User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 216

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    I played the Demo, and remained optimistic, but cautious. Now i have the game in my hand, and i must say, this is the best Sonic game since 3 & Knuckles. Gorgeous visuals, awesome soundtrack, simple but effective story, good gameplay and awesome level design with multiple branching paths, whithout being the clusterf*ck of a mess that was Sonic CD's level design, complete with a hard mode and a ton of content. It's awesome. If you want a break from all these FPSs and want simple, yet challenging fun, give this a spin. Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Sonic is back better than ever. It's not perfect, but is the best Sonic game for over a decade. The nostalgia of Classic Sonic remember the old 2D side-scrolling that everyone love and enjoy. The 3D and 2.5D game play of Modern Sonic is the perfect balanced of Sonic Unleashed speed and Sonic Colors platforming plus great 3D plataforming that I waited for years. My only problem of this game that is too short. I just beat in 5-6 hours, olny 7 bosses of the entire game and Classic Sonic only have 2 bosses, I'm waiting the future DLC with more stages and bosses. Sonic Generations is the best Sonic game in years, maybe the best I ever played. After beat the game, the game has 90 challenges to complete, Red Rings to found, replay the stages to get rank S, it's a must-buy for the fans, but if you never played Sonic before, rent it, you can pass the weekend having fun, Sonic is good again better than never. Welcome back Sonic. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    The real Sonic is finally back! Modern Sonic it's cool, but i, you, they, he, she, ALL, think Classic Sonic is back. Thanks SEGA for this great game.
  4. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    This is pretty much Sonic 2 quality work by Sonic Team. Not S3&K quality mind you, but Sonic 2 is still a pretty damn good game. Instead of adding lots of wonky new gameplay elements, Sonic Team focuses solely on perfecting the formula they've worked on in the past few years. The 3D side of the game is well done and plays beautifully, somewhere between daytime Unleashed levels and the levels found in Sonic Colors. The 2D side of the game is also a joy to play, despite a very few minor nagging gripes that most hardcore Sonic fans (like myself) will complain about. And even those complaints can be over looked. That said, I still knocked a point off because of the 2D side. It's not a 1:1 Genesis replication.

    Level design flows really well. The graphics are outstanding. The music is 100% amazing and even features the ability to unlock tunes from older games in the franchise/series and then swap those tunes in to replace the level's main music.

    Also, the camera is also surprisingly co-operative and well placed despite the lack of camera control in 3D.

    Meanwhile, the story is nothing to write home about to most people. However, if you're a long time Sonic fan and have played many of the games, there are tons of jokes and references for you to see. While it is indeed a celebration of 20 years of Sonic, it also in some small ways seems like a letter to the fans. Where SEGA and Sonic Team both somewhat apologize for the bad things. And poke fun at themselves while doing so. Most Sonic fans will probably enjoy the story for what it is.
    Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    I'm really enjoying this game - Good physics,level design,soundtrack... I don't think sega did anything wrong. I should note, however, that I am playing this with a 2d fight pad - I've never liked having to control sonic with a joystick. Both the classic, and modern levels are stunning - Each with different paths to the end. Each level also has numerous challenges to complete after the initial run-through. This game has a lot of replay vale, and I've very pleased to say Sega did a great job on it. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Once again I think most of the professional critics have LOST THEIR MINDS!!! This is the most solid Sonic game (hell the most solid Sega game) in at least ten years!! I am on the last section of the game and will probably have my first playthrough finished tonight. It is an absoute blast to play, and Sega did right by old school fans who rememer the Dreamcast games as well as the Genesis classics. I have played Sonic colors and it was decent, but this one is unbelievable. Remember the first time you saw Mario 64 and how cool it was to play in 3d? This is as close to reliving that feeling as you will ever have. I honestly don't know how else Sega could make a modern Sonic game better than this one. The only flaws it has are the same flaws that EVERY Sonic game ever made suffers from. It's short, (though built from the ground up for replayability) sometimes there are cheap deaths by falling into pits (though there are at least warnings to help out with this now) and the voice acting is lame (though totally skippable thank god!) This is most definitly a 9.0 product. It is the best playing sonic since Sonic and Knuckles on the Genesis over ten years ago. Do not let these moronic reviewers keep you from enjoying a great game. If you rememeber the old Genesis games and love them as I did you will love this. Even if you have never played Sonic before check this out if you like platformers and want something new. This one is a racing game disquised as a platformer and it totally works! Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Finally after decent but not great titles like colors and unleashed, Sega finally scores with Generations a masterpiece. Taking the best from the franchise and enhancing it all the way through. All the mistakes of the previous modern sonic in unleashed and colors have been fixed creating a mixed of both modern sonic and dreamcast sonic. Yet, only one thing makes this an imperfect game, is too short and the last boss battle was a huge disappointment the way you have to defeat it, but otherwise great celebration! Expand
  8. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Sonic Generations is the best Sonic Game since Sonic 2!
    I admit i was kind of slipping from being a sonic fan after Sonic 06 but this game brought me back and its probably one of my favourite games of all time.

    The Story is something i can really appreciate as a Sonic fan since they are finally making jokes about themselves and it is hilarious, every line of dialogue is sure to make
    you atleast giggle!

    The Gameplay is everything we ever wanted from a perfect Sonic Game and thats Incredible speed,Momentum based Platforming and any other awesome additions certainly help the game stay fresh and new.

    and finally the Graphics are Breathtaking, you have to see them to believe them. (Especially if you got a 3D TV)

    In Conclusion Sonic Generations is one of the best games all year and it is definitely worth every penny of its purchase price! (oh and Rival Battles are EPIC)
    Expand
  9. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    All I'm gonna say is this, this is good, really really good! Don't get me wrong, I'm not some Dreamcast fanboy who draws crap anime of Shadow and thinks anything with a blue hedgehog in it is amazing. I'm just a gamer who remembers playing Sonic 3 everyday after school and has longed for a Sonic game that succeeds on more than just nostalgia. After playing Sonic Generations, I'll never look back to the Mega-Drive days again, I'm finally looking forward. BUY IT!! Expand
  10. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    In Short: A solid platforming game for non-sonic fans, and a nostalgic train ride through your childhood for those that are. If you are a sonic fan get this game, if you are interested in sonic but not played his games before then wait till this is cheaper first.

    In Long: I grew up with Sonic in my life from the very start, the first game ever played was Sonic The Hedgehog 1 and the last
    game I just played was Sonic Generations, which was worth every penny. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment spent doing anything in this game, from the story and stages to the challenges and red ring hunting it was amazing for me. The Classic Sonic levels are well done, feeling very old whilst not to the point of being identical to old gameplay (I don't mean it doesn't play like Classic, it just isn't carbon copies of old levels used). The Modern Sonic levels are, in my opinion, finally perfected and play smoothly with a feel for speed and platforming blended together nicely, people who complain of clunky controls are most likely trying to boost through a level they have never played before, hitting a wall, and blaming the game. My single complaint about this game is how short it is, and if my only complaint about a game is that their isn't enough of it to go around then that says something about the quality of the game in general. Although it is short it is longer then some games I have played (I 100% Batman: Arkham Asylum in 3 days, which is supposed to be a legendary game, and I wasn't even playing it the whole time, Sonic Generation took 4 days of non-stop playing so it isn't a fair complaint to make). Either way, I have spent hours of time having a silent online speed run war with my friends, which is probably going to go on for the next few weeks anyway and perhaps longer

    This game is hopefully the first of many Sonic games that will revive the series back to the powerhouse it used to be. My recommendation, buy this game at some point in your life if your a multi-genre gamer, as it is enjoyable as a platformer with no knowledge of Sonic anyway and Sonic fans will love the music, the feel and overall atmosphere of this game.
    Expand
  11. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Seriously it's like they filtered all the crap and only put absolutely everything fun in it. I cannot see any flaw in this game It's the best sonic game since sonic adventure 2 10/10 love it.
  12. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game was full of nostalgia throughout. I own sonic 1 and 2 for sega genesis and playing generations with the redone maps like chemical zone and adventure battles city escape made the game so much fun.
  13. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Awesome game, but very short and easy to beat. The 3D stages are way better than the 2D stages. I wanted to get the game so long and I was not expecting it to be so awesome
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    A nearly perfect Sonic game - a must have for Sonic fans. After the utter disappointment of Sonic 2006 and the better, but flawed (some of those Werehog levels and emblem collecting...) Sonic Unleashed, we get a really good game that addresses most of the issues of the previous games.

    Firstly, the classic Sonic returns with better physics. Secondly, modern's Sonic gameplay is very good,
    less buggy. After you get a feel of a level, you start completing it quicker and in a more impressive manner.

    Every level is beautifully designed with stunning graphics - you can see they've paid a lot attention to detail. Many references and easter eggs.

    The unlockable bonuses! That's the cherry on the top. You can unlock artwork and songs from previous games and you can use those songs during any level - brilliant!
    Expand
  15. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    This is the Sonic game that fans of the Blue Blur have been waiting for since 3D became a viable option in gaming. Switching back and forth between Sonics is a breeze and to see so many classic levels re-imagined, with all the classic music also remastered, in two versions is breathtaking and will make all Sonic fans jump for joy. With two versions of each level, that also hold 5 challenges each, there is a ton of depth to the game and with online time trials, there is little that could be done to make this game even better than it already is. SEGA finally got it right. If you are a fan of Sonic, this game is a must have. Expand
  16. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    this has to to be the best sonic game in 10 years since SA2. my only problem with this game is its length it feels too short .the graphics are nice vary few bugs. and the game play nicely the controls are solid i would suggest picking this game up!
  17. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love it. I have no problems with the games and nothing came off as "bad controls" to me. Just a fun filled, pure Sonic speed adventure. Yeah, there could've been more boss battles but I'm completely satisfied with both Sonic styles of gameplay, they nailed it this time!
  18. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    I only give it a 9 because I LOVE Genesis Sonic and waited in line to purchase Sonic the Hedgehog 2 when i was younger. I purchased the game yesterday and didn't get to play it until 8:30PM and i played all night until 1:30AM and I don't even want to go back upstairs because i'm at the final god damned level and I don't want it to end. The scenery and game-play is close to perfect but what the **** Sonic Team?!?! You can never have MULTIPLE good things in your game. It seems as if they focused so much on the 3D aspect of the game that they didn't even bother with re-play value or the games length. Stop stabbing me in my sonic heart Sonic Team. To make up for the 4-6hrs of game-play I'm really hoping we get some more amazing sonic games all thru-out 2012. I'm going to be buying a Nintendo 3DS for the sole purpose of Sonic generations having a different story/levels. By the way, whats the **** with like 5 bosses the whole damned game??? the "main" bosses are all bosses that were Final Zone bosses and you kill them within 1-2mins. a boss at the end of each act would have made this game a WHOLE lot better. Here's to whats to come! Cheers! (istillloveyousonic) :-P Expand
  19. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Sonic Generations is a game that u will either love, hate or be indifferent of, depending of your previous experiences with sonic games. Speaking as a 32 year old who played and loved the classics, and Sonic games in general up to the Gamecube's era i can wholeheartedly recommend this game to all the original Sonic fans. If you grew up in the last few game generations, or never bother with Sonic back in the day and already believe the hype that all Sonic games are bad then dont get this. Some of the negatives reviews for this game is from people who were already bent on giving it a bad review because they either never liked the franchise in the 1st place, never played the classics and dont have the skill to play the game the right way, or are fans still living in the past and want the new Sonic games to play exactly as those 3. Honestly, this is a fantastic game and any self respecting platforming game fan should buy it.

    Graphics 8/10
    + Colorful, insanely fast and jaw dropping graphics when going fast. Very smooth running engine
    - Frame rate is around 25-30 secs per sec which is not that bothersome but still a lil annoying

    Sound 10/10
    + Soundtrack is a dream for Sonic fans with remixes from the originals
    - I guess if you dont know the tunes from the originals you wont appreciate them as much

    Gameplay 9/10
    +This is classic Sonic as you remember it with skillful jumping and fast reflexes required to get the most out of it.
    - There is still a few hiccups here and there when it comes to sudden deaths and stops but those have been present in Sonic games since Sonic 2. I havent seen a good Sonic game totally glitch free since Sonic 1.
    Replay 10/10
    This is the type of game you dont want to trade, for many old fans like me it means so much more than just a game. Its the return to glory, the triumphant return, of one of our childhood heroes! Sonic is back STRONG in this game and the joyous gameplay will keep u playing for months not because its a long game but because the gameplay is so joyous that you can play in long sessions but also in short bursts for instant gratification every once in a while to take a break from your long FPS sessions in Battlefield or Call of Duty.

    Overall 10/10 if you love Sonic and its gameplay style like me regardless of your age
    8/10 if you never liked Sonic, or never played Sonic. It's a great game but you def wont get the most out of this game without knowledge of the franchise.
    Expand
  20. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    After being disappointed by every recent Sonic game (every Sonic created since Adventure 2), I waited with bated breath for this one, hoping that it would bring redemption to the franchise. After playing just a couple levels and watching my roommate play, I can honestly say this is the best Sonic game that Sega has brought to us in a long time. The soundtrack is awesome, the nostalgia factor is high, and the action is a perfect blend of side-scrolling and 3-D speed. My personal favorite level? City Escape, hearkening back to Sonic Adventure 2. Sega hit a home run with this one! Expand
  21. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    As an old school gamer who grew up playing mario and sonic games, there is nothing that can beat the fun factor of a well made platformer. For current gen games, it's indeed the case for mario galaxy 2 (which I loved so very much), as it is with sonic generations. It's just pure fun for everyone. Even my 5 year old son can play trough the levels of modern sonic without any help (albeit not with flying colors). The only negative that bugged me (as noted by others) is that the game is too short. But other than that, it's an awesome game. In an age where games full of blood and violence are so dominant, sonic generations gives a breeze of fresh air. I am glad that SEGA is still committed to sonic, and I hope similar types of games (high quality fun games without violence, blood, or profanity) are in store for us in the future. Expand
  22. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Sonic is back at the top of his game. This game is just all around great, great graphics, great gameplay, great story and great music. The best game I've played this year by far.
  23. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    60FPS, BETTER GRAPHICS, BETTER SHADOWS, BETTER REFLECTIONS, MODS, AND A LOT MORE, IF YOU LIKE SONIC GENERATIONS YOU HAVE TO BUY THE PC VERSION OF THIS GAME, ITÃ
  24. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Since Sonic Adventure 2 / Battle came great games, but not beyond SA2 / B for me, Sonic 2006 reached almost, if not the technical problems that the game has paid for the rush of Sony and Microsoft to launch the game it would have been best of all, Sonic Adventure 2 but still had that title for me, but now Generations could feel a game worthy of saying "the best Sonic game EVER," he left parts of the platform and very modern with multiple routes path, and keeping the lightning speed worthy of the Hedgehog, and even brought us the old Sonic from my childhood, a perfect blend, the gameplay with both Sonic's are excellent, everyone in the concept of his time in the best style platform / action we have phases of memorable games, the music totally nostalgic and a perfect remix, the phases are epically designed with two types of gameplay, very good graphics, excellent controls, it is no exaggeration on my part, who played and really like Sonic in two styles will know what I'm saying, SEGA and Sonic Team are to be congratulated again, a game that is already marked the history of our hedgehog cobalt, the best game EVER Sonic the Hedgehog! Expand
  25. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    It's so refreshing to see a good Sonic game these days. Give Sega a lot of credit for this one, they listened to their fan base and made a fantastic game out of it. The story is fun, the sound and music is great, and the graphics are tolerable. Sonic is back and hopefully he's here to stay.
  26. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    This game is by far one of the best Sonic the Hedgehog games since Sonic Adventure 2. The gameplay is fun with the young chubby Sonic, and HALLELUJAH!!! modern Sonic's gameplay is FUN, aside from minor glitches with him it is still great. I am happy to say that yes I am a Sonic fanboy and I am finally getting the feeling that Sonic is on his way back to glory. Only downside of the game was the few levels and boss fights and the replayability, but still a FANTASTIC game. Expand
  27. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    Sonic Generations is, without a doubt, the best console Sonic game in years. The gameplay is great for both classic and modern Sonic, and the level design is some of the best I've seen since the 16-bit days. Classic Sonic plays pretty closely to the Genesis classics, with spindash and everything. Modern Sonic plays like an improved, refined version of the daytime gameplay from Sonic Unleashed, fortunately with more platforming and less boosting. The only glaring flaw that I can find in this game is that it's pretty short. The replay value is at least pretty high though; there are 90 additional missions to complete, and the levels are so fun that you'll want to play through them over and over again. If you've been on the fence about whether or not to get this, then get off that fence and get this game right away. Sonic Generations is superb. Expand
  28. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Sonic Generations is a must play game for any gamer. The game itself remasters 3 Sonic levels in beautiful HD from each of Sonic's eras, Genesis, Dreamcast, and Modern as well as 2 boss fights in each era followed by an original final boss. Each level of the game must be played in 2 brilliant perspectives, classic HD side scrolling as classic Sonic with classic abilities such as the spin dash and spin jump, as well as modern HD platforming as modern sonic with modern abilities such as boosting and homing attack. Each boss fight however is a predetermind perspective. Plot: As Sonic races through Green Hill zone for the first time, he notices an earthquake shaking the ground and looks up in horror as the menacing Time Eater rushes him through time. Meanwhile, the modern Sonic runs into a surprise birthday party set up by his friends, only to be seperated from each other in different areas of time due to the Time Eaters unexpected attack. Upon running through familiar areas, he is reunited with his friends and encounters his past self. His partner Tails meets his past self also. Both Tails reach the conclusion that they are stuck within a time space conitinum, and that the Time Eater plans on erasing time and space. They also conclude that if both Sonics speed through areas throughout Modern Sonic's life they can restore time and space, and better yet can challenge the Time Eater if they collect the 7 Chaos Emeralds. Level Remakes: The Levels are exactly what any Sonic fan wants, fast paced, nostalgic, and a throw back to 20 years of Sonic. Anyone who has never played a Sonic game can experience a sample throughout every piece of his gaming legacy in brilliant HD. Speed: every level is incredibly fast as the theme of Sonic is about speed therefore this platformer/sidescroller feels as if you are rushed throughout the game, although to a Sonic fan this is what is expected and praised, and to a newcomer to the franchise this can be overwhelming yet a new and exciting experience. My Opinion: every gamer should play through this game at least once Expand
  29. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    By far one of the most enjoyable Sonic experiences to date! Fans who have put up with the series' lows really owe it to themselves with this underrated slice of Sonic gaming. Though the game may lean on the short side all thats contained within is pure Sonic gameplay minus the needless filler. Nine lovingly recreated zones all from series' past to present with 2 Acts each (one for Modern and for Classic) makes this game the biggest nostalgia trip ever. A definite buy for platformer fans. Expand
  30. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    I thought this game was truly outstanding, by far the best platformer of this generation (though mario galaxy was great too). I was always a sega boy in my youth, so i'll admit i am biased towards sonic over other platformers, but i cannot praise this game highly enough, This had 2d as good as since sonic 2, and easily the best 3d sonic i've ever played, only took them 10 years to get it right... Sonic 4 is terrible by comparison but by goin back to their roots in 3d, and getting rid of the terrible lock on system that destroed the series i once loved, still do really, still play the mega drive games now, they managed to make a game that required some level of ability towards the old style. The game is pretty short, but i've gone back to get all the red rings and beat the bosses on hard, if anythin to unlock the songs, which is another great feature, i just wish there were more. I'd love a sequal to this, there are still many levels yet to cover, even from this generation that i don't really know, like the 2008 game, witch probably supplied the best levels. Sonic team should focus on more like this, than more sonic 4 epsiodes, If you love platforming, this is the game for you, it goes away from the styles from other good 3d platformers, such as mario galaxy, and even the ps1's great crash 3, and makes it's own style. It's got to be up there for me for my favorite games of this generation. Expand
  31. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I usually agree with metacritic score for sonic games.. there are horrible and great sonic games out there and this one is AMAZING. I even felt the game was short because I could easily handle 4 for stages... They are all beautifully recreated with fantastic gameplay and funny cutscenes with cute injokes. The way sonic speed up among this visual experience is awesome. This is a must have for any sonic fan of any age and new players as well. Expand
  32. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Sega Sonic finally got a real quality of the same generation 16-bit graphics, music, game-play is perfect, it is exciting to say and see how this Sonic is magnificent.
  33. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    By far the best Sonic game since Sonic 3 & Knuckles. Is it perfect? No. But it's the most fun you will have had with Sonic in a long time. Especially the Classic gameplay.
  34. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    This is a real treat to all Sonic fans, as well as being a perfect place for new fans to start. Sonic Generations takes levels from his past 20 years of games and redefines them for the modern audience. The stages have revamped music from their original release, and the option to change the background music to the level is a real bonus. Ever want to play Green Hill Zone with the song Live and Learn? Well now you can! The sound effects of dropping rings, making a spin dash, and even the dreaded final countdown underwater make a come back. The makers of Sonic Generation also included a the original Sonic the Hedgehog game, in its entirety. As a long time fan of the series it serves as a reminder of just how far the series has come. Sonic Generations is not however without its flaws. Phasing threw walls and the occasional jumpy camera angle do little to bolster Modern Sonic's street cred, thankfully the evils of programming are few and far between. Loads of collectibles and cameos from Sonic's friends await you in what is by far my favorite sonic game in the past 15 years! Expand
  35. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic is back and better than ever. It seems Sega has been releasing some great sonic games as of late. Well lets get started
    Graphics: They look nice and cartoony just how I like it.
    Voices: Well there not half bad Sonic doesn't sound drunk any more. Tails sounds like a guy. The rest are OK except for Shadow.
    Story: As Sonic celebrates his birthday with his friends, a mysterious new enemy called the Time Eater appears, sucking everyone through various 'time holes' and scattering them across different places in Sonic's history. Sonic finds himself in strange dimension known as White Space, where everything has been drained of color. As Sonic searches for his friends, he encounters his younger self, Classic Sonic, along with a younger Classic Tails. As the two Tails determine that Time Eater's actions are damaging time itself, both Modern and Classic race through their history, restoring time to normal and rescuing their friends. They soon discover that the mastermind behind Time Eater is none other than Dr. Ivo "Eggman" Robotnik, who has joined forces with his past self to erase Sonic's victories from history. Although the Time Eater manages to overwhelm the two Sonics, the support of their friends and the power of the Chaos Emeralds allow them to become Super Sonic and defeat the two Eggmen. As Sonic finally celebrates his birthday and teaches Classic Sonic some new tricks before he and Classic Tails travel back to their time with Modern Sonic telling his classic self Hey Sonic enjoy your future its gonna be great. Should have warned him about 2006.
    Gameplay:The game features levels derived from 20 years of Sonic history, spreading across three eras: Classic, Dreamcast and Modern, which are played as either Classic Sonic or Modern Sonic.[10] Classic Sonic's levels are strictly two dimensional side scrolling stages, using classic moves like the Spin Attack and Spin Dash, while Modern Sonic's levels follow a gameplay style similar to more recent entries in the series, with the console versions using the 2D/3D style gameplay of Sonic Unleashed and Sonic Colors, whilst the 3DS version will use the 2D gameplay of the Sonic Rush series, both featuring techniques such as boosting and homing attacks. As well as classic power-ups such as Invincibility and Speed Shoes, certain levels have unique power-ups, such as skateboards in City Escape and Wisp powers in Planet Wisp. Each zone consists of a main act for each Sonic, as well as 10 challenges such as beating an opponent to the goal
    Overall this game is a masterpiece each and every way I recommend getting this game
    Expand
  36. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    The game is short, the story is crap, and the missions aren't engaging at all. I admit that. What we do have, though, is fun. Sonic Team has taken everything fun about the Genesis games and puts it into the Classic stages, as well as successfully taking the good parts of the Adventure games and Unleashed and combining them. By far one of the best current-gen platformers I've played.
  37. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Générations Sonic est un bon travail parmi les Sonic ne pourra jamais douter. Est certainement mieux que les jeux récents. En outre, il a été un remake parfait du passé classique, tels que Sonic.
  38. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    Always been on the fence about sonic games since they went 3D, until I played the demo of this. Still,it took me two years to buy the full game but I love it. Easily the best sonic game since Sonic 2 (if not a little bit cheesy) was always deterred by the rumoured length of the game and while this isn't far from the truth, these claims have been stretched too far and the game has ther factors that make it more then just another crappy next gen sonic it takes the old sonic games and revamps them into 2.5D and instead of a similar outing for the second acts, it allows you to play through a fully 3D rendering of that particular zone. the beautifully reworked chemical zone from sonic 2 for example. sonic generations takes 9 levels across several sonic games (sonic 1,sonic 2, sonic and knuckles, sonic adventure, sonic adventure 2, sonic heroes, sonic 2006, sonic unleashed and sonic colours).
    ven though each zone has two acts, I do feel they could of added so much more. challenge levels too which allow you to complete certain challenges across variations of previously played levels but their biggest mistake was not to include casino night as a level. sonic had tons of fantastic levels without having to include zones from sonic unleashed. little collectibles like the mega drive are a nice touch, its just a shame the 2D levels can be a bit too quick for the screen.sonic generatione is solid proof that the blue hedgehog s**ts all over the fat, fridgd plumber * .
    Expand
  39. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Always on Metacritic the critics make the good games look medicore, bad, or just terrible. This game has a great storyline, great levels/missions, etc. This is probably in my 2nd most favorite Sonic game of all time. There are only very minor flaws to this. All in all, you should buy this is you have extra money lying around.
  40. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    Sonic Generations is the best Sonic game to have been released in quite a while. This game isn't perfect, but it's fun. The gameplay is reminiscent of the daytime stages of Sonic Unleashed, which were the only redeeming qualities of that game. The game is visually stunning and fun to play, but is WAY too short with only some replayability. The story is pretty bad, but doesn't try to be engaging, unlike some recent blunders from Sonic Team (Sonic 2006, anybody?). Overall, this game is a beacon of hope in the dismal series that is Sonic the Hedgehog. Expand
  41. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed playing through the game, redoing the revamped levels was great fun, as a big sonic fan, it would have been a crime not to buy this game, and I was happy with my purchase to this day. The story wasn't that great, but as I have mentioned in previous sonic game reviews, in a sonic game, you want to run, run and keep running. Speed is everything. Well, that and the music, sonic music has always been amazing. Expand
  42. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    This game is an amazing way to celebrate sonics 20th anniversary! It includes famous stages from each sonic game, picked by the fans, and completely redesigned and worked into stunning HD. you play as modern sonic, which has a mixture of 3d and 2d levels, and as classic sonic, which is all 2d levels similair to the genesis days. with modern sonic, they really got the formulan down right, in sonic colors there wasnt alot of 3d platforming, but as modern sonic in this game, there are alot of great 3d platforming sections, and they are all very well designed. Not only that, but the levels are all designed very well, and reward you for thinking outside the box, like in chemical plant zone when you can run on the other lanes that just look like their in the backround, but they lead to new pathways. and each level has alot, and by alot i mean around 4 different ways to the goal, and finding each of the pasts, and mastering the design to speed through them is alot of fun as well. You can also unlock many, many songs from other sonic games, and play them on whatever stage you want, which makes for some pretty cool atmosphere in the levels (open your heart in crisis city), and makes some completely akward (green hill zone theme in crisis city). There are 9 stages in this game, but you play through each as 2 different sonics, so that makes it 18, and after playing through the stage, you can play through 5 different mission type levels, with completely different level designs and goals, and thats 5 for each sonic, so that makes for over 100 levels! (technically :P) There are also 5 red star coins hidden within each zone for each sonic to collect, and with each new red ring you collect, you get more concept art and songs added to the museum in the game, and the music to play through levels with as well. There are plenty of boss battles, which arent that great, especially the end boss, which is a horrible boss, and is a bit dissapointing. there are some minor things that annoy me, but they would come off more as nitpicks than anything else. This is one of my favorite sonic games of all time, and i had alot of fun with this title. i highly reccommend this to any sonic fan, or any platforming fan who is looking for an awesome game. Sega has really redeemed themselves with this one. Collapse
  43. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    The best Sonic game in years. The game is beautiful, and has excellent gameplay really memorable moments. The only problem is being short, I would more stages, especially the 16-bit era.
  44. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    It's seriously a great comeback for Sonic. He's in better form than ever with exciting levels from the past, racing through them is a blast, everything fits perfectly. The graphics are phenomenal, the voice acting is better, the stages are well developed and vibrant, it's all almost perfect. The only thing I have a beef with is the missions: the annoyance they serve varies from not at all to nails on a chalkboard. Regardless, it's definitely worth a buy. Expand
  45. May 3, 2013
    9
    The game I had been saddened to hear. Well I was because I didn't have the means of playing it, but I suddenly found an Xbox under my Christmas tree.......WITH THE GAME IN IT! I was stoked and boy was the game better than I thought! You play as Sonic and Sonic (you know the classic and modern versions) as you try to save the universe from a time tearing demi god. It's been 20 years and Sonic is celebrating his birthday with every known chararcter in the Sonic universe (well Mighty must have missed the notice again) until everyone but Sonic suddenly gets attacked and sucked into different times. Sonic wakes up to find his world in a white void and eventually meets Tails and their classic counterparts. Both Sonics must run through all the stages that harken back to Sonic's past to fix the timeline and their wordl form falling to pieces. Modern Sonic plays just like he did in Unleashed (with a little less flexibility). Fast speeds, boosting, drifting, and the homing attack are what make up these stages along with an incredibly superior balance in platforming than Unleashe's stages. Classic Sonic almost plays like he did in the Genesis days. I say almost because while it's fun to play in this style all over again, the physics are taken away from premise. You can't gather speed by rolling in loop de loops and hills without spamming the all new overpowered spin dash (which you just hold X whenever you want to use it). You can't jump on enemies and expect a higher jump when you land on them. It's always the same bounce which is a real bummer. Even despite the slight lack of momentum based gameplay, Classic Sonic is just as fun to play as Modern Sonic, if not, more. The stages range from the Genesis days to Dreamcast, and then our beloved Modern games (some aren't that bad people). Each stage has different designs and are so diverse in style and location, you can't help but fall in love with Sonic's history once more as you speed past all the enhanced famililarities you know and love from each game. The story isn't really that much to behold, but it serves it's purpose. I just wish you could play as Knuckles or something. Plus alot of potential was lost in this game, as it should have been longer with more stages and classic versions of characters.Still though this is a fun game and you will want to keep coming back to it again and again, Especially if you want to collect all the extra artwork, screen, and movies. It's the perfect game for Sonic fans. Here's hoping the next game will be even better. Expand
  46. Sep 4, 2013
    9
    Even though I prefer Sonic Colors, I can't deny this game is incredible, the gameplay is as great as sonic colors, though noticeably glitchier, not to the level of Sonic 06, but it's still noticeable. Though the story and writing is really, REALLY, weak compared to Sonic Colors, and the soundtrack, while it's still great. Does not even COMPARE to the masterpiece of a soundtrack sonic colors had. Otherwise it's a great experience, Fun gameplay, great graphics, and music. Expand
  47. May 24, 2013
    9
    Quackit Sonic Generations Review 5/24/2013

    Sonic Generations is what is considered by most people as the Sonic franchise’s climb back up from it’s past failures. Sonic Generations gives both modern Sonic gameplay: running, boosting, platforming, sidestepping, and grinding through familiar zones from Sonic history, and classic Sonic gameplay from the 16-bit era, running,
    spinning, and jumping through these same familiar zones.
    One of Sonic Generations greatest features is that it lets you explore places like Chemical Plant and Sky Sanctuary in a new 3D perspective, and lets you explore places like City Escape and Planet Wisp in the fashion of the original Sonic games on the Sega Genesis. Another aspect Sonic Generations has that makes it so much better than Sonic Unleashed is that it takes you out of the claustrophobic racetrack like paths that you followed in Unleashed and puts you into more wide open vistas with all sorts of secret paths to explore and discover.
    What puts Sonic Generations above Sonic Colors is that during the modern stages, there is more of a balance between the side scrolling sections of levels and the 3D platforming sections of levels, when in Sonic Colors there was an overload of side scrolling sections with just breadcrumbs in comparison of 3D sections. Sonic Generations is little more than a title based around improving the series’ recent hardships, which is arguably NOT a good thing, but in the eyes of most it is a step in the right direction for Sonic Team.
    A recurring complaint about Sonic Generations is that it uses ‘exhausted’ and ‘uninspired’ recreations of older Sonic game’s stages, but the point of Sonic Generation is to remind everyone that Sonic games have gone from good to bad and now back again.
    Generations has set a standard of quality that the Sonic fanbase will continue to keep in mind when they review a Sonic game for games to come and I believe Sonic Team has put the right foot forward in repairing a damaged franchise.
    Expand
  48. MKC
    Oct 14, 2013
    9
    Quite simply the very best sonic game since 1994. Seeing green hill, chemical plant and Sonic CD's stardust speedway race against metal sonic, all lovingly recreated with modern graphics is magnificent. Plus the game is loaded with remixes of classic sonic game music from the iconic green hill theme, sonic 2's 2p results screen and sky sanctuar to sonic adventure 2's city escape song, sonic colours planet wisp and Sonic hero's seaside hill there's loads of nostalgic nods to dozens of sonic games over the decades.

    The 2d platforming is excellent. It's not exactly the same as the classics but it's the closest since sonic & knuckles forget the poor attempts of sonic 4, there's no clunky walk up walls physics here!

    However, the surprise has to be how enjoyable the 3d levels are. They still have some refinement work to do with slippery 3d sonic, but after a decade and a half, sonic team have finally found a fluid and exiting 3d sonic experience that's just down right fun! After an hour I found myself enjoying the 3d levels more than the side scrolling ones- and I still do!

    The levels are truly superb. From the modern 3d graphic recreations of green hill, and sky sanctuary, to the sonic adventure era levels and even the more recent levels from sonic colours, unleashed and (shudder) sonic 06- each level is beautiful, detailed, full of eye candy and show stopping stunts and set pieces as well as being well built and designed.

    The structure of the game is typical sonic. There's a grading system to the levels in typical sonic team style and the gameplay and level design will draw you back in to levels you've beaten in order to refine you're route to the finish to gain the S rank grade. A bit like a racing game, you'll find yourself fine tuning to shave of a second or two and it's a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Doing this in some of the later, longer levels can be frustrating at times however. There's also an assortment of recreated past boss fights and tonnes of side missions. Some of these side missions are poorly designed filler material, however I found most of these added an interesting variety to the game, and a nice escape from the main games "in your face" from time to time. They're definitely a welcome addition, even if some of them are terrible. There's also a museum in which you can unlock classic music, movies and pictures as well as concept art all paying tribute to the series 20 year history. You can even choose to play this music in the main game which is a great touch. Plus the original 1991 game on the Sega mega drive is unlockable through the skills shop and can be played in it's entirely in full screen, full speed HD!

    The game isn't without it's faults. Although the graphics and luscious, the intricate detail and bright colours mixed with the exhilarating speed of the game sometimes make it hard to make out what's going on and lead there's slowdown in some of the busiest sections. The boss fights, although visually impressive and nostalgic, feel like a chore and aren't very fun at all. This is particularly true of the last 2 bosses which are drawn out and downright boring. There's a "skills" system employed i. the game which adds absolutely no value to the game, even if it doesn't really take anything away from the enjoyable experience- it just seems like it's there for the sake of it. The cut scenes are truly awful as well and look like they were knocked together in 5 mins, however that's probably a good thing as it seems like the time and energy has been spent on the rest of the game instead.

    After 17 years of a mixture of ok, nearly there, disappointing and sometimes crap sonic games, sonic team have finally found the magic that they appeared to have lost since the release of Sonic3 and Sonic & knuckles in 1994 and created a sonic game that's in almost every way as good as the triple A classics on which it's based.
    Expand
  49. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    best sonic game since sonic adventure 2
    one the best plataform game that i have even played
    it has a good gameplay,with great levels
    sonic team made a good job
  50. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Sonic finally returned with what is possibly the best sonic game since the old genesis titles. You get to play as modern sonic in 3D, with his special boost ability returning from sonic unleashed and colors, and you also get to play as classic sonic in the old 2D side-scrolling mechanic, perfect for the fans who grew up with the classics. This game has a short and bland story, but the game-play MORE than makes up for it, The game has 9 different stages each from older sonic games, separated into 3 era's that represent the older games. You have the classic era (green hill, chemical plant and sky sanctuary), the dreamcast era (speed highway, city escape and seaside hill) and the modern era (crisis city, rooftop run and planet wisp). Along with a huge set of missions, rival battles and boss fights from the older games, revamped for the new game-play mechanics. Every stage has their older music remixed and remastered, and it does not disappoint, filled with godly level design with branching paths, they also have red-star rings scattered throughout the stage that give you special bonus features, like music and artwork. Modern Sonic's 2.5D/3D game-play is a perfect mix of platforming and speed, while classic sonic's game-play is the same as the classics. This game is perfect if you're just getting into the series, it's also great for older fans. Overall, this game is perfect, if you don't have it, then what are you waiting for? Expand
  51. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    Sonic Generations is pretty much the old Sonic games all rolled into one with much more modern graphics noticing fine points in the game may help you later in the hidden levels.
  52. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    With the best elements of both Unleashed and Colors Sonic Generations is easily one of the best 3D sonic games since the days of the dream cast. Sonic Generations has truly fantastic level design for both classic and modern sonic with a kick ass soundtrack to boot. The only area where this game falls short is with the final boss it is very confusing and hitting the time eater feels almost completely luck based. If you have not picked this game up yet a seriously encourage you to do so now. Expand
  53. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    A great Sonic game and one of the best Sonic games in a while. Stunning visuals, high-octane platforming, great soundtrack and just a ton of fun to play. While the story is rather-lacking, this game is my 2nd favorite Sonic game.
  54. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Sure it's only like 2 hours, but it's a damn excellent two hours. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
  55. Feb 22, 2013
    0
    This game is an amazing way to celebrate sonics 20th anniversary! It includes famous stages from each sonic game, picked by the fans, and completely redesigned and worked into stunning HD. you play as modern sonic, which has a mixture of 3d and 2d levels, and as classic sonic, which is all 2d levels similair to the genesis days. with modern sonic, they really got the formulan down right, in sonic colors there wasnt alot of 3d platforming, but as modern sonic in this game, there are alot of great 3d platforming sections, and they are all very well designed. Not only that, but the levels are all designed very well, and reward you for thinking outside the box, like in chemical plant zone when you can run on the other lanes that just look like their in the backround, but they lead to new pathways. and each level has alot, and by alot i mean around 4 different ways to the goal, and finding each of the pasts, and mastering the design to speed through them is alot of fun as well. You can also unlock many, many songs from other sonic games, and play them on whatever stage you want, which makes for some pretty cool atmosphere in the levels (open your heart in crisis city), and makes some completely akward (green hill zone theme in crisis city). There are 9 stages in this game, but you play through each as 2 different sonics, so that makes it 18, and after playing through the stage, you can play through 5 different mission type levels, with completely different level designs and goals, and thats 5 for each sonic, so that makes for over 100 levels! (technically :P) There are also 5 red star coins hidden within each zone for each sonic to collect, and with each new red ring you collect, you get more concept art and songs added to the museum in the game, and the music to play through levels with as well. There are plenty of boss battles, which arent that great, especially the end boss, which is a horrible boss, and is a bit dissapointing. there are some minor things that annoy me, but they would come off more as nitpicks than anything else. This is one of my favorite sonic games of all time, and i had alot of fun with this title. i highly reccommend this to any sonic fan, or any platforming fan who is looking for an awesome game. Sega has really redeemed themselves with this one. Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    84
    You won't be disappointed by the changes that have been made to make this a great experience.
  2. Dec 11, 2011
    60
    Sonic Generations lets you play as two different Sonics, one from the present and one from the past. The first levels are fantastic, but the level design soon gets dull. The time trials and the music is good though.
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    84
    It's somewhat short and the boss battles are truly awful, but otherwise Sonic Generations is a solid platformer. Revisiting old levels is nostalgic and having two Sonics to control is a nice touch. [Dec 2011]