Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join Sonic & friends in battle in this classic arcade game from AM2. Initially on consoles as part of the Sonic Gems collection, Sonic the Fighters returns with a new online mode, including both online versus and tournament play. In single player mode, choose from 10 playable characters and fight through 8 stages to stop Dr. Robotnik and Metal Sonic from unleashing the Death Egg II. Features include: True to its arcade form with all-new online modes All 8 original characters and arenas Online versus mode for head-to-head matches Online Room match mode for up to 6 players. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jan 8, 2013
    83
    Sonic The Fighters may be simple and easy to play, but it's too obscure to ignore. The cheap price and overall strangeness of the title is good enough to warrant a purchase.
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    50
    It's really hard to review this kind of games. They are well adapted, but there's little addition compared to the original versions. Only recommended for nostalgic gamers.
  3. 50
    It's an interesting piece of Sega history, but not one that's aged particularly well.
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    50
    Ideal for complete beginners and Amy-haters, it's one to miss for the rest. [Feb 2013, p.85]
  5. 50
    Sonic works hard, but looked better in the '90s. [March 2013, p.85]
  6. Jan 20, 2013
    20
    This game is a fossilised turd that never deserved to be excavated. [Issue#93, p.85]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    It's classic and obscure sonic game, true gift for fans. Music and graphics are still very enjoyable. Yes, this game is terrible as serious and competitive fighting game. But this game was never something like this. This is little joky Fighting Vipers sonic mod. And I am very glad AM2 properly ported it and added bonus content and better graphics. Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    7
    Sonic The Fighters. God this game has got some awful reviews by critics, but I would rather look at the player value than the critical opinions. The game has relatively smooth control, although the game can be won by pushing one button the whole time. The games characters all control about the same, which is good in some aspects, but also bad for people who want variety. The graphics of the game are EXTREMELY cartoony, which fits very well considering this is a Sonic game. (I'M LOOKING AT YOU SONIC 06) The game is very short, but has a good aspect of replay value. Once you beat the main story with all characters you can get all... Eight chaos emeralds? Whatever, and then you proceed to the last boss Metal Sonic. Now, Metal Sonic. I classify Metal Sonic's level from this game as one of the most frustrating bosses I have ever seen. Metal Sonic does pretty much the same thing sonic does, except his move set is literally, a move from every other characters move set all combined. This makes the boss extremely frustrating, ESPECIALLY the move where he pulls you up into the air, and drops you on your face. He does this move ALL THE TIME, which takes away about half of your health. However, when you go Super Sonic the boss is very easy as Super Sonic is invincible and deals massive damage. There's no ending cutscene or anything, which leaves a little empty feeling when you finish the game, but you have to take into consideration that this was an arcade game in the 90's, which was ported to modern consoles, just like SEGA has done with most of their old games. Overall, I think this game can be fun at times, but it much more fun if you are battling your friends. The intensity of you all cheering each other on to win the battle can be extremely entertaining. So I'm giving this game a 7, because of it's nice soundtrack, smooth-ish controls, and my overall enjoyment with this game. Expand
  3. Feb 20, 2013
    5
    This game isnt bad, but its not that good either, the graphics and music arent bad, but the controls are a bit akward and stiff. the fighting is pretty shallow as well, as simply mashing buttons is usually enough to defeat enemies. as well, its very short. as well, the cahracter moves dont have much difference. this game would be ok for someone just getting into fighting games, as its simple design style benefits players who are unexperienced, but any avid fight game fan should avoid this. if your a sonic fan, check it out just for curiousity, but if your not a sonic fan, i would stay away from this game. Only sonic fans will really be appealed by this game. Expand
  4. Feb 14, 2013
    5
    Sonic the Fighters is a OKAY game for the most part. It's not the Sonic game where you run and collect rings and defeat Dr. Robotnik. All you do in this game is fight and fight till the cows come home. The gameplay is EXTREMELY short and can be beat by just pressing one button all the way through. The characters have little to no special abilities and they are all the same. The graphics are also very dull and way to cartoony for me The fights are extremely easy until you get to the last fight of the game where now it is extremely hard! I won't give anything away, but it took me almost 10 attempts to finally beat the final boss and the game. For most Sonic fans, this game is not that good, but if your bored and want to try something new and unique, this is the game for you. Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2013
    5
    This game is okay but and all but the thing that ruins it for me is #1 Its to damn easy (Until you get to metal sonic) #2 (The online servers are a ghost town) You have to be lucky to find someone and when you do they just keep spamming moves over and over again which brings me to...... #3 (Spamming) spamming is the #1 reason why this game is getting sucky reviews by critics. Spamming also makes the game easy but not challenging. Overall this games okay but its just meh. Collapse