User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 98
  2. Negative: 37 out of 98

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 16, 2010
    7
    I found Sonic 4 to be a bit of a mixed bag - there were things I really liked about it, and other things that definitely need improvement. Positives? Well I have to say it's visually stunning - the stages look wonderful, especially the Labyrinth levels. I also like how they carried over cues from Sonic 3 by having each act of a stage having slight variations on music/visuals that keepsI found Sonic 4 to be a bit of a mixed bag - there were things I really liked about it, and other things that definitely need improvement. Positives? Well I have to say it's visually stunning - the stages look wonderful, especially the Labyrinth levels. I also like how they carried over cues from Sonic 3 by having each act of a stage having slight variations on music/visuals that keeps things fresh as you progress through the game. The game also has wonderful level design, with huge chunky stages with multiple paths to be explored, which is great for replay and time attack junkies. Problems? Well it does seem a bit on the short side - but then if you compare it to Sonic 1 it does have fewer stages, but the levels are much bigger so overall it's about the same size. Also, the difficulty progression is way off. 90% of the game is far too easy - by the final stage you should easily have 30+ lives, and then the final stage presents a huge difficulty spike that comes out of nowhere, leaving the game feeling somewhat unbalanced. The physics. Boy - the physics. A lot of people have said the physics are game breaking and terrible, and granted they need improvement but they are not that bad. There seems to be some issues with the spin dash practically stopping if you go off an edge, jumps halting in mid-air if you let go of the direction, and being able to to stand and spin-dash on near vertical surfaces. However none of these are game breaking really, and only arise on occasion or if you are looking for such things. Other things? Special stages are fun if a bit frustrating, Sonic's animations are good for the most part but his running seems wrong (initially he moves faster than his animation makes it appear and his full speed animation frankly looks obnoxious, but hey...). Homing attack is a welcome addition in my opinion - it gives the exploration a bit more scope when you notice a 'lock on' to something out of reach. Music is ok - really liked the Labyrinth tunes, but the Dr Eggman theme 1 is frankly rubbish.
    Overall I think the game is worth playing, so long as you're willing to accept it's not going to live up to the Sonic 4 that's in your head. I feel it's definately a step in the right direction, but there are certainly a few more steps to go before this series is back on track. Hopefully Episode 2 will be closer.
    Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    5
    Overall, this game has stunning graphics and includes a new weapon in Sonic's Arsenal, the homing attack. Other than that, that's about it. There isn't much in this game for 1200 Microsoft points. All the zones, Acts, enemies and bosses were derived from parts of other games, like for example the crushing wall you see in Sonic 3, the old yellow landscape with the water from Sonic 1, andOverall, this game has stunning graphics and includes a new weapon in Sonic's Arsenal, the homing attack. Other than that, that's about it. There isn't much in this game for 1200 Microsoft points. All the zones, Acts, enemies and bosses were derived from parts of other games, like for example the crushing wall you see in Sonic 3, the old yellow landscape with the water from Sonic 1, and the annoying star enemy from Sonic 2. I've pleased to at least complete the game, but as I only did it in 2 days, there isn't much lasting appeal. Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2010
    5
    Sega managed to NOT destroy a Sonic game finally! They also managed NOT to return Sonic to Genesis greatness either. Sonic seems slow, slow, slow. Jumping has been slowed down as well as the running which causes a few unwarranted deaths. The updated graphics are a minimal upgrade at best. The worst part is the game bears the coveted name "Sonic the Hedgehog 4." This IS NOT Sonic 4. ASega managed to NOT destroy a Sonic game finally! They also managed NOT to return Sonic to Genesis greatness either. Sonic seems slow, slow, slow. Jumping has been slowed down as well as the running which causes a few unwarranted deaths. The updated graphics are a minimal upgrade at best. The worst part is the game bears the coveted name "Sonic the Hedgehog 4." This IS NOT Sonic 4. A more fitting title would have been "Sonic Remix." The game cost $15/1200 MS points and only features 4 zones...the EXACT 4 zones from Sonic part 1 with a few changes here and there. In the end, only the most DEDICATED Sonic fans will fall in love again with the world's most famous Blue Bullet. Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2010
    5
    I had high hopes, bought the game and seemed like all the nitpicking and whining alot of fans had been shouting was true from the beginning.

    I am so dissapointed and feel ripped off big time. People that like this game have no taste in quality and I believe are mostly fanboys. Sonicteam needs to stop listening to them fanboys because they are one of the reasons why sonicteam doesn't get
    I had high hopes, bought the game and seemed like all the nitpicking and whining alot of fans had been shouting was true from the beginning.

    I am so dissapointed and feel ripped off big time. People that like this game have no taste in quality and I believe are mostly fanboys. Sonicteam needs to stop listening to them fanboys because they are one of the reasons why sonicteam doesn't get encouraged to put effort in their games. This game deserves all the negativity it's getting and I hope less people will make the same mistake as I have.

    This game **** sucks.
    Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2012
    6
    I think this game should get more credit than it deserves. It has great gameplay, excellent graphics and music, and was pretty fun to play. The achievements are great, they're difficult and keep the player playing the game. However, there are some parts that are a bit confusing in the levels. My biggest rage about the game is the actual zones. Sega couldn't come up with any newI think this game should get more credit than it deserves. It has great gameplay, excellent graphics and music, and was pretty fun to play. The achievements are great, they're difficult and keep the player playing the game. However, there are some parts that are a bit confusing in the levels. My biggest rage about the game is the actual zones. Sega couldn't come up with any new original ideas for zones, so they just stole from a bunch of other Sonic games. Even the boss battles are stolen and modified versions of previous ones. Sega kept on advertising Sonic 4 as a sequel to Sonic 3 & Knuckles, but there is no story to this game at all. It just feels like a rough copy and paste from other Sonic genesis games. My last complaint is that it is too short; it's about 4 1/2 zones long, the 1/2 being the final boss level. All I can say is that I hope Sonic 4 Episode 2 actually has some original ideas in it, or they could at least rip off Ice Cap Zone from Sonic 3; that one was my favorite.... Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2013
    5
    I was spectacle when I first heard the Sonic the Hedgehog 4 was coming on the Xbox Live Arcade. I didn't get the feeling that the game would be as great as the original trilogy of Sonic games and that's what I expected when I played the game. The Graphics look great and arguably the best looking Sonic game to date. The gameplay is alright. The game is very short, the levels are basicallyI was spectacle when I first heard the Sonic the Hedgehog 4 was coming on the Xbox Live Arcade. I didn't get the feeling that the game would be as great as the original trilogy of Sonic games and that's what I expected when I played the game. The Graphics look great and arguably the best looking Sonic game to date. The gameplay is alright. The game is very short, the levels are basically the same from Sonic the Hedgehog 1 with minor changes. Why call this Sonic the Hedgehog 4 if you are going to rehash the original Sonic game. There are also some problem solving to get through a level which drived me insane. Last is the music the game is fantastic. The opening theme to the first level is so nice I went up listening to the same song while I'm playing my music. Not much to say about the game. Its basically the same sonic games as the others. Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    The game is not as bad as people like sonic retro make it out to be. Sure the physics are completely non existent.Which you cannot really understand as Dimps had already done classic sonic physics in sonic advance. But the level design is well done the music is catchy and the graphics are great. And when you get used to the way it plays the game is not that bad. At least it is better thanThe game is not as bad as people like sonic retro make it out to be. Sure the physics are completely non existent.Which you cannot really understand as Dimps had already done classic sonic physics in sonic advance. But the level design is well done the music is catchy and the graphics are great. And when you get used to the way it plays the game is not that bad. At least it is better than episode 2.... Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Dec 25, 2010
    88
    No just a rehash, but a brilliant game in itself. Sonic reigns once more. [Issue#232, p.88]
  2. Dec 25, 2010
    70
    A good, if unspectacular, platform outing. [Issue#66, p.104]
  3. Dec 22, 2010
    40
    Sonic The Hedgehog Episode 4 seems to be more of a Sonic the Hedgehog 1.2 (calling it "A.5" would put it too close to the brilliant Sonic 2...). The levels don't surprise, the soundtrack bores, and more importantly the blue hedgehog's inertia and dullness make it a real disappointment in 2010. We'll try not to resent it too much, since it's a rather cheap downloadable game, but it's still a very short game as well. Love is blind, so some may still enjoy it, but we'd rather advise them to try out the DS games, which are closer to today's expectations of a 2D journey with the supersonic hedgehog.