Sonic the Hedgehog Xbox 360

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 370 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. sdc
    Apr 3, 2015
    7
    Underrated as all hell. people, hunting for glitches is an unfair thing to do. The story has many cinematic pros and has it's moments, the music is amazing! The graphics look splendid, the controls are tight, the level design is perfect, it overall was good.
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    5
    Plusses: Great graphics and stunning music
    Cons: Cliché story, broken gameplay, and Elise
    This game is infamous for its gameplay, but for me it's the story and Elise that ruin it for me. Thanks for ruining our childhoods, ****
  3. Apr 12, 2015
    7
    This game is a bit mediocre for being a glitchy game, unless you check every move you make, considering sonic was my flagship franchise from young age 'til now with others, Better on xbox 360 than Ps3, I wish this game was never rushed!
  4. May 6, 2015
    6
    so this is a new take on sonic and it fun to play through. its not to replayable like past sonic games but you can still play it through. alo if you have a late copy like i do many of the bugs are patched out. as for the rest of the so called bugs you have to purposely activate them yourself. its an average sonic game at the best. this is a great example of why reviews are useless since iso this is a new take on sonic and it fun to play through. its not to replayable like past sonic games but you can still play it through. alo if you have a late copy like i do many of the bugs are patched out. as for the rest of the so called bugs you have to purposely activate them yourself. its an average sonic game at the best. this is a great example of why reviews are useless since i played the entire game and thought meh its ok without even knowing any reviews or anything. as for camera and what not everyone talks about there is a few problems here and there but i had the same problems with sonic adventure 2 so go figure at least i didnt just shoot off ledges cause it decided to do a double jump instead of a normal jump Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    7
    This game isn't nearly as bad as everyone makes it out to be. While usually glitchy, the game is still pretty fun & some of the glitches are fun themselves. The story isn't that bad, it was actually decent but parts of the story are pretty awkward, but other parts are actually pretty good. I will say this absolutely isn't the best Sonic game, but it isn't the worst either. I liked it, I doThis game isn't nearly as bad as everyone makes it out to be. While usually glitchy, the game is still pretty fun & some of the glitches are fun themselves. The story isn't that bad, it was actually decent but parts of the story are pretty awkward, but other parts are actually pretty good. I will say this absolutely isn't the best Sonic game, but it isn't the worst either. I liked it, I do think it feels rushed so it could be a launch title for Xbox 360 & PS3, there are things that are wrong with it, but the best way to describe it is it's a decent game that has Sonic Adventure-esque gameplay (though not as good as Adventure). And to those who keep hearing Sonic & Elise made out or anything like that, it was a simple, yet still awkward two-second long kiss, it's easy to look past it & get on with the game. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2010
    5
    I'm a huge sonic fan, but even I can't forgive alot of the faults in this game. This game was suppost to be fixes of wrongs by Sonic Adventure but really, it failed worse than that series.Sonic Adventure 1 was a great game in my opinion, adventure 2 was ok but I hated emerald searching and mechs, but this game's load times just make this game something unbarable. If you can get past theI'm a huge sonic fan, but even I can't forgive alot of the faults in this game. This game was suppost to be fixes of wrongs by Sonic Adventure but really, it failed worse than that series.Sonic Adventure 1 was a great game in my opinion, adventure 2 was ok but I hated emerald searching and mechs, but this game's load times just make this game something unbarable. If you can get past the very unbearable load times though, this game just so happens to be a very beautiful looking game with a great story and fun gameplay...but yet again, if you can bare the TERRIBLE load times. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    Sonic 06 is a good game. The gameplay is fun and easy to control, but the story is confusion and didn't make any sense. The graphics are okay for a old Xbox 360 and PS3 game. The voice acting is decent, but some terrible. I say Sonic the Hedgehog or Sonic 06 is a decent sonic game and a under-rated one.
  8. May 13, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let me get this out of way the first, this isn't the worst game i've played, hell it isn't even the worst sonic game i've played. There are numerous other games far more atrocious than this one. But enough with that let's move on. The graphics look exactly how they should look like, an early-gen Xbox360 title. The soundtrack is one of the best I've heard and I find myself listening to it on my ipod from time to time. The levels in Sonic 06' range from enjoyable to excessively frustrating. My favorite level was strangely White Acropolis, I don't know why. As for my most hated, I'd have to say Flame Core, don't even get me started. The game has three main characters to choose from; Sonic,Shadow, and Silver. I like how the game is set up similar to that of the Sonic Adventure games, it gives me a nice feeling. Sonic has the worst written story of the three playable characters, but he has the most playable levels. Shadow and Silver 's stories are more well handled than that of Sonic's, but their gameplay styles have some clashing elements.The villain, Mephiles The Dark, just so happens to be one of my Sonic villains thus far. He's so sleek,mysterious, and manipulative, I personally think that'sbest way to write a villain. The glitches uh, oh god. This game has some of the most glitches i've seen in a Sonic game. The worst part of the game at least for me were the egregiously long load times. It loads like a PS1 game. I didn't care too much for Elise, she was mostly forgetable, but at least she wasn't annoying. Overall Sonic 06' Isn't the worst Sonic game but it was deeply flawed and glitchy. Final score 57/100 Expand
  9. Dec 4, 2011
    5
    While the game has potential with Adventure-like gameplay, an... interesting story, engaging boss battles, and awesome music, it is riddled with bugs, frequent and long loading times, and poor hit detection, to name a few. Unless you're a die-hard Sonic fan or can ignore the loading times, avoid this one.
  10. Sep 20, 2013
    7
    The graphics look great for a release of early next gen consoles, the soundtrack in this game is memorable and the graphics look amazing. The storyline is disturbing and the gameplay itself is ridiculous!!! The collision detection is horrible and glitches, like the Silver boss battle, is unacceptable and almost unplayable if you use a certain technique.
  11. Nov 4, 2012
    5
    This is the game that will troll you if your not a pro at sonic.This Sonic game has many things to do but that's not as great as it sounds. The one thing that is absolutly brilliant is the Music. The games stages are full of glitches and the hub world is very dull. Although the games graphics and sound is brilliant the gameplay wont make you stay playing the game but it will make you realyThis is the game that will troll you if your not a pro at sonic.This Sonic game has many things to do but that's not as great as it sounds. The one thing that is absolutly brilliant is the Music. The games stages are full of glitches and the hub world is very dull. Although the games graphics and sound is brilliant the gameplay wont make you stay playing the game but it will make you realy fustrated. A good thing about the game is the enviroments of the stages. Some Stages are fun to play but most will completely troll you.Overall: This Sonic game has fantastic Music and Graphics but if you want to get this game for the Gameplay and not the graphics and sound this game is definatly not for.The Story is all right but not amazing. An all right game but not one you should really buy for even £10. Story:5.5/10 Graphics8/10 Music:9.5/10 Gameplay:4/10 Presentaion:4/10 Replay Value:5/10 Overall:5/10 Expand
  12. Feb 12, 2014
    5
    personally, I like this game. I know the game has faults including its horrible story. but if you do not take it seriously and mess around with the game its a so bad its good kind of game. I am not saying to follow this example because it should not be followed but the way all of these glitches happens in the game to sonics meter never depleting so that you can use the gems powers as longpersonally, I like this game. I know the game has faults including its horrible story. but if you do not take it seriously and mess around with the game its a so bad its good kind of game. I am not saying to follow this example because it should not be followed but the way all of these glitches happens in the game to sonics meter never depleting so that you can use the gems powers as long as you want can make for some funny LP footage. as a fan of sonic I am a little bit disappointed but at the same time I am glad the game exist so that we can just laugh at what a horrible game this is all together. Expand
  13. Jun 22, 2014
    6
    Well I must say the game is quite boring at times and there are glitches like silver walking on the bottom of blocks and not falling or enemies can fly but the only major glitch I found was getting stuck in a wall unable to move. The controls are a bit dodgy so they need some getting used to. I think everyone knows but I really dislike Elise and mephlies as well as Dr eggmans design .Well I must say the game is quite boring at times and there are glitches like silver walking on the bottom of blocks and not falling or enemies can fly but the only major glitch I found was getting stuck in a wall unable to move. The controls are a bit dodgy so they need some getting used to. I think everyone knows but I really dislike Elise and mephlies as well as Dr eggmans design . Overall this is an OK game with a few glitches which shows Sega rushed the game but I say get it if its super cheap in bargain bins or something Expand
  14. Dec 20, 2014
    7
    Sonic 06 may be undeniable flawed but it's one of those games in my nostalgia that I can't help but love. Video Games are supposed to be fun in the end and I had a blast playing this game, however I will fully admit that it's not the worst Sonic game ever, it's at least playable unlike Free Riders, Secret Rings, and Sonic the Hedgehog Genesis. I'll admit the game made me rage a few timesSonic 06 may be undeniable flawed but it's one of those games in my nostalgia that I can't help but love. Video Games are supposed to be fun in the end and I had a blast playing this game, however I will fully admit that it's not the worst Sonic game ever, it's at least playable unlike Free Riders, Secret Rings, and Sonic the Hedgehog Genesis. I'll admit the game made me rage a few times due to it's lack of polish, mach speed zones, and the Silver fight but I enjoyed the game due to the amount of playable characters, the level design was pretty good, the game looks really good, and it has my favorite Video Game soundtrack of all time. Overall, I like Sonic 06 even though it's flawed. Expand
  15. Apr 27, 2013
    6
    the game isn't as bad as many people may say. it brings alot of interesting ideas topped of with decent controls and great level design that emphasises platforming. story... it's the worst thing ever, characters... sonic isn't sonic and tails states the obvious but the rest isn't that bad. the graphics are nice and colorfull and levels are easily identified. the game isn't finished and hasthe game isn't as bad as many people may say. it brings alot of interesting ideas topped of with decent controls and great level design that emphasises platforming. story... it's the worst thing ever, characters... sonic isn't sonic and tails states the obvious but the rest isn't that bad. the graphics are nice and colorfull and levels are easily identified. the game isn't finished and has lots of bugs. the characters are a bit too slow but the level design does make up for it a bit. this game is for sonic fans and nobody else. Expand
  16. Oct 24, 2013
    5
    This game is usually considered the worst by many, but I say it has potential, the main problems are the awful loading times and the bad physics, but I actually had fun playing the game. The price isn't worth it during it's release date.
  17. Jun 20, 2013
    7
    Sonic the Hedgehog (AKA Sonic '06) is a game that has a really bad reputation, but all in all, it's not extremely bad.
    - The controls are slightly awkward, but are kinda easy to get used to
    - The story is the worst part, it's a mess - The graphics are pretty nice for the 360, although the animation isn't good - The music is the best part, one of the best soundtracks in the Sonic
    Sonic the Hedgehog (AKA Sonic '06) is a game that has a really bad reputation, but all in all, it's not extremely bad.
    - The controls are slightly awkward, but are kinda easy to get used to
    - The story is the worst part, it's a mess
    - The graphics are pretty nice for the 360, although the animation isn't good
    - The music is the best part, one of the best soundtracks in the Sonic franchise
    - Game-play styles vary, adds a lot of variety to the game
    - Some replay value, but nothing unlocks any extra content, so it useless considering the time it takes to get all Gold medals
    - Glitches mostly have to be done purposely, but you may run into one every once in a while
    - Frame-rate is stable in this version, much more than the PS3 version
    Sonic '06 is definitely a game with a bad rep, but certainly not the worst (check Shadow the Hedgehog for the worst).
    Expand
  18. Dec 16, 2013
    7
    as a sonic fan from the end of sonics 2d world im going to defend this game with 1 single word rushed sonic fans are one fan base you should not try to understand they are evil stupid and most of all annoying as hell sega pushed this game out of the window as fast as possible to shut the sonic fan base up so 7 from me
  19. May 11, 2015
    5
    Not gonna deny the game wasn't great. It wasn't even good. But it wasn't **** I enjoyed playing the story, as complicated as it was. Plus you have to admit exploiting the glitches was a fun way to pass the time. Even the 2-Player mode was fun. However the end sucked so much ass that it borderline breaks the game. Everyone can agree on that.
  20. Dec 4, 2011
    7
    Its easy to say that this game is the worst Sonic game ever made, but its hard saying why, well this is my opinion the game doesn't suck that bad.
    Let me explain, yes its true the games has some strange glitches and some weird physic problems that can ruin our game play but nothing that deserves such hate and rage I saw worse and played worse really, the music is awesome and the graphics
    Its easy to say that this game is the worst Sonic game ever made, but its hard saying why, well this is my opinion the game doesn't suck that bad.
    Let me explain, yes its true the games has some strange glitches and some weird physic problems that can ruin our game play but nothing that deserves such hate and rage I saw worse and played worse really, the music is awesome and the graphics are amazing this game was made in 2005!
    Now the gameplay isn't that bad it reminds me of Sonic Adventure mixed with Sonic Heroes (which was a Great game), the homing attack isn't bad and the only complain I have is the speed cuz Sonic is supposed to be fast but in this game Sonic is "WAY TO SLOW" but the speed stages are good enough yes they're hard but nothing bad, if you say such things as " I DIED TO MUCH" maybe you just suck at Sonic games man or girl or Futa...
    The story is awesome! Well...*ahem* to be fair the only thing wrong with the story is Elise cuz she makes weak because he need to protect her all the time, they also have a strange zoophilia relation but c'mon would you kill Roger Rabbit?
    The game suffers from "Loading as **** problem and that's the only thing I really hate on the game!
    But guys you need to know something this game suffered from hate propaganda made by classic fans, they were spreading their opinion and many people followed their opinion without playing the game properly.
    This is all really the game is so over rated and it doesn't deserve all this hate aits not that bad so stop **** and play the game like this!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ye1aZ9GNatY&feature=related
    Expand
  21. Sep 22, 2013
    5
    The game-play is boring and awful, the level design is shocking, the story is laughable. Only Blaze the cat was actually enjoyable to play as but you only play as her 3 times, the rest were terrible to play as. The music and graphics are really good though. Good thing that Sonic Unleashed was an massive improvement. This is the worst Sonic game I've ever played but when people say Sonic isThe game-play is boring and awful, the level design is shocking, the story is laughable. Only Blaze the cat was actually enjoyable to play as but you only play as her 3 times, the rest were terrible to play as. The music and graphics are really good though. Good thing that Sonic Unleashed was an massive improvement. This is the worst Sonic game I've ever played but when people say Sonic is dead, I disagree because the games afterwards were so much better. Sonic has a good career but had some bad day's. Expand
  22. Jun 23, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic '06. A game released to 'Celebrate' the 15th anniversary of the Series. Let's start with the bad: It's buggy, The plot is stupid, the levels are unmemorable and dull, the graphics are none too pleasing in my opinion, and the whole game just feels too dark for a Sonic Title.

    It's not all terrible though. I mean, the music's good, the bosses' designs are pretty neat, if a bit too realistic for Sonic. The glitches are some of the most fun I've had breaking a game, from going to space, to standing upside down. If you're a glitch hunter, it's a must-have.

    However, these glitches, while many and entertaining, are actually quite rare without going out of your way. I originally played through the whole game, and only experienced a couple of bugs. It was only on my second playthrough, after hearing all of this stuff about bugs and the like, that I started experiencing them, and even then, normally causing them deliberately.

    But the plot. It's just unforgivable. I mean, who's idea was it to have a plot in a Sonic game, where Sonic just blindly chases someone who isn't even the main bad guy?! THE MAIN CHARACTER IS UTTERLY USELESS UNTIL THE VERY END! If you're curious and can find it for less than a fiver, then you may as well. Don't buy it for anything less, for any reason. Ever.
    Expand
  23. DaveD.
    Jan 28, 2007
    7
    A lot of review's have said that this is god damn awful, not so. okay its not what we were expecting i admit, its broken in places and the storys not interesting enough to engage but it's an above-average platformer and lets face it what much else can u do with Sonic? Its great fun nothing else. oh and it also has great soundtrack. Theres always Sonic 2.
  24. TommyF.
    Feb 6, 2008
    5
    Good story, but bad sensitivity.
  25. JohnK.
    Nov 20, 2006
    7
    The new Sonic is good, but it isn't the best one of the series. The mach speed areas are a highlight for this game. The camera views are painful a lot of the times. When are they going to fix the camera? Other than that, this game is a must for Sonic fans. Others, I would warrant a rent first.
  26. JoshK.
    Dec 4, 2006
    7
    While the gameplay itself is full of technical errors, the sense of speed from Sonic is incredible. The graphics are lush, the levels are big, and the musical score is the best in the series. The storyline is full of plot-holes and confusion, but it doesn't overall hurt the naturality of the game, be it for better or for worse.
  27. BartK.
    Jul 9, 2007
    7
    Playing this game I enjoyed the variety of different specialties and attacks based on the character, as well as the dramatic last story and ending, but the town missions and the "human world" takes away some of the luster.
  28. BryanM.
    Nov 20, 2006
    5
    This sonic is one of the best. it just does not live up to the hype. they should have not rushed it. the graphics are not that good, and the controls stink.but if your a true sonic fan this game is for you.
  29. [Anonymous]
    Dec 31, 2006
    7
    Playing Sonic the Hedgehog, you will find yourself impressed by the moments when the game "gets it right", and frustrated by the many moments in between where it "gets it wrong". If you enjoyed any of Sonic's previous 3D console outings, you will find some enjoyment in this game as well.
  30. MarkH.
    Nov 22, 2006
    5
    An awful camera and graphical glitches show why this game is destined for the bargain bin, then hopefully the trash bin.
  31. Jul 10, 2012
    7
    To put it simple: this game is not AS bad as a lot of people say it is. From all of those glitches and bugs I've personally only encountered two serious. The controls need a little time to get used to, but after that they have nearly no issues. There are indeed long loading times, but installing the game on Hard Drive really helps in this situation. Other aspects: Music is great, story isTo put it simple: this game is not AS bad as a lot of people say it is. From all of those glitches and bugs I've personally only encountered two serious. The controls need a little time to get used to, but after that they have nearly no issues. There are indeed long loading times, but installing the game on Hard Drive really helps in this situation. Other aspects: Music is great, story is good, voices are good, gameplay feels exactly as Sonic Adventure. It's not brilliant, but it's much better that most people think. Expand
  32. Feb 5, 2014
    5
    First of all, this should not be see as a game, this is a movie.
    The music is awesome, the story even more, but the gameplay is where it all comes wrong.
    To be honest this should be a movie instead of a game, because the gameplay doesnt match NOTHING to the story.
  33. Aug 26, 2014
    5
    Sonic the Hedgehog is a simply awful game,and is not just the game,is the entire idea.They wanted to make a story about princess Elise falling in love with Sonic or something like that but not only is not well executed but there are A LOT of plot holes which I wont bothter mentioning right now.Altought I have to say that the level design isn't that bad and the chaos emereald power ups areSonic the Hedgehog is a simply awful game,and is not just the game,is the entire idea.They wanted to make a story about princess Elise falling in love with Sonic or something like that but not only is not well executed but there are A LOT of plot holes which I wont bothter mentioning right now.Altought I have to say that the level design isn't that bad and the chaos emereald power ups are pretty cool,If you don't use them to pretty much break the game.Bottom of line,don't even consider buying this game,it's just a buggy,unfinished,SIMPLY bad mess. Expand
  34. s11
    Aug 2, 2015
    5
    I'm giving it a neutral (5/10) rating.

    Great music.
    some of the cut-scenes are very funny: case and point: Shadow giving Silver the good old roundhouse kick after freezing him with Chaos Control.

    Sadly, the game was rushed.

    If the game was not rushed for Sonic's 15th birthday, who knows? it could have been Sonic Adventure 3.
  35. Jul 21, 2015
    6
    While not the game I was expecting for an anniversary title, this game does get the job done where it needs to be done, although many aspects of the game are either rushed or not functional at all. At best, this game is worthy of a few playthroughs to entertain yourself.
  36. Dec 6, 2012
    0
    This game had potential, but god did Sonic Team **** it up something fierce, the physics engine is BROKEN, Sonic will often slam into a wall, for no reason, some of the level designs are pretty neat, but they tend to drag on, and the "Mach Speed" stages are just broken. How do you **** up an IP like this so badly? It's like this game wasn't even beta tested. I could look past the horribleThis game had potential, but god did Sonic Team **** it up something fierce, the physics engine is BROKEN, Sonic will often slam into a wall, for no reason, some of the level designs are pretty neat, but they tend to drag on, and the "Mach Speed" stages are just broken. How do you **** up an IP like this so badly? It's like this game wasn't even beta tested. I could look past the horrible Final Fantasy rip off story if the gameplay was good, but it just isn't. The graphics are pretty awful for a 360/PS3 game as well, the city looks like card board, the people hilariously bad out of cut scenes, the best looking models are Sonic, Tails, and Knuckles. And, to top it all off, they got the voice actors from 4KIDS to do the dub, that just speaks for itself. Collapse
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 38
  2. Negative: 22 out of 38
  1. 55
    If only the developers had focused on delivering a simple, fun experience rather than trying to create something far beyond their reach.
  2. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. It’s like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.
  3. Atrocious camera angles lead to cheap deaths, the slippery controls make it difficult to get a handle on the characters and the game has a large problem with pacing. It tries to mix in side missions with general stages, and the disastrous results ruin the game.