Sonic the Hedgehog Xbox 360

Sonic the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 487 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in hisSonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in his most intense, high velocity escapade to date. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 38
  2. Negative: 22 out of 38
  1. Play Magazine
    85
    You simply can't ask for more out of an action game. Mission accomplished. Sonic is born anew. [Dec 2006; Score revised in Jan issue due to long load times.]
  2. 60
    While it may please hardcore fans of the series with its addicting time-based action segments, it will surely alienate everyone else thanks to the abundance of non-Sonic elements: RPG town-wandering, additional less-enjoyable characters, and a god awful camera.
  3. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. It’s like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.
  4. Sonic the Hedgehog may share its name with the Genesis original, but this game is even more broken than most of the other recent Sonic games have been.
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    40
    I could've dealt with the much-lauded adventure elements, subpar graphics--even that clown Shadow--but the bottom line is that this feels more like some hack job created by a bunch of Sega interns as opposed to a game from a competent developement studio. [Jan. 2007, p.95]
  6. Edge Magazine
    30
    The consistently poor controls of Sonic’s 3D outings make it seem like Sonic Team has convinced itself that this is how this aspect of the franchise should rightly be, and everyone else should just learn to deal with it. [Christmas 2006, p.82]
  7. SEGA's decision to rush one of its most beloved franchises to the next-gen market has ended in a broken product that does not even deserve a rental.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 218
  1. RKF
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. Could never say Sonic is a bad game but one thing that really ticks me off is the loading. Worst of all, if you do a challenge. Amazing game. Could never say Sonic is a bad game but one thing that really ticks me off is the loading. Worst of all, if you do a challenge. It will load, then the person will give you a one liner on what you have to do, then it will load again! It's even worse if you fail the mission because you've go to go through it all over again. Another thing is the silly mini-games. Sonic has to save the world BUT before he does, he has the option of solving a silly puzzle? The Stages are amazing though. Beautiful graphics. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    everyone who doesnt like this game is just a hater who doesnt understand speed. speed is so fast that glitches appear everywhere, teh gameseveryone who doesnt like this game is just a hater who doesnt understand speed. speed is so fast that glitches appear everywhere, teh games just trying to be realistic. i loved every second of this game. the environments where beautiful, the gameplay was solid (snake hahaha), and the story made me cry. teh whole furry thing was a great new direction for teh franchise and i only wish tehy continued it with the future installments. SONIC SPEED! long live sega. Expand
  3. May 20, 2014
    8
    This may have been a drop that SEGA managed to fix up by Sonic Generations, but they sure did a good job innovating! I believe more SonicThis may have been a drop that SEGA managed to fix up by Sonic Generations, but they sure did a good job innovating! I believe more Sonic games for a Mature audience should be made and this was one of them. Although they completely mest up in Gameplay mechanics and never-ending loading screens, I really enjoyed the storyline as well as the Music! Now would I like to see more games like this? Of course. SEGA had really needed to work on this game more than they should have. They seemed to have concentrated on the storyline more than the gameplay which, of course, I would encourage them to do in the future for any mature Sonic games but they should give equal effort towards the gameplay. Advice for next time they make a game that has as much potential as this: Make yourself a longer due date, as I'm sure your fan base (Myself included) would love to wait a long time be it years for an extra-ordinary game! 10/10 for the story, 10/10 for the Music, 9/10 on Adding storylines for each character and 5/10 for what should have been better worked gameplay. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    4
    Sonic 06 is regarded as the worst Sonic game ever made; while that might be true, I still think Sonic Unleashed is worse for many reasons.Sonic 06 is regarded as the worst Sonic game ever made; while that might be true, I still think Sonic Unleashed is worse for many reasons. While Sonic 06 is bad; I was constantly drawn to it because of one thing-story. Many renowned games; Silent Hill 2 for example; have rather bad combat or little gameplay and instead focus on story or atmosphere. The cut-scenes presented in this are like most of the recent 3D Sonic games (Sonic Heroes, Shadow the Hedgehog, Sonic Unleashed etc.) are absolutely gorgeous, though some design changes (Eggman for instance-OH GOD NO!) are pretty bad. The story feels like an anime plot and I like that quality; it's a pretty goo plot and kept me trying to play. Gameplay is a muddled, bad mess however; slippery controls, a bad camera, annoying hub towns, bugs and annoying deaths make it almost unplayable. If you can stand bad gameplay for story, then I recommend picking this game up cheap, but if you're a hard-core, action and good game player-STAY AWAY Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2015
    2
    Sonic the Hedgehog has been a likable character since the days of the Sega Genesis. Sonic Adventure started out in the Dreamcast and becameSonic the Hedgehog has been a likable character since the days of the Sega Genesis. Sonic Adventure started out in the Dreamcast and became one of the most successful games on the platform in the mid 1990's. Up until now has Sega released a poorly optimized Sonic game that doesn't stand its own ground thanks to its clunky gameplay and its unfair lives system.

    You start off by choosing three stories that all have to be completed before you face the final boss of the game. You start off by choosing three main characters; Sonic, Shadow, and Silver. Sure all of these characters maybe fun to play as when you first get the feeling, then comes the gameplay. I personally start off with Sonic to play as first.

    The game starts off with a cutscene that looks like a Final Fantasy game; the human characters look atrociously animated and does not feel like you are a playing a Sonic game. A princess named Elise is kidnapped by Dr. Eggman, Sonic must chase and look for princess Elise before anything else goes wrong. The game introduces more characters along the way; such as Tails, Kunkles, Amy etc.

    After you finally gain control of Sonic, the game feels extremely sensitive to the controls in which you are controlling. For example, if you slightly tilt the controller, Sonic will walk at a normal pace, but if you hold it all the way forward, he will run so fast that it is really difficult to control him and you will very likely die at multiple sections of the game due to the sensitive controls and movement of Sonic. There are mini-games you can play in the town you are placed in, but why play them? Choosing to accept a mini-game will put you in a twenty second loading screen to read of a short description of that mini-game, but then you have to wait another twenty seconds then fully begin the mini-game. The mini-games themselves don't do very much to help you out; if you could get complete a mini-game in the given time you are supposed to beat, you will be given currency to buy items that could potentially help out Sonic in his quest.

    Then there are the HUB worlds, which are not all that great unfortunately. The first level starts out exciting with Sonic going using a loop-de-loop; then he slides on the water to go on the beach to continue the level. The game wants you to have high expectations for the rest of the game, and if does a really great job at that. At one part in the level, you start playing as Tails. Tails is way more sensitive than Sonic, he has a flying ability that is just as clunky as Sonic's movement. Then he has this attack that he uses to throw rings that are used as a bomb. I died multiple times due to a substantial amount of glitches throughout the level. For example, I was playing as Sonic at one point, I noticed this loop I could run up, when I tried going up the loop, I instead teleported somewhere in the water and then drowned and lost a life (which by the way, hedgehogs in real life can swim).

    Then I get to the second part of the level where I only have two lives left. I had no idea what I was supposed to do, and the game doesn't explain what is going on. Basically you are placed in a auto-scroller, Sonic moves all by himself and runs so fast that you can only move him left and right. Sonic runs so fast that you literally have to push left or right on your controller to get him where he needs to go. Unfortunately, I lost all of my lives on this section because I hit something and died in one hit, even though I had rings left as health. I lost another life when I was going up on a loop, Sonic was running too close to the left that when he was at the end, he missed the speed-booster and ended up falling in the water, leading me to start the entire start of the game all over again.

    I attempted to try and beat this level five times and never got past it. I did try Shadow and Silver's story, but thy are just as broken as Sonic's. As Shadow, he is more sensitive than Sonic, I could assume this because he moves like he is wearing roller-blades. As Silver, he uses a telekinesis power that I thought was unique to his character, but its hit detection is what makes it unbearable to use. Just some examples that could have worked and what could have made the game so much more better.

    The original soundtrack for the game is one of the things I actually liked about the game; it could go from very calming to very intense depending on what level you are on. I also liked how you could play multiple characters and all have a different story; I won't spoil anything, but I did find the characters' stories to be interesting and that we get to learn their backstories and what their problems are.

    Sega could have made this highly anticipated work. Sonic fans will surely be disappointed by frustrating gameplay and the terrible controls. We will have to see what Sega brings to us next on Sonic's 25th anniversary, maybe they will make the ultimate comeback and bring us a well-though Sonic game for everyone.
    Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game. It is terrible. There is only two good things about this game. The music is the first and the scene where shadow kicks silver in the back of the head is the second. The best part, the music is sold separately. For that reason, the rating is based only on that decent shadow scene. Everything else? It has crappy load times, crazy long load screens, controls are **** sonic DIES, and at the end, they literally reset all time so that the story line never even happened. Also, sonic's story line does nothing to advance the story. Sonic, shadow, and especially silver, are also slow. And what the **** is with this time travel **** Just, no. To everything about this game except the music (sold separately) and the shadow scene, I say throw into the depths of hell. Expand
  7. AlanJ.
    Nov 29, 2007
    0
    This game sucks, all of you should know that SA2 Battle is way, way better then this game. Sonic on the xbox 360 is a joke and you all should This game sucks, all of you should know that SA2 Battle is way, way better then this game. Sonic on the xbox 360 is a joke and you all should be sad how Sega rushed this game and how 4kids done the stupid voice acting. Expand

See all 218 User Reviews