sonic Adventure 2 HD isn't terrible, it's just a relic from an unpleasant era. All of its problems are the sort of thing that plagued countless games back when Sega originally put it out, but they're also the sort of thing that people figured out how to fix in the years since.
  5. 50
    Fleeting moments of decency can't make up for the overall trudge, though. With such better Sonic outings in recent years, this old speedbump is best avoided.
  6. Oct 22, 2012
    50
    Sonic Adventure 2 might technically be Sonic but it doesn't have any of the classic spirit of the cocky hedgehog. Instead, Sonic Adventure 2 offers a bunch of nice concepts that feel a little disjointed and muddled.
  7. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Dec 5, 2012
    50
    Time to reassess everything about 2001. [Christmas 2012, p.99]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    eat Game worth the 800 MSP No 1040 MSP (Battle DLC) Good Great Graphics Good Story Great Sonic and Shadow Gameplay Addictive Chao Garden
    Good
    eat Game worth the 800 MSP No 1040 MSP (Battle DLC) Good Great Graphics Good Story Great Sonic and Shadow Gameplay Addictive Chao Garden
    Good Controls
    Introduces Shadow Well My Fave Sonic Character
    Bad
    Tails and Eggman levels are so slow
    Knuckles and Rouges Gameplay is a total abomination
    Some Terrible Levels (Crazy Gadget, Mad Space)
    Overpowered Bosses (2nd Tails Boss on ARK

    Anyway this remake of my best Sonic game ever is still great today. I'm putting up the score it's the best Sonic Game Ever and I'm Hopinb SA3 is coming soon
    Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    PROS
    -Outstanding graphics
    -Amazing gameplay -Best music a game could have -Story flows well - Can cause great memories -Always
    PROS
    -Outstanding graphics
    -Amazing gameplay
    -Best music a game could have
    -Story flows well
    - Can cause great memories
    -Always something to do

    CONS
    -A little glitchy
    Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    This game is GREAT. If you like SA1 then you will like this one. The only problem is that there is no onliine 2 player and knuckles radar is aThis game is GREAT. If you like SA1 then you will like this one. The only problem is that there is no onliine 2 player and knuckles radar is a downgrade. Other than that perfect! The graphics and everything. It might be hard at first but after a while it will start to be fun! Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2012
    7
    Let´s get to the point the only thing worthy of this game are Sonic/Shadow high-speed platforming stages and the racing versus mode theLet´s get to the point the only thing worthy of this game are Sonic/Shadow high-speed platforming stages and the racing versus mode the other modes aren´t that enjoyable, the tails/eggman stages are just mindless shooting and Knuckles/Rogue stages are just boring, you basically run around a stage to search emerald shard, and the story of the game is just terrible but the gameplay for Sonic and Shadow it´s great and really addicting and the racing versus mode it´s really fun. In conclusion get this game if you are a Sonic fan or like me you play it back in the dreamcast (or Game Cube) and you want it back. Collapse
  5. May 12, 2017
    6
    Much like "Sonic Adventure" that came before it, "Sonic Adventure 2" was one of the bigger games in my childhood. Being one of my firstMuch like "Sonic Adventure" that came before it, "Sonic Adventure 2" was one of the bigger games in my childhood. Being one of my first introductions to the character, I really enjoyed the game a lot and, as a kid, I could never decide whether or not I enjoyed "Sonic Adventure" or "Sonic Adventure 2" more (I had both of them on the GameCube, by the way). Upon revisiting (and finally beating) both of them, I can give a more firm answer as to whether "Sonic Adventure 2" is better than its predecessor: no. Don't get me wrong, it's still a decent game, but it's a flawed one.
    "Sonic Adventure 2" is visually solid, and the HD facelift provided by the rerelease (this time with no stupid square borders) helps bring out the colorfulness of the gameplay visuals. The game is also very fun, especially if you are playing the Speed sections (though the Master Emerald hunts can be very fun as well), In fact, the Speed sections alone are far and away the best part of the game, and they boost the game's final score a bit. And while I personally don't find as many of the songs in the game as memorable as those in "Sonic Adventure" (I'm not as into songs like "Live and Learn" or "City Escape" because they just aren't my thing), the music is still well-composed and well-performed. The story also has some heart and the game has decent variety and a good length, while also having a ton of replay value, meaning you'll almost always have something to do in the game.
    All that said, "Sonic Adventure 2" suffers from quite a few flaws. Despite having a slightly more ambitious story than other Sonic games, the game doesn't execute that well enough, and it tends to fall flat. And while I mentioned that it has some heart, the game's story is hard to take seriously when you're too busy laughing at the hilariously bad facial models (whose lips don't match their words), cheesy voice acting, overly-loud music and line cutoffs. Beyond that, the controls and camera are poor, and the Mech sections are absolutely atrocious and boring.
    It sounds like I'm really hating on "Sonic Adventure 2," and the truth is, it's not a bad game at all. It's actually pretty fun to play and it's considerably memorable. It's just that playing it in 2017 shows some of its age, and once you really get into the game, you start noticing its flaws. With all those flaws on display, it might be shocking to hear me say this, but "Sonic Adventure 2" is actually a solid game that's worth playing through at least once to see what it's like. Even so, as badly as I want to call it "good," I can't sit here and objectively call "Sonic Adventure 2" a GOOD game ("Good" to me starts at 7 out of 10) when I find this many flaws. So, to conclude, I had fun playing "Sonic Adventure 2" and I'm sure you'll probably enjoy it, but objectively, it's just a decent Sonic game that's worth it if you can find it for a reasonable price.
    Final rating: 6 out of 10 "Decent"
    Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2012
    5
    Sonic Adventure 2 has hardly aged like fine wine. It's always been the game with the best story in my eyes, and the soundtrack, while cheesy,Sonic Adventure 2 has hardly aged like fine wine. It's always been the game with the best story in my eyes, and the soundtrack, while cheesy, is solid and a good listen. However in the gameplay aspect, the bad really outweighs the good, and it actually feels like a downgrade from the first Sonic Adventure in most aspects. The Sonic/Shadow levels are alright. They're fun enough but seem to be based more on homing attacks, grinding and other events that might as well be scripted than the first. The mecha stages, are again, alright, but they really seem to drag on, especially towards the end of the game. And the treasure hunting is an absolute chore to suffer through and one can only wonder what it's doing in a game where the original selling point was fast paced gameplay. Wandering around the same area for ages until you hear a beeping sound and follow it is hardly fun. And these areas are so huge it's even more of a chore than the at least tolerable SA1 treasure stages. IDK, if you're very patient, or just a diehard Sonic fan, go for it. I'm sure you'll at least get enjoyment from the plot, the Sonic/Shadow stages and the cracking soundtrack Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2017
    1
    The ONLY good thing about this game are the chao's. Literally everything else is terrible. The controls, the camera, the story, theThe ONLY good thing about this game are the chao's. Literally everything else is terrible. The controls, the camera, the story, the characters, the missions, the voice acting, it is all horrible. This is one of the worst aging games I have ever played. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews