Sonic the Hedgehog (Live Arcade) Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Xbox Live Arcade] Sonic, the fastest blue hedgehog on earth, rocket through hair-raising loop-de-loops and take dizzying dives past bubbling lava, waterfalls and more in Sonic the Hedgehog Arcade. Gather up the rings and stop Dr.Eggman's (aka Dr. Robotnik) schemes for world domination.[Xbox Live Arcade] Sonic, the fastest blue hedgehog on earth, rocket through hair-raising loop-de-loops and take dizzying dives past bubbling lava, waterfalls and more in Sonic the Hedgehog Arcade. Gather up the rings and stop Dr.Eggman's (aka Dr. Robotnik) schemes for world domination. Enhanced version: Newly enhanced graphics bring this 1991 console classic to life as never before. Once again, you can thrill to Sonic's adventures, but this time in an updated environment.Leaderboards: Top Score leaderboards are there to keep track of your progress. All new achievements: Twelve new achievements, range from simple such as clearing the Green Hill Zone or collecting one hundred rings, to more challenging, such as trying to complete the game without losing a life. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. For your 400 points you get an absolute nailed-down classic that is, in many respects, just as much fun today as it was back when it was released.
  2. With the added bells and whistles of achievements and an online leader board it's an attractive offer for Sonic fans and people interested in platformers alike.
  3. As essential a download as you’re ever likely to find, Sonic belies his age by delivering a rip roaring 2D rollercoaster of a game that even to this day, retains a wonderful sense of speed and challenge that will please both retro fanatics as well as those simply looking for a great game. Timeless.
  4. This is platform bliss, pure and simple. [Issue#24, p.100]
  5. For 400 points the game's a steal - it's an enjoyable blast of a bygone era that we'll never see again. [Sept 2007, p.110]
  6. Though this re-release lacks any of the nifty extras you might be hoping for, you're paying a mere five bucks for a perfect port of an undeniably classic. [Oct 2007, p.78]
  7. The most bare-bones port imagineable. [Oct 2007, p.96]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Ah this is where 16 bit sonic began..... A sonic masterpiece, it's these 16 bit (even the 8 bit master system games also) that keep old sonicAh this is where 16 bit sonic began..... A sonic masterpiece, it's these 16 bit (even the 8 bit master system games also) that keep old sonic fans hoping for the release of another sonic classic..... which we might get with Sonic generations. Until then these classic 16 bit sonics are a must buy for any fan and even those who haven't played the old 16 bit games for the price you just can't go wrong. Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    What kind of fool DOESN'T like this game? It is, quite simply, a masterpiece. It shone a LOT more brightly than the 16 bit games around at theWhat kind of fool DOESN'T like this game? It is, quite simply, a masterpiece. It shone a LOT more brightly than the 16 bit games around at the time, and honestly, every 16 bit Sonic game WAS the best. Such a shame that the franchise went down hill after Sonic Adventure, so nobody remembers legends like these anymore. Long live this fantastic game. Expand
  3. Aaace5
    Jul 23, 2007
    9
    I've been disappointed with most of the XBLA games, but I am glad Sonic came down the pipe! I give this game a nine not because I've been disappointed with most of the XBLA games, but I am glad Sonic came down the pipe! I give this game a nine not because it's one of the only decent games to come out for Live Arcade, but because I actually had fun with this game after all these years. I can't wait for more games like this to come out. And the price is perfect as well! Collapse
  4. RedXIII
    Jul 17, 2007
    8
    I am glad they kept this game exactly how it came out all those years ago, it was great then and it is great now. Definitely worth the I am glad they kept this game exactly how it came out all those years ago, it was great then and it is great now. Definitely worth the 400pts, a lot of fun, some of the achieves are hard, but achievements aren't everything. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2014
    7
    This is sonic the hedgehog. The first game in the franchise and it started it pretty well. I hated scrap brain and labyrinth zone but everyThis is sonic the hedgehog. The first game in the franchise and it started it pretty well. I hated scrap brain and labyrinth zone but every other stage was good. This is where Sonic started and it ended with Adventure 2. Expand