Sonic Free Riders Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 4, 2010
User Score
2.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 100
  2. Negative: 78 out of 100
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    I missed playing Sonic Riders Zero Gravity, but this game appears to be a step backward from Sonic Riders because the Kinect motion is too stiff and makes it difficult to play. They should have released this game without motion controls. It would have been significantly better.
  2. Aug 29, 2011
    5
    While I am a big fan of Sonic, I have a pretty much no love towards the Riders series. I feel that the games don't feel like great racing games. The first Riders wasn't terrible, but it wasn't something to rival Mario Kart. Zero Gravity, however, was terrible, especially on the Wii if you use the motion controls. But now, we have Free Riders. While it's better than ZG, it still doesn'tWhile I am a big fan of Sonic, I have a pretty much no love towards the Riders series. I feel that the games don't feel like great racing games. The first Riders wasn't terrible, but it wasn't something to rival Mario Kart. Zero Gravity, however, was terrible, especially on the Wii if you use the motion controls. But now, we have Free Riders. While it's better than ZG, it still doesn't feel fantastic. From what I've seen, the controls seem hit or miss. Sometimes it works, sometime it doesn't. For me, it didn't seem responsive, which isn't good for Sega's first Kinect game. The new voice actors, however, are a welcome addition, and while it's not that important, it is nice to hear the new voice actors get it right the first time round (or techincally second time round). The music, however, is weak, but for a Riders game, it's alright. You would be getting anything amazing in terms of music. It sounds very similar to all the other Riders whereby it just doesn't feel as good as other Sonic games. Overall, I wouldn't say Free Riders is the worst Sonic game out there, but I wouldn't say it's the best either. The controls don't make you feel attached at times, the music is mediocre and it just feels like Sega didn't put enough love into it. Personally, the Riders series should end here, before it crashes straight into a wall at full speed. Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2013
    5
    All it takes is learing the controls to make this game a good and fun experience. The controls are what it all comes down to in this game. the mechanics and play style is quite interesting in this game, the graphics are great as well. The music is also very good. the only thing hindering this game are the controls, that are quite difficult to learn. the controls arent neccessarily bad,All it takes is learing the controls to make this game a good and fun experience. The controls are what it all comes down to in this game. the mechanics and play style is quite interesting in this game, the graphics are great as well. The music is also very good. the only thing hindering this game are the controls, that are quite difficult to learn. the controls arent neccessarily bad, rather their just difficult to learn, and depending on your body type, can also change how to learn the controls as well. it could make it easier, or more difficult. This isnt the kind of game you can just pick up and play for 2-3 minutes and make an opinion on it. it takes time to learn the controls. I agree with a previous review from TheBrain on this. unfortunately, i did learn the controls when i first got it, but not very well, resulting in the game being somewhat difficult for me to play. personally, i dont care ffor this game, and though i do find it very fun, the controls were jsut a bit to difficult to master for me. A decent game, but only if you have the time and patience to learn how it controls. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2015
    6
    OK, for not having the best motion controls for kinect V.1 compared to first party kinect games, this should have had a simpler use of the awful controls, it should be fixed next time!
  5. Sep 15, 2013
    0
    When I first went to my friends house to play this I thought this was going to be a good game right? Well I played it and boy I was wrong. First off how the hell are you supposed to control the character!? Every time I make a turn instead of the controls responding I hit a damn wall and another and another and another. Second the main menu is a pain in the ass it took me like 5-10 minutesWhen I first went to my friends house to play this I thought this was going to be a good game right? Well I played it and boy I was wrong. First off how the hell are you supposed to control the character!? Every time I make a turn instead of the controls responding I hit a damn wall and another and another and another. Second the main menu is a pain in the ass it took me like 5-10 minutes to select a damn stage what the hell!? I just wanted to throw that game out my friends window. All I can say is that the controls are what ruined the game if they released it as a normal game with the Xbox controller instead of the motion controls it would have been ok but instead we get a broken mess that will damage the sonic rider series for a long time. Sega WHAT WERE YOU THINKING!!!!! Collapse
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 52
  2. Negative: 27 out of 52
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    48
    Sonic Free Riders could have been a great game if the controls worked.
  2. Feb 10, 2011
    30
    With ring collecting and extreme gear upgrades, this should have been a fun racing game for Kinect; instead, it's an unresponsive mess that flat out doesn't work. Did no one test this game and see that it's broken?
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    66
    Sonic Free Riders might look like just another board racing Kinect game, but it's a league above others like CrossBoard 7 in terms of depth and replayability.