Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 235 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognisable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic's most recent adventures. Each incarnation of Sonic in Sonic Generations comes complete with his trademark special move, Spin Dash and Spin Attack for Classic Sonic, and Homing Attack and Sonic Boost for Modern Sonic. An innovative new interactive menu system allows for complete immersion in Sonic's universe with favourite characters and hidden treasures gradually being revealed throughout the game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    91
    Bottom line: If you are or have ever been a fan of Sonic the Hedgehog during the series' two-decade history, then this is your game.
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    85
    Sonic Generations delivers what fans have been looking for with a successful combination of classic and modern gameplay, both of them polished and highly replayable, making this latest Sonic game the path to follow for future releases.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    83
    It's a far better game than any of the modern day Sonic titles I've played so far, and the classic Sonic stuff is enough to sell me on the game, even if the modern Sonic side isn't always my cup of tea.
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    As positively nostalgic as all of this is, it's not surprising to find that Sonic Generations' emulation of past greats extends to its duration. Despite the fact that there are nine main stages per Sonic, seven bosses and ten side-missions per Zone, it will take an experienced fan just a few hours to blast through to the main ending.
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    A combination of the best of Sonic, Sonic Generations reinvents, while staying true to the myth, and serves the fan well, whatever its generation is. It's an anthology of the musics, the pictures, the bosses, characters and levels we loved the most during those past 20 years of Sonic games, and one that, while not perfect (some gameplay imprecisions do subsist), remains a must-have for the Sonic lovers.
  6. Dec 4, 2011
    70
    Sonic Generations is five hours of fun. The gameplay has more excitement than most other games I've played this year, and it sets a template that future Sonic games will hopefully pay attention to-it's just a shame that Sonic Generations, like Sonic himself, goes by very, very fast.
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    60
    Compared to Colors, Sonic Generations is a weaker, above average effort. Even taken as fan-service, the game's wavering quality, apparent lack of creativity and meandering filler feels like it's stalling until next year's birthday, and next year's game.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 97
  2. Negative: 7 out of 97
  1. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Always on Metacritic the critics make the good games look medicore, bad, or just terrible. This game has a great storyline, great levels/missions, etc. This is probably in my 2nd most favorite Sonic game of all time. There are only very minor flaws to this. All in all, you should buy this is you have extra money lying around. Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Sonic is back at the top of his game. This game is just all around great, great graphics, great gameplay, great story and great music. The best game I've played this year by far. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Sonic is back better than ever. It's not perfect, but is the best Sonic game for over a decade. The nostalgia of Classic Sonic remember the old 2D side-scrolling that everyone love and enjoy. The 3D and 2.5D game play of Modern Sonic is the perfect balanced of Sonic Unleashed speed and Sonic Colors platforming plus great 3D plataforming that I waited for years. My only problem of this game that is too short. I just beat in 5-6 hours, olny 7 bosses of the entire game and Classic Sonic only have 2 bosses, I'm waiting the future DLC with more stages and bosses. Sonic Generations is the best Sonic game in years, maybe the best I ever played. After beat the game, the game has 90 challenges to complete, Red Rings to found, replay the stages to get rank S, it's a must-buy for the fans, but if you never played Sonic before, rent it, you can pass the weekend having fun, Sonic is good again better than never. Welcome back Sonic. Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    This game is an amazing way to celebrate sonics 20th anniversary! It includes famous stages from each sonic game, picked by the fans, and completely redesigned and worked into stunning HD. you play as modern sonic, which has a mixture of 3d and 2d levels, and as classic sonic, which is all 2d levels similair to the genesis days. with modern sonic, they really got the formulan down right, in sonic colors there wasnt alot of 3d platforming, but as modern sonic in this game, there are alot of great 3d platforming sections, and they are all very well designed. Not only that, but the levels are all designed very well, and reward you for thinking outside the box, like in chemical plant zone when you can run on the other lanes that just look like their in the backround, but they lead to new pathways. and each level has alot, and by alot i mean around 4 different ways to the goal, and finding each of the pasts, and mastering the design to speed through them is alot of fun as well. You can also unlock many, many songs from other sonic games, and play them on whatever stage you want, which makes for some pretty cool atmosphere in the levels (open your heart in crisis city), and makes some completely akward (green hill zone theme in crisis city). There are 9 stages in this game, but you play through each as 2 different sonics, so that makes it 18, and after playing through the stage, you can play through 5 different mission type levels, with completely different level designs and goals, and thats 5 for each sonic, so that makes for over 100 levels! (technically :P) There are also 5 red star coins hidden within each zone for each sonic to collect, and with each new red ring you collect, you get more concept art and songs added to the museum in the game, and the music to play through levels with as well. There are plenty of boss battles, which arent that great, especially the end boss, which is a horrible boss, and is a bit dissapointing. there are some minor things that annoy me, but they would come off more as nitpicks than anything else. This is one of my favorite sonic games of all time, and i had alot of fun with this title. i highly reccommend this to any sonic fan, or any platforming fan who is looking for an awesome game. Sega has really redeemed themselves with this one. Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2014
    8
    This game was released on 3DS, but also has an X360 version! This version features better, though non-3D graphics, decent control (especially on the classic stages), and a really awesome area where you can play your favourite Sonic music again and again. The 3D stages are rather fun, but I personally find them infuriating, although their control is decent (The 3D control isn't as good as Sonic The Hedgehog, also X360, though, which came five years earlier. Seriously?). A good game overall. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    As a major fan of the Sonic series, I must say that I'm actually pretty disappointed with Sonic Generations. In terms of gameplay and polish, it is indeed one of the best modern Sonic games, but I can't get over how little content the game has, especially compared to how long Sonic Colors was (well over 80 stages, while Generations only has 18). Class Sonic controls great, pretty much exactly like how he did in the original Sonic games and I found these levels more challenging yet less frustrating than the 3D counterpart. Although Modern Sonic does offer more thrills, and for me, it was more fun, albeit still some control issues and I hated how Sega removed his double jump from Colors and put back his dash forward, where in nearly all cases I found to be completely useless compared to a double jump. Graphically, Sonic Generations looks amazing, sure it doesn't run on 1080p but if Sega knows how to do one thing better than most other developers, it's how to make a beautiful game. Sonic Colors on the Wii didn't even need to be in HD to look great and now we have Generations and I was pretty much blown away by the visuals. All in all, I was mainly let down by the amount of content. Sure there are a ton of challenge stages, but unless it's something that you MUST do in order to progress (only 3 just to unlock the boss), you won't really find any reason to do the rest. Considering Sonic's long history and the amount of games Sega could've pulled from, it's disappointing to see that this is all they came up with. What happened to Sonic CD? Sonic 3, even Sonic Advanced could've found its way into the console version, and they could've done at least 2 stages from each Sonic game instead of 1. I would've loved to see Starlight Zone, Wing Fortress, Hydrocity (or Marble Gardens), and Lost World redone, along with bosses for each zone instead with the epic boss battles. At least Sega's on the right track in combining what was amazing with the original Sonic with what makes Modern Sonic great, like being able to play with Super Sonic in regular stages was something I've been missing for the longest time. I'm excited to see where Sega takes Sonic now. Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2012
    1
    This game is one of the most glitch invested games ever made. Just like sonic 06. Do not buy this piece of garbage. Sega hasn't made anything decent since the 90s. Expand

See all 97 User Reviews