User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 58
  2. Negative: 5 out of 58

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    This game is GREAT. If you like SA1 then you will like this one. The only problem is that there is no onliine 2 player and knuckles radar is a downgrade. Other than that perfect! The graphics and everything. It might be hard at first but after a while it will start to be fun!
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    Still one of the best Sonic games, recent Sonic games have gotten better, but they are good in a new and different way, this is easily the best of the classic Sonic games, must have for big fans!
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    This much expected re-release of this game plays just as it should, it doesn't feature any new weird & frustrating glitches (unlike the re-release of Sonic Adventure), it plays just like you remember & it actually supports full widescreen HD (again, unlike the re-release of Sonic Adventure). This game also features downloadable content which adds the enhanced Battle Mode from the GameCubeThis much expected re-release of this game plays just as it should, it doesn't feature any new weird & frustrating glitches (unlike the re-release of Sonic Adventure), it plays just like you remember & it actually supports full widescreen HD (again, unlike the re-release of Sonic Adventure). This game also features downloadable content which adds the enhanced Battle Mode from the GameCube version of the game, and it's completely worth getting, especially if you have anyone to play with or against. For only $10 to $13 for this re-release, it's well worth it. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    What can I honestly say? If you're just getting into the series or want to relive your childhood, this game is totally worth it. Fingers crossed for a Sonic Adventure 3 :)
  5. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Sonic has gone so far and had so made I think this is the best!
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    I don't know why everyone keeps bashing this game. It's still the same Sonic Adventure 2 that was released in 2001 but with a nice facelift. In my opinion it's the last great Sonic game made and one of the greatest, final games of the Dreamcast. Yeah it would'a been nice if they fixed issues with controls, the camera, and the sound/music volumes but it's SA2 just as I remember it for goodI don't know why everyone keeps bashing this game. It's still the same Sonic Adventure 2 that was released in 2001 but with a nice facelift. In my opinion it's the last great Sonic game made and one of the greatest, final games of the Dreamcast. Yeah it would'a been nice if they fixed issues with controls, the camera, and the sound/music volumes but it's SA2 just as I remember it for good and for bad. This is one very fun game and great tour down memory lane. Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    The best 3D sonic game, on a good port including widescreen and the Battle addon content. I wish Sonic games were back like this, althought the muliple characters gameplay is not the best, I like it. At least, they are playable, not like in actual sonic games where you can only play as Sonic.
  8. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    eat Game worth the 800 MSP No 1040 MSP (Battle DLC) Good Great Graphics Good Story Great Sonic and Shadow Gameplay Addictive Chao Garden
    Good Controls
    Introduces Shadow Well My Fave Sonic Character Bad Tails and Eggman levels are so slow Knuckles and Rouges Gameplay is a total abomination Some Terrible Levels (Crazy Gadget, Mad Space) Overpowered Bosses (2nd Tails Boss on ARK
    eat Game worth the 800 MSP No 1040 MSP (Battle DLC) Good Great Graphics Good Story Great Sonic and Shadow Gameplay Addictive Chao Garden
    Good Controls
    Introduces Shadow Well My Fave Sonic Character
    Bad
    Tails and Eggman levels are so slow
    Knuckles and Rouges Gameplay is a total abomination
    Some Terrible Levels (Crazy Gadget, Mad Space)
    Overpowered Bosses (2nd Tails Boss on ARK

    Anyway this remake of my best Sonic game ever is still great today. I'm putting up the score it's the best Sonic Game Ever and I'm Hopinb SA3 is coming soon
    Expand
  9. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    This is why I Sonic. Overall, it is spectacular how well this game handles after 13 years, Easily the best part of this game is the multiplayer, and depending on what you're into, you can choose between 6 different game modes. Did I mention this game has FREE DLC?
  10. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    PROS
    -Outstanding graphics
    -Amazing gameplay
    -Best music a game could have
    -Story flows well
    - Can cause great memories
    -Always something to do

    CONS
    -A little glitchy
  11. Oct 14, 2012
    0
    Let´s get to the point the only thing worthy of this game are Sonic/Shadow high-speed platforming stages and the racing versus mode the other modes aren´t that enjoyable, the tails/eggman stages are just mindless shooting and Knuckles/Rogue stages are just boring, you basically run around a stage to search emerald shard, and the story of the game is just terrible but theLet´s get to the point the only thing worthy of this game are Sonic/Shadow high-speed platforming stages and the racing versus mode the other modes aren´t that enjoyable, the tails/eggman stages are just mindless shooting and Knuckles/Rogue stages are just boring, you basically run around a stage to search emerald shard, and the story of the game is just terrible but the gameplay for Sonic and Shadow it´s great and really addicting and the racing versus mode it´s really fun. In conclusion get this game if you are a Sonic fan or like me you play it back in the dreamcast (or Game Cube) and you want it back. Collapse
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    90
    Now that this great title is available with high definition graphics, it's a great way for fans of 3D platformers to spend ten bucks.
  2. Time to reassess everything about 2001. [Christmas 2012, p.99]
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    Minor troubles aside, for about ten bucks you get one of the best Sonic experiences, and one that can and will keep you busy for weeks, if you're really want to see everything. If you can get past the camera issues, some control quibbles and the rather boring search for crystals, this will hook you like in the olden days. This reunion might bring with it some surprises, as your memory seems to play tricks on you, but it's still a worthwhile get together.