Sonic the Hedgehog 2 Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Xbox Live Arcade] With his new Super Spin Dash and "Tails" the Fox, Sonic is back and better than ever in Sonic The Hedgehog 2. Defy gravity in hair-raising loop-de-loops, bounce like a pinball and race like lightning. Play against friends at home or against others over Xbox Live in this[Xbox Live Arcade] With his new Super Spin Dash and "Tails" the Fox, Sonic is back and better than ever in Sonic The Hedgehog 2. Defy gravity in hair-raising loop-de-loops, bounce like a pinball and race like lightning. Play against friends at home or against others over Xbox Live in this classic game. Enhanced graphics and sound: The game stays true to the original, but takes full advantage of high-definition graphics, with enhanced sound effects. Achievements and leaderboards: Take on the challenge of new achievements to conquer, and use the leaderboards to compare scores among friends and the rest of the Xbox LIVE world. Play with a friend at home, or go online and play Sonic and Tails with the world at large. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Another must-buy game for your virtual library.
  2. Despite its age, Sonic 2’s gameplay holds up pretty well, with a lot of adversaries to avoid or dispatch.
  3. The quintessential Sonic experience is made even better thanks to the inclusion of achievements and a strong, competitive multiplayer component.
  4. As a whole, this game is a complete classic that never really seems to bore.
  5. A timeless classic, but one we've played to death before. Still, 400 points isn't bad value. [Dec 2007, p.96]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    Sonic the Hedgehog 2 is probably the best game for the Mega-Drive. So great gameplay wise, and I always love a good platformer 10/10 .
  2. KeiranB.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    One of the greatist games of all time and the best of its generation. The pinicle of platform gaming matched by none, a timeless classic
  3. May 22, 2015
    10
    Sonic 2 is one of my favorite Sega Mega Drive/Genesis games. Play through less clunky controls than the original sonic game. It has greatSonic 2 is one of my favorite Sega Mega Drive/Genesis games. Play through less clunky controls than the original sonic game. It has great level design. Great final boss. Unforgettable soundtrack. The game also introduced Tails to the series. A must-play for everyone!!!!!!!! Expand
  4. GrahamY.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    Absolute Classic!
  5. ChrisB.
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    Just like the first game that came to Xbox Live Arcade everyone loved it at first sight, as do I also. It's good to see the old Sonic Just like the first game that came to Xbox Live Arcade everyone loved it at first sight, as do I also. It's good to see the old Sonic games coming back in fashion. Also with the second game you have the chance of getting to be Super Sonic if you get all the Chaos Emeralds which I find is alot of fun! If there is a bad point about the game then I would say it is the speed of gameplay. I noticed that this version of the game is slightly faster than the origonal one on the Sega Megadrive but that hardly takes any time at all to get over. Collapse
  6. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    If you are looking for classic side scrolling action on XBLA this is the best thing available this side of Mario World. A really solid game,If you are looking for classic side scrolling action on XBLA this is the best thing available this side of Mario World. A really solid game, Sonic The Hedgehog 2 is what most fans think of when they look back on the Genesis. It really was the peak of the franchises 2D roots and a real blast to play. Nothing has changed. The Leader boards and achievements add enough replay value for the hardcore fan and the the nostalgic gamer to get a kick out of and the $5.00 price tag doesn't hurt either. If you are a fan of Sonic you owe it to yourself to pick this title up. Expand
  7. Sep 5, 2014
    8
    This is the best 2D Sonic game...
    The graphics,The gameplay,The levels. Everything... Expect the air levels. I didn't like them.. At all.
    This is the best 2D Sonic game...
    The graphics,The gameplay,The levels. Everything... Expect the air levels. I didn't like them.. At all. God.
    How much more do i have to write? I already said i like it.
    Expand

See all 14 User Reviews