Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode II will expand the Sonic 4 storyline with new areas to speed through and new challenges to face.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 - 20th Anniversary Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. May 16, 2012
    83
    Except for the surprisingly annoying music and the rather short playtime Sonic shows off his best side: The levels are big and invite you to explore, the teamactions are entertaining. If you're into retro-gameplay, this is one for you.
  2. Games Master UK
    Jun 25, 2012
    77
    Occasionally misguided, but not without some major wow moments and epic ideas. [August 2012, p.73]
  3. May 18, 2012
    70
    The level design, gameplay and 3D bonus rounds will definitely feel right at home with long-time players, while the frustrating boss battles and terrible soundtrack leave you wondering where Sega could've slipped up in development.
  4. May 15, 2012
    60
    It gets most of the mechanics right, and it certainly looks like Sonic, but this new episode doesn't have the heart or the imagination of the originals.
  5. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jun 19, 2012
    60
    There's no denying the rodent's getting a little arthritic in his old age. [Issue#86, p.103]
  6. May 30, 2012
    60
    This classic Sonic game gets very hard when played on your own, but as soon as a friend joins and plays as Tails, everything gets a bit too easy. This games misses gimmicky new features and the levels do not differ much, apart from the theme ofcourse. It's fun to run around with the super speedy Sonic, but unfortunately this game lacks innovation.
  7. May 22, 2012
    40
    What we have now is a Sonic game that takes a step forward from Episode 1, but is still a step back from a game half a year old. Sonic 4: Episode 2 certainly isn't the worst game to grace the series over the years, but not even the most steadfast Sonic fans will fondly remember Episode 2 as one of their favorites, if it is remembered at all.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 9 out of 37
  1. May 17, 2012
    10
    Honestly people are so unwilling to give Sonic a chance. This game murders Episode 1, and exceeds in every way that Episode 1 did and didn't.Honestly people are so unwilling to give Sonic a chance. This game murders Episode 1, and exceeds in every way that Episode 1 did and didn't. Even though Im a fan Im NOT going to lie, of course the game isn't perfect, for example the music is really high pitched and jingly (sounds like a concoction of bells), and on boss fights there is an insanely amount of rings provided which kills all the difficulty the boss brings(even though you will appreciate this later when you get all the chaos emeralds hence Super Sonic )!! But the game gives you some nice trade-offs, in return you get superb graphics, great platforming, and lots of speed (not as fast as the Classic Sonic from Generations though)! I love this game because it introduces things I've never seen before in the series. It has some slight downfalls that keep it from being great, but it's a solid sequel this time around that I will play over and over, and in my opinion that's the definition of a good game... ;) Expand
  2. May 20, 2012
    10
    I don't understand why this game doesn't have a higher score. Sonic 4 Episode 2 is definitely a fun game and also a major improvement overI don't understand why this game doesn't have a higher score. Sonic 4 Episode 2 is definitely a fun game and also a major improvement over Episode 1, which I also love. The levels are awesome, the music is cool (love the Twinkle Park music in Act 2 of White Park), and the bosses are really neat, especially Metal Sonic's. The controls are also responsive. I feel like I'm playing a classic Sonic game in modern times. I only started playing it this weekend and played the game for 24 hours already (8 hours each day). Even if the game is only about 2 to 3 hours long, it has a lot of replay value considering there are alternate paths and you could go there each level trying to perfect each one to get the best time. Its pretty awesome when you have those moments where you realize you could do something else to get a better time and it ends up cutting off a lot of time. I recommend any Sonic fan to pick this game up. Its worth the $15 dollars. Expand
  3. May 16, 2012
    9
    This is actually an 8.5, but it rounds to a 9. It's a lot better than Episode 1, but there are still a few nitpicky details, such as blandThis is actually an 8.5, but it rounds to a 9. It's a lot better than Episode 1, but there are still a few nitpicky details, such as bland level design in some levels, as well as unnecessarily hard special stages. On the other hand, most of the levels have brilliant level design, and the physics have been fixed. Not to mention the inclusion, of multiplayer, Tails, and Metal Sonic, as well as the great graphics. Expand
  4. May 10, 2017
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok lets break down some fundamentals here first. The Sonic fanbase is crazy. Some of the biggest complaints from the "fans" are things like eye color and having to press a button to go to the next stage. They rant these things off as deal breakers.

    Also when you see people giving a game scores of 0 or 1 you pretty much know there opinion is useless.

    Sonic 4 Episode 2 is a huge vastly improved step up over the garbage that was episode 1.

    The graphical engine has been redone to include high quality 3d rendering everywhere. The graphics are top notch for a DLC game and pretty polished in general. Absolutely nothing to complain about here.

    Some people are complaining about the must however I think its great. Oil Desert act 2 and White Park Act 2 especially stand out. Whats also a nice tribute to fans is parts of most stage songs include a sample from a previously made Sonic game. Like metropolitian zone.

    The gameplay is pretty tight. The physic are way better than the last game so don't listen those saying is isnt. Its not genesis physic but in no way does that hinder anything. The boss battles are probably some of the coolest since the genesis days. My complaint there isnt more of them :P The special stages are hard. Really hard. They're gonna beat you down on special stage 7 especially. The new tails comboing system adds a lot to boss battles and some new spike pits to over come.

    You get to fight metal sonic a couple of times and most people will tell you this game has the best fights against metal sonic period. As voted by fans it out ranked Sonic CD and Sonic Generations in this aspect.

    Really this is a game you shouldnt be missing out on. If you're a fan of sonic over all and not just 1-3&k give it a try. If you like the advance series then you'll totally enjoy this!
    Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2013
    7
    The quality of this game is much better than Episode 1. The platforming of the game is extremely solid and charming. I personally think it's aThe quality of this game is much better than Episode 1. The platforming of the game is extremely solid and charming. I personally think it's a worthy platformer. Expand
  6. May 19, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic 4 Episode II is the direct sequel to Sonic 4 Episode I, which attempted to be a sequel to Sonic 3 & Knuckles. So how does this title fare?
    The game is composed of 4 zones, each of 3 acts and one final zone. This makes this game immediatly smaller than any of the 2D games the hedgehog has delivered the past 20 years outside Episode I, which is about the same length. There is, however, a "free" bonus for owners of both Episode I and Episode II, Episode Metal. Which adds a total of 4 acts (no, not zones, acts) reusing assets from Episode I while playing through Metal Sonic, who is barely anything more than a re-skin of Sonic.
    They call this function "lock-on", just as Sonic & Knuckles. The one problem is the game doesn't do what Sonic 3 & Knuckles did; create one greater game. Instead we have this small addition of 4 small acts that don't really add up to the gameplay as nothing about it is particularly new.

    With that annoyance out of the way, let's focus on graphics and presentation. They are fantastic. They are the best representation of what a revival for Sonic should be. They are vibrant, colorful and engaging. A huge step up from Sonic 4 Episode I.
    The gameplay engine, while regrettably the same as Episode I's, is highly modified to represent momentum and physics better. However, problems still arise as there are plenty of speed caps and issues with rolling, one of the main features of Sonic. The game acknowledges its lack of true physics by spreading boosters and springs around the stage, items that give simple-minded speed and lock the player's control. This is highly noticeable on White Park Act 2 where you'll find yourself assaulted by springs and boosters more often than actual badniks. This game marks the re-introduction of Tails, who has been warming the seats since 2006. He will be following Sonic much like the default mode in Sonic 2. Regrettably there is no option to play as Sonic alone or Tails alone; options that were a given since 1992.
    The reason for this is that stages are highly focused on Team actions. You can use Tails to fly, to swim or to roll faster. The latter one is specially powerful as you are completely invincible, you constantly plow everything in your path and you can cancel it anytime or start it anytime. It's what Modern Sonic would call a "Boost", just without a gauge. It lacks any type of sensibility as it even stops time as you activate it, rendering other methods of speed such as the spindash completely useless.
    Bosses are a great refresher from the rehashes of Episode I, they are original though maybe leaning to the hard side at times. Special stages are excellently executed, bringing Sonic 2's Special Stages to life and addressing to old fans' issues such as Tails losing his rings while adding new gimmicks.
    Music, on the other side, is terribly mediocre. It has great compositions but horrible instrumentation. It's attempting to sound like a 16 bit game but it ends up sounding horribly jarring.
    The game has a little of extra content, allowing you to collect all the Emeralds and get Super Sonic (and no Super Tails for you second players) while you can collect all the Red Rings for...nothing at all! The Red Rings do absolutely nothing, rendering them a useless collectible.
    The game also offers online play, which is one of it's most notorious features, allowing you to play as either Sonic or Tails and have fun with your pals thorough the world.

    Overall this game ends up being mediocre and a bad addition to the Sonic franchise. There is a lack of dedication, effort and passion put in this game.
    Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    0
    This is a HUGE STEP from Episode I. Graphics, Music (it isn´t the best in the series, but I enjoyed some like Sky Fortress III, OilThis is a HUGE STEP from Episode I. Graphics, Music (it isn´t the best in the series, but I enjoyed some like Sky Fortress III, Oil Desert I, Sylvania Castle III), Gameplay with Tails , everything is better. And the most important: it is hard, but not unfair. Very good, if you love 2D platform game, you must play it.
    My only concern is about the longevity, it is too short!
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews