Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic CD bridges the gap between his oldest adventures and his new digital exploits.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    91
    It's pretty much the perfect Sonic! [March 2012, p.93]
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Basically, I love this game. And I love it in a way that both fans and Sonic CD newcomers should be able to love it too. Fans will love the care and attention given to the conversion of one of the all-time great Sonic games.
  3. 90
    Given the countless enhancements to this version of Sonic CD, it's surprising that Sega is selling it for a mere $5. Make no mistake: no corners have been cut, and the developers have put in more than enough extra content (in the form of audio and video options) to properly pay tribute to Sonic's finest spin.
  4. Jan 3, 2012
    83
    Sonic CD's overall package is bare-bones, with the option for the original Japanese music and a time trial mode being the only notable additions to the game, but with the tiny price point (only 400 MS points) it's an easy thing to forgive.
  5. 80
    If you're enticed by the thought of a reunion with Sega's blue mascot from when he starred in some of the best games of their age, this is for you. Sonic CD is a rerelease made with love, mixed with a dosage of nostalgia and served in a way that will make most gamers admit that Sonic has something Mario doesn't.
  6. Dec 28, 2011
    80
    Complaints aside, I've really enjoyed the recent time I've spent with Sonic CD. The game begins to shine after you get accustomed to traveling through time and exploring each unique level. This downloadable rerelease is an easy choice for fans of the series or anyone interested in some pure platforming goodness.
  7. Jan 9, 2012
    67
    Sonic Cd may not look pretty, game wise though it is a solid fun romp in the retro gaming realm.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    This game was amazing BEFORE it's well-deserved remake. The new engine allows the game to run smoothly (even in the special stages) - itThis game was amazing BEFORE it's well-deserved remake. The new engine allows the game to run smoothly (even in the special stages) - it supports wide screen, and has a vast array of other options (old/new spindash, JP/US soundtrack, screen filters) that allow you to tune the game to your liking. The achievements encourage multiple play-throughs, and unlockables will keep you busy a while after that.

    Over all, an EXCELLENT remake - I can only hope sega will continue the current upward trend - Here's hoping they'll give the Genesis trilogy the same treatment!
    Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    They did an absolutely phenomenal job recreating this already fantastic game. I feel it could not have gone over any better. Everything inThey did an absolutely phenomenal job recreating this already fantastic game. I feel it could not have gone over any better. Everything in the game has been cleaned up, crispified, and such. Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    This is possibly the Best sonic game ever made even after nearly 20 years so what the hell are you waiting for Go buy it you won't beThis is possibly the Best sonic game ever made even after nearly 20 years so what the hell are you waiting for Go buy it you won't be dissapointed (FIGURE 8 FTW) Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    it doesnt have a big story but i feel the custenes so real and epic
    This game have the best soundtrack ever made
    the concept of time
    it doesnt have a big story but i feel the custenes so real and epic
    This game have the best soundtrack ever made
    the concept of time travel, the machines of past and metal sonic s holograms is just awesome
    PUT A QUANTUM SONIC WOULD BE PERFECT
    Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    This is easily the most underrated Sonic game of all time and would be Sonics crowning achievement if it wasn't for Sonic 2 in my opinion.This is easily the most underrated Sonic game of all time and would be Sonics crowning achievement if it wasn't for Sonic 2 in my opinion. Either way this is unmissable for fans of Sonic and great 2D platformers. Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    game play is based around the original sonic the hedgehog, game play isn't different at all but plays better than sonic1, boss fights aregame play is based around the original sonic the hedgehog, game play isn't different at all but plays better than sonic1, boss fights are easier to figure out and feel less over whelming than sonic 1. The bonus levels also are very new unlike most of the rest of the game, they're . the major difference is that the game tries to be "3 Dimensional " at some parts. in a nutshell this game is sonic 1 with the bonus levels being replaced by sonic 3D-esque levels Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    This game is the most absolutely brutal thing I've ever come across. Do not buy! The new game engine is poorly designed which completely ruinsThis game is the most absolutely brutal thing I've ever come across. Do not buy! The new game engine is poorly designed which completely ruins the gameplay, and the wide-screen 16:9 ratio makes a blurry, pixelated game even harder to see. Collapse

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers