Sonic the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 543 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in hisSonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in his most intense, high velocity escapade to date. [Sega] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Xbox 360 TGS 2005 Press Conference Montage
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 38
  2. Negative: 22 out of 38
  1. Play Magazine
    85
    You simply can't ask for more out of an action game. Mission accomplished. Sonic is born anew. [Dec 2006; Score revised in Jan issue due to long load times.]
  2. 60
    While it may please hardcore fans of the series with its addicting time-based action segments, it will surely alienate everyone else thanks to the abundance of non-Sonic elements: RPG town-wandering, additional less-enjoyable characters, and a god awful camera.
  3. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. It’s like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.
  4. Sonic the Hedgehog may share its name with the Genesis original, but this game is even more broken than most of the other recent Sonic games have been.
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    40
    I could've dealt with the much-lauded adventure elements, subpar graphics--even that clown Shadow--but the bottom line is that this feels more like some hack job created by a bunch of Sega interns as opposed to a game from a competent developement studio. [Jan. 2007, p.95]
  6. Edge Magazine
    30
    The consistently poor controls of Sonic’s 3D outings make it seem like Sonic Team has convinced itself that this is how this aspect of the franchise should rightly be, and everyone else should just learn to deal with it. [Christmas 2006, p.82]
  7. SEGA's decision to rush one of its most beloved franchises to the next-gen market has ended in a broken product that does not even deserve a rental.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 231
  1. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    I got this game and since I got it I never stopped playing it .! I think it is a great game .It takes a long time to beat it .but it is reallyI got this game and since I got it I never stopped playing it .! I think it is a great game .It takes a long time to beat it .but it is really awesome. Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2016
    10
    One of the better games of 2006, right with Saints Row. It has good gameplay, and astonishing graphics. It's not too broken, only with anOne of the better games of 2006, right with Saints Row. It has good gameplay, and astonishing graphics. It's not too broken, only with an occasional wall clip. And, they couldve made the story a little better. It's fine,though. I think you should play it! Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2017
    8
    I honestly don't get the hate for this game, I always thought that this entry for the series was at the very least, alright. I never knew thatI honestly don't get the hate for this game, I always thought that this entry for the series was at the very least, alright. I never knew that the hate got to "worst game ever" territory. So, I'm here to try and change that mentalilty.

    So, my thoughts are split into 3 categories. Gameplay, Story, and my Overall Thoughts. Now that's out of the way, let's go!

    Gameplay: I thought that the levels had amazing design for the most part. Wave Ocean's nice mix of staged events, and good placement make it one, if not the best, 3D Sonic stages in terms of design.
    My thoughts on the levels aren't all good though. Let me just say one thing. Silver's Dusty Desert.
    So, in conclusion for that topic, the level design and gameplay get a 9/10.

    Story: I really don't see any plot-holes. I think that the story is movie worthy, and could be the plot of the actual Sonic Movie. I'm not going to give a synopsis here, but I do like, nay, LOVE this story. I give it a nice 8.5/10.

    Overall Thoughts: The game doesn't deserve the hate it gets, although I see where people come from when they say that the game is bad. I totally get that. In my honest opinion, I think it's just a flawed game with big potential, and as of 2017, a small following of it's own. Unlike a certain other infamous Sonic game. So, my overall score is up at the top. I like it alot.
    Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2016
    4
    Wow... wow... I knew this game was bad, but it didn't know it was this bad. Sonic the Hedgehog is so unfinished it's laughable. How the hellWow... wow... I knew this game was bad, but it didn't know it was this bad. Sonic the Hedgehog is so unfinished it's laughable. How the hell can you glitch through levels? I know there are lot more bugs but that's just laziness right there. And don't get me started on Silver. The reason I gave it a little credit, because of the music, and how great it looks for 2006. Other than that, bin this POS. Expand
  5. Sam
    Apr 5, 2007
    2
    Despite some solid visuals, the game is awful, broken, and unfinished.
  6. Jul 16, 2016
    1
    THIS is the worst game ever loading times bad story and THE BUGS
    the only good thing is the music tracks i have the ps3 version btw
    i got
    THIS is the worst game ever loading times bad story and THE BUGS
    the only good thing is the music tracks i have the ps3 version btw
    i got this on xmas of 2015 i wanted ist btw
    Expand
  7. AlanJ.
    Nov 29, 2007
    0
    This game sucks, all of you should know that SA2 Battle is way, way better then this game. Sonic on the xbox 360 is a joke and you all should This game sucks, all of you should know that SA2 Battle is way, way better then this game. Sonic on the xbox 360 is a joke and you all should be sad how Sega rushed this game and how 4kids done the stupid voice acting. Expand

See all 231 User Reviews