User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 138

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    A much better game than the reviews suggest. Loads of secrets and replay value, fantastic graphics and music. If you love sonic you'll love this. Hell, you may even learn to like the Werehog.
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    6
    Sonic unleashed is the prime example of a mixed bag, if ive ever heard of one. The night time levels are boring and uninteresting, and the day time levels are fun and exciting. The game is litteraly bi-polar, with it basically being half good and half, well, bad. The first time playing through this game, i loved it, absolutely loved it. i found the night time levels boring and tedious, but playable none the less, and the day time levels to be awesome. but the more ive played it over the years, the more ive realized that the day time levels, are actually very shallow, and are nothing really but hold foward and go. theyve since mastered this design style, but it really hasnt aged well. The graphics are absolutely gorgeous, and the music is great as well. the controls, while a tad slippery, are decent. Sega took a long time to create the new sonic engine, and while i love the new "Hedgehog Engine" compared to the later titles, this formula really isnt that great in this game, though i still definitely recomend it. This game is alot of fun during the day time levels. The speeds you can achieve are unreal, and the graphics are absolutely gorgeous. all in all, Sonic unleashed is definitely a mixed bag, but i would still reccomend it to any sonic fan. Expand
  3. May 8, 2013
    6
    If you play Sonic Colours & Generations prior to this game, Just don't bother with it. The day time style stages are just much better handling in Colours and Generations. The soundtrack is better in Colours & Generations, The one thing i think this game does better is it's graphics, it's pretty obvious that Unleashed 360 is a better looking game than Colours but why does Unleashed look better than Generations? Anyway the truth of the matter is that Colours & Generations are just the far superior games. Buy them instead :D Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    Half and half, altough the day half weighs way more than the night half, which honestly wouldn't be that bad if it werent for the retarded camera sometimes. Day stages are awesome. great colors, graphics, speed, platfoming, sounds; also very good for speedruns. Night stages could be better, and that theme for enemies really gets annoying after the third time.
    Even so, the game isn't bad,
    and it was a step in the right direction that eventually lead to successes like Colors and Generations. Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    Personally, this is to me the most disappointing sonic game I ever played due to the fact of the addition of the Werehog. The game features Sonic only with some pretty exciting stages that are great but sometimes have a strange pace because of its excessive amount of obstacles in it. However, the werehog experience is a more slower sonic focused on a mediocre combat. The combat gets better when you achieve more combos, but it gets very tiring because the game puts too many combat moments and even less platforming in this stages. The werehog stages can sometimes be great, other times decent, mediocre or even at times awful. Yet, the overall concept of the werehog in general feels out of place and unnecessary for the franchise. I would have rather used a new character that was a wolf and would do those tricks, instead of thinking that somehow Sonic becomes this thing. Luckily, the xbox 360 version features a much more exciting gameplay than the wii version because of a better speed in sonic levels and better controls in the werehog battles that make me give it a higher score. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2014
    4
    Alas, the negatives outway the positives. The werehog levels clunky, slow pace are everything the sonic series isn't about. There is nothing more disappointing then playing as sonic, beating another fairly decent level in 5 minutes and then sighing as you're thrown back into another werehog level, which can take 30minutes plus to trudge through. The final boss battle is also horrendous and no reward for putting up with this disappointing game Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2012
    6
    Sonic Unleashed returns the blue blur to his former glory but has a very hard time reassuring audiences with all new concepts. Plot: In an ambush on Eggman's space armada, Eggman tricks Sonic into his energy absorbing trap and drains the energy out of the 7 Chaos Emeralds to fuel his weapon. This weapon fires upon the Earth causing a re-awakening Dark Gaia to spread out onto the Earth causing it to divide into 7 pieces dettached pieces. This also causes Sonic to transform into a Werehog with advanced combat skills, and highly extendable arms. Upon Sonics ejection back to Earth, he lands in the continent of Apotos and meets a small creature he calls Chip who has lost his memory but has a passion for food. Sonic realizes that during the daytime he will transform back into a Hedgehog, but during the night he will transform back into a Werehog. After saving Tails, he gives Sonic the ability to travel to broken continents via his airplane, Tornado 1. After saving Proffesor Pickle, they learn that if they bring the 7 drained Chaos Emeralds to the 7 temples of Gaia then they can restore power to each Emerald and put each continent back onto the Earth's core. Day stages: In Sonic's hedgehog form, he can run at super sonic speeds which are unbelievably fast but satisfying in the least, but these stages only last a few minutes and even then are hard to manuver but are part of the Sonic experience. Night stages: In Sonic's Werehog form speed isn't the gameplay theme but a combat platformer in which button combos must be mastered and stages drag on. The Medal problem: Sun and Moon Medals must be obtained in order to unlock stages that require a certain quantity of them which make the game frusterating when you can't proceed due to lack of Medal's. Opinion: Hedgehog stages are revolutionary but Werehog stages make up the majority of the game which do not properly represent Sonic's legacy. Because of the Medal system the game becomes very annoying when you cannot procede due to such stupidity. The idea of levels built off of real world locations is very fresh and showcases locales. Running across The Great Wall of China at super sonic speed is satisfying as well as grinding rails that circle Big Ben. If you are a Sonic fan I would try this game as well as if you are a gamer who is into travelling this is a nice one to try. Expand
  8. Sep 24, 2012
    0
    Sonic Generations is a game released on the 360, PS3, PS2 (if you couldn't afford a current gen console), and the Wii (if you like crappy gimmick motion controls). The story of the game is that Dr Eggman blasts a laser at planet Earth and the planet is divided in half. The game offers the return of the terrible open world from Sonic 06 and instead of focusing on the main gameplay, they dedicate half the game to a gimmick. This gimmick is known as Sonic the Werehog who is Sonic turning into a warewolf in the night time. This wouldn't be a problem if this didn't affect half the gameplay. Instead of being focused on speed, these levels are focused on COMBAT. And as we all know, all Sonic games with combat in it failed miserably, so there was no point in doing this. This was a disappointment because the other stages were spot on. This game is not that good. It is half good and half bad because half of the gameplay is messed up. Expand
  9. May 16, 2012
    9
    This game is nearly perfect. It's only flaw is the medal hunting. You have to roam around the hub worlds and levels searching for more sun and moon medals to advance to the next level. The problem is that they're unnecessarily hard to find. Another (minor) flaw is that the difficulty of this game spikes dramatically about halfway thorough. At that point, it takes some real skill to be good at the game. Otherwise, everything else is perfectly executed. Good graphics, story, day and night gameplay, hub worlds, voice acting, cutscenes. character choice, level design, etc. Expand
  10. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    Simply a fun game! This game goes back to alot of what makes Sonic who he is when you play through the Sonic day levels. They actually made a new Hedgehog Engine for this game to get the day levels down. The werehog levels are where some people might be thrown off alil. Yes, it can be a pain to keep having to switch between night and day, but playing as a werehog felt awesome especially since it made this sonic game also into a kid friendly God of War game! :) This is a great Sonic game is definately worth picking up for any sonic fan! Expand
  11. Aug 23, 2011
    4
    If you are looking for a fun platformer, look somewhere else, anywhere else. As for getting your nostalgia fix, you're better off watching a worn out VHS of Power Rangers with the sound off.
  12. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    This game has an incredible mix of speed and fight. I liked the graphics that team sonic used for this game. The only thing that i dislike in this game, are the repetitive nocturne acts.
  13. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    I don't know why it gets so many hate, this game is not bad at all, there is a lot of secrets, great soundtrack, graphics and replayability. Previous games like Generations and Colors are really fun, but their story is unappealing. Unleashed beats both of them into the ground in that category. The Werehog is a new concept of the game that you may or may not like, The Hedgehog has been improved and it has never gone so fast, maybe the segments in the city where you have to talk to everybody it's obnoxious, but I really enjoyed the rest. This game deserves a better score from the critics. Expand
  14. May 13, 2014
    7
    Honestly, not that bad. It's a decent Sonic the Hedgehog game. Very much reminds me of Sonic Adventure. If you can pick it up at a good price, I would definitely recommend it, if you are a Sonic the Hedgehog fan.
  15. Apr 4, 2012
    1
    it is the most sonic bad as I've ever played in the place I prefer sonic the hedgehog episode 1 and internships with sonic sonic colors.Les garou are zero, so for me it is not very convincing.
  16. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    I really must give this gem praise. Sonic really should take another daring crack like this game did. The game was fun and those who deny it are kidding themselves. While it is true that the Where hog levels were not as good as the Day stages, they were still quite fun in its own right. Me and my brother played in cooperative craze trying to beat this. He played the Where hog and me the original Sonic since I wasn't as good as he was in the Night stages. The Day stages are fast paced and fun with platforming in the mix. This new concept in the 3D Sonic formula really drove you into playing for those stages again. The key in these stages was to go really fast, but not get carried away in it as well. Sonic games have always challenged your restraint in speed as the trick to playing cleanly through a stage and it sure doesn't stop in this game either. The only problem is that Sonic is a little slippery to control at times. The Night stages, contrary to popular opinion, were really not that bad. They weren't as fun as the Day stages, but they were fun in their own way and really helped hit home in the atmosphere this game was playing out towards. The only flaw in this plan was that there were too many Night stages to play through. This is really dissapointing because a balance would have really made this game much better than it already is and frankly, it would make me more inclined to play through it again. The story is decent, but its presentaion is the biggest victory over it. Its saving the world from Eggman again, but it really feels like that final battle that you have to keep persevering to finally prevail in the end. The scope of this game makes you really feel like your where you are. In the Arabian area, Italian town, Tropical Island, a bustling city, etc. The music is really where I must give props for. SEGA truly had outdone themselves in an original soundtrack in this game. Its diverse and high spirited, with different cultures added into the mix. The orchestration and jazz band are truly welcome in SEGA music as this is among their best soundtracks. It really brings the adventurous feeling of traveling from country to country, saving the world, meeting new people, etc. One of my biggest gripes about this game is the voice acting. Jason does his best performance as Sonic, but everyone can't be said the same way. Chip's character was also a bit annoying, but still memorable and he did grow on me after a while. Its not the best Sonic game ever, but its still definately an underrated game in the franchise, easily worth the buy, especially the 15 dollars its on sale for these days. If you want the best version of this game I highly suggest getting the Xbox version. Don't pass this game up if your interested. Expand
  17. Dec 8, 2013
    4
    Oh look! a Fanfiction that became a game! Oh Boy! Sonic Unleashed is basically not a good game. its not even mediocre, its just plain bad. people say that the daytime stages are great, and the boost fomula is awesome. the boost formula works for colors and generations, and it looks pretty in unleashed, but the fact of the matter is, in unleashed, it is ruined by drastic framerate issues (i'm looking at you adabat), stupid quick time events (oh and those plane levels, completely full of them), and wasting your time collecting medals to progress through the game (I HATE THAT).

    sonic is known for going through level to level, or at least having good hub worlds, but unleashed hub worlds are just lame and really serve little to no purpose at all. really dont have that much of an issue with the daytime controls except for one thing, the boost button is the homing attack button (thank god generations fixed this). youre on the air homing attacking enemies and suddenly, you boost and boost all the way to your death. so if people are gonna say that the daytime stages are amazing, it isnt. it isnt at all (in my opinion).

    the night levels... well, you already know whats wrong with it, but people say that its good fashioned beat em up. that is not true. the enemies were too cheap, the werehog voice was annoying, you could just press one button and beat up everyone, and the level just drags. my time ranged from 15-20 minutes each level. and not to mention, if i wanted to play a beat em up, i would play god of war, but i'm playing SONIC. i want to have fast paced platforming.

    the story is bad. chip comes out of nowhere, then suddenly out of nowhere, he is revealed to be a god, then suddenly out of nowhere, he uses the temples to turn into a transformer (robots in disguise). amy is very annoying in the game. in lost world, she is actually mature, in sonic unleashed, she is the opposite of that. professor pickles, other than to tell you where to go, he is not important at all. the werehog, i thought he was gonna be badass, but he's a total pushover, and has a voice more annoying than jet the hawk. the only three characters i tolerate are daytime sonic eggman, and tails.

    overrall, game is bad in my opinion. if you already have sonic colors or generations, why get sonic unleashed?
    Expand
  18. Nov 5, 2013
    2
    Equally bad as Sonic '06. that's all i have to say

    Broken and Slippery Controls and Broken Werehog Stages. it seems the Day Stages are the only good levels in the game. This game still has potential. but one of the worst entries hat Sega has ever put in.
  19. Dec 4, 2011
    7
    While the hub worlds are annoying, the medal collecting tedious, and the Werehog stages plain frustrating, the daytime stages are well worth the frustration. While it's nowhere near as good as the recently released Generations, for $10-$20, it's well worth it.
  20. Feb 11, 2014
    7
    Just bought sonic unleashed a week ago and its a decent game if u can get by the wearwolf levels. i mean the games story is decent. The gameplay for the speed levels is absolutley fun because its almost exactly the sane as generations but the werewolf levels kinda suck,. i mean the combat system is decent and fun but not for sonic and i don't like how they didnt explain how he became a werewolf. But all the little mini game levels and walking around the city and the speed levels make this a solid decent yet debatable 3d sonic game Expand
  21. Nov 3, 2011
    5
    A huge letdown for my Sonic fanboyness. Honestly, it is my least favorite 3-D sonic game I have played so far. I just didn't enjoy the story or feel as strong of a connection as I did in the other games, and I felt that the presence of the Wherehog was ultimately detrimental to Sonic's legacy as a whole.
  22. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    I really like this game more than the first 360 game the visuals are great, the soundtrack is brill and the story is great but the only two flaws of the game is the upgrade system for the day levels and the game-play for the ware-hog levels (like when you balance on the planks or whatever they called them) so this game is way better the last game.
  23. Dec 8, 2011
    4
    Sonic Unleashed seemed to continue the downward trend of modern Sonic games. OK, I will admit - it's a step forward from 06, but that doesn't automatically mean it's great. What people overlook so damn much is that: 1) The MAJORITY of the game is played as the Werehog, which is absolute CRAP. I can't believe people can be so blind and brand this as 'such a great game' and yet they themselves had a horrible time with this disgusting gameplay style. 2/3 of the game is played as this piece of crap, which automatically makes it a bad game. But no, SEGA had to make it even WORSE! Let's go deeper, shall we? 2) Surprisingly, the incredibly overrated daytime stages are bad as well. At first, you'll be in love with them, because of their insane speed, seemless gameplay and literally effortless fun. But once you decide to play them again... the fun is gone. Why? Because you're constrained in a tight hallway surrounded by invisible walls and doing nothing but plough through everything at breakneck speed with no thinking required. I really don't understand what the hell is so fun about this turdfest. It's WAY too easy and gives nothing for the player to do but RUN. Sounds fun, right? 3) Pace... ugh. Remember the good old days, where simply beating a stage would lead you onto another? Well, Sonic Unleashed throws all of that away and forces you to explore hubworlds, talk to random people, wait through loading screens to access ANOTHER hubworld and as soon as you reach the level gate, you're prompted by this annoying pest known as 'Chip' that you haven't collected enough sun or moon medals. This means that you have to replay the crap you've just played to collect more medals hidden throughout the stages in order to progress. It enhances replay value, but then again, why 'enhance' replay value on something that nobody would enjoy (well, at least the Werehog, anyway)? It's just a stupid gimmick to pad the game out. OK, so, I don't like this game, which is pretty clear. But is there ANYTHING that this game did right? Hell yes. 1) The graphics are stunning, especially in HD. It makes the pain more bearable to see all these pretty landscapes that you wish you could explore but can't because the stupid game won't let you. 2) The music is fantastic. The daytime music is usually more fast and upbeat, featuring some catchy tunes packed with variety. These just give me a feel-good feeling. The nighttime music, on the other hand, is much slower, somewhat orchestral and relaxing. Personally, I prefer the daytime music, but there's no denying that both types of track are just great. 3) While I do NOT like the daytime stages, I can praise it for at least one thing: the technical achievement. Even though ploughing mindlessly through everything is NOT my kind of fun, you've got to admit that it's pretty darn stunning to see Sonic run that fast with incredible graphics to boot. There's not a single slowdown issue while doing any of this, either. There are a few framerate dips, however, espeically in the later stages. So, all in all, I would recommend Sonic Unleashed ONLY to diehard Sonic fans who want to 'check it out'. Otherwise, (send me death threats for saying this, I don't care) Sonic Unleashed is a smelling piece of crap and it should never have been released in such a state. Expand
  24. Sep 6, 2013
    5
    As someone who does not usually play Sonic games, the night levels were probably a saving grace for me. Day levels feel too hectic and completely reliant on trial and error; you are running too fast to dodge anything! In addition, having to save up sun and moon tokens to unlock levels is just taking the piss, and was on Sega's part a terrible design decision. With day levels especially, having to treck back and snoop around for medals is hugely frustrating. On the plus side, I thoroughly enjoyed the night levels, although enemies are a little predictable with attacks. The reason this doesn't give it a positive review is that a Sonic game is meant to be about the 'proper' Sonic game play, and it doesn't get that part right. Sonic Unleashed was nice idea by Sega but it crashes and burns. Expand
  25. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    This is amazingly fun! Well, this version is, anyway! I love both levels, even when it can get a bit frustrating, this game has combined extreme speed, with seamless 3D - 2D transitions and combat, with mostly smooth gameplay, well done SEGA!
  26. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    This game is not really bad. The gamplay can be great in daytime levels and touchy in nightime levels, but the graphics and music is awesome. The length of the game is about 10+ hours, and are both for fun and pain. Sega is stupid about delisting this game, because they need to re-realase this game, but making the werehog levels like in Sonic & the Secret Rings, and do the framerate at a good speed, and also making the daytime levels longer and the nightime levels shorter. I'm giving this game an 8 for all these reasons. Expand
  27. Jan 11, 2014
    3
    Why nighttime levels? Why werehog? Why make a sonic game without speed? The day stages is awesome, but the most levels is in night mode and the day stages requires much less time to complete in another words, this is a sonic game with no speed and boring stages in most of time. Who is next steep? Make an FPS game without guns in most time? For day stages, i will give 10 and for night stages, ZERO. Expand
  28. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    When I am downloading a new game on my PC, I like to play this game. It's really fun and they did and excellent job on the fighting. Some people may not like the new fighting, but I don't really mind.
  29. Aug 3, 2013
    6
    Gameplay-6: The Controls are terrible, during the night they're somewhat tolerable but during the day he moves so fast you can barely control him, and as he collects rings (which he needs to stay alive) he gets even faster, making the controls even worse. The levels are boring and I don't get that much fun out of them, and at night the fighting is just plain boring. This game doesn't measure up to the classic style 2d games, and is very poorly designed. However, the game is interesting in terms of level design and puzzle style.
    Sound-7: The music is ok, but nothing really immersed me.
    Graphics-9: Nearly flawless, there are very few quirks, my only problem is a few camera quirks.
    Fun-4: This game's poor controls, plus odd and boring gameplay, makes the fun of this game sub-par.
    Overall:6.5, I'll round it down because fun and gameplay are more important than sound and graphics, and they got lower scores.
    Expand
  30. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    This game is quite a pleasant surprise. With its smart level design, fluid controls, and breathtaking graphics, Unleashed may be the greatest Sonic game since Sonic 3 & Knuckles.
  31. May 26, 2014
    3
    There is awesome cut scenes in this game...... that is it. There is monotonous boring gameplay and a story no one cares about. After about 1 hour i couldn't play it anymore. Don't play it even if you love sonic. And about the werewolf..... it could have worked if killing bad guys didn't happen so often and platforming wasn't so dumb and simple. On a plus side though. Sonic sections are pretty solid but lack variety which ruins sonic gameplay. As a final product, it doesn't meet standards. Expand
  32. Oct 23, 2010
    6
    Sonic Unleashed is an aquired taste certianly. On the one hand you have some of the best level design and platforming action the series has ever seen, and on the other we find an absurd beat-em-up that has no place in a Sonic game. To focus on the Daytime stages for a minute, they are fantastic but not without their flaws, you can be blitzing around europe at insane speeds and getting second-perfect button presses to keep your speed going then, bang, you've hit a wall where no warning has been given. These moments are few and far between but they are noticably more common in the later levels. Though even with this slight problem I still find these levels to be a great way to pass the time. Seamlessly switching from a blisteringly fast 3D view into a side on sidescrolling section is a sight to behold and it works incredibly well, providing for fans of both the modern and original games.

    Now for the Werehog. Now for the Werehog. No that wasn't a typo, it was a metaphor for the Werehog experience. Repetative. Each level consists of swing to point A bash in a group of monsters, swing to point B, bash in even more monsters, swing to point C and beat a big boss monster. This couldbe bareable if the levels wern't so long, I found many of my playthroughs of a Werehog stage took over 20 to 30 minutes on some of the longer levels. This is ridiculous in a Sonic game, whee speed is key and you can make it through more day levels in under 5 minutes. The combat is broken to the extent that even leveling up and getting new combo's takes a backseat to repeatedly mashing the light and heavy attack buttons.

    In all Sonic Team should have used the time they used for the Werehog to add more day stages and improve upon the ones that are already there (Not that there is all that much to fix) Unfortunantly the Werhog blunders in and smashes all the hard work the day stages provide and almost ruin the whole experience. The only thing keeping this game from sinking into the dreaded red zone are the day stages and their fast and fun gameplay. Take my advice if you do buy this game; Spend a few hours blitzing the main story, then sit back, relax, enjoy the daytime stages and hone your skills for Sonic Colours.
    Expand
  33. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic Unleashed is a very good attempt to bring Sonic back and it succeeds to me find out why. The story is quite simple but kind of funny with chip/ light gaia what happens is Dr.Eggman has lured Sonic into a trap to suck the energy of the chaos emeralds and shoot at the earth to wake up Dark Gaia so he can rule the world and call Eggmanland after that the rest of the story is simple just restoring chaos emeralds finding out what happens and learning more about Chip.
    The graphics in this game are fantastic it looks like it is Disney the only problem which is one of the reasons why I lowered it to 9 is the frame-rate issues later on like abadat. The game-play is almost perfect in the day time the only problem is the unresponsive at times jump button and the werehog is good despite what people say the only problem i find is his balancing and the spike part in empire city but I can ease that now.
    Time for one of the best parts music nearly every single track is memorable the main ones are endless possibilities by Jaret Raddick , Rooftop Run and cool edge.
    The bosses are easy except for the quicktime event in perfect dark gaia mash the x button 60 times is too much i say but it does get easier.
    I liked the aeroplane sections not that bad it was fun to shoot at ships and watch the beautiful view The bad is frame-rate sometimes drop, quicktime events over done, the shooting part kind of , unresponsive at times
    Expand
  34. Sep 22, 2013
    7
    This game is a massive improvement on Sonic 06, but it still has problems like the Moon Medals and the homing attack can be glitchy but it's still a good game.
  35. Jul 10, 2011
    4
    Sonic Unleashed is far too repetitive and annoying. The only fun I found in this game were the daytime levels which didn't last very long. The night levels were extremely tedious. The controls were far too sensitive and clunky, and every level saw you doing the same thing. Kill these guys. Open up this door. Kill these guys. Open up this door. Jump over a ledge. Kill these guys. Die. Repeat the level from the start. Also, the same infuriating music played every time some enemys spawned. I thought the option to upgrade Sonic's powers were a neat addition, but there wasn't enough fun content here to keep me hooked for long. Expand
  36. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    Sonic Unleashed is one of the best games I have ever played( call me crazy). The day time stages were really fun and fast paced. The night time stages offered a lot of plat forming and combat. I think the gameplay really was balanced. The graphics were extremely amazing. The music, as always, was really fantastic. The hub worlds were small and quite interesting in my opinion. There are many side quests in the game and the story was great. The voice acting was the best Sonic voice acting I ever heard. This was Jason Griffith at his greatest folks. Sonic was super duper fast in this game and featured quick time events. The quick time events didn't bother me one bit but they were really easy. I think this game is worth a shot if you enjoy controlling Sonic at high speeds and love a plat forming. Don't let big time critics fool you, this was one OUTSTANDING game. You should give it a try. Expand
  37. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    Even though some of the reviews say this game is bad it is far from that. the only bad thing about this game is collecting sun and moon medals to unlock levels and the final level. other than that the day stages are incredible. the night stages while some can be very long they can be very fun. imo this is the best looking sonic game ever. the music as always is amazing. I loved leveling up sonic and the werehog either to go even faster as sonic or be stronger or be able to unleashed new moves as the werehog. this is a sonic game you will go back to play the day stages maybe even some of the night stages. this is one of the best sonic games of all time. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 50
  2. Negative: 10 out of 50
  1. As much as I disliked lumbering through levels as Sonic’s hulky Werehog, I disliked hunting through the hub worlds looking for coins even more. Sega, if you really want to fix Sonic, the first thing you should do is stop trying to fix him.
  2. 50
    Ultimately, this simply isn't the fresh start Sonic fans were so desperately hoping for...but at least it's not as execrable as the last two efforts.
  3. Sonic Unleashed is a glorious return to true console form for Sonic.