User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 78
  2. Negative: 19 out of 78

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 16, 2012
    9
    This is actually an 8.5, but it rounds to a 9. It's a lot better than Episode 1, but there are still a few nitpicky details, such as bland level design in some levels, as well as unnecessarily hard special stages. On the other hand, most of the levels have brilliant level design, and the physics have been fixed. Not to mention the inclusion, of multiplayer, Tails, and Metal Sonic, as well as the great graphics. Expand
  2. May 17, 2012
    10
    Honestly people are so unwilling to give Sonic a chance. This game murders Episode 1, and exceeds in every way that Episode 1 did and didn't. Even though Im a fan Im NOT going to lie, of course the game isn't perfect, for example the music is really high pitched and jingly (sounds like a concoction of bells), and on boss fights there is an insanely amount of rings provided which kills all the difficulty the boss brings(even though you will appreciate this later when you get all the chaos emeralds hence Super Sonic )!! But the game gives you some nice trade-offs, in return you get superb graphics, great platforming, and lots of speed (not as fast as the Classic Sonic from Generations though)! I love this game because it introduces things I've never seen before in the series. It has some slight downfalls that keep it from being great, but it's a solid sequel this time around that I will play over and over, and in my opinion that's the definition of a good game... ;) Expand
  3. May 16, 2012
    9
    I'm not sure why some reviews have been negative- this game does an awesome job of capturing the Sonic 2 look, feel and spirit. How much more do you want?? This is the best Sonic game in ages, and has also made Tails very worthwhile. Hope to see an episode 3 with Knuckles and more varied zones.
  4. May 28, 2012
    10
    Sonic 4 episode 2 is a MAJOR improvement to episode one. My opinion, all these guys scoring low are jumping on the "game informer bashed Sonic, I might as well too!" Hopefully those people fall off a cliff along with the other lemmings that told them to. When I started playing episode 2 today, I got the same "new sonic game jitters" that I used to get as a kid when I opened up my new sega games on christmas morning. The addition of tails and multiplayer support is spot on. The graphic are crisper than ever and the nostalgic soundtrack will stay stuck in your head for days. The throwback half pipe stages are a blast, and I couldn't help smiling when I nabbed my first chaos emerald. I get so upset seeing poor reviews for Sonic games when Nintendo does the same thing for Mario and it receives a standing ovation. I think episode two is an extension of something great...Sonic the Hedgehog! That little blue blur is possibly my oldest pal. I'm not defending this game simply because I love the brand, I give it my approval simply because it's a great title, and IMO Sonic has earned the number 4 next to his name. Don't believe the naysayers who put no thought or inspiration behind their judgements, see for yourself...it's 1200 MSP, and worth every penny. Expand
  5. May 19, 2012
    9
    A very solid release with great gameplay, pretty graphics and average music. Pick it up while it's on sale or something. You might lose a few hours to it.
  6. May 17, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok lets break down some fundamentals here first. The Sonic fanbase is crazy. Some of the biggest complaints from the "fans" are things like eye color and having to press a button to go to the next stage. They rant these things off as deal breakers.

    Also when you see people giving a game scores of 0 or 1 you pretty much know there opinion is useless.

    Sonic 4 Episode 2 is a huge vastly improved step up over the garbage that was episode 1.

    The graphical engine has been redone to include high quality 3d rendering everywhere. The graphics are top notch for a DLC game and pretty polished in general. Absolutely nothing to complain about here.

    Some people are complaining about the must however I think its great. Oil Desert act 2 and White Park Act 2 especially stand out. Whats also a nice tribute to fans is parts of most stage songs include a sample from a previously made Sonic game. Like metropolitian zone.

    The gameplay is pretty tight. The physic are way better than the last game so don't listen those saying is isnt. Its not genesis physic but in no way does that hinder anything. The boss battles are probably some of the coolest since the genesis days. My complaint there isnt more of them :P The special stages are hard. Really hard. They're gonna beat you down on special stage 7 especially. The new tails comboing system adds a lot to boss battles and some new spike pits to over come.

    You get to fight metal sonic a couple of times and most people will tell you this game has the best fights against metal sonic period. As voted by fans it out ranked Sonic CD and Sonic Generations in this aspect.

    Really this is a game you shouldnt be missing out on. If you're a fan of sonic over all and not just 1-3&k give it a try. If you like the advance series then you'll totally enjoy this!
    Expand
  7. May 19, 2012
    10
    This game was not perfect, but It is still great sonic fun. People are too critical, sonic is a very hard game to make you have to make very long stages since sonic moves through them so quickly and still keep them enjoyable. The physics just don't bother me, If you play a sonic game how it's meant to be by racing through the levels quickly you won't have time to notice imperfections in physics. I agree the magic of the original sonic games still isn't here but It's a damn good effort and I will always welcome more games like this over 3d sonic adventures. Please give me more 2d sonic games and more chances to earn chaos emeralds! Expand
  8. May 17, 2012
    9
    Sonic 4 Episode 2 rectifies nearly every issue with Episode 1. There is a true sense of inertia and momentum and the game is a joy to play without it resorting to 100% nostalgia. Yes, there are references to past games in the original trilogy but it is handled well, similar to how Sonic 3 made references to Sonic 1 and 2. Yes, the rolling still isn't quite the same but the physics still make sense this time around and Sonic is comfortable to control. The combination moves are extremely fun to use, well done Dimps. I can't wait for Episode 3. Expand
  9. May 17, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. The minute it starts the game just feels better, as it felt more like the first 3. Also, the teamwork with Tails is great. Don't bother with the critics who rated this game, theres a lot more critics who still have to rate it too. So overall i say this is a must have to anybody.
  10. May 20, 2012
    9
    I liked this episode much more. The stages are still inspired by games from the past but this time are much more interesting, more alive, challenging but not frustrating. There are cut scenes that help tell parts of the simple story. The special stages are inspired in Sonic 2, but are much easier since you can pause the game and restart to try again. The game is short-lived, like any classic game of Sonic. I finished the game with all 7 Chaos Emeralds in 4h. The graphics are wonderful! Overall the songs are not as good as before but they are far more captivating than the first episode. The physics of the game has been improved. I did not like the first episode but I loved the second! Expand
  11. May 20, 2012
    10
    I don't understand why this game doesn't have a higher score. Sonic 4 Episode 2 is definitely a fun game and also a major improvement over Episode 1, which I also love. The levels are awesome, the music is cool (love the Twinkle Park music in Act 2 of White Park), and the bosses are really neat, especially Metal Sonic's. The controls are also responsive. I feel like I'm playing a classic Sonic game in modern times. I only started playing it this weekend and played the game for 24 hours already (8 hours each day). Even if the game is only about 2 to 3 hours long, it has a lot of replay value considering there are alternate paths and you could go there each level trying to perfect each one to get the best time. Its pretty awesome when you have those moments where you realize you could do something else to get a better time and it ends up cutting off a lot of time. I recommend any Sonic fan to pick this game up. Its worth the $15 dollars. Expand
  12. May 28, 2012
    10
    This game wasn't the greatest game I have played however it was a very fun game. Music wasn't all that great but passable for now. Lets just hope Sega can do something good in future titles. I do love how the game is a huge throwback to the Sonic 2.
  13. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    This is definitely a true classic experience for all the fans out there. It feels fresh, new, and is truly a blast full of speed, platforming, amazing bosses, and a great story. Definitely worth a purchase on any system.
  14. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    Basis for review: 18 years old, avid but far from hardcore, experienced sonic fan If you never played the classics sonics or never attempted to learn them, you wont have a good time in this game, it has an uncompromising difficulty similar to the classics, but if you enjoyed the other classics, you'll find the music, scenery, and mechanics to be satisfactory. This game gives a good feeling and a refreshing break from modern game complications, and gives you the same satisfaction that any of the classics gave. I find ign and game informer both glorify the classics, the original genesis titles were far from perfect by todays standards, and these modern iterations are good in their own right, if sonic adventure 2 was your favorite game, then youll likely have to play around with the classics to adjust, but I suggest that everyone should at least look at gameplay, if not download a demo, because at the end of the day reviewers are stating their opinion. Many times in the past, I've found that I've gotten much more value out of game (ie: sonic unleashed) than any reviewer said I would. On the contrary, I find that games are more fun because their underrated, and I can be pleasantly surprised. Collapse
  15. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Sonic Team fixed the physics and added a few gimmicks w/ tales. I personally love this game and think classic sonic fan boys are being a bit to hard on it. Aside from the Christian Whitehead version of Sonic CD It's my favorite sonic game to play at the moment. Then again I still enjoy episode 1 in spite it's odd physics. I'm a real sucker for being able to replay any level whenever I want and Leader-boards keep me coming back. Being a speed run junkie, Sonic 4 is where I get my fix. Expand
  16. Jul 1, 2012
    0
    Basis for review: 18 years old, avid but far from hardcore, experienced sonic fan If you never played the classics sonics or never attempted to learn them, you wont have a good time in this game, it has an uncompromising difficulty similar to the classics, but if you enjoyed the other classics, you'll find the music, scenery, and mechanics to be satisfactory. This game gives a good feeling and a refreshing break from modern game complications, and gives you the same satisfaction that any of the classics gave. I find ign and game informer both glorify the classics, the original genesis titles were far from perfect by todays standards, and these modern iterations are good in their own right, if sonic adventure 2 was your favorite game, then youll likely have to play around with the classics to adjust, but I suggest that everyone should at least look at gameplay, if not download a demo, because at the end of the day reviewers are stating their opinion. Many times in the past, I've found that I've gotten much more value out of game (ie: sonic unleashed) than any reviewer said I would. On the contrary, I find that games are more fun because their underrated, and I can be pleasantly surprised. Collapse
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    50
    Ultimately, Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II is Sonic in name only. Rather than being a revival of classic gameplay, it feels more like a fan project that didn't quite get everything right. Rip away the Sonic sprites, and you're left with nothing more than an average platformer. If you have a hankering for old-school Sonic, snag Sonic Generations instead.
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    77
    Occasionally misguided, but not without some major wow moments and epic ideas. [August 2012, p.73]
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    60
    There's no denying the rodent's getting a little arthritic in his old age. [Issue#86, p.103]