Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. May 16, 2012
    83
    Except for the surprisingly annoying music and the rather short playtime Sonic shows off his best side: The levels are big and invite you to explore, the teamactions are entertaining. If you're into retro-gameplay, this is one for you.
  2. May 21, 2012
    82
    It is still not as good as the genesis versions, and it doesn't is as good as the 2D stages of Sonic Generations, but it is still a very fun Sonic game. Maybe some players will consider the game a bit pricey, but it offers quite a lot of replayability.
  3. 80
    It's a smooth, slippery Sonic that takes another step away from it's single-button origins without losing any of the hog essense. With local and online co-op, it offers just enough entertainment to justify its steep episodic price.
  4. Jun 25, 2012
    77
    Occasionally misguided, but not without some major wow moments and epic ideas. [August 2012, p.73]
  5. 75
    The game's biggest addition - including Tails as an aid in single-player mode - gives the perfect level of balance to correct mistakes made at mach speed.
  6. May 29, 2012
    70
    As a well-presented game that looks the part and sells itself on speed and accessibility, Sonic 4: Episode 2 is slightly better than the previous effort in a number of ways and yet, there's still room for improvement.
  7. May 18, 2012
    70
    The level design, gameplay and 3D bonus rounds will definitely feel right at home with long-time players, while the frustrating boss battles and terrible soundtrack leave you wondering where Sega could've slipped up in development.
  8. May 18, 2012
    70
    Sonic's still not as great as he used to be, and we're honestly wondering if he'll ever be. Then again, Episode II is better than Episode I and definately worth a playthrough, if only to get your hopes up for a superb Episode III.
  9. Jun 19, 2012
    65
    Sonic 4: Episode 2 is a half-successful product. Recommended only to diehard fans of Sonic. All others will have to think carefully about the purchase. It's a too classic and uninspired chapter in the saga.
  10. May 31, 2012
    65
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4, once more, has not been the true second coming of your hero.
  11. May 17, 2012
    65
    Sonic 4 Episode 2 is a step back for the franchise, lacking innovation, ambition and fine tuning.
  12. May 16, 2012
    65
    Trying to wear the heavy Sonic 2 boots, the second episode of Sonic 4 is a more pleasant gaming & visual experience than its predecessor, but it lacks that really needed charisma the title deserves. With cooperative gameplay, the inclusion of Tails brings an exploratory element that will be praised for some players, but condemned for the gamers who just want what Sonic titles supposed to be: Fun at ludicrous speed.
  13. May 15, 2012
    65
    The controls took a surprising step back and there were too many puzzles that required Tails' assistance for my liking. If you can get past these though, there is a solid Sonic adventure here at its core that's worth taking a look at for long-time fans.
  14. May 22, 2012
    64
    Overall Sonic 4.2 is an improvement from 4.1 but there are still issues. Playing the game is very nostalgic, but doesn't bring much new to the table, and for 1200 points you may not feel like it is worth your money. I would recommend this game if you are a Sonic fan, but be wary that there is not much new with respect to the game design.
  15. May 21, 2012
    62
    It's a shame that Sonic can't run fast enough to escape his past. Amidst segments that range from profoundly irritating to cautiously routine, Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode II features a handful of sequences that show a glimmer of hope, suggesting that if Sonic Team and Dimps were allowed to make a new 2D Sonic game without having to obey the demons of his past, we might have received a more clever and inventive episode. Instead, Episode II defaults to another run through familiar symbols and places, few of which seem to be as exhilarating as they were nearly twenty years ago.
  16. Jun 19, 2012
    60
    There's no denying the rodent's getting a little arthritic in his old age. [Issue#86, p.103]
  17. Jun 9, 2012
    60
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II isn't a bad game. Graphically it's easy on the eyes and clearing a level in a few minutes from time to time is pretty satisfying. But there's little Episode II does really well, with as its biggest flaw a lack of speed thanks to average level design. Aside from irritations in a few levels and some boss battles playing Episode II isn't a punishment, but the experience is pretty damn forgettable.
  18. Jun 2, 2012
    60
    Even though many aspects are just like Episode 1 and the introduction of Tails proved to be a very nice one indeed, there are a few pieces of the puzzle that are missing. Boss fights are horrendous, the music is as bad as in Sonic's 3D adventure and the new multiplayer mode does not offer much cooperation at all. Episode 2 is far from being a bad game, but not much greater than its predecessor.
  19. May 30, 2012
    60
    This classic Sonic game gets very hard when played on your own, but as soon as a friend joins and plays as Tails, everything gets a bit too easy. This games misses gimmicky new features and the levels do not differ much, apart from the theme ofcourse. It's fun to run around with the super speedy Sonic, but unfortunately this game lacks innovation.
  20. May 22, 2012
    60
    While the addition of cooperative play is a big step in the right direction, the core elements that made Episode 1 a tepid experience persist here: mediocre level design, slow pacing, and erratic levels of fun.
  21. May 16, 2012
    60
    In the end, it feels like Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 2 is merely going through the motions (most of which involve spinning). As was intended, it's reminiscent of Sonic's best-remembered adventures, though it never manages to live up to them.
  22. May 15, 2012
    60
    It gets most of the mechanics right, and it certainly looks like Sonic, but this new episode doesn't have the heart or the imagination of the originals.
  23. May 21, 2012
    55
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode Two ultimately feels loose where it should be tight, slow where it should be fast, and tedious where it should be exciting. Sometimes it's best to let sleeping 'hogs lie.
  24. Dec 17, 2012
    50
    Ultimately, Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II is Sonic in name only. Rather than being a revival of classic gameplay, it feels more like a fan project that didn't quite get everything right. Rip away the Sonic sprites, and you're left with nothing more than an average platformer. If you have a hankering for old-school Sonic, snag Sonic Generations instead.
  25. May 18, 2012
    50
    What's most galling about the whole exercise is that you find yourself wanting nothing more than a graphically-enhanced version of the Mega Drive originals.
  26. May 17, 2012
    50
    Playing Sonic 4: Episode II co-op is like returning to your favorite family vacation destination as an adult and bringing along a friend. You point at the broken attractions and try to convince them how good things used to be, but no amount of nostalgia can change the fact that the powers that be have let your beloved memory deteriorate.
  27. May 15, 2012
    50
    Episode II isn't an atrocious game, but poorly implemented mechanics and questionable design decisions consistently hobble its attempts to deliver the exhilarating speed that we've come to expect from the series.
  28. May 9, 2012
    50
    Unspectacular and, to be honest, fairly boring. Coupled with one of the most despicable soundtracks I have ever had forced into my ears, Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 2 is very difficult to recommend. It's not terrible, not by a long shot, but it barely seems worth the time -- and auditory agony -- to play.
  29. May 19, 2012
    45
    A frustrating experience for Sonic fans. You can sense the old, creaky bones of what once made the franchise so much fun, but they're surrounded by chewy, rancid meat.
  30. May 25, 2012
    40
    The original question was : "is it better if we're two players?". The answer is definitely yes, but it's still quite mediocre. Prettier, much better designed than the first one, but this Episode 2 still remains a sad version of a platformer with annoying musics and dull level design.
  31. May 22, 2012
    40
    What we have now is a Sonic game that takes a step forward from Episode 1, but is still a step back from a game half a year old. Sonic 4: Episode 2 certainly isn't the worst game to grace the series over the years, but not even the most steadfast Sonic fans will fondly remember Episode 2 as one of their favorites, if it is remembered at all.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37
  1. May 17, 2012
    4
    The game is simply awful and everything they had promised to fix from episode 1 to 2, except for the momentum, has had been a lie. Sonic 4The game is simply awful and everything they had promised to fix from episode 1 to 2, except for the momentum, has had been a lie. Sonic 4 episode 2 feels more like a marketing gimmick than a game that could sell itself. Full Review »
  2. May 18, 2012
    6
    Sonic fanboys will probably hate me for saying this, but I don't think Sonic 4 deserves it's title so far. While Episode II is an improvementSonic fanboys will probably hate me for saying this, but I don't think Sonic 4 deserves it's title so far. While Episode II is an improvement over Episode I and is a lot of fun, both episodes have failed to capture the magic of the classics. Let's explore a little bit deeper. First and foremost, I will talk about the physics. The physics are one of the crucial elements in a Sonic game, 2D or 3D, and Sonic 4: Episode II lives up to this well. Sonic feels surprisingly nice to control and everything feels a lot more smooth than Episode I. The rolling, however, still doesn't work properly. Sonic only picks up a little bit of momentum even when you hold forward while performing it and on half of the slopes on the game, it works just as badly as it did in Episode I. I've no idea why the developers of Sonic games these days can't get rolling right. Ever since the end of the Advance series, rolling is pretty much pointless these days and that's not how it should be. Rolling was an awesome and fun way to earn speed effectively in the classics and it's a shame that it can't be put to use like that anymore. The graphics are excellent. This is a major improvement over Episode I - everything pops out and looks clean, fresh and realistic. No longer does Sonic run over plastic grass but he now runs through achingly pretty, fully rendered, 3D environments. The only real criticism I have on the graphics is the lack of anti-aliasing. Some of the edges look really rough, like on a Wii game at times. I don't know why it wasn't included, it's not as if the PS3 can't handle it, after all. Nevertheless, great job, DIMPS. The music is... disappointing, to say the least. There are no longer dying cats in the melodies, which is a definite positive, but some of the tracks sound so repetitive and boring, it's easy to fall asleep. Don't get me wrong - there are some great tunes in the game, my favourites being the Metal Sonic boss fight and Sky Fortress Act 2, but c'mon, Jun Senoue. You've done better. The level design is... OK. It doesn't flat out suck but nor does it shine. There's a good amount of platforming involved, which is great, but there's a lack of multiple routes and exploration going on and the amount of times the game plays itself for you is ridiculous. There's loads of speed boosters everywhere and so many springs. It's like they were trying to turn the game into a movie. What I hate just as much is the use of the homing attack. This move is simply a stupid idea for a 2D Sonic game. Is it REALLY that difficult to jump on an enemy? That's how it was done in the classics, the Advance trilogy and even the freaking Sonic Rush games. This wouldn't be so terrible if it wasn't forced upon you! Seriously, there's always a chain of stationary Bubbles badniks flying in the air for you to use your attack on. It's REQUIRED to beat the game. WHY?! What if I don't WANT to? This also extends on into the combo moves. With Tails with you, you can now do a load of combo moves like flying or doing a 69-roll of death. Some of these moves are pretty handy and fun to use, like the submarine combo, but others kinda... suck. The 69-roll, like the homing attack, is forced upon you and it's very overpowered. A nice feature with Episode II is the ability to play with another person either locally or online. It's great fun to play with and it's probably the mode I play the most on now. The problem with it though is that you are forced to have both players on screen at the same time, even when online. I don't know why split-screen wasn't implemented but it's not that terrible if I'm honest. Just a tad frustrating at times. Overall, Sonic 4: Episode II is a fun title (with some great plot elements, I must add), but this game doesn't deserve it's title. It's not a bad game, but it will probably be forgotten in 10 years time, unlike Sonic 1, 2, CD and 3&K. I give the title a 6/10 and if you want to have a nice little platformer on your console, go ahead. Full Review »
  3. May 16, 2012
    8
    Just beat this game and must say it is a lot of fun. Everything has been improved upon from episode 1. If you are an old school sonic fan youJust beat this game and must say it is a lot of fun. Everything has been improved upon from episode 1. If you are an old school sonic fan you won't be disappointed. Full Review »