Sonic the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 517 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in hisSonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in his most intense, high velocity escapade to date. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 38
  2. Negative: 22 out of 38
  1. Play Magazine
    85
    You simply can't ask for more out of an action game. Mission accomplished. Sonic is born anew. [Dec 2006; Score revised in Jan issue due to long load times.]
  2. 60
    While it may please hardcore fans of the series with its addicting time-based action segments, it will surely alienate everyone else thanks to the abundance of non-Sonic elements: RPG town-wandering, additional less-enjoyable characters, and a god awful camera.
  3. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. It’s like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.
  4. Sonic the Hedgehog may share its name with the Genesis original, but this game is even more broken than most of the other recent Sonic games have been.
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    40
    I could've dealt with the much-lauded adventure elements, subpar graphics--even that clown Shadow--but the bottom line is that this feels more like some hack job created by a bunch of Sega interns as opposed to a game from a competent developement studio. [Jan. 2007, p.95]
  6. Edge Magazine
    30
    The consistently poor controls of Sonic’s 3D outings make it seem like Sonic Team has convinced itself that this is how this aspect of the franchise should rightly be, and everyone else should just learn to deal with it. [Christmas 2006, p.82]
  7. SEGA's decision to rush one of its most beloved franchises to the next-gen market has ended in a broken product that does not even deserve a rental.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 225
  1. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    I got this game and since I got it I never stopped playing it .! I think it is a great game .It takes a long time to beat it .but it is reallyI got this game and since I got it I never stopped playing it .! I think it is a great game .It takes a long time to beat it .but it is really awesome. Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2015
    10
    This game has no glitches loading times and a perfect story bosses and gameplay 11/10 game of the year the only bad thing is is that it isn'tThis game has no glitches loading times and a perfect story bosses and gameplay 11/10 game of the year the only bad thing is is that it isn't on my casio calcutor Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2016
    8
    So uh I love this game because of how broken it is, I didn't find the controls terrible just little too precise, the story is a plot holeSo uh I love this game because of how broken it is, I didn't find the controls terrible just little too precise, the story is a plot hole ridden mess but I enjoyed it, the bosses are a mixed bag, the soundtrack **** awesome everyone can agree on that. So uhh yeah I love this game, and I'm not ashamed, let's keep in mind that everyone saying a games terrible isn't fact it's an opinion, and that's my opinion! Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2014
    4
    Gameplay 50% : 3
    The Characters´s Main Gameplay is regular, but the Speed Seccion, Skateboarding and Vehicle seccions , are poorly
    Gameplay 50% : 3
    The Characters´s Main Gameplay is regular, but the Speed Seccion, Skateboarding and Vehicle seccions , are poorly programmed, the load times are too long and .... YEAH THE **** BUGS
    Story: 10%: 3
    Positive: Shadow and the Team Dark
    Unnecessary charcters , the Mephiles's stupid plan, Time Paradox inconsistencies , Princess Elise............................Princess Elise
    Soundtrack 20%: 8
    .........................................awesome................
    Graphics and Level Desing 10%: 5
    Crisis City, Acuatic Base Kindom Valley, Wave Ocean etc
    but...............2006............. Xbox 360............really?

    Extra 10 % : 5
    The Multiplayer mode : its okay
    The Extra Missions: are okay
    Expand
  5. Sam
    Apr 5, 2007
    2
    Despite some solid visuals, the game is awful, broken, and unfinished.
  6. Feb 2, 2016
    1
    This game is the most universally panned Sonic game, other than maybe Sonic Boom: Rise of Lyric. Let me be clear. I am NOT a Sonic fan. I amThis game is the most universally panned Sonic game, other than maybe Sonic Boom: Rise of Lyric. Let me be clear. I am NOT a Sonic fan. I am NOT a Sonic hater. The story for this game is... ugh... well, to be fair, the only reason people hate the story is because of beastiality. If it weren't a Sonic game, if Sonic and friends were replaced with humans (other than the fact that the gameplay wouldn't make sense without Sonic,) no one would have a problem with the story. Or the Hero/Damsel kiss. On to the gameplay! The gameplay is fine. It plays like any other modern Sonic game. The biggest problem is the glitches and load times. This game is filled to the brim with bugs. You can be going at a high speed, experiencing what you want to experience in a Sonic game, but suddenly get hit by... what? Whether this is lag or a glitch can't help this. Sonic Team is about as irresponsible with their games as a crappy "indie" developers on Steam early access. You CANNOT release a game in this state. That is not okay. The load times are, as I mentioned, awful. You can talk to an NPC, load for an annoying amount of time, they say a line or two, and MORE LOADING. It makes you wonder if anyone actually tested the game. The only good parts are the graphics and the gameplay, on the off-chance that the gameplay will work. But wait, Shadow's in it? Silver? This game is the reason FURRIES exist?? Dammit.

    There are plenty of fans of this game. These fans are blinded by... I don't know. They like Sonic the Hedgehog so damn much that they can't comprehend how unbearable this game is. Let's get this straight. Being a fan doesn't mean you have to praise the series' embarrassingly wet underwear. I LOVE Pokemon, Mario, and even things that didn't stem from video games, such as DragonBall Z. But even my most beloved titles have Pokemon Rumble U, Mario Tennis Ultra Smash, and DragonBall GT. It is okay to dislike your favorite IP's skid marks. This game's condition is inexcusable, so treat it as such.
    Expand
  7. AlanJ.
    Nov 29, 2007
    0
    This game sucks, all of you should know that SA2 Battle is way, way better then this game. Sonic on the xbox 360 is a joke and you all should This game sucks, all of you should know that SA2 Battle is way, way better then this game. Sonic on the xbox 360 is a joke and you all should be sad how Sega rushed this game and how 4kids done the stupid voice acting. Expand

See all 225 User Reviews