Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the fight between heroes and villains, will you choose to save the world or conquer it? The hunt for the Chaos Emeralds is on and battle lines have been drawn between Hero and Dark. Experience two unique adventures featuring both long-time heroes and new and returning villains as theyIn the fight between heroes and villains, will you choose to save the world or conquer it? The hunt for the Chaos Emeralds is on and battle lines have been drawn between Hero and Dark. Experience two unique adventures featuring both long-time heroes and new and returning villains as they battle for the fate of the world! Sonic Adventure 2 makes its return on Xbox LIVE Arcade with a full cast of playable heroes and villains, exciting two-player competitive modes, Chao Gardens, and more than 30 action-packed stages, all remastered in HD! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    90
    Now that this great title is available with high definition graphics, it's a great way for fans of 3D platformers to spend ten bucks.
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    Minor troubles aside, for about ten bucks you get one of the best Sonic experiences, and one that can and will keep you busy for weeks, if you're really want to see everything. If you can get past the camera issues, some control quibbles and the rather boring search for crystals, this will hook you like in the olden days. This reunion might bring with it some surprises, as your memory seems to play tricks on you, but it's still a worthwhile get together.
  3. Oct 5, 2012
    65
    The new HD graphics are not perfect, but they're suitable. The character models don't look too bad, but some of the environments and textures just look weird in their "upgraded" form.
  4. Oct 5, 2012
    60
    Sonic Adventure 2 HD isn't terrible, it's just a relic from an unpleasant era. All of its problems are the sort of thing that plagued countless games back when Sega originally put it out, but they're also the sort of thing that people figured out how to fix in the years since.
  5. 50
    Fleeting moments of decency can't make up for the overall trudge, though. With such better Sonic outings in recent years, this old speedbump is best avoided.
  6. Oct 22, 2012
    50
    Sonic Adventure 2 might technically be Sonic but it doesn't have any of the classic spirit of the cocky hedgehog. Instead, Sonic Adventure 2 offers a bunch of nice concepts that feel a little disjointed and muddled.
  7. Time to reassess everything about 2001. [Christmas 2012, p.99]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    This game is GREAT. If you like SA1 then you will like this one. The only problem is that there is no onliine 2 player and knuckles radar is aThis game is GREAT. If you like SA1 then you will like this one. The only problem is that there is no onliine 2 player and knuckles radar is a downgrade. Other than that perfect! The graphics and everything. It might be hard at first but after a while it will start to be fun! Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Sonic has gone so far and had so made I think this is the best!
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    What can I honestly say? If you're just getting into the series or want to relive your childhood, this game is totally worth it. FingersWhat can I honestly say? If you're just getting into the series or want to relive your childhood, this game is totally worth it. Fingers crossed for a Sonic Adventure 3 :) Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    This game is a direct port of the GC version of sonic adventure 2, minus the extra multiplayer battle mode, which is downloadable content.This game is a direct port of the GC version of sonic adventure 2, minus the extra multiplayer battle mode, which is downloadable content. the game still has an amazing soundtrack, good story, great level design, and still has some camera and control issues, that are more prominent in this version, however the game is still very enjoyable even with the forementioned bugs and issues. this is basically a straight up port, no more, no less. i still reccomend the dreamcast version, or even the gamecube version, but the dreamcast versions prices are up there, and getting this game on the xbox live arcade saves the hastle of pulling out the gamecube, for basically the same experience. a reallty great 3d platforming game that, while not as good as sonic adventure 1 (in my opinion) is still an amazing game. The game hasnt aged that well, but is still very enjoyable. i recomend it to any and all sonic fans, and any lover of 3d platformers. Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    So, Sonic Adventure 2 is back. We finally have it up on the XBox Live. For what I've seen, I must say that it didn't get to be the same errorSo, Sonic Adventure 2 is back. We finally have it up on the XBox Live. For what I've seen, I must say that it didn't get to be the same error as the port of the first Adventure was earlier. This note is quite based on the comparation with experience we've seen with the First Adventure on the PSN/XBLA and Sonic Heroes, that came after the original Adventure 2. Can't say this game is way better or fixed than it was before, but it's a relief to see that this one has not been nerfed in terms of quality like the first Adventure. So, we have HD graphics, trophies (yes, finally a good reason to A-Rank all stages and missions)... But this is all to be there. We got no big news beside the chance to mix the best of the original Dreamcast version with the best of the Gamecube version via DLC. Nonetheless, it did not made the same mistake of becoming the bugmass the first Adventure had become on the PSN/XBLA version. Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    This game has a ridiculous nostalgia factor for me, so it's insanely hard to try and judge this game objectively. However, I've done as goodThis game has a ridiculous nostalgia factor for me, so it's insanely hard to try and judge this game objectively. However, I've done as good as I possibly can to remove myself from any kind of bias, and I think I can accurately say that this game still holds up decently well today. Nothing spectacular, but still an enjoyable ride. Most games back in the day Sonic Adventure 2 came out would be borderline unplayable today, though, so at least it has that going for it. Still, the camera is really bad, and the controls are slightly clunky & occasionally unresponsive. I think this game would have benefited from an actual HD remake rather than a port. The character models would look better, and the camera/control issues would (most likely) not be an issue. A minor one at most. If you didn't play Sonic Adventure 2 back in the day, this isn't by an means a must-have. If you did, however, and you want to take a trip down memory lane, I highly recommend picking this up. Roll around at the speed of sound until you see those unforgettable words, "Rest easy, heroes." Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    3
    I am truly disappointed with this game, Sonic Adventure (the first one) for the Xbox 360 was perfect in my opinion but this is bad. The storyI am truly disappointed with this game, Sonic Adventure (the first one) for the Xbox 360 was perfect in my opinion but this is bad. The story I can't hear at all because the music just drowns it out. The controls are TERRIBLE mostly on the Tail's stages. It seems everything great about the first one on the Xbox 360 was just tore apart and built from scratch on the second one. One thing I did like is the Sonic stages as I felt they were better than the first Sonic Adventure. Don't get this game on Xbox 360, get it on the Gamecube instead. Collapse

See all 22 User Reviews