User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    What can i say that hasn't already been said about this unbelievable game? Just in case you don't know Sonic 2 was one of those games that was great in every way; The best graphics of the era, an iconic soundtrack and some of the most perfect gameplay there has ever been. Even after all these years this provides one of computer games greatest rushes. The title of "classic" is given out to far too many games but if anything deserves it this does! Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    One of my favourite games of all time, a timeless classic that never gets old. The gameplay, the level design, the amazing level music, this is not just a retro masterpiece, it is a gaming masterpiece, which I own on megadrive already but still purchased here as it is that brilliant! Still amazingly fun to play on xbox, the only things which could have improved it were an online level time leaderboard, and fixing the online multiplayer as it was waaaaayyyyyy to laggy, The low price point is also a great bonus! 10/10 Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    This is, for me, the best Sonic game and one of the best games that ever existed. For 400 points? What are you waiting for? Just go and get it, you won't be disappointed.
  4. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I'm not going into detail, but I'll say this: you're an absolute idiot who plays nothing but this lame crap that they call 'Call Of Duty' all day and has no social life or sense of challenge if you don't have the slightest bit of love for this incredible game. Long live Sonic 2 and all of the amazing classic games, for that matter.
  5. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    Sonic the Hedgehog 2 is probably the best game for the Mega-Drive. So great gameplay wise, and I always love a good platformer 10/10 .
  6. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    If you are looking for classic side scrolling action on XBLA this is the best thing available this side of Mario World. A really solid game, Sonic The Hedgehog 2 is what most fans think of when they look back on the Genesis. It really was the peak of the franchises 2D roots and a real blast to play. Nothing has changed. The Leader boards and achievements add enough replay value for the hardcore fan and the the nostalgic gamer to get a kick out of and the $5.00 price tag doesn't hurt either. If you are a fan of Sonic you owe it to yourself to pick this title up. Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2013
    8
    A spot on port of an amazing genesis title. Everything that made the genesis title so great is present here, but even better, in HD! The graphics are crisp and clean, the music and sound effects are amazing and are ported perfectly, the game still controls great, and the game overall has aged really well. when you dont feel like dragging out the genesis, or pulling out sonics UGC, this download is definitely the way to go. Every bit as wonderful and fun as the original. Expand
  8. Sep 5, 2014
    8
    This is the best 2D Sonic game...
    The graphics,The gameplay,The levels. Everything... Expect the air levels. I didn't like them.. At all. God.
    How much more do i have to write? I already said i like it.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 79
    Holds up as not only one of the best games available on Sega's memorable 16-bit machine, but also a worthy addition to any XBLA library.
  2. The quintessential Sonic experience is made even better thanks to the inclusion of achievements and a strong, competitive multiplayer component.
  3. An all-time great.