User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    What can i say that hasn't already been said about this unbelievable game? Just in case you don't know Sonic 2 was one of those games that was great in every way; The best graphics of the era, an iconic soundtrack and some of the most perfect gameplay there has ever been. Even after all these years this provides one of computer games greatest rushes. The title of "classic" is given outWhat can i say that hasn't already been said about this unbelievable game? Just in case you don't know Sonic 2 was one of those games that was great in every way; The best graphics of the era, an iconic soundtrack and some of the most perfect gameplay there has ever been. Even after all these years this provides one of computer games greatest rushes. The title of "classic" is given out to far too many games but if anything deserves it this does! Expand
  2. ChrisB.
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    Just like the first game that came to Xbox Live Arcade everyone loved it at first sight, as do I also. It's good to see the old Sonic games coming back in fashion. Also with the second game you have the chance of getting to be Super Sonic if you get all the Chaos Emeralds which I find is alot of fun! If there is a bad point about the game then I would say it is the speed of gameplay. Just like the first game that came to Xbox Live Arcade everyone loved it at first sight, as do I also. It's good to see the old Sonic games coming back in fashion. Also with the second game you have the chance of getting to be Super Sonic if you get all the Chaos Emeralds which I find is alot of fun! If there is a bad point about the game then I would say it is the speed of gameplay. I noticed that this version of the game is slightly faster than the origonal one on the Sega Megadrive but that hardly takes any time at all to get over. Expand
  3. GrahamY.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    Absolute Classic!
  4. KeiranB.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    One of the greatist games of all time and the best of its generation. The pinicle of platform gaming matched by none, a timeless classic
  5. DarrenD.
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    Just as I remembered it back in the day. Plenty of levels and a good save system. What more do you want, Sonic 3 ?
  6. V1L3
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    "I noticed that this version of the game is slightly faster than the origonal one on the Sega Megadrive." That'll be the fact that this version runs in 60hz, and the Mega Drive version was at 50hz, which makes this the more accurate version, and also better than the Virtual Console offering (also locked at 50hz on PAL systems). An all-time classic game that never gets old. I played "I noticed that this version of the game is slightly faster than the origonal one on the Sega Megadrive." That'll be the fact that this version runs in 60hz, and the Mega Drive version was at 50hz, which makes this the more accurate version, and also better than the Virtual Console offering (also locked at 50hz on PAL systems). An all-time classic game that never gets old. I played it to death when I was 12, and now, years later, my 4-year-old can't get enough of it. Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    If you are looking for classic side scrolling action on XBLA this is the best thing available this side of Mario World. A really solid game, Sonic The Hedgehog 2 is what most fans think of when they look back on the Genesis. It really was the peak of the franchises 2D roots and a real blast to play. Nothing has changed. The Leader boards and achievements add enough replay value for theIf you are looking for classic side scrolling action on XBLA this is the best thing available this side of Mario World. A really solid game, Sonic The Hedgehog 2 is what most fans think of when they look back on the Genesis. It really was the peak of the franchises 2D roots and a real blast to play. Nothing has changed. The Leader boards and achievements add enough replay value for the hardcore fan and the the nostalgic gamer to get a kick out of and the $5.00 price tag doesn't hurt either. If you are a fan of Sonic you owe it to yourself to pick this title up. Expand
  8. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    One of my favourite games of all time, a timeless classic that never gets old. The gameplay, the level design, the amazing level music, this is not just a retro masterpiece, it is a gaming masterpiece, which I own on megadrive already but still purchased here as it is that brilliant! Still amazingly fun to play on xbox, the only things which could have improved it were an online levelOne of my favourite games of all time, a timeless classic that never gets old. The gameplay, the level design, the amazing level music, this is not just a retro masterpiece, it is a gaming masterpiece, which I own on megadrive already but still purchased here as it is that brilliant! Still amazingly fun to play on xbox, the only things which could have improved it were an online level time leaderboard, and fixing the online multiplayer as it was waaaaayyyyyy to laggy, The low price point is also a great bonus! 10/10 Expand
  9. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    This is, for me, the best Sonic game and one of the best games that ever existed. For 400 points? What are you waiting for? Just go and get it, you won't be disappointed.
  10. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I'm not going into detail, but I'll say this: you're an absolute idiot who plays nothing but this lame crap that they call 'Call Of Duty' all day and has no social life or sense of challenge if you don't have the slightest bit of love for this incredible game. Long live Sonic 2 and all of the amazing classic games, for that matter.
  11. May 22, 2015
    10
    Sonic 2 is one of my favorite Sega Mega Drive/Genesis games. Play through less clunky controls than the original sonic game. It has great level design. Great final boss. Unforgettable soundtrack. The game also introduced Tails to the series. A must-play for everyone!!!!!!!!
  12. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    Sonic the Hedgehog 2 is probably the best game for the Mega-Drive. So great gameplay wise, and I always love a good platformer 10/10 .
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 79
    Holds up as not only one of the best games available on Sega's memorable 16-bit machine, but also a worthy addition to any XBLA library.
  2. The quintessential Sonic experience is made even better thanks to the inclusion of achievements and a strong, competitive multiplayer component.
  3. An all-time great.