Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 251 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in his most intense, high velocity escapade to date. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 38
  2. Negative: 22 out of 38
  1. You simply can't ask for more out of an action game. Mission accomplished. Sonic is born anew. [Dec 2006; Score revised in Jan issue due to long load times.]
  2. Sonic's latest adventure fails yet again to live up to the delight and fast-paced action we grew with, mostly due to the structure of the challenges. Silver's pretty cool, though. [Issue 14, p.82]
  3. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. It’s like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.
  4. Sonic the Hedgehog may share its name with the Genesis original, but this game is even more broken than most of the other recent Sonic games have been.
  5. I could've dealt with the much-lauded adventure elements, subpar graphics--even that clown Shadow--but the bottom line is that this feels more like some hack job created by a bunch of Sega interns as opposed to a game from a competent developement studio. [Jan. 2007, p.95]
  6. The consistently poor controls of Sonic’s 3D outings make it seem like Sonic Team has convinced itself that this is how this aspect of the franchise should rightly be, and everyone else should just learn to deal with it. [Christmas 2006, p.82]
  7. SEGA's decision to rush one of its most beloved franchises to the next-gen market has ended in a broken product that does not even deserve a rental.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 104
  2. Negative: 61 out of 104
  1. RKF
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. Could never say Sonic is a bad game but one thing that really ticks me off is the loading. Worst of all, if you do a challenge. It will load, then the person will give you a one liner on what you have to do, then it will load again! It's even worse if you fail the mission because you've go to go through it all over again. Another thing is the silly mini-games. Sonic has to save the world BUT before he does, he has the option of solving a silly puzzle? The Stages are amazing though. Beautiful graphics. Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    8
    I know for a fact that a lot of people that review this game on here have not really played it. In all truth, this game is underrated. As a fan of the series, I would give it a 10, but for a fair review I give it an 8. I'll give you my honest feelings about this game: The controls are not broken. They work just fine. There is a fine sense of speed here. Characters function normal for the most part. Sonic and Blaze function better than the others, however. Speaking of characters, there are a lot of them to play as, which adds variety. Loading times are occasionally long, but you won't mind if you are patient like me. Stage missions are a ton of fun, but only half of the town missions are fun. Stage missions vary from character to character. Sonic and Shadow are about the same, except Shadow's missions allow you to use cool vehicles, and Sonic has mach speed in certain levels. Some people think mach speed is difficult, but if you use the light speed dash move to follow ring paths, they are easy. Silver, the other main character, is slower, but he makes up for it by having psychic powers, which allow him to deflect objects at enemies. The maturity of the story is executed better than the game Shadow The Hedgehog. I love the graphics. Rarely has there been more detail in a Sonic game. There is not a single track of music in this game that is bad either. Other editions include gems, which are items that you can buy from stores. They give Sonic some cool powers, including the ability to shrink, extra speed, and flight. Sure, there are a lot of glitches here, but they don't make the game unplayable. In fact, some of the glitches are amusing. The only glitch that I did not like is the one where the characters Rouge and Knuckles are stuck to walls. Other than that, I find nothing really wrong. Its not bad, but it is not really really good. It is perfect for real fans of the series. Collapse
  3. Dec 16, 2013
    7
    as a sonic fan from the end of sonics 2d world im going to defend this game with 1 single word rushed sonic fans are one fan base you should not try to understand they are evil stupid and most of all annoying as hell sega pushed this game out of the window as fast as possible to shut the sonic fan base up so 7 from me Expand
  4. AVideoGameCritic
    Nov 11, 2007
    4
    Despite some decent gameplay from the other characters, they just can't save the broken nature of this game. The game's a complete mess in every category, and the awful camera, the boring Adventure Fields, the long load times, the uninspired levels, the lack of speed, the glitches, and the lame bosses are present in every adventure in this game. The game's a train wreck and even if it had been granted a delay, it still wouldn't have really benefitted much from it; a complete re-design is what this game needed. Words can not describe how terrible Sonic's adventure is in this game. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    2
    This game functions. That is the only good thing I can say about this game. Heck half the time the game doesnt even do that. This should be avoided with every ability a human being has. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2012
    1
    This game is infamous for wasted potential and being rushed. The entire game is one giant glitch and any attempt to play it will result in frustration. One might dare say that it's an unplayable game, and to that I would agree, attempting to make your way to the end of this game is a feat accomplishable by only the most hardened masochists.

    There were good ideas in this game, but they're not even slightly refined. So in having worthy concepts it earns a 1, but in executing these so poorly it's worth not a single fraction of a point more.
    Expand
  7. AlanJ.
    Nov 29, 2007
    0
    This game sucks, all of you should know that SA2 Battle is way, way better then this game. Sonic on the xbox 360 is a joke and you all should be sad how Sega rushed this game and how 4kids done the stupid voice acting. Expand

See all 104 User Reviews