Sonic the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 511 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in hisSonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in his most intense, high velocity escapade to date. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 38
  2. Negative: 22 out of 38
  1. Play Magazine
    85
    You simply can't ask for more out of an action game. Mission accomplished. Sonic is born anew. [Dec 2006; Score revised in Jan issue due to long load times.]
  2. 60
    While it may please hardcore fans of the series with its addicting time-based action segments, it will surely alienate everyone else thanks to the abundance of non-Sonic elements: RPG town-wandering, additional less-enjoyable characters, and a god awful camera.
  3. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. It’s like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.
  4. Sonic the Hedgehog may share its name with the Genesis original, but this game is even more broken than most of the other recent Sonic games have been.
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    40
    I could've dealt with the much-lauded adventure elements, subpar graphics--even that clown Shadow--but the bottom line is that this feels more like some hack job created by a bunch of Sega interns as opposed to a game from a competent developement studio. [Jan. 2007, p.95]
  6. Edge Magazine
    30
    The consistently poor controls of Sonic’s 3D outings make it seem like Sonic Team has convinced itself that this is how this aspect of the franchise should rightly be, and everyone else should just learn to deal with it. [Christmas 2006, p.82]
  7. SEGA's decision to rush one of its most beloved franchises to the next-gen market has ended in a broken product that does not even deserve a rental.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 224
  1. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    I got this game and since I got it I never stopped playing it .! I think it is a great game .It takes a long time to beat it .but it is reallyI got this game and since I got it I never stopped playing it .! I think it is a great game .It takes a long time to beat it .but it is really awesome. Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2015
    10
    This game has no glitches loading times and a perfect story bosses and gameplay 11/10 game of the year the only bad thing is is that it isn'tThis game has no glitches loading times and a perfect story bosses and gameplay 11/10 game of the year the only bad thing is is that it isn't on my casio calcutor Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2015
    8
    Im giving the so called "WORST SONIC GAME EVER" score of 8 is just because it isnt as bad as the Boom game! I will rather replay this gameIm giving the so called "WORST SONIC GAME EVER" score of 8 is just because it isnt as bad as the Boom game! I will rather replay this game 10000 times than have to play Sonic Boom for Wii U one more time! Its just that bad! It set my bar low enough that when i finished with Sonic Boom, next day i played Sonic 06 and guess what? I liked it 10000000 x more than Sonic Boom! Now it became a guilty pleasure of mine! Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    4
    I decided to give Sonic 06 a try about 2 years ago due to curiosity. I went into the game knowing it was going to be really glitchy, and asI decided to give Sonic 06 a try about 2 years ago due to curiosity. I went into the game knowing it was going to be really glitchy, and as you can tell by the score I gave this game, I did not enjoy it. The glitchy-ness of this game is not the reason why I didn't enjoy it. I did not like this game because of the annoying hub world, bad level design, and bad controls. The majority of Sonic's levels I actually enjoyed, and If they were the only parts of this game... I probably would've really liked it! But sadly Sonic's levels take up only about 25% of the entire game. The other 75% has you running around Soleanna which is an extremely bland city that's very easy to get lost in the first time around, and playing as other characters like Silver, Shadow, Amy, Omega, Knuckles, Rouge, Tails, and more. They all control like crap. You can clearly tell this game was rushed for that reason alone, but I was able to get over the controls. What I wasn't able to get over was the horrible levels that Silver and Shadow have to go through. Silver's levels tend to be more on the boring side and Shadow's levels tend to be on the more frustrating side. Silver is very slow, and I probably would've liked it a lot more if he was much faster. Shadow's levels can be very annoying because there's a lot of vehicles that you have to use, and they just aren't fun to me. Throughout some of these levels you switch between certain characters. Sometimes in Sonic's story you'll switch to Tails or Knuckles, as Silver sometimes you'll switch to Amy or Blaze, and as Shadow, sometimes you'll switch to Rouge or Omega. All of these extra characters are much worse than the main heroes (Sonic, Shadow and Silver) except for Blaze. Which also adds to why I don't really like this game as a whole. Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2015
    2
    Even from someone or somebody who hasn't played the game, falling through levels, interrupted controls, self minded cameras, and 20 secondEven from someone or somebody who hasn't played the game, falling through levels, interrupted controls, self minded cameras, and 20 second load times times 4 to a total of 1 minute and 20 seconds from other people trying to play this mess is just enough for us to decide if we want to play this. This is easily the worst Sonic game. If this was released in 2007, if would've fine. But, no. I guess it's not worth the effort on solving the game's problems. Princess Elise kissing Sonic will make you regret on watching that Disney movie Beauty and the Beast. The music and Silver the Hedgehog are the only best parts in the game. Silver is actually one of my favorite Sonic characters later on. The music is so great that Sega should reuse it for later games, just like they did on Sonic Generations. Sonic '06 went on and became non-canon to the series' continuity, but that's for the best. Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2015
    1
    This game is an abomination for the sonic the hedgehog series. poor controls, tons of glitches, bad graphics long loading screens, and aThis game is an abomination for the sonic the hedgehog series. poor controls, tons of glitches, bad graphics long loading screens, and a crappy storyline. The Silver boss was annoying, the only things he kept saying was "it's no use" and "take this" and this game even has bestiality (you know, that scene where elsie kisses sonic to bring him back to life). Also, expect cheap deaths. the game would have been better if Sega and Sonic team never rushed this game out for the launch of the Xbox 360 and PS3 and got rid of the romance between Elise and Sonic. just imagine if they never rushed this game out and had more time to work with it Expand
  7. AlanJ.
    Nov 29, 2007
    0
    This game sucks, all of you should know that SA2 Battle is way, way better then this game. Sonic on the xbox 360 is a joke and you all should This game sucks, all of you should know that SA2 Battle is way, way better then this game. Sonic on the xbox 360 is a joke and you all should be sad how Sega rushed this game and how 4kids done the stupid voice acting. Expand

See all 224 User Reviews