Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 292 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognisable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic'sSet across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognisable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic's most recent adventures. Each incarnation of Sonic in Sonic Generations comes complete with his trademark special move, Spin Dash and Spin Attack for Classic Sonic, and Homing Attack and Sonic Boost for Modern Sonic. An innovative new interactive menu system allows for complete immersion in Sonic's universe with favourite characters and hidden treasures gradually being revealed throughout the game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    91
    Bottom line: If you are or have ever been a fan of Sonic the Hedgehog during the series' two-decade history, then this is your game.
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    85
    Sonic Generations delivers what fans have been looking for with a successful combination of classic and modern gameplay, both of them polished and highly replayable, making this latest Sonic game the path to follow for future releases.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    83
    It's a far better game than any of the modern day Sonic titles I've played so far, and the classic Sonic stuff is enough to sell me on the game, even if the modern Sonic side isn't always my cup of tea.
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    As positively nostalgic as all of this is, it's not surprising to find that Sonic Generations' emulation of past greats extends to its duration. Despite the fact that there are nine main stages per Sonic, seven bosses and ten side-missions per Zone, it will take an experienced fan just a few hours to blast through to the main ending.
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    A combination of the best of Sonic, Sonic Generations reinvents, while staying true to the myth, and serves the fan well, whatever its generation is. It's an anthology of the musics, the pictures, the bosses, characters and levels we loved the most during those past 20 years of Sonic games, and one that, while not perfect (some gameplay imprecisions do subsist), remains a must-have for the Sonic lovers.
  6. Dec 4, 2011
    70
    Sonic Generations is five hours of fun. The gameplay has more excitement than most other games I've played this year, and it sets a template that future Sonic games will hopefully pay attention to-it's just a shame that Sonic Generations, like Sonic himself, goes by very, very fast.
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    60
    Compared to Colors, Sonic Generations is a weaker, above average effort. Even taken as fan-service, the game's wavering quality, apparent lack of creativity and meandering filler feels like it's stalling until next year's birthday, and next year's game.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 112
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Sure it's only like 2 hours, but it's a damn excellent two hours. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
  2. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Sonic is back at the top of his game. This game is just all around great, great graphics, great gameplay, great story and great music. TheSonic is back at the top of his game. This game is just all around great, great graphics, great gameplay, great story and great music. The best game I've played this year by far. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Sonic is back better than ever. It's not perfect, but is the best Sonic game for over a decade. The nostalgia of Classic Sonic remember theSonic is back better than ever. It's not perfect, but is the best Sonic game for over a decade. The nostalgia of Classic Sonic remember the old 2D side-scrolling that everyone love and enjoy. The 3D and 2.5D game play of Modern Sonic is the perfect balanced of Sonic Unleashed speed and Sonic Colors platforming plus great 3D plataforming that I waited for years. My only problem of this game that is too short. I just beat in 5-6 hours, olny 7 bosses of the entire game and Classic Sonic only have 2 bosses, I'm waiting the future DLC with more stages and bosses. Sonic Generations is the best Sonic game in years, maybe the best I ever played. After beat the game, the game has 90 challenges to complete, Red Rings to found, replay the stages to get rank S, it's a must-buy for the fans, but if you never played Sonic before, rent it, you can pass the weekend having fun, Sonic is good again better than never. Welcome back Sonic. Expand
  4. May 24, 2013
    9
    Quackit Sonic Generations Review 5/24/2013

    Sonic Generations is what is considered by most people as the Sonic franchise’s climb
    Quackit Sonic Generations Review 5/24/2013

    Sonic Generations is what is considered by most people as the Sonic franchise’s climb back up from it’s past failures. Sonic Generations gives both modern Sonic gameplay: running, boosting, platforming, sidestepping, and grinding through familiar zones from Sonic history, and classic Sonic gameplay from the 16-bit era, running, spinning, and jumping through these same familiar zones.
    One of Sonic Generations greatest features is that it lets you explore places like Chemical Plant and Sky Sanctuary in a new 3D perspective, and lets you explore places like City Escape and Planet Wisp in the fashion of the original Sonic games on the Sega Genesis. Another aspect Sonic Generations has that makes it so much better than Sonic Unleashed is that it takes you out of the claustrophobic racetrack like paths that you followed in Unleashed and puts you into more wide open vistas with all sorts of secret paths to explore and discover.
    What puts Sonic Generations above Sonic Colors is that during the modern stages, there is more of a balance between the side scrolling sections of levels and the 3D platforming sections of levels, when in Sonic Colors there was an overload of side scrolling sections with just breadcrumbs in comparison of 3D sections. Sonic Generations is little more than a title based around improving the series’ recent hardships, which is arguably NOT a good thing, but in the eyes of most it is a step in the right direction for Sonic Team.
    A recurring complaint about Sonic Generations is that it uses ‘exhausted’ and ‘uninspired’ recreations of older Sonic game’s stages, but the point of Sonic Generation is to remind everyone that Sonic games have gone from good to bad and now back again.
    Generations has set a standard of quality that the Sonic fanbase will continue to keep in mind when they review a Sonic game for games to come and I believe Sonic Team has put the right foot forward in repairing a damaged franchise.
    Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Sonic Generations does many things right, but it isn't the best sonic game. That honor would go to Sonic the Hedgehog 2 and Sonic Adventure 2.Sonic Generations does many things right, but it isn't the best sonic game. That honor would go to Sonic the Hedgehog 2 and Sonic Adventure 2. The games contrived plot has you switching between 2 sonics: 2d sonic and modern sonic as you try to save time from a mysterious new foe. In both classic and modern levels the graphics are stunning, and the modern take on the older levels is great. The challenge stages, like most games that use them can get old and repetitive after a while. For some reason some people don't like the buddy challenge stages added where you can send in another character on the fly to help you traverse levels, one of these has tails rescuing as you freefall. Their are two big disappointments with this game, the modern levels although are meant to be tougher aren't anything like the act 2 and act 3 stages of the previous sonic games. (not hard to compare generations gladly adds in sega genesis and a free sonic the hedgehog 1 cartridge). The other disappointment is that the modern re-renditions of stages that worked well without the boost gauge don't work as well with it. With the new mechanic, its a lot easier to speed past obstacles which would be fine escape it ruins the finasse these levels had slightly. All in all, sonics reimaging of his past is excellent and may give sonic a bright future. Expand
  6. May 14, 2012
    8
    Sonic is my favorite franchise ever...ever. I thought that the game-play was the best we have seen in a while from Sonic, but it was way tooSonic is my favorite franchise ever...ever. I thought that the game-play was the best we have seen in a while from Sonic, but it was way too short. However, unlike most Sonic games the super sonic fight was extremely hard. The games looks stunning, however, it would've been cool for a multi-player similar to Sonic Adventure 2 where one player is Classic Sonic, and the other is Modern Sonic. The real reason i'm slightly disappointing...i wanted to see a classic shadow skin. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2014
    0
    It's completely rubbish don't get it it's to hard they should of made a help option, the first day I got it I enjoyed it but the next day IIt's completely rubbish don't get it it's to hard they should of made a help option, the first day I got it I enjoyed it but the next day I got bored of it I got this awful game for no reason so don't get it because it sucks. Expand

See all 112 User Reviews