User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 58
  2. Negative: 5 out of 58

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    This game is GREAT. If you like SA1 then you will like this one. The only problem is that there is no onliine 2 player and knuckles radar is a downgrade. Other than that perfect! The graphics and everything. It might be hard at first but after a while it will start to be fun!
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    Still one of the best Sonic games, recent Sonic games have gotten better, but they are good in a new and different way, this is easily the best of the classic Sonic games, must have for big fans!
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    5
    Sonic Adventure 2 has hardly aged like fine wine. It's always been the game with the best story in my eyes, and the soundtrack, while cheesy, is solid and a good listen. However in the gameplay aspect, the bad really outweighs the good, and it actually feels like a downgrade from the first Sonic Adventure in most aspects. The Sonic/Shadow levels are alright. They're fun enough but seem toSonic Adventure 2 has hardly aged like fine wine. It's always been the game with the best story in my eyes, and the soundtrack, while cheesy, is solid and a good listen. However in the gameplay aspect, the bad really outweighs the good, and it actually feels like a downgrade from the first Sonic Adventure in most aspects. The Sonic/Shadow levels are alright. They're fun enough but seem to be based more on homing attacks, grinding and other events that might as well be scripted than the first. The mecha stages, are again, alright, but they really seem to drag on, especially towards the end of the game. And the treasure hunting is an absolute chore to suffer through and one can only wonder what it's doing in a game where the original selling point was fast paced gameplay. Wandering around the same area for ages until you hear a beeping sound and follow it is hardly fun. And these areas are so huge it's even more of a chore than the at least tolerable SA1 treasure stages. IDK, if you're very patient, or just a diehard Sonic fan, go for it. I'm sure you'll at least get enjoyment from the plot, the Sonic/Shadow stages and the cracking soundtrack Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2012
    7
    Let´s get to the point the only thing worthy of this game are Sonic/Shadow high-speed platforming stages and the racing versus mode the other modes aren´t that enjoyable, the tails/eggman stages are just mindless shooting and Knuckles/Rogue stages are just boring, you basically run around a stage to search emerald shard, and the story of the game is just terrible but theLet´s get to the point the only thing worthy of this game are Sonic/Shadow high-speed platforming stages and the racing versus mode the other modes aren´t that enjoyable, the tails/eggman stages are just mindless shooting and Knuckles/Rogue stages are just boring, you basically run around a stage to search emerald shard, and the story of the game is just terrible but the gameplay for Sonic and Shadow it´s great and really addicting and the racing versus mode it´s really fun. In conclusion get this game if you are a Sonic fan or like me you play it back in the dreamcast (or Game Cube) and you want it back. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    This much expected re-release of this game plays just as it should, it doesn't feature any new weird & frustrating glitches (unlike the re-release of Sonic Adventure), it plays just like you remember & it actually supports full widescreen HD (again, unlike the re-release of Sonic Adventure). This game also features downloadable content which adds the enhanced Battle Mode from the GameCubeThis much expected re-release of this game plays just as it should, it doesn't feature any new weird & frustrating glitches (unlike the re-release of Sonic Adventure), it plays just like you remember & it actually supports full widescreen HD (again, unlike the re-release of Sonic Adventure). This game also features downloadable content which adds the enhanced Battle Mode from the GameCube version of the game, and it's completely worth getting, especially if you have anyone to play with or against. For only $10 to $13 for this re-release, it's well worth it. Collapse
  6. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    This game has a ridiculous nostalgia factor for me, so it's insanely hard to try and judge this game objectively. However, I've done as good as I possibly can to remove myself from any kind of bias, and I think I can accurately say that this game still holds up decently well today. Nothing spectacular, but still an enjoyable ride. Most games back in the day Sonic Adventure 2 came out wouldThis game has a ridiculous nostalgia factor for me, so it's insanely hard to try and judge this game objectively. However, I've done as good as I possibly can to remove myself from any kind of bias, and I think I can accurately say that this game still holds up decently well today. Nothing spectacular, but still an enjoyable ride. Most games back in the day Sonic Adventure 2 came out would be borderline unplayable today, though, so at least it has that going for it. Still, the camera is really bad, and the controls are slightly clunky & occasionally unresponsive. I think this game would have benefited from an actual HD remake rather than a port. The character models would look better, and the camera/control issues would (most likely) not be an issue. A minor one at most. If you didn't play Sonic Adventure 2 back in the day, this isn't by an means a must-have. If you did, however, and you want to take a trip down memory lane, I highly recommend picking this up. Roll around at the speed of sound until you see those unforgettable words, "Rest easy, heroes." Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    What can I honestly say? If you're just getting into the series or want to relive your childhood, this game is totally worth it. Fingers crossed for a Sonic Adventure 3 :)
  8. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Sonic has gone so far and had so made I think this is the best!
  9. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    I don't know why everyone keeps bashing this game. It's still the same Sonic Adventure 2 that was released in 2001 but with a nice facelift. In my opinion it's the last great Sonic game made and one of the greatest, final games of the Dreamcast. Yeah it would'a been nice if they fixed issues with controls, the camera, and the sound/music volumes but it's SA2 just as I remember it for goodI don't know why everyone keeps bashing this game. It's still the same Sonic Adventure 2 that was released in 2001 but with a nice facelift. In my opinion it's the last great Sonic game made and one of the greatest, final games of the Dreamcast. Yeah it would'a been nice if they fixed issues with controls, the camera, and the sound/music volumes but it's SA2 just as I remember it for good and for bad. This is one very fun game and great tour down memory lane. Expand
  10. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    The best 3D sonic game, on a good port including widescreen and the Battle addon content. I wish Sonic games were back like this, althought the muliple characters gameplay is not the best, I like it. At least, they are playable, not like in actual sonic games where you can only play as Sonic.
  11. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    So, Sonic Adventure 2 is back. We finally have it up on the XBox Live. For what I've seen, I must say that it didn't get to be the same error as the port of the first Adventure was earlier. This note is quite based on the comparation with experience we've seen with the First Adventure on the PSN/XBLA and Sonic Heroes, that came after the original Adventure 2. Can't say this game is waySo, Sonic Adventure 2 is back. We finally have it up on the XBox Live. For what I've seen, I must say that it didn't get to be the same error as the port of the first Adventure was earlier. This note is quite based on the comparation with experience we've seen with the First Adventure on the PSN/XBLA and Sonic Heroes, that came after the original Adventure 2. Can't say this game is way better or fixed than it was before, but it's a relief to see that this one has not been nerfed in terms of quality like the first Adventure. So, we have HD graphics, trophies (yes, finally a good reason to A-Rank all stages and missions)... But this is all to be there. We got no big news beside the chance to mix the best of the original Dreamcast version with the best of the Gamecube version via DLC. Nonetheless, it did not made the same mistake of becoming the bugmass the first Adventure had become on the PSN/XBLA version. Expand
  12. Oct 7, 2012
    3
    I am truly disappointed with this game, Sonic Adventure (the first one) for the Xbox 360 was perfect in my opinion but this is bad. The story I can't hear at all because the music just drowns it out. The controls are TERRIBLE mostly on the Tail's stages. It seems everything great about the first one on the Xbox 360 was just tore apart and built from scratch on the second one. One thing II am truly disappointed with this game, Sonic Adventure (the first one) for the Xbox 360 was perfect in my opinion but this is bad. The story I can't hear at all because the music just drowns it out. The controls are TERRIBLE mostly on the Tail's stages. It seems everything great about the first one on the Xbox 360 was just tore apart and built from scratch on the second one. One thing I did like is the Sonic stages as I felt they were better than the first Sonic Adventure. Don't get this game on Xbox 360, get it on the Gamecube instead. Expand
  13. Oct 5, 2012
    5
    Anyone who gives this game higher than a 5 or 6 is looking at the game through rose colored lenses of nostalgia. I get it. I was one of those people. I had half a dozen Dreamcast VMUs dedicated solely to leveling up my Chao back in those days. However, THIS version is nothing more than another hackjob port by Sonic Team designed, specifically, to cash in on nostalgia. ||| Let's start withAnyone who gives this game higher than a 5 or 6 is looking at the game through rose colored lenses of nostalgia. I get it. I was one of those people. I had half a dozen Dreamcast VMUs dedicated solely to leveling up my Chao back in those days. However, THIS version is nothing more than another hackjob port by Sonic Team designed, specifically, to cash in on nostalgia. ||| Let's start with graphics. Contrary to what some have said, this game hasn't actually been remastered. The graphics have merely been stretched to accommodate 720p widescreen (and upscaled 1080p widescreen) and had a light coat - emphasis on light - of anti-aliasing applied to make the stretching tolerable. For those familiar with the original, the graphics will be somewhat jarring. For those unfamiliar, the graphics may be passable but still somewhat of an eyesore. ||| The controls are terrible, which is surprising given the gaming history between the Dreamcast and the Xbox and the fact that the Xbox basically aped the Dreamcast's controller. Yet, despite the fact that the controller should have worked almost natively, the analog dead zone is atrocious and the button press detection is inconsistent. Given that the game often goes fast (at least in the Sonic and Shadow stages), inconsistency with controls leads to frustrating gameplay. ||| Honestly, this was a good game for its time but it has aged poorly and Sonic Team's shoddy port didn't do the game any favors. Had they really remastered it to true HD and taken the time to work out some of the quirks over a decade old and ensured control consistency, it might have been worth it. They did not, however, so I'd recommend saving your $10. Expand
  14. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    This game is a direct port of the GC version of sonic adventure 2, minus the extra multiplayer battle mode, which is downloadable content. the game still has an amazing soundtrack, good story, great level design, and still has some camera and control issues, that are more prominent in this version, however the game is still very enjoyable even with the forementioned bugs and issues. thisThis game is a direct port of the GC version of sonic adventure 2, minus the extra multiplayer battle mode, which is downloadable content. the game still has an amazing soundtrack, good story, great level design, and still has some camera and control issues, that are more prominent in this version, however the game is still very enjoyable even with the forementioned bugs and issues. this is basically a straight up port, no more, no less. i still reccomend the dreamcast version, or even the gamecube version, but the dreamcast versions prices are up there, and getting this game on the xbox live arcade saves the hastle of pulling out the gamecube, for basically the same experience. a reallty great 3d platforming game that, while not as good as sonic adventure 1 (in my opinion) is still an amazing game. The game hasnt aged that well, but is still very enjoyable. i recomend it to any and all sonic fans, and any lover of 3d platformers. Expand
  15. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    It's the same title from the dreamcast and gamecube, for better or worse. However, it's somewhat disappointing that the full game isn't include upon initial purchase, meaning that you will have to download the "Battle" DLC if you want full access to multiplayer and Chao Karate for around $3-$4. The soundtrack and story mode are present and so are the many problems with controls and cameraIt's the same title from the dreamcast and gamecube, for better or worse. However, it's somewhat disappointing that the full game isn't include upon initial purchase, meaning that you will have to download the "Battle" DLC if you want full access to multiplayer and Chao Karate for around $3-$4. The soundtrack and story mode are present and so are the many problems with controls and camera which continue to cause many random deaths. You either love it or hate it. Expand
  16. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    eat Game worth the 800 MSP No 1040 MSP (Battle DLC) Good Great Graphics Good Story Great Sonic and Shadow Gameplay Addictive Chao Garden
    Good Controls
    Introduces Shadow Well My Fave Sonic Character Bad Tails and Eggman levels are so slow Knuckles and Rouges Gameplay is a total abomination Some Terrible Levels (Crazy Gadget, Mad Space) Overpowered Bosses (2nd Tails Boss on ARK
    eat Game worth the 800 MSP No 1040 MSP (Battle DLC) Good Great Graphics Good Story Great Sonic and Shadow Gameplay Addictive Chao Garden
    Good Controls
    Introduces Shadow Well My Fave Sonic Character
    Bad
    Tails and Eggman levels are so slow
    Knuckles and Rouges Gameplay is a total abomination
    Some Terrible Levels (Crazy Gadget, Mad Space)
    Overpowered Bosses (2nd Tails Boss on ARK

    Anyway this remake of my best Sonic game ever is still great today. I'm putting up the score it's the best Sonic Game Ever and I'm Hopinb SA3 is coming soon
    Expand
  17. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    This game is the most OVERRATED Sonic title ever, this is considered as the not only the best 3D sonic title, but the best game in the franchise by most fans, but I... Just don't get it, The level design is really cheap, the story sucks, and the treasure hunting and shooting stages from SA1 have been seriously butchered, the shooting stages control is bloody horrendous, and the treasureThis game is the most OVERRATED Sonic title ever, this is considered as the not only the best 3D sonic title, but the best game in the franchise by most fans, but I... Just don't get it, The level design is really cheap, the story sucks, and the treasure hunting and shooting stages from SA1 have been seriously butchered, the shooting stages control is bloody horrendous, and the treasure hunting stages are way, WAY, to big. The only things worth playing in this game is the Sonic and Shadow stages, Which were great for the most part due to the great control and level design, but they were done better in SA1, overall it's still a decent game, but SA1 is much better. Expand
  18. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    This is why I Sonic. Overall, it is spectacular how well this game handles after 13 years, Easily the best part of this game is the multiplayer, and depending on what you're into, you can choose between 6 different game modes. Did I mention this game has FREE DLC?
  19. May 6, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Im A Fan Of The Sonic Series I Anticipated Playing This On My Xbox 360 What Do I Think Let's Find Out

    The Story Starts With Dr.Eggman Infiltrating The G.U.N Base To Find A Project His Grandfather's Creation Titled Project Shadow After Mistaking Him For Sonic Project Shadow Decides To Help Eggman Destroy The Earth With A Laser On The Space Colony Ark It Instead Attempts To Crash Into The Earth Sonic And Shadow Go Super And Stop The Ark From Crashing And Shadow Crashing To Earth Overall The Story Is Ok Not Too Bad

    The Gameplay Is Like Sonic Adventure 1 But Updated With Gamma's Gameplay With Tails And Eggman
    Sonic With Obviously Sonic And Shadow And Treasure Hunting With Knuckles And Rouge Also There's A Multiplayer Mode,Racing Mode,Chao Race,Etc Also The Chao Garden Returns With Now A Chao School And Chao Karate

    The HD Graphics Are Good But The Audio/Voice Acting Is Terrible Cause Most Of The Time No One Can Hear What The Characters Are Saying This Was Fixed On The Gamecube Port But Not On The Xbox 360 Or PS3 Version What The Hell And The Music Is Great Except Live And Learn

    Story 7/10
    Gameplay 8/10
    Graphics 9/10
    Audio/Voice Acting 6/10
    Music 8/10
    Overall 6/10
    Expand
  20. Aug 20, 2014
    5
    Me, my brother and sister had a lot of fun with this game when we were little, but in my opinion, it doesn't hold up very well. Bad control and camera angle along with stupid level design would give this game a 2/10, but 3 points are added for the awesome choa garden and choa mini-games. The green hill zone and city escape levels are fun, but city escape is too easy and the amount ofMe, my brother and sister had a lot of fun with this game when we were little, but in my opinion, it doesn't hold up very well. Bad control and camera angle along with stupid level design would give this game a 2/10, but 3 points are added for the awesome choa garden and choa mini-games. The green hill zone and city escape levels are fun, but city escape is too easy and the amount of emblems required to unlock green hill is unbelievably high. Why get all the emblems in every stage, just to unlock another stage? Seems dumb to me. Expand
  21. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    PROS
    -Outstanding graphics
    -Amazing gameplay
    -Best music a game could have
    -Story flows well
    - Can cause great memories
    -Always something to do

    CONS
    -A little glitchy
  22. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    This much expected re-release of this game plays just as it should, it doesn't feature any new weird & frustrating glitches (unlike the re-release of Sonic Adventure), it plays just like you remember & it actually supports full widescreen HD (again, unlike the re-release of Sonic Adventure). This game also features downloadable content which adds the enhanced Battle Mode from the GameCubeThis much expected re-release of this game plays just as it should, it doesn't feature any new weird & frustrating glitches (unlike the re-release of Sonic Adventure), it plays just like you remember & it actually supports full widescreen HD (again, unlike the re-release of Sonic Adventure). This game also features downloadable content which adds the enhanced Battle Mode from the GameCube version of the game, and it's completely worth getting, especially if you have anyone to play with or against. For only $10 to $13 for this re-release, it's well worth it. Collapse
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    90
    Now that this great title is available with high definition graphics, it's a great way for fans of 3D platformers to spend ten bucks.
  2. Time to reassess everything about 2001. [Christmas 2012, p.99]
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    Minor troubles aside, for about ten bucks you get one of the best Sonic experiences, and one that can and will keep you busy for weeks, if you're really want to see everything. If you can get past the camera issues, some control quibbles and the rather boring search for crystals, this will hook you like in the olden days. This reunion might bring with it some surprises, as your memory seems to play tricks on you, but it's still a worthwhile get together.