User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 511 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2017
    10
    This is a rip off of Super mz, ad cv dhs89ADFBCvglhi uM< VXbhadFMN XDSFP
    I;o*ar:igiherguehgerhguerhguerghueuhrhugerhugerhugerhueghugerhurghugerhugeruhehrgugrehuhuerg
  2. Nov 3, 2017
    7
    This game had everything it needed to be a good game. A TRULY good game. But, sadly, it was not meant to be. Bugs, glitches, poor cutscenes, trashy voices, it all screamed RUSHED. But I guess that's what the fans get. What goes around come around.......

    This game gets a 7 for its potential, nothing more.
  3. Nov 1, 2017
    10
    I love this game! I know its bad But I just can't help but love it. I understand the hate but I still give it a 10 because i had so much fun with this game!
  4. Oct 19, 2017
    3
    To be perfectly fair, the first cutscene makes you think the game will be amazing. The CGI cutscenes are actually really good, but the computer mix stuff was just garbage. The story campaign was probably the only good thing about the game besides the the glitch heaven that is this game, when Sonic takes a random dance break against a rock. Honestly Mario was good enough with a princess. SoTo be perfectly fair, the first cutscene makes you think the game will be amazing. The CGI cutscenes are actually really good, but the computer mix stuff was just garbage. The story campaign was probably the only good thing about the game besides the the glitch heaven that is this game, when Sonic takes a random dance break against a rock. Honestly Mario was good enough with a princess. So SEGA, PLEASE just stick with Amy. Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2017
    10
    This is The Best Sonic GAm ever Theres are Too many Bugs That makes THe Game Enjoyable It Worth Playing Its so Goood Yeah Better then sonic 3 and sonic mania
  6. Aug 30, 2017
    3
    The glitchy gameplay and the awful story makes the game bad I agree. But there are good things about Sonic 06 for example, the music is fantastic and so are the graphics (for it's time). I don't recommend it but just listen it's not the worst game ever.
  7. Jul 29, 2017
    9
    I think this game is okay. Played it on the X360 first, and PS3 afterwards. The controls aren't AWFUL just in mock-speed sections, they are slippery. The story is OKAY . . . and Sonic's personality isn't just all "Hey, Baldy McNoseHair!" So, I rate it a 9 / 10!
    +Graphics, Story, Gameplay and the MEMES
  8. Jun 30, 2017
    0
    Ugh so let's see. Sonic Team wanted to make a great Sonic game but Sega rushed it so instead we got this Sonic Adventure styled inbred abomination if a fanfic story, horrible characterization, bad controls, and tons of glitches. Terrible.
  9. May 30, 2017
    10
    My Favorite Part was when I was battling Silver and He said "IT'S NO USE!!" Whoever thought of that as Silver's Catchphrase is a true genius..........
  10. May 16, 2017
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is something fun to play this game. the sountracks are very good. Sonic the Hedgehog (2006). could be one of the best Sonics 3d, because the scheme game is like Sonic adventure, but Sonic adventure was a game that had high quality for the year in which came out .sonic 2006 lacked more development time, the game often has a speed slow, the loading times are very slow and some unnecessary. Expand
  11. May 15, 2017
    8
    The music is AWESOME!!! Hands down, the best, of probably ANY video game franchise! 2 of the greatest songs are on there! His World, and Solaris Phase 2, which I happen to be listening too at the song right now! But, the gameplay isn't the best... the music makes up for it.
  12. Mar 8, 2017
    8
    While Sonic 06 received very very harsh criticism and having played it thoroughly, I can understand their point of view, I still enjoyed Sonic 06 to its maximum potential and believe if you look past the multiple glitches, control issues and story line, you have a fantastic game. The music is the best part, and could be one of the best soundtracks in any Sonic game, nothing new here. MyWhile Sonic 06 received very very harsh criticism and having played it thoroughly, I can understand their point of view, I still enjoyed Sonic 06 to its maximum potential and believe if you look past the multiple glitches, control issues and story line, you have a fantastic game. The music is the best part, and could be one of the best soundtracks in any Sonic game, nothing new here. My personal favourite part about Sonic 06 was the level design, something I believe reviewers overlooked. Each level has numerous pathways, shortcuts and hidden areas which add significant amounts of depth to the game. There is also a lot of fine detail put into each level for a 2006 game which is very impressive, in particular the jungle level. The locations are distinctive in nature and I felt I had a great time playing each new level as it felt entirely fresh from the previous level, one of my favourite factors in a platforming game. Overall Sonic 06 is a great time once you overlook the same issues which have been mentioned a million times already. Expand
  13. Mar 7, 2017
    10
    This game has ton of glitch's But past that can be a lot of fun as long as you don't run into or find any glitch's. But hey that's my opinion on it and you have yours but I have it for the reason of proving people wrong that Sonic 06 is a good game every one can play.
  14. Feb 18, 2017
    8
    Sonic 06, one of the most hated games by fans and criticized by critics. In my opinion, this game is pretty great. I can easily praise the visuals and catchy soundtracks in this game. There so many glitches to find, but mostly they occur, when you are a reckless player and try to find something negative to criticize it. Glitches didn't really bother me to be honest, the storyline was okay.Sonic 06, one of the most hated games by fans and criticized by critics. In my opinion, this game is pretty great. I can easily praise the visuals and catchy soundtracks in this game. There so many glitches to find, but mostly they occur, when you are a reckless player and try to find something negative to criticize it. Glitches didn't really bother me to be honest, the storyline was okay. Sonic's and Princess Elise's relationship wasn't that good, Elise was a warm, good and loving to others, but her relationship with Sonic was such a disgrace. The kissing scene was pretty disgusting to watch, I would prefer to her tear drop on Sonic's face and ressurrect him. Level designs and scoring system was pretty well. Also adding adding Silver and Blaze in this game gave good impact to the game, His levels were different, they were slow but using telekinesis and manipulating badniks' powers was kinda fun. In overall this game is really amazing and fun to play. Expand
  15. Feb 3, 2017
    0
    For me this was the end of Sonic's legacy, he has made good games since but nothing will ever make fans forget the shoddy experience that was Sonic 06. Sonic Team should have never made this horrible game.
  16. Feb 2, 2017
    2
    [ Edited on 2/2/2017 ] Sonic the Hedgehog on the Xbox 360... before we can get started with the many flaws that made this game a failure, we have to experience how hard this should have been for the Sonic Team if this wasn't rushed to selected marketplaces. Sure, there were great things about it, but that amount of great things is the rarity of a blue moon. Playing this without discovering[ Edited on 2/2/2017 ] Sonic the Hedgehog on the Xbox 360... before we can get started with the many flaws that made this game a failure, we have to experience how hard this should have been for the Sonic Team if this wasn't rushed to selected marketplaces. Sure, there were great things about it, but that amount of great things is the rarity of a blue moon. Playing this without discovering a bug is nearly impossible and will nearly kill your playtime in pieces. Not only are the glitches the only thing terrible about this. It's the unbearable relationship between human and hedgehog. I'm very glad Elise doesn't appear in any more installments of the franchise but it makes me want to grab a team to make a spin-off game about her only. Silver's introduction was nearly rough and bumpy. Again, you can't deny that the music here is great, but this music can't save a broken game anyways so why bother. Hopefully, the Sonic Team has learned their lessons after this game. Expand
  17. Jan 3, 2017
    0
    Story, lag, unfinished garbage, this game is just plain awful a lot, destroy it with fire, terrible controls the only decent things are silver and the soundtrack, other than that, screw this game hard
  18. Jan 2, 2017
    3
    Whenever I talk to someone about this game, they typically say "Sonic '06 would be great without the glitches". I say no. The eviroments are bland and uninspired (although pretty impressive considering the source material), the story would make The Phantom Menace blush, and the loading times are long enough to make a sandwich. The camera is a major problem too. I found myself fighting theWhenever I talk to someone about this game, they typically say "Sonic '06 would be great without the glitches". I say no. The eviroments are bland and uninspired (although pretty impressive considering the source material), the story would make The Phantom Menace blush, and the loading times are long enough to make a sandwich. The camera is a major problem too. I found myself fighting the camera more than the games enemies! I like the music though, especially "His World" Expand
  19. Dec 19, 2016
    4
    This is just a rushed cashgrab of the 15 anniversary of sonic. (Note that I played HALF of the game, not the full game.)

    It's amazing that this game is so bad, that it's the game for the 15 anniversary of sonic. Lets start out with the story: a mess. This game has so many plot holes that the story isn't even worth it. In some cutsense, the game looks amazing, but in most cutsense, it a
    This is just a rushed cashgrab of the 15 anniversary of sonic. (Note that I played HALF of the game, not the full game.)

    It's amazing that this game is so bad, that it's the game for the 15 anniversary of sonic. Lets start out with the story: a mess. This game has so many plot holes that the story isn't even worth it. In some cutsense, the game looks amazing, but in most cutsense, it a huge downgrade. Not to mention that the game has a mouth full of long loading screens. Every single objective there is a loading screen, then the character you talked to to start the objective says some things, and the ANOTHER loading screen. This gets old super fast.

    Gameplay has a lot of bugs and glitches. The games framerate is low if there is a lot on screen, but it's smooth. Sonic has his homing attack, as usual, but with tails, he uses fake rings as his attack... Couldn't tails' attack couldn't be any lazier? Not only that, but the running stages are the most frustrating parts of the game, sense Sonic is mostly uncontrollable.

    The soundtrack is actually the best part of the game, it's very well done. Voice acting is nice as well.

    I do not recommend this game.
    Expand
  20. Dec 14, 2016
    9
    Great game. While I prefer Bubsy to Sonic, this game is a masterpiece. While Bubsy 3D is an overall superior experience, I can assure you this game is still worth your while.
  21. Nov 28, 2016
    5
    Let me make one thing clear. This is not the worst Sonic game ever made. Sonic Boom Rise of Lyric takes that cake. I've played this game way more times than necessary because there are some enjoyable things in this game. I played it on the Xbox 360 and I have not encountered nearly the amount of bugs and glitches that I've seen in Let's Plays. The most I've encountered are hit box issuesLet me make one thing clear. This is not the worst Sonic game ever made. Sonic Boom Rise of Lyric takes that cake. I've played this game way more times than necessary because there are some enjoyable things in this game. I played it on the Xbox 360 and I have not encountered nearly the amount of bugs and glitches that I've seen in Let's Plays. The most I've encountered are hit box issues with Shadow and Silver's stories. But Sonic's stages like Crisis City and Wave Ocean are legitimately fun. Some of Radical train is fun but not one I revisit regularly. Yes this game is a terrible game but it is not the worst game ever made. The story is all kinds of awful and the controls definitely need a lot of work. The voice acting is awful and the human animations are horrendous. But the voice actors and writers were given a very strict amount of time and few chances to redo lines and refine the story. The developers had to use the first build of the game due to problems in the e3 build that were unfixable in the amount of time that SEGA was allowing. Had this game been finished I am sure it would be a great sonic game. But since the game is unfinished then I cannot truly give a complete review of this game. Expand
  22. Nov 15, 2016
    10
    Amazing, you must buy this game even if you won't have any money after you buy it, great gameplay great loading time great story and greatest twist of all time, and if you think I was being serious your gonna have a bad time
  23. Oct 30, 2016
    6
    This game is just as good as it is bad. Sonic The Hedgehog was only 40% complete when it was released, and that is pretty bad. But, for a 40% complete game, it was still enjoyable, not just ironically. The graphics were actually pretty good for an early Xbox 360/PlayStation 3 title. The music was fantastic. The gameplay is where the game is not so good. It had the right idea for mostThis game is just as good as it is bad. Sonic The Hedgehog was only 40% complete when it was released, and that is pretty bad. But, for a 40% complete game, it was still enjoyable, not just ironically. The graphics were actually pretty good for an early Xbox 360/PlayStation 3 title. The music was fantastic. The gameplay is where the game is not so good. It had the right idea for most things. Being able to use multiple characters with different gameplay styles, but not as different as what the Adventure games had. This had potential of being a Sonic Adventure 3 in a way, but due to having to "rush it for the holiday season", they screwed up. There were also a few other things going on during the development. Silver's gameplay was a bit slow for a Sonic game. He had some cool powers, but still. Shadow's gameplay was disappointing. He is my favorite Sonic character, and his gameplay was one of the worst in this game. Sonic's gameplay was the best of the 3, but it still had issues. I can agree with people that the loading times were very slow. This game can also get a bit hard time to time. Part of the reason is because of the controls. Overall though, this game has a lot of good and a lot of bad. I never ran into any glitches every time I played this game, or if I did, they didn't bother me that much. Not saying they weren't there, cause I've seen them in videos. But, I personally have never run into any major glitches. This game is not one of the worst games ever made, but it was still...meh. Expand
  24. Oct 18, 2016
    10
    SO. HECKING. GOOD! Don't get me wrong, Sonic Adventure 2 was pretty good. But let's be real, the only outstanding parts of the game were the Big the Cat sections. But this game? It's the best. The story? EPIC. I love how Sonic fell in love with a human girl, it really worked. The gameplay? FANTASTIC! You get to go so fast, and all the characters play really well. Conclusion? THE BEST GAMESO. HECKING. GOOD! Don't get me wrong, Sonic Adventure 2 was pretty good. But let's be real, the only outstanding parts of the game were the Big the Cat sections. But this game? It's the best. The story? EPIC. I love how Sonic fell in love with a human girl, it really worked. The gameplay? FANTASTIC! You get to go so fast, and all the characters play really well. Conclusion? THE BEST GAME OF IT'S TIME! The only Sonic game to succeed this is Sonic Boom. Even if you have played Sonic Boom, this game is a must-play for all living things. I don't care how you get it, GET THIS GAME NOW! Expand
  25. Sep 28, 2016
    4
    O jogo era para ser grandioso, mas a sega lançou o jogo em fase beta mesmo assim, cheio de erros, alguns personagens tem graficos feios, cheio de bugs e historia estranha de romance entre a princesa e sonic
  26. Sep 18, 2016
    1
    Bad gameplay, bad new characters, bad stages, BAD EVERYTHING. The only thing that is "good" in the game are the musics. His World is a perfect song for a final battle or for a epic moment. But every other aspect are SH#T !
  27. Sep 3, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best mother **** game of all **** time would play again 10/10 **** my **** i wish this game was longer so i can play forever make a new one please sonic 16 it would be the best just use the old stuff but add more to it (PLEASE SEND HELP) oh ya sonic dies Expand
  28. Aug 22, 2016
    8
    People can say whatever they want about games, it's good, it's bad, in my opinion I don't think it matters. Take it from me when I say a game can either be good or bad depending on how you make it that way when you play it. I usually like to stay positive when playing games and Sonic 06 is no exception. For an anniversary game with much potential that turned to be terrible as most criticsPeople can say whatever they want about games, it's good, it's bad, in my opinion I don't think it matters. Take it from me when I say a game can either be good or bad depending on how you make it that way when you play it. I usually like to stay positive when playing games and Sonic 06 is no exception. For an anniversary game with much potential that turned to be terrible as most critics say, I would feel bad for hating on it. I keep practicing until I overcome all the glitches and turmoil with the slippery controls, and turn out to have fun at the end. And that's why I'm not going to listen to a bunch of reviews, because this is for me to decide whether I want to have fun on the game or not. Expand
  29. Aug 18, 2016
    8
    The game is fine. I know it's a piece of crap. But I grew up playing it. And I didn't know it was bad by the time. Plus, the glitches are fun as heck!
  30. Aug 17, 2016
    2
    This game is frustratingly awful. I had a hard time with every level glitching out and killing me time after time. The loading time though annoying is manageable except for the pointless parts where it takes you to a three second piece of dialogue in betwen loading screens! The graphics for being an early xbnox 360 and ps3 game, are pretty decent. The music is okay too. But the combat forThis game is frustratingly awful. I had a hard time with every level glitching out and killing me time after time. The loading time though annoying is manageable except for the pointless parts where it takes you to a three second piece of dialogue in betwen loading screens! The graphics for being an early xbnox 360 and ps3 game, are pretty decent. The music is okay too. But the combat for silver and all characters aside from shadow and sonic are just awful. That is why it gets a two and that's pushing it. Expand
  31. Aug 12, 2016
    9
    Ahh the most UNDERRATED VIDEOGAME OF ALL TIME I actually enjoyed the story and the gameplay I completed all stories and the last shadows and sonics are awesome well silvers is ok in total the controls are NOT bad like people say even for 2016 standards the graphics are GREAT my only problems are ibilis phase 2 and egg genesis the WORST SONIC BOSSES EVER!!! but ibilis 1 is fun with SilverAhh the most UNDERRATED VIDEOGAME OF ALL TIME I actually enjoyed the story and the gameplay I completed all stories and the last shadows and sonics are awesome well silvers is ok in total the controls are NOT bad like people say even for 2016 standards the graphics are GREAT my only problems are ibilis phase 2 and egg genesis the WORST SONIC BOSSES EVER!!! but ibilis 1 is fun with Silver so in a quick review this game is a fun action platformer with glitches as unnoticeable as a tic and its flaws are Silvers ok story mode and 2 or should I say 3 bosses I HATE HATE HATE! so this game deserves love Expand
  32. Aug 5, 2016
    8
    So uh I love this game because of how broken it is, I didn't find the controls terrible just little too precise, the story is a plot hole ridden mess but I enjoyed it, the bosses are a mixed bag, the soundtrack **** awesome everyone can agree on that. So uhh yeah I love this game, and I'm not ashamed, let's keep in mind that everyone saying a games terrible isn't fact it's an opinion, andSo uh I love this game because of how broken it is, I didn't find the controls terrible just little too precise, the story is a plot hole ridden mess but I enjoyed it, the bosses are a mixed bag, the soundtrack **** awesome everyone can agree on that. So uhh yeah I love this game, and I'm not ashamed, let's keep in mind that everyone saying a games terrible isn't fact it's an opinion, and that's my opinion! Expand
  33. Jul 31, 2016
    1
    A barely functioning sub-par game that constantly has frame-rate drops, slowdown and tediously long loading screens with a nonsensical convoluted story with more holes than Swiss Cheese.
  34. Jul 16, 2016
    1
    THIS is the worst game ever loading times bad story and THE BUGS
    the only good thing is the music tracks i have the ps3 version btw
    i got this on xmas of 2015 i wanted ist btw
  35. Jul 9, 2016
    2
    One of the worst games ive ever played. The animation and music were OK, and that's it. That's just it.
    The game was so beginner unfriendly. Its kind of like this: Thanks for buying Sonic 06! Now do a speedrun level and learn all the controls and physics for this game. I got to what I think was the 2nd level, and then got trapped in a hole I couldn't escape. After a few minutes of trying
    One of the worst games ive ever played. The animation and music were OK, and that's it. That's just it.
    The game was so beginner unfriendly. Its kind of like this: Thanks for buying Sonic 06! Now do a speedrun level and learn all the controls and physics for this game. I got to what I think was the 2nd level, and then got trapped in a hole I couldn't escape. After a few minutes of trying to escape, I realized this game was bad and I haven't played it since. Not a good 2012 Christmas present, don't buy this.
    Expand
  36. Jun 29, 2016
    0
    Sonic 06 is an absolute slap in the face to all Sonic fans. This game is a broken mess. There are glitches everywhere, the graphics are unimpressive, the story is stupid and confusing, and the game as a whole is uninteresting. The only good thing about this game is the soundtrack. I'm a hardcore sonic fan, but this is not even worth renting for a laugh.
  37. Jun 27, 2016
    5
    Sonic The Hedgehog isn't the trainwreck that fans would have you believe however, it's certainly a hell of a misfire. A realistic and epic vision of Sonic the Hedgehog seems pointless because of the character and his world's very nature. Sonic has been slowed down with blander environments to choose from and his friends are sadly no better. There's a large roster of characters to play asSonic The Hedgehog isn't the trainwreck that fans would have you believe however, it's certainly a hell of a misfire. A realistic and epic vision of Sonic the Hedgehog seems pointless because of the character and his world's very nature. Sonic has been slowed down with blander environments to choose from and his friends are sadly no better. There's a large roster of characters to play as but most of them don't control as well as they did in previous titles and are filled with technical issues. The graphics are decent and the story does seem epic but the inclusion of a new human supporting cast in a royal kingdom with gods and demigods screams that Sonic is just a sheep in wolf clothing for this outing. Expand
  38. Jun 23, 2016
    10
    Sonic 06 is great game for ps3 and 360. I love princess elise, sonelise, and the rest. Get sonic 06 for ps3 and 360, It's better than superman for n64.
  39. May 29, 2016
    3
    The best thing I can say about this "game" is the opening cut-scene's graphics like oh my god looks like we won't be seeing anything like this anymore in the game. Sonic's character is pretty good I guess 3/10.
  40. May 17, 2016
    0
    Seriously, screw this game this is so terrible that I don't even know why SEGA is still around but this game could have been so much better but stupid SEGA rushed development but I will admit that the music is awesome. This game is still so terrible it shouldn't even exist and I urge anyone who bought this waste of your time, money and sanity to burn it with a blowtorch,cut it with aSeriously, screw this game this is so terrible that I don't even know why SEGA is still around but this game could have been so much better but stupid SEGA rushed development but I will admit that the music is awesome. This game is still so terrible it shouldn't even exist and I urge anyone who bought this waste of your time, money and sanity to burn it with a blowtorch,cut it with a chainsaw, crush it with a car and burn it even more to send it back where it came from. Hell. Expand
  41. Apr 25, 2016
    0
    Its disgusting how this game even has the audacity to even use the name of the first beloved Sonic classic as if it will be anything like the first game
  42. Apr 4, 2016
    1
    This was the game that really started to ruin sonics legacy. We are probably never going to get a good sonic game are we. Or even a good show. It glitches, storyline sucks, and gameplay is terrible.
  43. Apr 1, 2016
    8
    Good game 8/10 . Good graphics for 2006 , but this game have bugs , but in this game not many bugs . Long Loading , but awesome levels . Wave Ocean , Crisis City and other . This game have good storyline behind Sonic and Shadow , but average storyline behind Silver . First level Wave Ocean a bit like a Emerald Coast from Sonic Adventure . In STH 2006 goodd graphics , good storyline andGood game 8/10 . Good graphics for 2006 , but this game have bugs , but in this game not many bugs . Long Loading , but awesome levels . Wave Ocean , Crisis City and other . This game have good storyline behind Sonic and Shadow , but average storyline behind Silver . First level Wave Ocean a bit like a Emerald Coast from Sonic Adventure . In STH 2006 goodd graphics , good storyline and amazing gameplay . Expand
  44. Mar 10, 2016
    4
    Wow... wow... I knew this game was bad, but it didn't know it was this bad. Sonic the Hedgehog is so unfinished it's laughable. How the hell can you glitch through levels? I know there are lot more bugs but that's just laziness right there. And don't get me started on Silver. The reason I gave it a little credit, because of the music, and how great it looks for 2006. Other than that, binWow... wow... I knew this game was bad, but it didn't know it was this bad. Sonic the Hedgehog is so unfinished it's laughable. How the hell can you glitch through levels? I know there are lot more bugs but that's just laziness right there. And don't get me started on Silver. The reason I gave it a little credit, because of the music, and how great it looks for 2006. Other than that, bin this POS. Expand
  45. Feb 23, 2016
    10
    This game isn't THAT bad. I really enjoyed it. Yes, it had some plot holes and glitches, but they don't affect the game that much. The story IMO is awesome, new cool character's such as Silver and Mephiles. Sonic ;06 is an underrated game, I'd like to see a remake
  46. Feb 22, 2016
    0
    This game is terrible, the character's are lame, the story makes no sense, there are glitches everywhere, the game-play is horrible, the camera feels like an epilepsy victim was using it, the loading screen's are annoying, the controls are insane, and Sonic is so fast, that the game play 's by itself, the only good thing about this game is that the graphics look very nice, but that'sThis game is terrible, the character's are lame, the story makes no sense, there are glitches everywhere, the game-play is horrible, the camera feels like an epilepsy victim was using it, the loading screen's are annoying, the controls are insane, and Sonic is so fast, that the game play 's by itself, the only good thing about this game is that the graphics look very nice, but that's saying much, DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME!!
    Play other 3D game's, like Mario or Zelda.
    Expand
  47. Feb 9, 2016
    10
    10/10 BEST SANIC GAME EVER IT HAZ TAILZ SND SANIC WIT OME GRILL TOO HOW CAN ANY 1 HAT DIS Gayme ONLY A TRU SAINC FAN CAN WIKE DIS GAME best sanic game every best sanic gens and sonic 1 sanic 2
  48. Feb 6, 2016
    2
    Sonic '06... Sonic '06... oh my gosh. Ten years later, and it is still a terrible, broken, and sometimes unfinished mess. I know this game was rushed and development started right after Shadow's game and Sonic Team had to adjust to the new Xbox 360 and PS3 hardware and it was Sonic's 15th anniversary, but seriously? Why? I know Sonic gets anniversary titles like the 10th anniversary titleSonic '06... Sonic '06... oh my gosh. Ten years later, and it is still a terrible, broken, and sometimes unfinished mess. I know this game was rushed and development started right after Shadow's game and Sonic Team had to adjust to the new Xbox 360 and PS3 hardware and it was Sonic's 15th anniversary, but seriously? Why? I know Sonic gets anniversary titles like the 10th anniversary title Sonic Adventure 2 and the 20th anniversary title Sonic Generations (and whatever he's getting for his 25th, which, at the time of this review, has not been announced yet), but couldn't they have just delayed it a year to perfect their game?

    This game contains a terrible plot, broken gameplay, plot holes, and horrendous voice direction. The story here is just, just awful. Sonic saves newcomer Elise so many times (and that's his story, I'm serious), Shadow deals with a new villain named Mephiles (that's his whole story), and newcomer Silver deals with new villain Iblis (and again, that's it). When their stories are (somehow) beaten, you unlock the last story. It's terrible, but I will admit, the final boss is alright. And that's it. I will not spoil the last story for you, for some reason. I just don't like to talk about spoilers if somebody else hasn't experienced it.

    The gameplay is alright, but cheap. Sometimes, you'll just do a homing attack so far, you'll fall into a bottomless pit. Jumping onto other rails doesn't work.

    There are some things I honestly love. The art direction, the graphics, and the music are honestly fantastic. Everything else, well, isn't.

    Sonic '06 had potential to be great. If only SEGA had given Sonic Team more development time.
    Expand
  49. Feb 4, 2016
    1
    the best way to describe this game is broken. the physic engine in this game is so broken that it utterly destroys any fun you could have while playing this game. and if that wasn't enough the game is full with bugs and glitches, the loading screens are so frequent and so long, the story is terrible and even disturbing at times, the camera lives an independent live making a lot of the bossthe best way to describe this game is broken. the physic engine in this game is so broken that it utterly destroys any fun you could have while playing this game. and if that wasn't enough the game is full with bugs and glitches, the loading screens are so frequent and so long, the story is terrible and even disturbing at times, the camera lives an independent live making a lot of the boss fights unfair (looking at you Silver the Hedgehog) and even the characters suck (saying a lot when your franchise is known for creating numerous useless and/or annoying characters). the only good thing about this game is the soundtrack but you can just as well listen it on you-tube for free. Expand
  50. Feb 2, 2016
    1
    This game is the most universally panned Sonic game, other than maybe Sonic Boom: Rise of Lyric. Let me be clear. I am NOT a Sonic fan. I am NOT a Sonic hater. The story for this game is... ugh... well, to be fair, the only reason people hate the story is because of beastiality. If it weren't a Sonic game, if Sonic and friends were replaced with humans (other than the fact that theThis game is the most universally panned Sonic game, other than maybe Sonic Boom: Rise of Lyric. Let me be clear. I am NOT a Sonic fan. I am NOT a Sonic hater. The story for this game is... ugh... well, to be fair, the only reason people hate the story is because of beastiality. If it weren't a Sonic game, if Sonic and friends were replaced with humans (other than the fact that the gameplay wouldn't make sense without Sonic,) no one would have a problem with the story. Or the Hero/Damsel kiss. On to the gameplay! The gameplay is fine. It plays like any other modern Sonic game. The biggest problem is the glitches and load times. This game is filled to the brim with bugs. You can be going at a high speed, experiencing what you want to experience in a Sonic game, but suddenly get hit by... what? Whether this is lag or a glitch can't help this. Sonic Team is about as irresponsible with their games as a crappy "indie" developers on Steam early access. You CANNOT release a game in this state. That is not okay. The load times are, as I mentioned, awful. You can talk to an NPC, load for an annoying amount of time, they say a line or two, and MORE LOADING. It makes you wonder if anyone actually tested the game. The only good parts are the graphics and the gameplay, on the off-chance that the gameplay will work. But wait, Shadow's in it? Silver? This game is the reason FURRIES exist?? Dammit.

    There are plenty of fans of this game. These fans are blinded by... I don't know. They like Sonic the Hedgehog so damn much that they can't comprehend how unbearable this game is. Let's get this straight. Being a fan doesn't mean you have to praise the series' embarrassingly wet underwear. I LOVE Pokemon, Mario, and even things that didn't stem from video games, such as DragonBall Z. But even my most beloved titles have Pokemon Rumble U, Mario Tennis Ultra Smash, and DragonBall GT. It is okay to dislike your favorite IP's skid marks. This game's condition is inexcusable, so treat it as such.
    Expand
  51. Jan 20, 2016
    10
    One of the better games of 2006, right with Saints Row. It has good gameplay, and astonishing graphics. It's not too broken, only with an occasional wall clip. And, they couldve made the story a little better. It's fine,though. I think you should play it!
  52. Jan 14, 2016
    0
    This game changed my life forever; with stunning graphics and coded with amazing skill, not a glitch can be found in this masterpiece OF AFUL SH*T THIS GAME IS THE WORST DONT PLAY THIS F*CKING GAME!
  53. Jan 7, 2016
    10
    I hate all the hate this game gets. It's the peoples fault, they rushed Sega. They didn't have enough time to finish because fans were rushing them too much. Personally, for the time that they had I think this is a really good game. The graphics aren't bad, the glitches are pretty low, and the plot works out. The one thing I dislike is all the loading screens when you are doing missions.I hate all the hate this game gets. It's the peoples fault, they rushed Sega. They didn't have enough time to finish because fans were rushing them too much. Personally, for the time that they had I think this is a really good game. The graphics aren't bad, the glitches are pretty low, and the plot works out. The one thing I dislike is all the loading screens when you are doing missions. Other than that, this is an absolutely amazing game for the amount of time they had! So people that hate this game, I think it's your fault for rushing Sega to much. Expand
  54. Jan 6, 2016
    10
    TEN/TEN BEST GAME BEST GAME THIS GAME HAS A GR8 R8 M8 BUT IF YOUV ALREDY 8 IT MAY NOT BE DANK. WHEN YUR DUN YULL BE 420 BLAZIN IT.
    in reality peice of ****
  55. Dec 18, 2015
    5
    animations at some to most times lagged, draw distance could of gone further, 'water physics' if any were there just for affect, same used to animate sand physics or 'quick sand', if he 'drowned' he would just fall through the floor. and the same what... 3 sound clips used.
    couldn't eggman just build a base at sea, under or over if non of them can swim
    and to save the princess (or
    animations at some to most times lagged, draw distance could of gone further, 'water physics' if any were there just for affect, same used to animate sand physics or 'quick sand', if he 'drowned' he would just fall through the floor. and the same what... 3 sound clips used.
    couldn't eggman just build a base at sea, under or over if non of them can swim
    and to save the princess (or whoever she was), not even the army or S.A.S or NAVY SEALS equivalent to go get her? why Sonic i may not be a very big fan, but common they must have planes, jets, tanks, to go get her. heck just spay the robots with water, send in fire trucks, but no too busy blocking off bridges while they are being built
    Expand
  56. Nov 22, 2015
    3
    Its by far one of the worse sonic games or one of the worse games I have ever played I only like a little bit of the story the music and the characters (except for elise) im just giving it a 3
  57. Nov 15, 2015
    0
    anyone that says this is a good game needs their head exammined i respect sonic team and sega they have great games but this is just awful i cant get past the first level becuse of glitches and sonic dissapering:/
  58. Nov 15, 2015
    0
    This is by faaaaaaaar ther game ive ever ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ing played.I only enjoyed one thing the sound track (Which you can buy seperatley) I liked the cutscene where shadow kicks silver in the head but the sheer awfulness of this game lies in the amont of glitches Bad level design Pukey charachtar developments and fan service which failed misserabally I dont think any fan wanted this ( ͡° ͜ʖThis is by faaaaaaaar ther game ive ever ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ing played.I only enjoyed one thing the sound track (Which you can buy seperatley) I liked the cutscene where shadow kicks silver in the head but the sheer awfulness of this game lies in the amont of glitches Bad level design Pukey charachtar developments and fan service which failed misserabally I dont think any fan wanted this ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)house of a game. Expand
  59. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    This game is a must have for the 2015 holidays. Forget Batman: Arkham Knight or COD BLACK OPS III, this is a game perfect for the whole family! Sonic Boom is a great choice as well along with Sonic Free Riders.
  60. Nov 7, 2015
    10
    This game has no glitches loading times and a perfect story bosses and gameplay 11/10 game of the year the only bad thing is is that it isn't on my casio calcutor
  61. Oct 17, 2015
    0
    Sonic The Hedgehog 2006 is the worst game I have ever played. It has too many glitches and has a lot of annoying characters and some horrible voice actors. That is all
  62. Oct 14, 2015
    2
    Sonic the Hedgehog has been a likable character since the days of the Sega Genesis. Sonic Adventure started out in the Dreamcast and became one of the most successful games on the platform in the mid 1990's. Up until now has Sega released a poorly optimized Sonic game that doesn't stand its own ground thanks to its clunky gameplay and its unfair lives system.

    You start off by choosing
    Sonic the Hedgehog has been a likable character since the days of the Sega Genesis. Sonic Adventure started out in the Dreamcast and became one of the most successful games on the platform in the mid 1990's. Up until now has Sega released a poorly optimized Sonic game that doesn't stand its own ground thanks to its clunky gameplay and its unfair lives system.

    You start off by choosing three stories that all have to be completed before you face the final boss of the game. You start off by choosing three main characters; Sonic, Shadow, and Silver. Sure all of these characters maybe fun to play as when you first get the feeling, then comes the gameplay. I personally start off with Sonic to play as first.

    The game starts off with a cutscene that looks like a Final Fantasy game; the human characters look atrociously animated and does not feel like you are a playing a Sonic game. A princess named Elise is kidnapped by Dr. Eggman, Sonic must chase and look for princess Elise before anything else goes wrong. The game introduces more characters along the way; such as Tails, Kunkles, Amy etc.

    After you finally gain control of Sonic, the game feels extremely sensitive to the controls in which you are controlling. For example, if you slightly tilt the controller, Sonic will walk at a normal pace, but if you hold it all the way forward, he will run so fast that it is really difficult to control him and you will very likely die at multiple sections of the game due to the sensitive controls and movement of Sonic. There are mini-games you can play in the town you are placed in, but why play them? Choosing to accept a mini-game will put you in a twenty second loading screen to read of a short description of that mini-game, but then you have to wait another twenty seconds then fully begin the mini-game. The mini-games themselves don't do very much to help you out; if you could get complete a mini-game in the given time you are supposed to beat, you will be given currency to buy items that could potentially help out Sonic in his quest.

    Then there are the HUB worlds, which are not all that great unfortunately. The first level starts out exciting with Sonic going using a loop-de-loop; then he slides on the water to go on the beach to continue the level. The game wants you to have high expectations for the rest of the game, and if does a really great job at that. At one part in the level, you start playing as Tails. Tails is way more sensitive than Sonic, he has a flying ability that is just as clunky as Sonic's movement. Then he has this attack that he uses to throw rings that are used as a bomb. I died multiple times due to a substantial amount of glitches throughout the level. For example, I was playing as Sonic at one point, I noticed this loop I could run up, when I tried going up the loop, I instead teleported somewhere in the water and then drowned and lost a life (which by the way, hedgehogs in real life can swim).

    Then I get to the second part of the level where I only have two lives left. I had no idea what I was supposed to do, and the game doesn't explain what is going on. Basically you are placed in a auto-scroller, Sonic moves all by himself and runs so fast that you can only move him left and right. Sonic runs so fast that you literally have to push left or right on your controller to get him where he needs to go. Unfortunately, I lost all of my lives on this section because I hit something and died in one hit, even though I had rings left as health. I lost another life when I was going up on a loop, Sonic was running too close to the left that when he was at the end, he missed the speed-booster and ended up falling in the water, leading me to start the entire start of the game all over again.

    I attempted to try and beat this level five times and never got past it. I did try Shadow and Silver's story, but thy are just as broken as Sonic's. As Shadow, he is more sensitive than Sonic, I could assume this because he moves like he is wearing roller-blades. As Silver, he uses a telekinesis power that I thought was unique to his character, but its hit detection is what makes it unbearable to use. Just some examples that could have worked and what could have made the game so much more better.

    The original soundtrack for the game is one of the things I actually liked about the game; it could go from very calming to very intense depending on what level you are on. I also liked how you could play multiple characters and all have a different story; I won't spoil anything, but I did find the characters' stories to be interesting and that we get to learn their backstories and what their problems are.

    Sega could have made this highly anticipated work. Sonic fans will surely be disappointed by frustrating gameplay and the terrible controls. We will have to see what Sega brings to us next on Sonic's 25th anniversary, maybe they will make the ultimate comeback and bring us a well-though Sonic game for everyone.
    Expand
  63. Oct 6, 2015
    0
    Maybe it's good? I don't know, I ordered it from Amazon and it never came. It's a shame, I was pretty excited to check it out. Oh well, better luck next time, I guess.
  64. Aug 31, 2015
    1
    This game is an abomination for the sonic the hedgehog series. poor controls, tons of glitches, bad graphics long loading screens, and a crappy storyline. The Silver boss was annoying, the only things he kept saying was "it's no use" and "take this" and this game even has bestiality (you know, that scene where elsie kisses sonic to bring him back to life). Also, expect cheap deaths. theThis game is an abomination for the sonic the hedgehog series. poor controls, tons of glitches, bad graphics long loading screens, and a crappy storyline. The Silver boss was annoying, the only things he kept saying was "it's no use" and "take this" and this game even has bestiality (you know, that scene where elsie kisses sonic to bring him back to life). Also, expect cheap deaths. the game would have been better if Sega and Sonic team never rushed this game out for the launch of the Xbox 360 and PS3 and got rid of the romance between Elise and Sonic. just imagine if they never rushed this game out and had more time to work with it Expand
  65. Aug 27, 2015
    8
    Im giving the so called "WORST SONIC GAME EVER" score of 8 is just because it isnt as bad as the Boom game! I will rather replay this game 10000 times than have to play Sonic Boom for Wii U one more time! Its just that bad! It set my bar low enough that when i finished with Sonic Boom, next day i played Sonic 06 and guess what? I liked it 10000000 x more than Sonic Boom! Now it became aIm giving the so called "WORST SONIC GAME EVER" score of 8 is just because it isnt as bad as the Boom game! I will rather replay this game 10000 times than have to play Sonic Boom for Wii U one more time! Its just that bad! It set my bar low enough that when i finished with Sonic Boom, next day i played Sonic 06 and guess what? I liked it 10000000 x more than Sonic Boom! Now it became a guilty pleasure of mine! Expand
  66. Aug 17, 2015
    3
    This game is really bad. Loading screens are long and happen way too much, just like burning to death. The plot is so bad that it makes me want to pull out my teeth and eat them. Eggman looks akin to a serial ravisher. But hey, at least the music is good.
  67. Aug 7, 2015
    0
    This game was created for Sonic's 15th. Anniversary, but failed to provide us with fun.
    Storyline: Terrible
    Loading time: Slow. My longest wait was 42 seconds(I counted) Amount of Glitches: 43 Billion This was meant to be a REBOOT for the series but nearly killed it. I would buy another 10 copies of Sonic Boom and complete them than complete this game. I own this game myself and I
    This game was created for Sonic's 15th. Anniversary, but failed to provide us with fun.
    Storyline: Terrible
    Loading time: Slow. My longest wait was 42 seconds(I counted)
    Amount of Glitches: 43 Billion
    This was meant to be a REBOOT for the series but nearly killed it. I would buy another 10 copies of Sonic Boom and complete them than complete this game.
    I own this game myself and I refuse to put it into my PS3 ever again.
    Expand
  68. Aug 2, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay a LOT of people hate this game depends on the experience, My PS3 version on one hand is one of the Worst games I've experienced, however the Xbox version is something I truly enjoy and gave me so many new things to like, Mephiles my favorite villain, Silver my favorite hero. Sonic's and Silver's gameplay I really love along with some of the Amiigos,and I really enjoy the open world level design. I love this game and others shouldn't be bashed for loving it like I do, and people need to STOP making troll accounts just to hate on this game, honestly see how many people have this for their only review and it'll all make sense. Seriously also Metacritic needs to check IP addresses because I swear some people are making multiple accounts just to hate on this game and I'm sick of it Expand
  69. s11
    Aug 2, 2015
    5
    I'm giving it a neutral (5/10) rating.

    Great music.
    some of the cut-scenes are very funny: case and point: Shadow giving Silver the good old roundhouse kick after freezing him with Chaos Control.

    Sadly, the game was rushed.

    If the game was not rushed for Sonic's 15th birthday, who knows? it could have been Sonic Adventure 3.
  70. Jul 21, 2015
    6
    While not the game I was expecting for an anniversary title, this game does get the job done where it needs to be done, although many aspects of the game are either rushed or not functional at all. At best, this game is worthy of a few playthroughs to entertain yourself.
  71. Jul 4, 2015
    2
    Even from someone or somebody who hasn't played the game, falling through levels, interrupted controls, self minded cameras, and 20 second load times times 4 to a total of 1 minute and 20 seconds from other people trying to play this mess is just enough for us to decide if we want to play this. This is easily the worst Sonic game. If this was released in 2007, if would've fine. But, no. IEven from someone or somebody who hasn't played the game, falling through levels, interrupted controls, self minded cameras, and 20 second load times times 4 to a total of 1 minute and 20 seconds from other people trying to play this mess is just enough for us to decide if we want to play this. This is easily the worst Sonic game. If this was released in 2007, if would've fine. But, no. I guess it's not worth the effort on solving the game's problems. Princess Elise kissing Sonic will make you regret on watching that Disney movie Beauty and the Beast. The music and Silver the Hedgehog are the only best parts in the game. Silver is actually one of my favorite Sonic characters later on. The music is so great that Sega should reuse it for later games, just like they did on Sonic Generations. Sonic '06 went on and became non-canon to the series' continuity, but that's for the best. Expand
  72. Jul 1, 2015
    10
    i feel the game gets too much hate, i legimately find sonic 06 a rather ok-bad game, ita certainly not the worst game in the world, game mechanics may be poor but the level design is absolutely amazing...levels look gorgeous and the music is really good, story may be terrible and voice acting; but i find this game really good in a few things and only recommend to those who are reallyi feel the game gets too much hate, i legimately find sonic 06 a rather ok-bad game, ita certainly not the worst game in the world, game mechanics may be poor but the level design is absolutely amazing...levels look gorgeous and the music is really good, story may be terrible and voice acting; but i find this game really good in a few things and only recommend to those who are really curious about it Expand
  73. Jun 30, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Look I like sonic 06 for what it is I looked past the glitches the controls which is not bad controls I mean a bit floaty but its not bad like Sonic adventure honestly the story was the same as sonic generations almost besides the kissing part it was the same with time travel it was all screwed up but any ways is sonic06 really bad as it seems no. and heres why. im not gonna tackle the story that much but its ok its not bad. the gameplay: the game plays well. well besides the crystals but im not gonna tackle that just yet but anyway sonic controls like sonic he moves fast has the homing attack and upgrades, and shields I believe, but theres shadow which has cars and silver who has telekinesis im not gonna do shadow but he controls like sonic but he can do odd attacks that make him stay in the air while he does that attack and the vehicles well kinda suck well the air craft one but they control well but silver my favorite he's a good character he takes sacrifices in the story he's the only on that questions if sonic was the one who caused there world to fall he has a sidekick blaze who I cant rember her gameplay so look for a other review of her gameplay but she risks her life to go to another dimension to make silver try to go on without her to save there world from mephiles and amy stops silver from attacking sonic that lets him look around the old world he and blaze doesn't know he admires it which makes him question if sonic was the iblis trigger. but his gameplay he can fly for a short period of time pick objects to attack which is kinda annoying but yeah the only one that mad me mad was the ball puzzle which I did all the way through in 40mins but theres a glitch to clip through the wall to the goal ring but yeah you have tail who attacks with rings which is annoying cuz when you lose rings youll have to find them in the other rings which don't go away anyways he can fly for a period of time longer the silver. the we have knuckles and rouge they control they same attack the same and fly but go down while flying and they can climb walls and can get stuck but they attack by punching and air attacks anyways that's it for gameplay. The design: the levels are pretty well designed besides a few glitches but its good to say the least they feel original and yeah. so this is my first review ill update it to if you can but its not bad if you can look past the same time travel story as sonic generations almost besides the the girl who cant cry who just keeps in her she cant express emotions because if she does iblis will come out of her and she cause the world silver lives in so yeah they erase iblis and they erase the events that happened. if you decide to buy this all I have to say is the story has time travel and they screw it up a lot but its a good game to try but don't make this your first sonic game please try sonic generations it has 2d sonic and 3d sonic. then buy this I didn't try the multiplayer yet so yeah just try others I know the score is eight. Expand
  74. Jun 27, 2015
    0
    This is the worst piece of crap that I ever played in my life. Stay away from Sonic 06, its just a waste of time that wants to pee you off. I'm serious, with all its glitches, a story line that has plot holes all over the place, and there decision making of level designs, and how it all ended on me telling me that I played this game all for nothing, because once Elise blew out the flamesThis is the worst piece of crap that I ever played in my life. Stay away from Sonic 06, its just a waste of time that wants to pee you off. I'm serious, with all its glitches, a story line that has plot holes all over the place, and there decision making of level designs, and how it all ended on me telling me that I played this game all for nothing, because once Elise blew out the flames of Solaris, the sonic fans (Which includes me) have to accept the fact that Sonic 06 never happened. Well, you know how they could have just done that? By never making this awful game at all. And what makes me more angry is that people say Sonic Boom is worse then this garbage. Oh yeah, let's not forget the fact that this was going to replace the original sonic story line. Yes people, this game was supposed to replace everything that we knew about sonic, by restarting the series all over again. And this pile of crap was that game. So seriously, if someone tells you this game wasn't that bad, then you make them play the game until its finished, as they get frustrated upon hours and hours to how horrible it is, and then after they finished the game, you better say, "Oh yeah, its that bad!" Expand
  75. Jun 11, 2015
    4
    I got this game for my Xbox 360 without looking at the reviews (foolish of me, I know) but it looked like a cool sonic game. I was wrong. This game is a complete mess and I hate almost everything about it. The only thing I liked about this game was that the music was good. The game has pretty bad controls, bad gameplay, an okay storyline, and average graphics. Nevertheless, this gameI got this game for my Xbox 360 without looking at the reviews (foolish of me, I know) but it looked like a cool sonic game. I was wrong. This game is a complete mess and I hate almost everything about it. The only thing I liked about this game was that the music was good. The game has pretty bad controls, bad gameplay, an okay storyline, and average graphics. Nevertheless, this game receives a 4 from me. Expand
  76. May 13, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let me get this out of way the first, this isn't the worst game i've played, hell it isn't even the worst sonic game i've played. There are numerous other games far more atrocious than this one. But enough with that let's move on. The graphics look exactly how they should look like, an early-gen Xbox360 title. The soundtrack is one of the best I've heard and I find myself listening to it on my ipod from time to time. The levels in Sonic 06' range from enjoyable to excessively frustrating. My favorite level was strangely White Acropolis, I don't know why. As for my most hated, I'd have to say Flame Core, don't even get me started. The game has three main characters to choose from; Sonic,Shadow, and Silver. I like how the game is set up similar to that of the Sonic Adventure games, it gives me a nice feeling. Sonic has the worst written story of the three playable characters, but he has the most playable levels. Shadow and Silver 's stories are more well handled than that of Sonic's, but their gameplay styles have some clashing elements.The villain, Mephiles The Dark, just so happens to be one of my Sonic villains thus far. He's so sleek,mysterious, and manipulative, I personally think that'sbest way to write a villain. The glitches uh, oh god. This game has some of the most glitches i've seen in a Sonic game. The worst part of the game at least for me were the egregiously long load times. It loads like a PS1 game. I didn't care too much for Elise, she was mostly forgetable, but at least she wasn't annoying. Overall Sonic 06' Isn't the worst Sonic game but it was deeply flawed and glitchy. Final score 57/100 Expand
  77. May 11, 2015
    5
    Not gonna deny the game wasn't great. It wasn't even good. But it wasn't **** I enjoyed playing the story, as complicated as it was. Plus you have to admit exploiting the glitches was a fun way to pass the time. Even the 2-Player mode was fun. However the end sucked so much ass that it borderline breaks the game. Everyone can agree on that.
  78. May 9, 2015
    3
    I remember a few years ago, I watched one of the trailers of the game, and I thought it looked awesome. I never decided to look up game play, and I pretty much thought it was going to be the best game ever. Then, my 9 year old mind was blown on how bad it was. The game was hardly playable and the controls were really clunky. It took me ages to beat the first level because I had so muchI remember a few years ago, I watched one of the trailers of the game, and I thought it looked awesome. I never decided to look up game play, and I pretty much thought it was going to be the best game ever. Then, my 9 year old mind was blown on how bad it was. The game was hardly playable and the controls were really clunky. It took me ages to beat the first level because I had so much trouble trying to fly Tails. No wonder the game has such a bad reputation. I'm still a big Sonic fan, modern and classic, but this is a huge blemish on a great game series. Even though the soundtrack was great. Expand
  79. May 6, 2015
    6
    so this is a new take on sonic and it fun to play through. its not to replayable like past sonic games but you can still play it through. alo if you have a late copy like i do many of the bugs are patched out. as for the rest of the so called bugs you have to purposely activate them yourself. its an average sonic game at the best. this is a great example of why reviews are useless since iso this is a new take on sonic and it fun to play through. its not to replayable like past sonic games but you can still play it through. alo if you have a late copy like i do many of the bugs are patched out. as for the rest of the so called bugs you have to purposely activate them yourself. its an average sonic game at the best. this is a great example of why reviews are useless since i played the entire game and thought meh its ok without even knowing any reviews or anything. as for camera and what not everyone talks about there is a few problems here and there but i had the same problems with sonic adventure 2 so go figure at least i didnt just shoot off ledges cause it decided to do a double jump instead of a normal jump Expand
  80. Apr 26, 2015
    9
    One of the best Sonic games out there. Sonic's story unfortunately wasn't that interesting, however Silver's and Shadow's stories were amazing. The controls are fantastic and the graphics were amazing. I love the levels with Silver the Hedgehog and I like the missions where you get to play as different characters! The only reason it's a 9 is because in one or two stages I experienced someOne of the best Sonic games out there. Sonic's story unfortunately wasn't that interesting, however Silver's and Shadow's stories were amazing. The controls are fantastic and the graphics were amazing. I love the levels with Silver the Hedgehog and I like the missions where you get to play as different characters! The only reason it's a 9 is because in one or two stages I experienced some slowdown on the game, but the game its self is perfect. I don't know why people hate this game and say it is glitchy because I didn't see one glitch in the entire run of the game. Expand
  81. Apr 17, 2015
    10
    in my opinion the game is awesome great leap to high definition only thing annoying Hedgehog game is loading is taking too but has nveles beautifully designed graphics good story spectacular in my opinion is not a bad game
  82. Apr 12, 2015
    7
    This game is a bit mediocre for being a glitchy game, unless you check every move you make, considering sonic was my flagship franchise from young age 'til now with others, Better on xbox 360 than Ps3, I wish this game was never rushed!
  83. Apr 11, 2015
    0
    sonic 06 is one of the worst game ever made. it's loading takes to long the gameplay is broken. it just so not fun and just horrible do not play this game.
  84. sdc
    Apr 3, 2015
    7
    Underrated as all hell. people, hunting for glitches is an unfair thing to do. The story has many cinematic pros and has it's moments, the music is amazing! The graphics look splendid, the controls are tight, the level design is perfect, it overall was good.
  85. Mar 22, 2015
    1
    Sonic is introduced to the human world for the first time, (Apparently, neglecting the anime Sonic X, Sonic adventure 1, sonic adventure 2) letting the player control the trio Sonic, Shadow, and newcomer Silver. Throughout all three campaigns the player is told that the world will be destroyed by a monster named Iblis, who is lying dormant inside of the damsel Princess Elise. Its up to theSonic is introduced to the human world for the first time, (Apparently, neglecting the anime Sonic X, Sonic adventure 1, sonic adventure 2) letting the player control the trio Sonic, Shadow, and newcomer Silver. Throughout all three campaigns the player is told that the world will be destroyed by a monster named Iblis, who is lying dormant inside of the damsel Princess Elise. Its up to the trio to stop the antagonists Mephilis and Iblis while trying to find chaos emeralds. Expand
  86. Mar 14, 2015
    0
    "It's no use!" -Sonic from Silver fight Do you honestly have to go to this website to see if Sonic 2006 is a good game? Well, both the Xbox 360 and PS3 versions are equally bad.
  87. Mar 2, 2015
    0
    You need to play this game to understand how bad it is. Bad controls, bad story, bad gameplay, insane load times, frustrating difficulty. It's a complete mess.
  88. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    everyone who doesnt like this game is just a hater who doesnt understand speed. speed is so fast that glitches appear everywhere, teh games just trying to be realistic. i loved every second of this game. the environments where beautiful, the gameplay was solid (snake hahaha), and the story made me cry. teh whole furry thing was a great new direction for teh franchise and i only wish tehyeveryone who doesnt like this game is just a hater who doesnt understand speed. speed is so fast that glitches appear everywhere, teh games just trying to be realistic. i loved every second of this game. the environments where beautiful, the gameplay was solid (snake hahaha), and the story made me cry. teh whole furry thing was a great new direction for teh franchise and i only wish tehy continued it with the future installments. SONIC SPEED! long live sega. Expand
  89. Jan 17, 2015
    10
    Muy buen juego,la historia es algo corta pero entretenida,el modo cooperativo es muy bueno y por ultimo lo que me gusta que algunos juegos no tiene es que puedes volver hacer las misiones aunque sean misiones que haces para las personas a si que se merece esta calificasion
  90. Dec 20, 2014
    7
    Sonic 06 may be undeniable flawed but it's one of those games in my nostalgia that I can't help but love. Video Games are supposed to be fun in the end and I had a blast playing this game, however I will fully admit that it's not the worst Sonic game ever, it's at least playable unlike Free Riders, Secret Rings, and Sonic the Hedgehog Genesis. I'll admit the game made me rage a few timesSonic 06 may be undeniable flawed but it's one of those games in my nostalgia that I can't help but love. Video Games are supposed to be fun in the end and I had a blast playing this game, however I will fully admit that it's not the worst Sonic game ever, it's at least playable unlike Free Riders, Secret Rings, and Sonic the Hedgehog Genesis. I'll admit the game made me rage a few times due to it's lack of polish, mach speed zones, and the Silver fight but I enjoyed the game due to the amount of playable characters, the level design was pretty good, the game looks really good, and it has my favorite Video Game soundtrack of all time. Overall, I like Sonic 06 even though it's flawed. Expand
  91. Dec 15, 2014
    9
    I expected this game to be horrible when I first got it but I found I really enjoyed it. I love the level designs and I'm still finding new paths in them, I wish that you could unlock the ability to use side characters more. There are some bugs but I think this game would be perfect if Sega remade it with less bugs, Super Sonic, Shadow, Silver in free roam, the ability to use amigoI expected this game to be horrible when I first got it but I found I really enjoyed it. I love the level designs and I'm still finding new paths in them, I wish that you could unlock the ability to use side characters more. There are some bugs but I think this game would be perfect if Sega remade it with less bugs, Super Sonic, Shadow, Silver in free roam, the ability to use amigo characters freely after you finish the game, and increased the characters' speed a bit. Expand
  92. Dec 12, 2014
    3
    I recently decided to give this game another chance. I bought this game when it was new back in 2006, and never actually got around to finishing it. Loading up my old save file quickly reminded me why. Sonic '06 is truly a shining example of how good ideas don't matter if you can't actually implement them and polish them properly.

    First, the positives and the good ideas. The gameplay is
    I recently decided to give this game another chance. I bought this game when it was new back in 2006, and never actually got around to finishing it. Loading up my old save file quickly reminded me why. Sonic '06 is truly a shining example of how good ideas don't matter if you can't actually implement them and polish them properly.

    First, the positives and the good ideas. The gameplay is very much inspired by sonic adventure, with a hub world linking to several linear levels that open in up progression, as well as 3 different campaigns, one for each character. Fortunately, gone are the hunting and gathering sections seen in the adventure titles. This game tries to be one thing, a sonic game, and that's just the way it should be. Trading in points for upgrades adds a little bit of depth to the gameplay, and allows you to use some new moves. The voice acting, while not great, is definitely better than previous 3D entries in the Sonic the Hedgehog series. The one very notable thing about this game that's actually fantastic is the music. Unfortunately, this is where the positives end.

    This game, despite its good intentions, is a horrible, broken, unfinished mess. The hub world is barren and filled with stock characters. These stock characters can give you tasks, for which to complete you have to sit through 4(!) loading screens, completely negating any desire to play them. This is made worse by the loading times, which are absolutely awful, even when installed to your hard drive. These are even worse on the PS3 version. What it's loading, I'm not entirely sure, given the textures and models are of -extremely- poor quality. Despite the poor quality of the visuals, the game has frequent framerate drops and screen tearing. Glitches and bugs abound, this is definitely a game that did not receive any playtesting. Sections of levels are littered with unfair pitfall deaths, bugs that cause you to fall through the level geometry and a difficulty curve that's all over the map.

    Despite how terrible this game really is, there is an odd sense of enjoyment that you can get from playing it, although it's the same kind of enjoyment one gets while watching The Room. While not the worst game ever made by a very long stretch, this is among the largest disappointments to ever come out of Sega. What a mess...
    Expand
  93. Dec 6, 2014
    4
    Gameplay 50% : 3
    The Characters´s Main Gameplay is regular, but the Speed Seccion, Skateboarding and Vehicle seccions , are poorly programmed, the load times are too long and .... YEAH THE **** BUGS
    Story: 10%: 3 Positive: Shadow and the Team Dark Unnecessary charcters , the Mephiles's stupid plan, Time Paradox inconsistencies , Princess Elise............................Princess Elise
    Gameplay 50% : 3
    The Characters´s Main Gameplay is regular, but the Speed Seccion, Skateboarding and Vehicle seccions , are poorly programmed, the load times are too long and .... YEAH THE **** BUGS
    Story: 10%: 3
    Positive: Shadow and the Team Dark
    Unnecessary charcters , the Mephiles's stupid plan, Time Paradox inconsistencies , Princess Elise............................Princess Elise
    Soundtrack 20%: 8
    .........................................awesome................
    Graphics and Level Desing 10%: 5
    Crisis City, Acuatic Base Kindom Valley, Wave Ocean etc
    but...............2006............. Xbox 360............really?

    Extra 10 % : 5
    The Multiplayer mode : its okay
    The Extra Missions: are okay
    Expand
  94. Dec 5, 2014
    0
    This game is just horrible. The fact that this game is still selling in stores makes me want to just take every single sonic 06' game disc in store and cut it with scissors. UNPLAYABLE. I bought a new copy of this game and DAMN was it glitchy. I knew it wasn't my system it was working PERFECTLY, so this game is just disastrous.
  95. Nov 20, 2014
    2
    Yack, that's almost everything you need to say about this piece of crap. I'm a Sonic-fan and this unfinished garbage really hurts my black soul. Still I can say I like the overall level design - in rare moments it has the same feeling like the Adventure-titles have - and musics are pretty nice. Everything else, well, is **** Nothing more to say.
  96. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    Best Storyline. Super Music. Cool characters desing. Epickness cutscenes. The great sonic adventure formula. Best then Sonic Lost World and some new of Sonic games.
    25/10
  97. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    Well, when a game devolper, no... When people want an annaversery game, no... *sigh* Guess there is no easy way to say this. I like Sonic 06. I got it for free at a dumpster out back, and it was just wonderful.
    Graphics: 6/10
    The reason I gave it a lower scale is because of Eggman... *shivers* But the rest is good. Gameplay: 7/10 Glitches are what's keeping it from getting any higher
    Well, when a game devolper, no... When people want an annaversery game, no... *sigh* Guess there is no easy way to say this. I like Sonic 06. I got it for free at a dumpster out back, and it was just wonderful.
    Graphics: 6/10
    The reason I gave it a lower scale is because of Eggman... *shivers* But the rest is good.
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Glitches are what's keeping it from getting any higher scores.
    Genuine love: 10/10
    nuff said
    Thank you Sonic Team. This game may be glitchy, rushed, and unfinished, but it takes a lot for a Sonic game to impress a cray-cray person like me
    Oh, and I don't know why I'm doing this for the XB360 version, cause I got it for the PS3
    Expand
  98. Oct 20, 2014
    1
    I hate this game it was so unplayable, so poorly programmed and a storyline that would be laughed off a fan fiction site how sega though this was acceptable is unbelievable
  99. Oct 19, 2014
    4
    Ugh, we're here now, huh? We're at the game that brought a company mascot to his knees, and almost killed him...both figuratively and literally? This game is commonly known as SHYTE, so obviously since I like most Sonic games, I wanted to try it out. There were some things I enjoyed, some things I found mildly annoying, AND SOME THINGS THAT JUST PISSED ME OFF! Lets begin with the story. IUgh, we're here now, huh? We're at the game that brought a company mascot to his knees, and almost killed him...both figuratively and literally? This game is commonly known as SHYTE, so obviously since I like most Sonic games, I wanted to try it out. There were some things I enjoyed, some things I found mildly annoying, AND SOME THINGS THAT JUST PISSED ME OFF! Lets begin with the story. I can see effort was put into it...sometimes...but it simply doesn't work for a Sonic game! I don't see why around the 2000's, Sega kept trying to give Sonic games stories that were WAY too serious. This game along with "Shadow the Hedgehog" is a prime example of it. They took away Shadow's guns luckily, but now he has a motorcycle! UUUHHH!!! The story centres around this weird romance between Sonic and some princess called "Princess Elise". It's a princess in a video game, so we can only count on her getting kidnapped then rescued, right? YES! She gets kidnapped literally five times during sonic's story alone! That's just pathetic, especially for a main character. Luckily, this isn't all that happens, as we're greeted with much more interesting story elements in Silver and Shadow's segments. Not great per say, but not painful! A telekinetic hedgehog named Silver, thinks that killing Sonic will save his world. Shadow basically tries to stop him, but gets sidetracked, as he's being hunted by a mysterious hedgehog called Mephiles. Once again, it's by no means perfect, but soooo much better than Sonic's! Sadly, if they had to have half decent stories, they both had to have worse gameplay than Sonic. Getting into gameplay, I'm surprised to say that Sonic's stages actually have some fun aspects, generally good level design (at times), and some nice replay value, though a huge negative is the constant flow of deaths by an insane amount of glitches. This is something that sadly cannot be said for both Shadow and Silver's campaign, apart from the glitches, since this game is covered with them! The "Sonic Adventure" series had a style of having you play individual stories whenever you want, and once you've finished them all, you'll unlock a mysterious "LAST" story, where you play as all of the characters. It was pretty good design, and I'm happy to say that this game has it too. To end on a slightly better note, I'll simply say this. The graphics are decent for an early Xbox 360/PlayStation 3 game, and this game's music kicks @$$! This game may not be great, but it's a hell of a lot better than most people say! a lot of people think it's the worst game of all time!? really??? Expand
  100. Oct 17, 2014
    9
    This game is pretty good even though the games loading time is what stops it from being a ten.
    I find the game that is sometimes a bit on the slow side during some stages. But it is a good game all round it is as good as the first game of the series I can't wait for the new game to come out.
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 38
  2. Negative: 22 out of 38
  1. 55
    If only the developers had focused on delivering a simple, fun experience rather than trying to create something far beyond their reach.
  2. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. It’s like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.
  3. Atrocious camera angles lead to cheap deaths, the slippery controls make it difficult to get a handle on the characters and the game has a large problem with pacing. It tries to mix in side missions with general stages, and the disastrous results ruin the game.