User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 74
  2. Negative: 10 out of 74
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ShinG
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    Imagine Mario kart??? But with better visuals & multi Platform....Not original but for ps3 & 360 owners who the hell cares?? The biggest surprise of the year & Worth every penny
  2. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    A fantastic game with great balance and gameplay features. I really enjoyed playing all the mini-games and trying to score AAA. The character choice is huge and theyve got some unusual players in the line up, enough to make any retro gamer happy! It is similar to Mario Kart but I found it much better than Nintendo's recent additions to the karting franchise. Well worth the money ! SumoA fantastic game with great balance and gameplay features. I really enjoyed playing all the mini-games and trying to score AAA. The character choice is huge and theyve got some unusual players in the line up, enough to make any retro gamer happy! It is similar to Mario Kart but I found it much better than Nintendo's recent additions to the karting franchise. Well worth the money ! Sumo Digital I salute you :) Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    A great racer you can drift on a dime controls are very tight,I would not call this a cart racer,alot of differant vehicles in the game. The game play is very fast paced and really enjoyed the online multi player. I great nod to sega fans old and new.
  4. Jul 27, 2016
    10
    This is one of the best racing games out there. The original would have been a 9 but with the addition of Banjo, 10/10! The power-ups are perfectly balanced and the All Stars are amazing! Not forgetting the hilarious announcer/commentator! This is worth the money for sure.
  5. Jul 3, 2016
    10
    This game is a great racer and it's a mix of my 2 favorite mascots. A bit of sonic and a bit of Banjo= Amazing. I love playing this game and it reminds me of nostalgic games and a bad game from a bear and bird that was about CARSSS. Anyways this is an amazing racer.
  6. AdamB.
    Mar 1, 2010
    9
    Very fun game; nearly on par with Mario Kart for Wii. The graphics and sound are great, the characters are unique, lots of unlockables and events, and the controls are very solid. Sadly there is no equivalent to the "Blue Shell" item in Mario Kart, meaning that good players can stay way ahead of everyone the entire race making it unbalanced at times. The only online mode is single race, Very fun game; nearly on par with Mario Kart for Wii. The graphics and sound are great, the characters are unique, lots of unlockables and events, and the controls are very solid. Sadly there is no equivalent to the "Blue Shell" item in Mario Kart, meaning that good players can stay way ahead of everyone the entire race making it unbalanced at times. The only online mode is single race, and there's no way to play with 2 players offline vs. players online. Some of the tracks go a little too fast and it's hard to tell what's going on with all the colors and blurring effects. With all of that said, I would highly recommend this game for casual players and expert racers alike. Expand
  7. MarcosO.
    Mar 1, 2010
    9
    Excellent game!!!
  8. PeteF.
    Feb 28, 2010
    9
    Great kart racer with quite a bit of depth. The full version (once patched) works better than the demo. I've been waiting for a game like this with XBL support for years.
  9. KhristianR
    Feb 24, 2010
    8
    Id give it a high 8. Its fun and a lot of games seem to lose that important aspect these days. Also the fact of split screen and a multitude of options make its the type of game you'll be playing with friends into the early hours of the morning.
  10. DylanR.
    Feb 25, 2010
    8
    A solid kart racer, this is the closest we will get to Mario Kart on the 360. A great party game, this should be in every gamers library just as a goofy pick-up-and-play game.
  11. Sep 16, 2010
    8
    Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing is no Mario Kart, though it's still a bundle of fun for all ages. There's plenty of characters and a tonne of game options (including a fantastic Out Run style mission mode.) The only real downside to All-Stars Racing is the lack of variety with some of the tracks. With such a huge back catalogue of games to choose from, you'll be left wondering why we'reSonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing is no Mario Kart, though it's still a bundle of fun for all ages. There's plenty of characters and a tonne of game options (including a fantastic Out Run style mission mode.) The only real downside to All-Stars Racing is the lack of variety with some of the tracks. With such a huge back catalogue of games to choose from, you'll be left wondering why we're seeing three Billy Hatcher themed courses and no Clockwork Knight or Ristar. Despite this, there's plenty to do and a good deal of unlockables. It is however like a bit like a bag of malteasers; sweet while it lasts though you're left feeling a bit empty inside when it's all gone, with everything unlocked and conquered after around 10 - 12 hours of play. Expand
  12. Feb 1, 2015
    8
    Chronic game! Decent enough graphics, quite a lot of maps to drive. The downfall is they take you out with a **** rocket launcher when you're like 2cm from the finish line. But it's a fun game.
  13. Aug 4, 2017
    8
    A decent racing game. There's not a whole lot when it comes to content, but it's fun overall. Yes, in a way this was a "Mario Kart clone", but it's not a bad one, it's actually pretty good. I honestly like the cast of characters and how to unlock stuff in this game more than the sequel, especially the Xbox 360 version, due to having Banjo and Kazooie in it (too bad it's the Nuts & BoltsA decent racing game. There's not a whole lot when it comes to content, but it's fun overall. Yes, in a way this was a "Mario Kart clone", but it's not a bad one, it's actually pretty good. I honestly like the cast of characters and how to unlock stuff in this game more than the sequel, especially the Xbox 360 version, due to having Banjo and Kazooie in it (too bad it's the Nuts & Bolts versions, but oh well). I would highly recommend this game for racing fans. Expand
  14. Apr 27, 2017
    8
    An honestly quite solid racing game with alot to offer and many hours of fun waiting to be had.
    I found this game to be far more functional and addictive than I had anticipated and I had alot of fun going through the various tours and missions and slowly unlocking characters, levels and music via the Sega race points system.

    Not a perfect game, but certainly worth a try.
  15. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    Great game, it can deliver hours of fun alone or with friends. There are dozens of missions after you've completed the circuit mode, which is good because they are increasingly more difficult. The graphics are decent and the power ups are as fun as playing mario kart 64 in HD. Not 100% original idea, but funny gameplay. For familiar/casual gaming is a must have.
  16. Mar 9, 2017
    7
    Sonic and Sega All-Stars Racing is a fair attempt at competing with Mario Kart, but in this iteration unfortunately misses the mark slightly. The game is colourful, vibrant, fun and controls beautifully, filled with tracks of many different game locations whether it be Sonic the Hedgehog, House of the Dead and Jet Set Radio and many many more. It has a fantastic mix of characters fromSonic and Sega All-Stars Racing is a fair attempt at competing with Mario Kart, but in this iteration unfortunately misses the mark slightly. The game is colourful, vibrant, fun and controls beautifully, filled with tracks of many different game locations whether it be Sonic the Hedgehog, House of the Dead and Jet Set Radio and many many more. It has a fantastic mix of characters from different game universes all with their own individual strengths and weaknesses. All-Stars Racing on the xbox360 also allows you to play as Banjo Kazooie which is a nice addition for those rareware fans out there. The problem I have and many others will have with this game is the balancing issues, the motorbikes are ridiculously overpowered, and its really all about who picks them first in the online wins provided they have decent racing ability. The tracks are full of glitches, bugs and exploits which ruins not only the time attack mode but the online mode as well. On top of this powerups within the game go from absolutely useless to ridiculously overpowered. You can be in last all game, pick up an all star power and go from last to first in seconds, rendering the skill cap in the game void in return for more of a luck based experience. All the all star moves feel very overpowered and in my opinion ruin the experience by basing the who wins on chance rather than racing ability. The game has a fun campaign mode and some interesting mini games. The tracks are full of life and could easily compete with many of the tracks in Mario Kart. Overall Sonic & Sega All-Stars racing is a great game and the basis for a new series which only improved as time went on. Expand
  17. Oct 12, 2010
    0
    this game is freakin horrible you get frustrated real easy you cant see the split screen and when your in 1st they always take you out with rocket or something. id give $100 just to not play this dumb game
  18. May 12, 2011
    0
    To anyone thinking of buying this game: Don't! If you're looking for the next big thing in kart racers, go back to Sonic Drift. If you want to experience the full game, download the demo for Xbox 360, then for PS3, and play them both consecutively. You will get 3 different characters/ karts, 2 different tracks, and the same annoying, un-mutable announcer. You may have noticed I haven'tTo anyone thinking of buying this game: Don't! If you're looking for the next big thing in kart racers, go back to Sonic Drift. If you want to experience the full game, download the demo for Xbox 360, then for PS3, and play them both consecutively. You will get 3 different characters/ karts, 2 different tracks, and the same annoying, un-mutable announcer. You may have noticed I haven't compared this game to Mario Kart. That is because Mario Kart is a different type of kart racer and a good game. The racing mini-games in Sonic Adventure and Sonic Adventure 2 were better. Once again, Sonic Drift is superior in every way, and it's for an old hand-held system, and Sonic Riders looks good when compared to this. The only good thing that came out of this game was the Ryo Hazuki Jacket on the Avatar Marketplace. Don't waste your money on this game, especially when brand new. If you're going to buy this, wait until it's $5.00 at a used games store. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 60
  2. Negative: 1 out of 60
  1. 75
    For being a bonus racer, there's nothing advantageous about playing as Banjo -- his stats are arguably below average, including some undesirable handling. You're better off continuing to save Sega Miles for the character you really want to play as.
  2. 80
    This racer is surprisingly deep and robust, and even with its unoriginal design it's a great time no matter which version you get.
  3. Smooth controls and a bunch of awesome tracks make this an exciting kart racer.