• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 4, 2010
User Score
2.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 59
  2. Negative: 46 out of 59

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 12, 2012
    0
    This is by FAR, the WORST Sonic game EVER CREATED!
    The Menu! The fukin MENUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU Is pure Garbage!
    There are voice commands... But they dont even display them until you have it selected!
    What are we supposed to DO?! MEMORIZE THEM?!
  2. May 12, 2011
    4
    All I can say is the game is worst of the 3 Sonic Riders games.I am a Sonic Fan But I can't recommend even with Controls for the Kinect. It's also disappointing about Roger Craig Smith How I like him in Sonic Colors as Sonic and Resident Evil 5 as Chris Redfield, but I felt his work was wasted. If you want a good Sonic Racing game, Get Sonic Riders(Either one of the first two) or Sonic and Sega All stars Racing! They are much better than this! Expand
  3. Mar 16, 2011
    0
    I am an active Sonic fan, playing nearly every one of SEGA's Sonic games. I have always liked the Sonic Riders series for bringing originality to hoverboard racing games and keeping a great amount of re-playability. NEVER have I been this disappointed with a Sonic game, especially in the Riders series. I was anxious to see how Kinect could perform with racing games, as all other motion sensing games Kinect has respond very well. After playing it, I regret asking myself that question. At the start of the game there are even problems. The menu's controls are pure ass, requiring you to slide back to turn a wheel to get to the next option. Half the time, it directed me to the PREVIOUS option instead of the next. Adding to the problem, it requires you to drag the button down instead of hold your hand over the option. There are voice commands but would ANYONE want to remember the names of these buttons? Moving on to the gameplay, all characters play like complete ass. Turning your body either doesn't respond or sends your character FLYING ACROSS THE DAMN SCREEN(my Kinect is fully calibrated just so you know). Jumping will tire you the most, as the requirement of it is so frequent, as well as how you must turn to get a good ranking on the jump. On one of the maps, you need to jump off a ramp and start swimming by flapping your arms to get up to the surface. A jump, now horrible and unresponsive swimming? How much worse does it get? The unresponsive controls get worse too, as this game makes you reach out and grab rings. You will constantly find your characters arm reaching out and going back to their body, requiring you to reach your arm out AGAIN. It is a struggle to get anything above last place and after a few races you will be begging not to play again. Anyone with a sane mind should avoid spending even a cent on this piece of garbage. This game looks as if it was meant for a controller with the menus and everything, it looks like a regular 360 game ported to Kinect. If SEGA wanted to release a Kinect game, they should've added controller use too. AVOID PLAYING THIS GAME AT ALL COSTS. Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2012
    0
    BROKEN!!THIS GAME IS BROKEN!!!IS JUST A PIECE OF GARBAGE!!!A HORRIBLE PIECE OF GARBAGE!!!!!!!! THIS IS A ****************************************************************!!!!THIS SUCKS MORE THAN NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    2
    good job you destroyed kinect dont detecting movements crappy meniu shameeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee on yooooooooooooooooooooouuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu
  6. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    You shouldn't rate a game because somebody else said so or because you just flat out hate Sonic, you should rate a game based on if you played it or not unlike Flesh and Thumper17 who are idiots who never played the game. I played the game and it works fairly well, but for different people some might like it some may not but try it out first before you bash it.
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    1
    I like sonic but this is just horrible.HOLDING HANDS for who is it for you and your loved one or your own friends but you'll be constantly hitting each other.I actually thought this game might me good, like a Mario kart game but you are moving.Great idea!Oh and I must say about the theme song which is a bit good.
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    I missed playing Sonic Riders Zero Gravity, but this game appears to be a step backward from Sonic Riders because the Kinect motion is too stiff and makes it difficult to play. They should have released this game without motion controls. It would have been significantly better.
  9. Dec 11, 2012
    1
    This game is about has fun as castrating yourself with a toffee hammer. The controls don't work! The controls make you slam into a wall! The music is loud, blaring, and incredibly annoying! The graphics are sub par, not that you'll be able to make out much between the high speed and waves of naseua playing this game instills. Avoid at all costs... even if you're a fan of Kinect.
  10. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    Defiantly the worst out of the sonic riders games by a mile. The game is completely broken. You basically can not control your character. Though the thing people complain about the most, The menus. Are the only thing i can get to work. Odd. The graphics and sound are nothing special. If you are going to play a sonic riders game play zero gravity. Avoid this game like it's the plaque. Unlike games like Big Rigs which are so bad they are fun. Playing this game is torture Expand
  11. Apr 27, 2013
    0
    I cant believe critics like IGN have the balls to give this game a perfect score this game is broken if you want a reviewer who says the truth go to AngryJoeShow on youtube I promise you he will save your money

    1/10
    2/10 If you can get the game to work right
  12. Sep 15, 2013
    0
    When I first went to my friends house to play this I thought this was going to be a good game right? Well I played it and boy I was wrong. First off how the hell are you supposed to control the character!? Every time I make a turn instead of the controls responding I hit a damn wall and another and another and another. Second the main menu is a pain in the ass it took me like 5-10 minutes to select a damn stage what the hell!? I just wanted to throw that game out my friends window. All I can say is that the controls are what ruined the game if they released it as a normal game with the Xbox controller instead of the motion controls it would have been ok but instead we get a broken mess that will damage the sonic rider series for a long time. Sega WHAT WERE YOU THINKING!!!!! Expand
  13. Aug 29, 2011
    5
    While I am a big fan of Sonic, I have a pretty much no love towards the Riders series. I feel that the games don't feel like great racing games. The first Riders wasn't terrible, but it wasn't something to rival Mario Kart. Zero Gravity, however, was terrible, especially on the Wii if you use the motion controls. But now, we have Free Riders. While it's better than ZG, it still doesn't feel fantastic. From what I've seen, the controls seem hit or miss. Sometimes it works, sometime it doesn't. For me, it didn't seem responsive, which isn't good for Sega's first Kinect game. The new voice actors, however, are a welcome addition, and while it's not that important, it is nice to hear the new voice actors get it right the first time round (or techincally second time round). The music, however, is weak, but for a Riders game, it's alright. You would be getting anything amazing in terms of music. It sounds very similar to all the other Riders whereby it just doesn't feel as good as other Sonic games. Overall, I wouldn't say Free Riders is the worst Sonic game out there, but I wouldn't say it's the best either. The controls don't make you feel attached at times, the music is mediocre and it just feels like Sega didn't put enough love into it. Personally, the Riders series should end here, before it crashes straight into a wall at full speed. Expand
  14. Mar 30, 2014
    1
    The Kinect is a complete **** Sonic Free Riders proves this fact. Everything about this **** game does nothing correctly. If, and I repeat, IF anything functions, it only does when it wants to. This game even physically affects you and makes you sick from playing it. It's a **** shame that we now expect every Kinect-required game to be COMPLETELY terrible. That all started here. Sonic may have almost been dead many years ago, but this game takes him out to the backyard, and BLOWS UP his **** head with a shotgun blast. Expand
  15. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    This is the best in the Sonic Riders series! The controls are improved the fun factor is really high and the graphics are Awesome! the story is decent but atleast they changed the voice cast! if your a sonic fan, you should definitely pick this up!
  16. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome! Shows off alot of cool things cool things that Kinect is capable of doing. If your a fan of Sonic you'll love this game (P.S. Sonic haters, piss off, give real reviews or don't review at all, giving a link to some other persons review makes u a idiot...play the games and make ur own decision)
  17. Jan 17, 2011
    10
    Sonic Free Riders is not a bad game at all. In fact it is one of the best games on the Kinect right now. The controls are tight and recognize the slightest movement I make. The tracks are fun and definitely give you a work out. People who say that the controls don't work either haven't calibrated their Kinect or stand to close to the Kinect (AngryJoe's god awful review of the game). Sonic Free Riders is a good game and is definitely a good reason to get a Kinect. Expand
  18. Feb 21, 2013
    5
    All it takes is learing the controls to make this game a good and fun experience. The controls are what it all comes down to in this game. the mechanics and play style is quite interesting in this game, the graphics are great as well. The music is also very good. the only thing hindering this game are the controls, that are quite difficult to learn. the controls arent neccessarily bad, rather their just difficult to learn, and depending on your body type, can also change how to learn the controls as well. it could make it easier, or more difficult. This isnt the kind of game you can just pick up and play for 2-3 minutes and make an opinion on it. it takes time to learn the controls. I agree with a previous review from TheBrain on this. unfortunately, i did learn the controls when i first got it, but not very well, resulting in the game being somewhat difficult for me to play. personally, i dont care ffor this game, and though i do find it very fun, the controls were jsut a bit to difficult to master for me. A decent game, but only if you have the time and patience to learn how it controls. Expand
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 52
  2. Negative: 27 out of 52
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    48
    Sonic Free Riders could have been a great game if the controls worked.
  2. Feb 10, 2011
    30
    With ring collecting and extreme gear upgrades, this should have been a fun racing game for Kinect; instead, it's an unresponsive mess that flat out doesn't work. Did no one test this game and see that it's broken?
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    66
    Sonic Free Riders might look like just another board racing Kinect game, but it's a league above others like CrossBoard 7 in terms of depth and replayability.