User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 78
  2. Negative: 19 out of 78

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2012
    4
    The game is simply awful and everything they had promised to fix from episode 1 to 2, except for the momentum, has had been a lie. Sonic 4 episode 2 feels more like a marketing gimmick than a game that could sell itself.
  2. May 17, 2012
    8
    Sonic 4 Episode 2 isn't as good as Sega promised but it is a good game. Sonic Team needs more ambition and has to do a fine tuning in Sonic games. Coop with a friend as Tails is fun.
  3. May 17, 2012
    7
    This game is a solid 7.5/10. It is much like the very first Sonic game. It has the same charm and basic concepts of the series down pat. Yet lacks some refinement of the other games. Rolling physics and spindash need work. But momentum gameplay is back and exploration has never been quite so fun. Add in the return of some kick ass Tails mechanics and co-op play, and you got a good game, and more importantly, a solid Sonic game. If you've ever enjoyed even one game with the Blue Blur, you should give this a fair and open minded go. Expand
  4. May 19, 2012
    9
    A very solid release with great gameplay, pretty graphics and average music. Pick it up while it's on sale or something. You might lose a few hours to it.
  5. May 17, 2012
    10
    Honestly people are so unwilling to give Sonic a chance. This game murders Episode 1, and exceeds in every way that Episode 1 did and didn't. Even though Im a fan Im NOT going to lie, of course the game isn't perfect, for example the music is really high pitched and jingly (sounds like a concoction of bells), and on boss fights there is an insanely amount of rings provided which kills all the difficulty the boss brings(even though you will appreciate this later when you get all the chaos emeralds hence Super Sonic )!! But the game gives you some nice trade-offs, in return you get superb graphics, great platforming, and lots of speed (not as fast as the Classic Sonic from Generations though)! I love this game because it introduces things I've never seen before in the series. It has some slight downfalls that keep it from being great, but it's a solid sequel this time around that I will play over and over, and in my opinion that's the definition of a good game... ;) Expand
  6. May 17, 2012
    1
    More of the same
    Sonic 4 Episode 2 continues Dimps proud tradition of filling levels with speed boosters and bottomless pits, the addition of Tails and the co-op flight move give Dimps the excuse to add even more bottomless and spike filled pits making the game fill like a bad Mario romhack. The 3 second animation that plays every time you activate a co-op move kills the fluid speedy flow
    that the Genesis games were famous for.

    Episode 2's physics are improved and have momentum but the level design never takes advantage of it making this improvement feel hollow. Level design is still laser focused on having the player homing attack everything and carrying the player along with speed boosters in any section that requires speed.

    Bosses are a long drawn out chores, in the Genesis games bosses could be defeated quickly if the player is skilled enough in Sonic 4 Episode 2 the player always was to wait until the boss exposes itself to damage it which leads to most fights lasting around 4 minutes

    Episode 1 composer Jun Senoue returns answering the request of few, the soundtrack is yet another mediocre Sonic 2 wannabee. Not even Sonic CD's famous Stardust Speedway Bad Future music is safe from being ruined by this overrated buffoon.

    The utter uncreativeness in one of the levels, White Park Act 2 is awe-inspiring on how boring it is, it's nothing but roller coaster rails and completely fails to take advantage of it's carnival setting for level mechanics like Sonic 3's Carnival Night Zone did.


    A product of misplaced praise by professional reviewers and blind fans Episode 2 barely tries to exceed it's predecessor.
    Expand
  7. May 17, 2012
    8
    A massive improvement on Sonic 4 Episode 1. Though the game goes for a modern aesthetic rather than using the classic design, it still manages to look brilliant by using models designed for this game, rather than the ripped sprites from Ep1. The bosses are well animated and Tails brings an interesting feature to the design of the game, capturing the feel of Sonic 2 despite not looking at all like it. Everything in this game is original, except the sound effects for good reason, and the levels are gorgeous, with brilliant depth effects in the background. Metal Sonic also provides some good boss fights and easily takes the spotlight from Robotnik. The physics are not perfect but are massively improved. Sonic no longer walks on walls or comes to a complete stop whenever you let go of right. Going into a ball no longer slows you down and going up a ramp while in a ball no longer uncurls you. The problems with the game come from the fact that the camera is too close to Sonic, giving you very little time to react to incoming hazards. Although the game is challenging in parts, there is far too much handholding. Whenever there is an obstacle that requires help from Tails, 9 times out of 10 there will be a screen in the background telling you what to do. Also, Tails' flying move can be a little cheap at times and the high five animation they make before each move can ruin the flow of the game. There are still too many speedboosts in unnecessary and inappropriate places, although there is a lot less than before and the game does give you the opportunity to explore. The absolute worst part of the game is the soundtrack. It's an awful, pseudo-retro mess that does not work with the games modern design and is an insult to the songs in the classic games, which pushed the limits of the hardware. Still a good game, worth playing, a lot of replay value thanks to non-linear stages with hidden goodies and a good, fun co-op mode. It's a shame that this game is getting worse results than the trainwreck that was Episode 1, I hope Sega doesn't think that it went in the wrong direction. Expand
  8. May 17, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok lets break down some fundamentals here first. The Sonic fanbase is crazy. Some of the biggest complaints from the "fans" are things like eye color and having to press a button to go to the next stage. They rant these things off as deal breakers.

    Also when you see people giving a game scores of 0 or 1 you pretty much know there opinion is useless.

    Sonic 4 Episode 2 is a huge vastly improved step up over the garbage that was episode 1.

    The graphical engine has been redone to include high quality 3d rendering everywhere. The graphics are top notch for a DLC game and pretty polished in general. Absolutely nothing to complain about here.

    Some people are complaining about the must however I think its great. Oil Desert act 2 and White Park Act 2 especially stand out. Whats also a nice tribute to fans is parts of most stage songs include a sample from a previously made Sonic game. Like metropolitian zone.

    The gameplay is pretty tight. The physic are way better than the last game so don't listen those saying is isnt. Its not genesis physic but in no way does that hinder anything. The boss battles are probably some of the coolest since the genesis days. My complaint there isnt more of them :P The special stages are hard. Really hard. They're gonna beat you down on special stage 7 especially. The new tails comboing system adds a lot to boss battles and some new spike pits to over come.

    You get to fight metal sonic a couple of times and most people will tell you this game has the best fights against metal sonic period. As voted by fans it out ranked Sonic CD and Sonic Generations in this aspect.

    Really this is a game you shouldnt be missing out on. If you're a fan of sonic over all and not just 1-3&k give it a try. If you like the advance series then you'll totally enjoy this!
    Expand
  9. May 28, 2012
    10
    Sonic 4 episode 2 is a MAJOR improvement to episode one. My opinion, all these guys scoring low are jumping on the "game informer bashed Sonic, I might as well too!" Hopefully those people fall off a cliff along with the other lemmings that told them to. When I started playing episode 2 today, I got the same "new sonic game jitters" that I used to get as a kid when I opened up my new sega games on christmas morning. The addition of tails and multiplayer support is spot on. The graphic are crisper than ever and the nostalgic soundtrack will stay stuck in your head for days. The throwback half pipe stages are a blast, and I couldn't help smiling when I nabbed my first chaos emerald. I get so upset seeing poor reviews for Sonic games when Nintendo does the same thing for Mario and it receives a standing ovation. I think episode two is an extension of something great...Sonic the Hedgehog! That little blue blur is possibly my oldest pal. I'm not defending this game simply because I love the brand, I give it my approval simply because it's a great title, and IMO Sonic has earned the number 4 next to his name. Don't believe the naysayers who put no thought or inspiration behind their judgements, see for yourself...it's 1200 MSP, and worth every penny. Expand
  10. May 17, 2012
    3
    Sonic 4 Episode 2 is no different from the first one. When it comes to bad physics, bad level designs, and just an overall poor presentation, this game is worth a 30%
  11. May 17, 2012
    5
    Although there was made improvements (Such as graphics and plot), Sonic 4 Episode Two shamefully brings more of the same disappointment brought by his antecessor. Not only with physics this time. About physics, they were fixed in some points, but later it was revealed that there are scripted speed occurring on the game, again getting to ruin your fun. Tails was another broken promise by SEGA, they didn't bring him back: they brought Tails as a game gimmick, the worst treatment a character on the Sonic series could ever receive. This is summed up with the horrendous music, the same style was brought back from Episode One. So, it turns out that the game has turned to a sad example of DIMPS' abilities and SEGA's incompetence. Expand
  12. May 17, 2012
    8
    I'm actually quite surprised that metacritic didn't add any of the positive reviews (as of may 17th), but that's okay, for now. Anyway, this game is solid. It's a definite step up over Episode 1. The issues would be the music and some level design. the level design isn't normally bad, it's more like "why would you put that there?" Because it doesn't exactly hinder your experience. Overall, it's a step up, but it could be better, and I'm sure Sonic Team will figure some stuff out about that. Expand
  13. May 16, 2012
    9
    I'm not sure why some reviews have been negative- this game does an awesome job of capturing the Sonic 2 look, feel and spirit. How much more do you want?? This is the best Sonic game in ages, and has also made Tails very worthwhile. Hope to see an episode 3 with Knuckles and more varied zones.
  14. May 16, 2012
    9
    This is actually an 8.5, but it rounds to a 9. It's a lot better than Episode 1, but there are still a few nitpicky details, such as bland level design in some levels, as well as unnecessarily hard special stages. On the other hand, most of the levels have brilliant level design, and the physics have been fixed. Not to mention the inclusion, of multiplayer, Tails, and Metal Sonic, as well as the great graphics. Expand
  15. May 16, 2012
    8
    Just beat this game and must say it is a lot of fun. Everything has been improved upon from episode 1. If you are an old school sonic fan you won't be disappointed.
  16. May 18, 2012
    6
    Sonic fanboys will probably hate me for saying this, but I don't think Sonic 4 deserves it's title so far. While Episode II is an improvement over Episode I and is a lot of fun, both episodes have failed to capture the magic of the classics. Let's explore a little bit deeper. First and foremost, I will talk about the physics. The physics are one of the crucial elements in a Sonic game, 2D or 3D, and Sonic 4: Episode II lives up to this well. Sonic feels surprisingly nice to control and everything feels a lot more smooth than Episode I. The rolling, however, still doesn't work properly. Sonic only picks up a little bit of momentum even when you hold forward while performing it and on half of the slopes on the game, it works just as badly as it did in Episode I. I've no idea why the developers of Sonic games these days can't get rolling right. Ever since the end of the Advance series, rolling is pretty much pointless these days and that's not how it should be. Rolling was an awesome and fun way to earn speed effectively in the classics and it's a shame that it can't be put to use like that anymore. The graphics are excellent. This is a major improvement over Episode I - everything pops out and looks clean, fresh and realistic. No longer does Sonic run over plastic grass but he now runs through achingly pretty, fully rendered, 3D environments. The only real criticism I have on the graphics is the lack of anti-aliasing. Some of the edges look really rough, like on a Wii game at times. I don't know why it wasn't included, it's not as if the PS3 can't handle it, after all. Nevertheless, great job, DIMPS. The music is... disappointing, to say the least. There are no longer dying cats in the melodies, which is a definite positive, but some of the tracks sound so repetitive and boring, it's easy to fall asleep. Don't get me wrong - there are some great tunes in the game, my favourites being the Metal Sonic boss fight and Sky Fortress Act 2, but c'mon, Jun Senoue. You've done better. The level design is... OK. It doesn't flat out suck but nor does it shine. There's a good amount of platforming involved, which is great, but there's a lack of multiple routes and exploration going on and the amount of times the game plays itself for you is ridiculous. There's loads of speed boosters everywhere and so many springs. It's like they were trying to turn the game into a movie. What I hate just as much is the use of the homing attack. This move is simply a stupid idea for a 2D Sonic game. Is it REALLY that difficult to jump on an enemy? That's how it was done in the classics, the Advance trilogy and even the freaking Sonic Rush games. This wouldn't be so terrible if it wasn't forced upon you! Seriously, there's always a chain of stationary Bubbles badniks flying in the air for you to use your attack on. It's REQUIRED to beat the game. WHY?! What if I don't WANT to? This also extends on into the combo moves. With Tails with you, you can now do a load of combo moves like flying or doing a 69-roll of death. Some of these moves are pretty handy and fun to use, like the submarine combo, but others kinda... suck. The 69-roll, like the homing attack, is forced upon you and it's very overpowered. A nice feature with Episode II is the ability to play with another person either locally or online. It's great fun to play with and it's probably the mode I play the most on now. The problem with it though is that you are forced to have both players on screen at the same time, even when online. I don't know why split-screen wasn't implemented but it's not that terrible if I'm honest. Just a tad frustrating at times. Overall, Sonic 4: Episode II is a fun title (with some great plot elements, I must add), but this game doesn't deserve it's title. It's not a bad game, but it will probably be forgotten in 10 years time, unlike Sonic 1, 2, CD and 3&K. I give the title a 6/10 and if you want to have a nice little platformer on your console, go ahead. Expand
  17. May 17, 2012
    9
    Sonic 4 Episode 2 rectifies nearly every issue with Episode 1. There is a true sense of inertia and momentum and the game is a joy to play without it resorting to 100% nostalgia. Yes, there are references to past games in the original trilogy but it is handled well, similar to how Sonic 3 made references to Sonic 1 and 2. Yes, the rolling still isn't quite the same but the physics still make sense this time around and Sonic is comfortable to control. The combination moves are extremely fun to use, well done Dimps. I can't wait for Episode 3. Expand
  18. May 17, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. The minute it starts the game just feels better, as it felt more like the first 3. Also, the teamwork with Tails is great. Don't bother with the critics who rated this game, theres a lot more critics who still have to rate it too. So overall i say this is a must have to anybody.
  19. May 20, 2012
    9
    I liked this episode much more. The stages are still inspired by games from the past but this time are much more interesting, more alive, challenging but not frustrating. There are cut scenes that help tell parts of the simple story. The special stages are inspired in Sonic 2, but are much easier since you can pause the game and restart to try again. The game is short-lived, like any classic game of Sonic. I finished the game with all 7 Chaos Emeralds in 4h. The graphics are wonderful! Overall the songs are not as good as before but they are far more captivating than the first episode. The physics of the game has been improved. I did not like the first episode but I loved the second! Expand
  20. May 19, 2012
    10
    This game was not perfect, but It is still great sonic fun. People are too critical, sonic is a very hard game to make you have to make very long stages since sonic moves through them so quickly and still keep them enjoyable. The physics just don't bother me, If you play a sonic game how it's meant to be by racing through the levels quickly you won't have time to notice imperfections in physics. I agree the magic of the original sonic games still isn't here but It's a damn good effort and I will always welcome more games like this over 3d sonic adventures. Please give me more 2d sonic games and more chances to earn chaos emeralds! Expand
  21. May 19, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic 4 Episode II is the direct sequel to Sonic 4 Episode I, which attempted to be a sequel to Sonic 3 & Knuckles. So how does this title fare?
    The game is composed of 4 zones, each of 3 acts and one final zone. This makes this game immediatly smaller than any of the 2D games the hedgehog has delivered the past 20 years outside Episode I, which is about the same length. There is, however, a "free" bonus for owners of both Episode I and Episode II, Episode Metal. Which adds a total of 4 acts (no, not zones, acts) reusing assets from Episode I while playing through Metal Sonic, who is barely anything more than a re-skin of Sonic.
    They call this function "lock-on", just as Sonic & Knuckles. The one problem is the game doesn't do what Sonic 3 & Knuckles did; create one greater game. Instead we have this small addition of 4 small acts that don't really add up to the gameplay as nothing about it is particularly new.

    With that annoyance out of the way, let's focus on graphics and presentation. They are fantastic. They are the best representation of what a revival for Sonic should be. They are vibrant, colorful and engaging. A huge step up from Sonic 4 Episode I.
    The gameplay engine, while regrettably the same as Episode I's, is highly modified to represent momentum and physics better. However, problems still arise as there are plenty of speed caps and issues with rolling, one of the main features of Sonic. The game acknowledges its lack of true physics by spreading boosters and springs around the stage, items that give simple-minded speed and lock the player's control. This is highly noticeable on White Park Act 2 where you'll find yourself assaulted by springs and boosters more often than actual badniks. This game marks the re-introduction of Tails, who has been warming the seats since 2006. He will be following Sonic much like the default mode in Sonic 2. Regrettably there is no option to play as Sonic alone or Tails alone; options that were a given since 1992.
    The reason for this is that stages are highly focused on Team actions. You can use Tails to fly, to swim or to roll faster. The latter one is specially powerful as you are completely invincible, you constantly plow everything in your path and you can cancel it anytime or start it anytime. It's what Modern Sonic would call a "Boost", just without a gauge. It lacks any type of sensibility as it even stops time as you activate it, rendering other methods of speed such as the spindash completely useless.
    Bosses are a great refresher from the rehashes of Episode I, they are original though maybe leaning to the hard side at times. Special stages are excellently executed, bringing Sonic 2's Special Stages to life and addressing to old fans' issues such as Tails losing his rings while adding new gimmicks.
    Music, on the other side, is terribly mediocre. It has great compositions but horrible instrumentation. It's attempting to sound like a 16 bit game but it ends up sounding horribly jarring.
    The game has a little of extra content, allowing you to collect all the Emeralds and get Super Sonic (and no Super Tails for you second players) while you can collect all the Red Rings for...nothing at all! The Red Rings do absolutely nothing, rendering them a useless collectible.
    The game also offers online play, which is one of it's most notorious features, allowing you to play as either Sonic or Tails and have fun with your pals thorough the world.

    Overall this game ends up being mediocre and a bad addition to the Sonic franchise. There is a lack of dedication, effort and passion put in this game.
    Expand
  22. May 19, 2012
    0
    Sonic The Hedgehog 4 is unsuccessful attempt to return to the origins of Sonic series, but is awful, the physics is poorly programmed, the level design is without of inspiration and so foreseeable, the soundtrack is poor, and the biggest mistake in this game is to take the name of Sonic 4. An insult to the Sonic series
  23. May 20, 2012
    1
    Weak game. Graphics look ok but FAR worse than Generations, music as you might have heard is an absolute pain and the level design (the most important aspect of the game) is BLAND. Completely uninspired. Avoid it at all costs.
  24. May 20, 2012
    10
    I don't understand why this game doesn't have a higher score. Sonic 4 Episode 2 is definitely a fun game and also a major improvement over Episode 1, which I also love. The levels are awesome, the music is cool (love the Twinkle Park music in Act 2 of White Park), and the bosses are really neat, especially Metal Sonic's. The controls are also responsive. I feel like I'm playing a classic Sonic game in modern times. I only started playing it this weekend and played the game for 24 hours already (8 hours each day). Even if the game is only about 2 to 3 hours long, it has a lot of replay value considering there are alternate paths and you could go there each level trying to perfect each one to get the best time. Its pretty awesome when you have those moments where you realize you could do something else to get a better time and it ends up cutting off a lot of time. I recommend any Sonic fan to pick this game up. Its worth the $15 dollars. Expand
  25. May 28, 2012
    10
    This game wasn't the greatest game I have played however it was a very fun game. Music wasn't all that great but passable for now. Lets just hope Sega can do something good in future titles. I do love how the game is a huge throwback to the Sonic 2.
  26. May 30, 2012
    7
    First of all, regardless of what I say in this review, I do recommend buying the game if you are an old school Sonic fan (i.e. the Genesis days sonic 1/2/3 etc). I'll start by saying I was quite disappointed with Sega's first attempt to bring Sonic back in S4EP1, which just felt awkward to play and had terrible physics. For the most part, EP2 fixes all of these issues. For example the jumping forwards/backwards momentum and the pace at which it took to get up to full running speed were awful in EP1 and I have found them to be much better in EP2 to the point where it feels like a classic game. The only part they didnt resolve in my opinion is the speed dash which still feels sluggish compared to the classic games but it by no means diminished my gameplay experience.

    The levels are huge with a number of puzzles to tackle. They also give you plenty to explore and lots to enjoy. Regards the Tails mechanic, I found it difficult to get to grips with at first but overall the mechanic of having your sidekick back is great fun and opens up new methods of tackling each level with the new abilities. The bosses were much more interesting and the difficult balance was just right compared with EP1, I really enjoyed them all. The short cut scenes make the game much more story based and involved where as episode 1 was very lacking in this department. The level where you control the plane and battle metal sonic in the sky was also fantastic and felt very nostalgic as well. Special stages are fantastic. If anything this was one of my favourite parts of the game and retrying certain stages again and again to get an emerald didnt feel tedious in the slightest, I actually found it enjoyable no matter how many times I did them. Super Sonic is awesome and the feel of his character is just right (speed wise, jump height, look etc). Finally getting the hidden red rings on each level adding an extra level of play to allow you to go back and try to get them all.

    My criticisms would be as follows:
    - The majority of the music in this game is quite bad. This for me was the only major downside to the game but once you get used to it you don't really notice it
    - Speed dash seems sluggish still, could be improved by speeding it up the more you charge
    - The difficulty of the last boss was a little bit too easy for my taste. The last boss in Episode One was too difficult and by contrast they seem to have gone to the other end of the spectrum with Episode 2. Something in the middle of the two would have been preferable. All other boss difficulties in the game are just right difficulty wise and very enjoyable

    To conclude, I highly recommend the game and found it very enjoyable and a nice trip down memory lane. I sincerely hope they take this game model and make a few tweaks for a 3rd episode which I would definitely buy following this addition.
    Expand
  27. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Sonic Team fixed the physics and added a few gimmicks w/ tales. I personally love this game and think classic sonic fan boys are being a bit to hard on it. Aside from the Christian Whitehead version of Sonic CD It's my favorite sonic game to play at the moment. Then again I still enjoy episode 1 in spite it's odd physics. I'm a real sucker for being able to replay any level whenever I want and Leader-boards keep me coming back. Being a speed run junkie, Sonic 4 is where I get my fix. Expand
  28. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    This is definitely a true classic experience for all the fans out there. It feels fresh, new, and is truly a blast full of speed, platforming, amazing bosses, and a great story. Definitely worth a purchase on any system.
  29. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    Basis for review: 18 years old, avid but far from hardcore, experienced sonic fan If you never played the classics sonics or never attempted to learn them, you wont have a good time in this game, it has an uncompromising difficulty similar to the classics, but if you enjoyed the other classics, you'll find the music, scenery, and mechanics to be satisfactory. This game gives a good feeling and a refreshing break from modern game complications, and gives you the same satisfaction that any of the classics gave. I find ign and game informer both glorify the classics, the original genesis titles were far from perfect by todays standards, and these modern iterations are good in their own right, if sonic adventure 2 was your favorite game, then youll likely have to play around with the classics to adjust, but I suggest that everyone should at least look at gameplay, if not download a demo, because at the end of the day reviewers are stating their opinion. Many times in the past, I've found that I've gotten much more value out of game (ie: sonic unleashed) than any reviewer said I would. On the contrary, I find that games are more fun because their underrated, and I can be pleasantly surprised. Expand
  30. Jul 17, 2012
    0
    This game is for people who still remember playing the original sonic the hedgehog games back on the old master system and genesis. The game tries to bring back that classic sonic feel, which it does feel like a sonic games, it's just missing something. The game is short and should have been dlc for episode one like it was originally planned to be. They did add the metal sonic missions for people that have both episode one and two; which helps explain how metal sonic survived after sonic cd. Good game, worth a play if your a sonic fan. Expand
  31. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    This is a HUGE STEP from Episode I. Graphics, Music (it isn´t the best in the series, but I enjoyed some like Sky Fortress III, Oil Desert I, Sylvania Castle III), Gameplay with Tails , everything is better. And the most important: it is hard, but not unfair. Very good, if you love 2D platform game, you must play it.
    My only concern is about the longevity, it is too short!
  32. Feb 16, 2013
    7
    The quality of this game is much better than Episode 1. The platforming of the game is extremely solid and charming. I personally think it's a worthy platformer.
  33. Jan 11, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is horrible, slightly better than episode 1, but it doesn't mean so much. Poor physics, the music is nothing less than annoying and irritating. And the worst thing about the music is the awful remix of Stardust Speedway, it hurts my ears, talking about this track. The Co-op with Tails was a great idea, but very badly applied, sometimes is very frustrating the cheap deaths that can happen in some points, specially in Oil Desert, where you can't touch in ANYTHING or Tails will release Sonic and you'll lose a life. The graphics are OK, but nothing compared to Sonic Generations for example. The only good point i can mention about this game are the bosses, very creative and different form the usual Sonic games, specially the Metal Sonic's Stages and the final boss. But, the rest of the game is completely disappointing and frustrating. Expand
  34. Jan 19, 2013
    7
    Superb graphics and fun team up and all. Good O retro music and memorable level design. The only issue is that its TOO short and not too challenging. Way better than Episode 1.
  35. Apr 26, 2013
    5
    This game is just average.Comparing it with episode 1, this game is better.Everything that previous episode of this game lacked, Episode 2 haves everything improved.Physics, level design, soundtrack, all of this are better than they were in episode 1, but it's not a huge improvement. You will notice the way you control Sonic feels better, but they're still a lot of things that retained from episode one. Same goes for level design.You will notice there is a bit platforming, but they're still a lot of segments where it wants to convice you that Sonic games are about speed.Soundtrack is probably what had best improvements. It's still not as good as 1st 3 Sonic games, but they're some soundtrack that i liked. I really hate the fact that you cannot play as Sonic or Tails individually. I guess it has something to do with that tag action which is, basically, combo moves that are required to pass some obstacles. So, overall, it is better than Sonic 4 episode 1 but not to a huge degree. Expand
  36. May 25, 2013
    7
    Ever since Sonic Colors, Sonic has been back on top. Lately, his games have been doing better than what he did during the 2000s decade. Sonic 4 episode 1 was a good game. Sonic Colors is my personal favorite Sonic game. Sonic Generations did great blending in classic and modern stages. next up in the line is Sonic 4 episode 2. Sonic 4 episode 1 was great, but this sequel manages to improve big aspects of the game, while others get a bit worse. The story keeps it simple like the previous games. No subplots or anything else, just a hedgehog trying to stop a doctor. I'm glad SEGA has realized that Sonic games do better with simpler stories, so it fits right in with this game. The co-op system in Episode 2 works just fine. Tails can fly and swim just well, and the spin attack, while great for getting past obstacles, seems like a bit of a game breaker. The graphics are a HUGE upgrade from episode 1, and they look beautiful. Not as good as Sonic Generations, but still very well done for a downloadable title.The controls are a lot smoother thanks to the improved physics engine. rolling as much more useful and Sonic won't stop immediately like he did in episode 1. The soundtrack for the game is decent. Some tunes are pretty catchy, with the exception of the pinch music that constantly plays during eggman boss fights. Some things, however, get progressively worse as you go along. the boss battles in the game aren't too impressive. While they are a lot more original bosses than episode 1, they seem very bland. The zones also aren't that original. they look like the zones from Sonic 2, with the exception of white park zone, which is somewhat original. But the absolute worst part of the game is the special stages. as if it wasn't bad enough that Sega is using the same half pipe stages AGAIN, the stages, especially the last 3 ones, take a lot of memorization. if you screw up too many times, you will have to start them all over again thanks to the numerous things that can assure you a failure. Overall, Sonic 4 Episode 2 is a decent game that should be checked out if you're a fan of platformers. if you liked episode 1, you'll probably like episode 2. if you didn't like episode 1, this episode may be the one you're looking for. Expand
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    50
    Ultimately, Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II is Sonic in name only. Rather than being a revival of classic gameplay, it feels more like a fan project that didn't quite get everything right. Rip away the Sonic sprites, and you're left with nothing more than an average platformer. If you have a hankering for old-school Sonic, snag Sonic Generations instead.
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    77
    Occasionally misguided, but not without some major wow moments and epic ideas. [August 2012, p.73]
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    60
    There's no denying the rodent's getting a little arthritic in his old age. [Issue#86, p.103]