Sonic Adventure 2 Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 78
  2. Negative: 9 out of 78

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    This game has a ridiculous nostalgia factor for me, so it's insanely hard to try and judge this game objectively. However, I've done as good as I possibly can to remove myself from any kind of bias, and I think I can accurately say that this game still holds up decently well today. Nothing spectacular, but still an enjoyable ride. Most games back in the day Sonic Adventure 2 came out wouldThis game has a ridiculous nostalgia factor for me, so it's insanely hard to try and judge this game objectively. However, I've done as good as I possibly can to remove myself from any kind of bias, and I think I can accurately say that this game still holds up decently well today. Nothing spectacular, but still an enjoyable ride. Most games back in the day Sonic Adventure 2 came out would be borderline unplayable today, though, so at least it has that going for it. Still, the camera is really bad, and the controls are slightly clunky & occasionally unresponsive. I think this game would have benefited from an actual HD remake rather than a port. The character models would look better, and the camera/control issues would (most likely) not be an issue. A minor one at most. If you didn't play Sonic Adventure 2 back in the day, this isn't by an means a must-have. If you did, however, and you want to take a trip down memory lane, I highly recommend picking this up. Roll around at the speed of sound until you see those unforgettable words, "Rest easy, heroes." Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2012
    7
    Let´s get to the point the only thing worthy of this game are Sonic/Shadow high-speed platforming stages and the racing versus mode the other modes aren´t that enjoyable, the tails/eggman stages are just mindless shooting and Knuckles/Rogue stages are just boring, you basically run around a stage to search emerald shard, and the story of the game is just terrible but theLet´s get to the point the only thing worthy of this game are Sonic/Shadow high-speed platforming stages and the racing versus mode the other modes aren´t that enjoyable, the tails/eggman stages are just mindless shooting and Knuckles/Rogue stages are just boring, you basically run around a stage to search emerald shard, and the story of the game is just terrible but the gameplay for Sonic and Shadow it´s great and really addicting and the racing versus mode it´s really fun. In conclusion get this game if you are a Sonic fan or like me you play it back in the dreamcast (or Game Cube) and you want it back. Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    5
    Sonic Adventure 2 has hardly aged like fine wine. It's always been the game with the best story in my eyes, and the soundtrack, while cheesy, is solid and a good listen. However in the gameplay aspect, the bad really outweighs the good, and it actually feels like a downgrade from the first Sonic Adventure in most aspects. The Sonic/Shadow levels are alright. They're fun enough but seem toSonic Adventure 2 has hardly aged like fine wine. It's always been the game with the best story in my eyes, and the soundtrack, while cheesy, is solid and a good listen. However in the gameplay aspect, the bad really outweighs the good, and it actually feels like a downgrade from the first Sonic Adventure in most aspects. The Sonic/Shadow levels are alright. They're fun enough but seem to be based more on homing attacks, grinding and other events that might as well be scripted than the first. The mecha stages, are again, alright, but they really seem to drag on, especially towards the end of the game. And the treasure hunting is an absolute chore to suffer through and one can only wonder what it's doing in a game where the original selling point was fast paced gameplay. Wandering around the same area for ages until you hear a beeping sound and follow it is hardly fun. And these areas are so huge it's even more of a chore than the at least tolerable SA1 treasure stages. IDK, if you're very patient, or just a diehard Sonic fan, go for it. I'm sure you'll at least get enjoyment from the plot, the Sonic/Shadow stages and the cracking soundtrack Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2012
    5
    Anyone who gives this game higher than a 5 or 6 is looking at the game through rose colored lenses of nostalgia. I get it. I was one of those people. I had half a dozen Dreamcast VMUs dedicated solely to leveling up my Chao back in those days. However, THIS version is nothing more than another hackjob port by Sonic Team designed, specifically, to cash in on nostalgia. ||| Let's start withAnyone who gives this game higher than a 5 or 6 is looking at the game through rose colored lenses of nostalgia. I get it. I was one of those people. I had half a dozen Dreamcast VMUs dedicated solely to leveling up my Chao back in those days. However, THIS version is nothing more than another hackjob port by Sonic Team designed, specifically, to cash in on nostalgia. ||| Let's start with graphics. Contrary to what some have said, this game hasn't actually been remastered. The graphics have merely been stretched to accommodate 720p widescreen (and upscaled 1080p widescreen) and had a light coat - emphasis on light - of anti-aliasing applied to make the stretching tolerable. For those familiar with the original, the graphics will be somewhat jarring. For those unfamiliar, the graphics may be passable but still somewhat of an eyesore. ||| The controls are terrible, which is surprising given the gaming history between the Dreamcast and the Xbox and the fact that the Xbox basically aped the Dreamcast's controller. Yet, despite the fact that the controller should have worked almost natively, the analog dead zone is atrocious and the button press detection is inconsistent. Given that the game often goes fast (at least in the Sonic and Shadow stages), inconsistency with controls leads to frustrating gameplay. ||| Honestly, this was a good game for its time but it has aged poorly and Sonic Team's shoddy port didn't do the game any favors. Had they really remastered it to true HD and taken the time to work out some of the quirks over a decade old and ensured control consistency, it might have been worth it. They did not, however, so I'd recommend saving your $10. Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    This game is the most OVERRATED Sonic title ever, this is considered as the not only the best 3D sonic title, but the best game in the franchise by most fans, but I... Just don't get it, The level design is really cheap, the story sucks, and the treasure hunting and shooting stages from SA1 have been seriously butchered, the shooting stages control is bloody horrendous, and the treasureThis game is the most OVERRATED Sonic title ever, this is considered as the not only the best 3D sonic title, but the best game in the franchise by most fans, but I... Just don't get it, The level design is really cheap, the story sucks, and the treasure hunting and shooting stages from SA1 have been seriously butchered, the shooting stages control is bloody horrendous, and the treasure hunting stages are way, WAY, to big. The only things worth playing in this game is the Sonic and Shadow stages, Which were great for the most part due to the great control and level design, but they were done better in SA1, overall it's still a decent game, but SA1 is much better. Expand
  6. May 6, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Im A Fan Of The Sonic Series I Anticipated Playing This On My Xbox 360 What Do I Think Let's Find Out

    The Story Starts With Dr.Eggman Infiltrating The G.U.N Base To Find A Project His Grandfather's Creation Titled Project Shadow After Mistaking Him For Sonic Project Shadow Decides To Help Eggman Destroy The Earth With A Laser On The Space Colony Ark It Instead Attempts To Crash Into The Earth Sonic And Shadow Go Super And Stop The Ark From Crashing And Shadow Crashing To Earth Overall The Story Is Ok Not Too Bad

    The Gameplay Is Like Sonic Adventure 1 But Updated With Gamma's Gameplay With Tails And Eggman
    Sonic With Obviously Sonic And Shadow And Treasure Hunting With Knuckles And Rouge Also There's A Multiplayer Mode,Racing Mode,Chao Race,Etc Also The Chao Garden Returns With Now A Chao School And Chao Karate

    The HD Graphics Are Good But The Audio/Voice Acting Is Terrible Cause Most Of The Time No One Can Hear What The Characters Are Saying This Was Fixed On The Gamecube Port But Not On The Xbox 360 Or PS3 Version What The Hell And The Music Is Great Except Live And Learn

    Story 7/10
    Gameplay 8/10
    Graphics 9/10
    Audio/Voice Acting 6/10
    Music 8/10
    Overall 6/10
    Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2014
    5
    Me, my brother and sister had a lot of fun with this game when we were little, but in my opinion, it doesn't hold up very well. Bad control and camera angle along with stupid level design would give this game a 2/10, but 3 points are added for the awesome choa garden and choa mini-games. The green hill zone and city escape levels are fun, but city escape is too easy and the amount ofMe, my brother and sister had a lot of fun with this game when we were little, but in my opinion, it doesn't hold up very well. Bad control and camera angle along with stupid level design would give this game a 2/10, but 3 points are added for the awesome choa garden and choa mini-games. The green hill zone and city escape levels are fun, but city escape is too easy and the amount of emblems required to unlock green hill is unbelievably high. Why get all the emblems in every stage, just to unlock another stage? Seems dumb to me. Expand
  8. Feb 22, 2016
    5
    Only one third of the game is passable. Brutally awkward controls, the action commands all being stacked on the b button causes needless death, and the ever constant glitch really gets under my skin.
  9. Mar 1, 2015
    7
    A fun game with some great levels. I still hate the knuckles levels though because they take so long to beat. It's pretty much SA1 but with better level design and no hub world.
    7/10
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    90
    Now that this great title is available with high definition graphics, it's a great way for fans of 3D platformers to spend ten bucks.
  2. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Dec 5, 2012
    50
    Time to reassess everything about 2001. [Christmas 2012, p.99]
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    Minor troubles aside, for about ten bucks you get one of the best Sonic experiences, and one that can and will keep you busy for weeks, if you're really want to see everything. If you can get past the camera issues, some control quibbles and the rather boring search for crystals, this will hook you like in the olden days. This reunion might bring with it some surprises, as your memory seems to play tricks on you, but it's still a worthwhile get together.