Sonic Generations Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 388 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognisable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic'sSet across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognisable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic's most recent adventures. Each incarnation of Sonic in Sonic Generations comes complete with his trademark special move, Spin Dash and Spin Attack for Classic Sonic, and Homing Attack and Sonic Boost for Modern Sonic. An innovative new interactive menu system allows for complete immersion in Sonic's universe with favourite characters and hidden treasures gradually being revealed throughout the game. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Gamescom 2011: Sonic Generations - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    91
    Bottom line: If you are or have ever been a fan of Sonic the Hedgehog during the series' two-decade history, then this is your game.
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    85
    Sonic Generations delivers what fans have been looking for with a successful combination of classic and modern gameplay, both of them polished and highly replayable, making this latest Sonic game the path to follow for future releases.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    83
    It's a far better game than any of the modern day Sonic titles I've played so far, and the classic Sonic stuff is enough to sell me on the game, even if the modern Sonic side isn't always my cup of tea.
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    As positively nostalgic as all of this is, it's not surprising to find that Sonic Generations' emulation of past greats extends to its duration. Despite the fact that there are nine main stages per Sonic, seven bosses and ten side-missions per Zone, it will take an experienced fan just a few hours to blast through to the main ending.
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    A combination of the best of Sonic, Sonic Generations reinvents, while staying true to the myth, and serves the fan well, whatever its generation is. It's an anthology of the musics, the pictures, the bosses, characters and levels we loved the most during those past 20 years of Sonic games, and one that, while not perfect (some gameplay imprecisions do subsist), remains a must-have for the Sonic lovers.
  6. Dec 4, 2011
    70
    Sonic Generations is five hours of fun. The gameplay has more excitement than most other games I've played this year, and it sets a template that future Sonic games will hopefully pay attention to-it's just a shame that Sonic Generations, like Sonic himself, goes by very, very fast.
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    60
    Compared to Colors, Sonic Generations is a weaker, above average effort. Even taken as fan-service, the game's wavering quality, apparent lack of creativity and meandering filler feels like it's stalling until next year's birthday, and next year's game.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 126
  1. Jun 6, 2015
    10
    I love this games he's so good I love modern sonic and classic sonic too this game is all i have seen in the games this a junction of allI love this games he's so good I love modern sonic and classic sonic too this game is all i have seen in the games this a junction of all this i love Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2014
    10
    Simply amazing. This game has proven why Sonic is the successful icon he is today in the first place. This game is fast, fun, full of action,Simply amazing. This game has proven why Sonic is the successful icon he is today in the first place. This game is fast, fun, full of action, and exciting. This is by far one of my most favorable games. Defiantly one of the best Sonic games by far, and even worthy enough to be considered one of the best games of all time in general. 10/10 Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Sonic is back better than ever. It's not perfect, but is the best Sonic game for over a decade. The nostalgia of Classic Sonic remember theSonic is back better than ever. It's not perfect, but is the best Sonic game for over a decade. The nostalgia of Classic Sonic remember the old 2D side-scrolling that everyone love and enjoy. The 3D and 2.5D game play of Modern Sonic is the perfect balanced of Sonic Unleashed speed and Sonic Colors platforming plus great 3D plataforming that I waited for years. My only problem of this game that is too short. I just beat in 5-6 hours, olny 7 bosses of the entire game and Classic Sonic only have 2 bosses, I'm waiting the future DLC with more stages and bosses. Sonic Generations is the best Sonic game in years, maybe the best I ever played. After beat the game, the game has 90 challenges to complete, Red Rings to found, replay the stages to get rank S, it's a must-buy for the fans, but if you never played Sonic before, rent it, you can pass the weekend having fun, Sonic is good again better than never. Welcome back Sonic. Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    Sonic Generations is pretty much the old Sonic games all rolled into one with much more modern graphics noticing fine points in the game maySonic Generations is pretty much the old Sonic games all rolled into one with much more modern graphics noticing fine points in the game may help you later in the hidden levels. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Sonic Generations does many things right, but it isn't the best sonic game. That honor would go to Sonic the Hedgehog 2 and Sonic Adventure 2.Sonic Generations does many things right, but it isn't the best sonic game. That honor would go to Sonic the Hedgehog 2 and Sonic Adventure 2. The games contrived plot has you switching between 2 sonics: 2d sonic and modern sonic as you try to save time from a mysterious new foe. In both classic and modern levels the graphics are stunning, and the modern take on the older levels is great. The challenge stages, like most games that use them can get old and repetitive after a while. For some reason some people don't like the buddy challenge stages added where you can send in another character on the fly to help you traverse levels, one of these has tails rescuing as you freefall. Their are two big disappointments with this game, the modern levels although are meant to be tougher aren't anything like the act 2 and act 3 stages of the previous sonic games. (not hard to compare generations gladly adds in sega genesis and a free sonic the hedgehog 1 cartridge). The other disappointment is that the modern re-renditions of stages that worked well without the boost gauge don't work as well with it. With the new mechanic, its a lot easier to speed past obstacles which would be fine escape it ruins the finasse these levels had slightly. All in all, sonics reimaging of his past is excellent and may give sonic a bright future. Expand
  6. May 16, 2012
    8
    It's a great game and all, but it leaves something to be desired. The story had a lot of wasted potential, and therefore it felt... empty.It's a great game and all, but it leaves something to be desired. The story had a lot of wasted potential, and therefore it felt... empty. Also, was too short. More levels would have been great, but the ones that were chosen were not bad choices. Overall, it's really good, but still leaves something to be desired. I'd pick up Sonic Unleashed or Sonic Colors over this, personally, but it's still an amazing game. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2014
    0
    It's completely rubbish don't get it it's to hard they should of made a help option, the first day I got it I enjoyed it but the next day IIt's completely rubbish don't get it it's to hard they should of made a help option, the first day I got it I enjoyed it but the next day I got bored of it I got this awful game for no reason so don't get it because it sucks. Expand

See all 126 User Reviews