Sonic Adventure 2 Xbox 360

Sonic Adventure 2 Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the fight between heroes and villains, will you choose to save the world or conquer it? The hunt for the Chaos Emeralds is on and battle lines have been drawn between Hero and Dark. Experience two unique adventures featuring both long-time heroes and new and returning villains as theyIn the fight between heroes and villains, will you choose to save the world or conquer it? The hunt for the Chaos Emeralds is on and battle lines have been drawn between Hero and Dark. Experience two unique adventures featuring both long-time heroes and new and returning villains as they battle for the fate of the world! Sonic Adventure 2 makes its return on Xbox LIVE Arcade with a full cast of playable heroes and villains, exciting two-player competitive modes, Chao Gardens, and more than 30 action-packed stages, all remastered in HD! Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    90
    Now that this great title is available with high definition graphics, it's a great way for fans of 3D platformers to spend ten bucks.
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    Minor troubles aside, for about ten bucks you get one of the best Sonic experiences, and one that can and will keep you busy for weeks, if you're really want to see everything. If you can get past the camera issues, some control quibbles and the rather boring search for crystals, this will hook you like in the olden days. This reunion might bring with it some surprises, as your memory seems to play tricks on you, but it's still a worthwhile get together.
  3. Oct 5, 2012
    65
    The new HD graphics are not perfect, but they're suitable. The character models don't look too bad, but some of the environments and textures just look weird in their "upgraded" form.
  4. Oct 5, 2012
    60
    Sonic Adventure 2 HD isn't terrible, it's just a relic from an unpleasant era. All of its problems are the sort of thing that plagued countless games back when Sega originally put it out, but they're also the sort of thing that people figured out how to fix in the years since.
  5. 50
    Fleeting moments of decency can't make up for the overall trudge, though. With such better Sonic outings in recent years, this old speedbump is best avoided.
  6. Oct 22, 2012
    50
    Sonic Adventure 2 might technically be Sonic but it doesn't have any of the classic spirit of the cocky hedgehog. Instead, Sonic Adventure 2 offers a bunch of nice concepts that feel a little disjointed and muddled.
  7. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Dec 5, 2012
    50
    Time to reassess everything about 2001. [Christmas 2012, p.99]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    eat Game worth the 800 MSP No 1040 MSP (Battle DLC) Good Great Graphics Good Story Great Sonic and Shadow Gameplay Addictive Chao Garden
    Good
    eat Game worth the 800 MSP No 1040 MSP (Battle DLC) Good Great Graphics Good Story Great Sonic and Shadow Gameplay Addictive Chao Garden
    Good Controls
    Introduces Shadow Well My Fave Sonic Character
    Bad
    Tails and Eggman levels are so slow
    Knuckles and Rouges Gameplay is a total abomination
    Some Terrible Levels (Crazy Gadget, Mad Space)
    Overpowered Bosses (2nd Tails Boss on ARK

    Anyway this remake of my best Sonic game ever is still great today. I'm putting up the score it's the best Sonic Game Ever and I'm Hopinb SA3 is coming soon
    Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    PROS
    -Outstanding graphics
    -Amazing gameplay -Best music a game could have -Story flows well - Can cause great memories -Always
    PROS
    -Outstanding graphics
    -Amazing gameplay
    -Best music a game could have
    -Story flows well
    - Can cause great memories
    -Always something to do

    CONS
    -A little glitchy
    Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    This game is GREAT. If you like SA1 then you will like this one. The only problem is that there is no onliine 2 player and knuckles radar is aThis game is GREAT. If you like SA1 then you will like this one. The only problem is that there is no onliine 2 player and knuckles radar is a downgrade. Other than that perfect! The graphics and everything. It might be hard at first but after a while it will start to be fun! Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    This game is a direct port of the GC version of sonic adventure 2, minus the extra multiplayer battle mode, which is downloadable content.This game is a direct port of the GC version of sonic adventure 2, minus the extra multiplayer battle mode, which is downloadable content. the game still has an amazing soundtrack, good story, great level design, and still has some camera and control issues, that are more prominent in this version, however the game is still very enjoyable even with the forementioned bugs and issues. this is basically a straight up port, no more, no less. i still reccomend the dreamcast version, or even the gamecube version, but the dreamcast versions prices are up there, and getting this game on the xbox live arcade saves the hastle of pulling out the gamecube, for basically the same experience. a reallty great 3d platforming game that, while not as good as sonic adventure 1 (in my opinion) is still an amazing game. The game hasnt aged that well, but is still very enjoyable. i recomend it to any and all sonic fans, and any lover of 3d platformers. Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2015
    7
    A fun game with some great levels. I still hate the knuckles levels though because they take so long to beat. It's pretty much SA1 but withA fun game with some great levels. I still hate the knuckles levels though because they take so long to beat. It's pretty much SA1 but with better level design and no hub world.
    7/10
    Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2012
    5
    Sonic Adventure 2 has hardly aged like fine wine. It's always been the game with the best story in my eyes, and the soundtrack, while cheesy,Sonic Adventure 2 has hardly aged like fine wine. It's always been the game with the best story in my eyes, and the soundtrack, while cheesy, is solid and a good listen. However in the gameplay aspect, the bad really outweighs the good, and it actually feels like a downgrade from the first Sonic Adventure in most aspects. The Sonic/Shadow levels are alright. They're fun enough but seem to be based more on homing attacks, grinding and other events that might as well be scripted than the first. The mecha stages, are again, alright, but they really seem to drag on, especially towards the end of the game. And the treasure hunting is an absolute chore to suffer through and one can only wonder what it's doing in a game where the original selling point was fast paced gameplay. Wandering around the same area for ages until you hear a beeping sound and follow it is hardly fun. And these areas are so huge it's even more of a chore than the at least tolerable SA1 treasure stages. IDK, if you're very patient, or just a diehard Sonic fan, go for it. I'm sure you'll at least get enjoyment from the plot, the Sonic/Shadow stages and the cracking soundtrack Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    3
    I am truly disappointed with this game, Sonic Adventure (the first one) for the Xbox 360 was perfect in my opinion but this is bad. The storyI am truly disappointed with this game, Sonic Adventure (the first one) for the Xbox 360 was perfect in my opinion but this is bad. The story I can't hear at all because the music just drowns it out. The controls are TERRIBLE mostly on the Tail's stages. It seems everything great about the first one on the Xbox 360 was just tore apart and built from scratch on the second one. One thing I did like is the Sonic stages as I felt they were better than the first Sonic Adventure. Don't get this game on Xbox 360, get it on the Gamecube instead. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews