Sonic Generations Xbox 360

Sonic Generations Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 313 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognisable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic'sSet across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognisable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic's most recent adventures. Each incarnation of Sonic in Sonic Generations comes complete with his trademark special move, Spin Dash and Spin Attack for Classic Sonic, and Homing Attack and Sonic Boost for Modern Sonic. An innovative new interactive menu system allows for complete immersion in Sonic's universe with favourite characters and hidden treasures gradually being revealed throughout the game. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    91
    Bottom line: If you are or have ever been a fan of Sonic the Hedgehog during the series' two-decade history, then this is your game.
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    85
    Sonic Generations delivers what fans have been looking for with a successful combination of classic and modern gameplay, both of them polished and highly replayable, making this latest Sonic game the path to follow for future releases.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    83
    It's a far better game than any of the modern day Sonic titles I've played so far, and the classic Sonic stuff is enough to sell me on the game, even if the modern Sonic side isn't always my cup of tea.
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    As positively nostalgic as all of this is, it's not surprising to find that Sonic Generations' emulation of past greats extends to its duration. Despite the fact that there are nine main stages per Sonic, seven bosses and ten side-missions per Zone, it will take an experienced fan just a few hours to blast through to the main ending.
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    A combination of the best of Sonic, Sonic Generations reinvents, while staying true to the myth, and serves the fan well, whatever its generation is. It's an anthology of the musics, the pictures, the bosses, characters and levels we loved the most during those past 20 years of Sonic games, and one that, while not perfect (some gameplay imprecisions do subsist), remains a must-have for the Sonic lovers.
  6. Dec 4, 2011
    70
    Sonic Generations is five hours of fun. The gameplay has more excitement than most other games I've played this year, and it sets a template that future Sonic games will hopefully pay attention to-it's just a shame that Sonic Generations, like Sonic himself, goes by very, very fast.
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    60
    Compared to Colors, Sonic Generations is a weaker, above average effort. Even taken as fan-service, the game's wavering quality, apparent lack of creativity and meandering filler feels like it's stalling until next year's birthday, and next year's game.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 115
  2. Negative: 8 out of 115
  1. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    Finally the Sonic game i have waited for it is outstanding combing everything that makes the character and games great. the gameplay isFinally the Sonic game i have waited for it is outstanding combing everything that makes the character and games great. the gameplay is throughly enjoyable no matter which sonic you play as and revisiting these levels is great nostalgia highly recommended to any Sonic fan and heres hoping future games will adopt this style of gameplay Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    The best Sonic game in years. The game is beautiful, and has excellent gameplay really memorable moments. The only problem is being short, IThe best Sonic game in years. The game is beautiful, and has excellent gameplay really memorable moments. The only problem is being short, I would more stages, especially the 16-bit era. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Sonic is back better than ever. It's not perfect, but is the best Sonic game for over a decade. The nostalgia of Classic Sonic remember theSonic is back better than ever. It's not perfect, but is the best Sonic game for over a decade. The nostalgia of Classic Sonic remember the old 2D side-scrolling that everyone love and enjoy. The 3D and 2.5D game play of Modern Sonic is the perfect balanced of Sonic Unleashed speed and Sonic Colors platforming plus great 3D plataforming that I waited for years. My only problem of this game that is too short. I just beat in 5-6 hours, olny 7 bosses of the entire game and Classic Sonic only have 2 bosses, I'm waiting the future DLC with more stages and bosses. Sonic Generations is the best Sonic game in years, maybe the best I ever played. After beat the game, the game has 90 challenges to complete, Red Rings to found, replay the stages to get rank S, it's a must-buy for the fans, but if you never played Sonic before, rent it, you can pass the weekend having fun, Sonic is good again better than never. Welcome back Sonic. Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2013
    9
    Even though I prefer Sonic Colors, I can't deny this game is incredible, the gameplay is as great as sonic colors, though noticeablyEven though I prefer Sonic Colors, I can't deny this game is incredible, the gameplay is as great as sonic colors, though noticeably glitchier, not to the level of Sonic 06, but it's still noticeable. Though the story and writing is really, REALLY, weak compared to Sonic Colors, and the soundtrack, while it's still great. Does not even COMPARE to the masterpiece of a soundtrack sonic colors had. Otherwise it's a great experience, Fun gameplay, great graphics, and music. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    This is pretty much the first good Sonic game since this franchise went 3D, most of the levels, especially the classic ones were stunning inThis is pretty much the first good Sonic game since this franchise went 3D, most of the levels, especially the classic ones were stunning in HD. Classic Sonic doesn't play 100% like it was in the Genesis, but it's really enjoyable, the level design is almost equal, if not better than what the Genesis games had, especially for levels like City Escape, Seaside Hill and Crisis City, they're the best classic levels in the whole game. As for Modern Sonic, it finally worked in 3D with precise controls and some things fixed from that awful Unleashed formula, like the Homing Attack being in the jump button and there is no unresponsive commands anymore. Although the boost still seems infinite, the game doesn't force you to use it with some terrible straight-line level design like Unleashed did, Modern Sonic's levels are wide open with lots of exploration and platforming at it's best.
    However they could have done something much better, there are some unnecessary levels in this game like Spagonia and Planet Wisp, i mean seriously, we've already seen these levels just some years ago, especially Planet Wisp, it was LAST YEAR, they just could have been replaced by other levels that would have been more interesting. And the storyline isn't that good at all, despite some jokes referring to past games, the story itself is way too childish. I'm not saying Sonic should become dark, serious business and anything like this, but there is no need to become the supersonic version of Teletubbies for God's sake.

    Overall, Sonic Generations may have it's share of flaws, but it's surely a good game with some great deal of nostalgia, Sega is going in the right direction and i hope they stick to it this time.
    Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2012
    8
    I've been playing Sonic games since I was five and sitting down with the good 'ole Sega Genesis with Sonic 1 and 2 and this game is the bestI've been playing Sonic games since I was five and sitting down with the good 'ole Sega Genesis with Sonic 1 and 2 and this game is the best homage to the past and present games that anyone could ask for. This game does have it's pit falls from the expected wonky controls in the New Sonic stages from the accidental homing strike to the hard to control straight away runs it, definitely puts the 3D stages on par with the Sonic Adventure games. Sonic Generations makes great use of level that were amazing but stuck in crap games, take example Sonic Unleash, the were-hog was just a giant flop, but the normal sonic had amazing stages and huge set pieces which they took a level from and stuck it in this game with no stupid gimmicks added turning something unbearable into something wonderful. Sonic Generations allows the player to play the game as original sonic and new sonic, which is to be expected from the title, so when you have a stage you play two acts one belonging to Classic and the other to the new one, this also applies for the challenge stages that come up after you complete both acts of a game; with things like time trials, puzzle challenges, and sonic friend stages that involve New Sonic's 'Beloved' partners, but all of these just add to that game making it a much more expansive game than I originally thought it to be it'll keep you busy for a good time just with the story alone. Overall it's great to see that they made a current sonic game that makes shifting through the previous flops all the better. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2014
    0
    It's completely rubbish don't get it it's to hard they should of made a help option, the first day I got it I enjoyed it but the next day IIt's completely rubbish don't get it it's to hard they should of made a help option, the first day I got it I enjoyed it but the next day I got bored of it I got this awful game for no reason so don't get it because it sucks. Expand

See all 115 User Reviews