Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode I Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic is back for his fourth installment in the classic 2D series, revamped from the ground up.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode 1 Lost Labyrinth Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    91
    Even though Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 is a short ride, it's a fun one.
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    84
    Whether or not this means the triumphant return of Sonic, this game is worth your time if you can appreciate classic gameplay without the classic frustration it usually brings.
  3. Oct 25, 2010
    80
    The best Sonic game to come out in the past 16 years.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    75
    Most importantly, it nails the fun of hitting springboards, bouncing off enemies, and defying gravity with pure speed. While hardly perfect, it's solid enough that even reviving the old "Se-ga!" before the title screen feels appropriate. After a decade of missteps, Sonic has earned it.
  5. Oct 21, 2010
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    65
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 is a fairly good Sonic game that brings the franchise back to school, but several shortcomings prevent it from reaching greatness.
  7. Oct 21, 2010
    40
    Platformers shouldn't have half-arsed interpretations of physics. They shouldn't have a continue system which is for all intents and purposes simply an inconvenience generator. And they shouldn't have half-thought out continue systems, designed solely to annoy.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 48
  2. Negative: 20 out of 48
  1. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    please people do not listen to the idiot noob sonic fans. sonic 4 is wonderful. the only problem i have with this game..is that it short.please people do not listen to the idiot noob sonic fans. sonic 4 is wonderful. the only problem i have with this game..is that it short. sonic fans always want to find somtheing to **** about and it's annoying. 2D works for sonic very well, and it's how sonic should have been all these years. there's only about teny tiny mixed reviews of sonic 4 & a few STUPID BAD ONES. and aLOT of good ones. sega finally got the hint and listen to the fans. the games is just pure sonic fun/ the music is great/ no **** story/ no bunch of lame characters! just SONIC!!! all we want is SONIC.episode 1 is just the begining.i can't wait for ep 2 to come out. great job sega, and welcome back sonic. Expand
  2. May 19, 2012
    10
    This game was not perfect, but It is still great sonic fun. People are too critical, sonic is a very hard game to make you have to make veryThis game was not perfect, but It is still great sonic fun. People are too critical, sonic is a very hard game to make you have to make very long stages since sonic moves through them so quickly and still keep them enjoyable. The physics just don't bother me, If you play a sonic game how it's meant to be by racing through the levels quickly you won't have time to notice imperfections in physics. I agree the magic of the original sonic games still isn't here but It's a damn good effort and I will always welcome more games like this over 3d sonic adventures. Please give me more 2d sonic games and more chances to earn chaos emeralds! Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    I was always very fond of the old Sonic games, every few months i play one of them. The recent Sonic games not so much, i never thought itI was always very fond of the old Sonic games, every few months i play one of them. The recent Sonic games not so much, i never thought it worked to well in 3D, and i found the stories to be embarrissing. So i was really looking toward this game, and i wasn't disappointed.
    The graphics are pretty, the sound is similar to the old games. The music is good, but it might not be as catchy as some of the old tunes (but maybe that's just nostalgia).
    The physics may be different, but i honestly don't think it is a big deal. The first three parts already played somewhat differently to each other, and Sonic 4 is more of an evolution than a total change. There are a few hick-ups, like stopping spin-dashs, or standing on slopes, but this occurs rather seldom. The homing attack (which i was afraid of) actually enriches the gameplay. To master the game a good combination of normal jumps and homing attacks is required.
    The level design is nostalgic. Zone 1 resembles Green Hill, zone 2 Casino Night, zone 3 Labyrinth and zone 4 Metropolis. While this has spawned some criticism that the game delivers nothing new, that's not true. Every act of this zones delivers new elements to the gameplay, making the game very varied. The new special stages are challenging, but fair. The overall difficulty varies a little. While it's never possible to let your guard down, some parts are rather easy, while others are hard. The endgame can be frustrating.
    So i give this game 8 out of 10 points. It might not be a perfect platformer, but a very entertaining one, and a worthy successor to the old games.
    Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2010
    5
    Overall, this game has stunning graphics and includes a new weapon in Sonic's Arsenal, the homing attack. Other than that, that's about it.Overall, this game has stunning graphics and includes a new weapon in Sonic's Arsenal, the homing attack. Other than that, that's about it. There isn't much in this game for 1200 Microsoft points. All the zones, Acts, enemies and bosses were derived from parts of other games, like for example the crushing wall you see in Sonic 3, the old yellow landscape with the water from Sonic 1, and the annoying star enemy from Sonic 2. I've pleased to at least complete the game, but as I only did it in 2 days, there isn't much lasting appeal. Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2010
    4
    I had high hopes, bought the game and seemed like all the nitpicking and whining alot of fans had been shouting was true from the beginning.I had high hopes, bought the game and seemed like all the nitpicking and whining alot of fans had been shouting was true from the beginning.

    I am so dissapointed and feel ripped off big time. People that like this game have no taste in quality and I believe are mostly fanboys. Sonicteam needs to stop listening to them fanboys because they are one of the reasons why sonicteam doesn't get encouraged to put effort in their games. This game deserves all the negativity it's getting and I hope less people will make the same mistake as I have.

    This game sucks.
    Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2010
    2
    For a game trying to throw it back to the Genesis days it fails to nail many of the things that made that game great. The clunky controls andFor a game trying to throw it back to the Genesis days it fails to nail many of the things that made that game great. The clunky controls and physics fail to convince me I'm playing a Sonic game or a Mario game for that matter. Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    0
    Sonic 4 is not worthy of the name "Sonic 4" what we got was a Sonic 1 reskin. Hold right to win, bad music. Why is there no Tails or KnucklesSonic 4 is not worthy of the name "Sonic 4" what we got was a Sonic 1 reskin. Hold right to win, bad music. Why is there no Tails or Knuckles its a major step back what an insult Expand

See all 48 User Reviews