Sonic Unleashed Xbox 360

Sonic Unleashed Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Having been broken apart by the evil Dr. Eggman, it's up to Sonic to put the pieces of the world back together again by retrieving the power of the chaos emeralds! In doing so, Sonic finds himself in a race against time and faced with an unusual situation that challenge hims in ways neverHaving been broken apart by the evil Dr. Eggman, it's up to Sonic to put the pieces of the world back together again by retrieving the power of the chaos emeralds! In doing so, Sonic finds himself in a race against time and faced with an unusual situation that challenge hims in ways never before seen. Both day and night play different, yet important, roles in Sonic's newest quest... as the sun sets, a new adventure awakens. By completing a wide variety of action-packed stages, spanning the seven broken continents of the world, gamers unleash Sonic’s amazing abilities to save the world, and himself! In addition to running at high speeds, which is highlighted in four new speed mechanics, combat fighting now becomes possible. New combat, movement, functional abilities and platforming are introduced to offer increased depth and variety. Sonic Unleashed offers a re-defined experience for fans and newcomers of the franchise alike by combing picturesque & detailed scenery, an expansive world with multiple paths to choose from and dynamic viewpoints for an immersive and renewed gaming atmosphere. Along with seamless 3D to classic 2D camera transitions, the game is built on a powerful, new proprietary "Hedgehog Engine," which introduces impressive lighting abilities and new technology tailor made for Sonic’s new speed capabilities. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 50
  2. Negative: 10 out of 50
  1. Sonic Unleashed is a glorious return to true console form for Sonic.
  2. An accomplished Sonic game leaving us wanting more.
  3. I appreciate Team Sonic’s effort to mix the old with the new, and there’s definitely some potential in the alter-ego mechanic. Unfortunately, they don’t blend especially well in Unleashed, an experience that had me alternately stoked to get to the next traditional level and a bit disappointed every time the sun went down.
  4. The Sonic-team has succeeded in developing an improvement upon the last Sonic-game on the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. Even then, Sonic Unleashed is a flawed game. The Hedgehog-levels are fast and fun, while the Werehog-levels offer a bit of a change to the classic Sonic-gameplay, although, unfortunately, it often comes down to mindless button bashing. Unleashed shows that Sonic isn’t dead and buried yet, but still leaves a lot to be desired.
  5. 60
    Sonic Unleashed is kind of a video game equation of sorts. If half the game is solid but far from perfect, and the other half is pitifully bland and repetitive, then the result equals an experience that ends up disappointing almost as much as impressing and entertaining.
  6. Despite the power of the blue Hedgehog, Sonic Unleashed never really impressed us. The game has its moments, but these moments are so rare and easily forgotten when you've reached the point where you almost throw your controller against the tv. The race levels are awesome, but with the heavy load of the uninspiring Werehog levels, those aren't even enough to give the game a sufficient grade.
  7. Terrible level design, unresponsive controls, and a poor camera are just the beginning of the problems in this awful adventure.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 81
  2. Negative: 12 out of 81
  1. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    A much better game than the reviews suggest. Loads of secrets and replay value, fantastic graphics and music. If you love sonic you'll loveA much better game than the reviews suggest. Loads of secrets and replay value, fantastic graphics and music. If you love sonic you'll love this. Hell, you may even learn to like the Werehog. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    This game has amazing gameplay, graphics, music everything comes together nicely in it. It's fun and delivers slight variety but keepsThis game has amazing gameplay, graphics, music everything comes together nicely in it. It's fun and delivers slight variety but keeps everything you love about sonic in it 10/10 BESTEST GAME EVA Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    Simply a fun game! This game goes back to alot of what makes Sonic who he is when you play through the Sonic day levels. They actually made aSimply a fun game! This game goes back to alot of what makes Sonic who he is when you play through the Sonic day levels. They actually made a new Hedgehog Engine for this game to get the day levels down. The werehog levels are where some people might be thrown off alil. Yes, it can be a pain to keep having to switch between night and day, but playing as a werehog felt awesome especially since it made this sonic game also into a kid friendly God of War game! :) This is a great Sonic game is definately worth picking up for any sonic fan! Expand
  4. Cole
    Feb 19, 2009
    8
    You know, this game really took way too much flak. I'll admit, when saw the first trailer of werehog gameplay, I thought it was by far You know, this game really took way too much flak. I'll admit, when saw the first trailer of werehog gameplay, I thought it was by far the dumbest Sonic gimmick SEGA had come up with yet. But I checked the game out, and I was actually pleasantly surprised. I daresay the daytime stages of this game are Sonic at his absolute best, and even the werehog stages are decently fun. It's by no means perfect, but given Sonic's recent fiascos, this is definitely a return to his roots and a huge step in the right direction. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2016
    8
    This is my favorite 3D Sonic games. Honestly better than SA2. Yes I just said that. But there were barely any times that I had to rage quitThis is my favorite 3D Sonic games. Honestly better than SA2. Yes I just said that. But there were barely any times that I had to rage quit Sonic Unleashed. I have turned off and almost thrown the controller in a fit of rage several times during adventure 2 and not because of Sonic and Shadow. The boost mechanic was an amazing addition to Sonic's 3D gameplay. The sense of speed in this game is absolutely stunning and I have an absolute blast during the daytime stages. The werehog is not a terrible thing. Honestly I actually enjoy some of the werehog stages. Except for chun nan at night. Those wizards and pole sections can shove a telephone pole up their butts. But the combat is truly enjoyable with more combos to unlock and many different methods of defeating enemies and there is something extremely satisfying about picking up an enemy and using said enemy to smack another enemy with and kill them that way. Also its funny when sonic slams them on the ground repeatedly. One major critique that I need to address is the need to hunt for sun and moon medals in order to progress throughout the story. In the nighttime stages this is no problem. During the day, however, Sonic is blazing past these things at extremely high speeds. But other than these problems This game is a truly underrated Sonic game that deserves more good rep than bad. Any of the bad reviews are essentially people who just don't like the werehog stages and can't look past that at the rest of the game. Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2013
    6
    Gameplay-6: The Controls are terrible, during the night they're somewhat tolerable but during the day he moves so fast you can barely controlGameplay-6: The Controls are terrible, during the night they're somewhat tolerable but during the day he moves so fast you can barely control him, and as he collects rings (which he needs to stay alive) he gets even faster, making the controls even worse. The levels are boring and I don't get that much fun out of them, and at night the fighting is just plain boring. This game doesn't measure up to the classic style 2d games, and is very poorly designed. However, the game is interesting in terms of level design and puzzle style.
    Sound-7: The music is ok, but nothing really immersed me.
    Graphics-9: Nearly flawless, there are very few quirks, my only problem is a few camera quirks.
    Fun-4: This game's poor controls, plus odd and boring gameplay, makes the fun of this game sub-par.
    Overall:6.5, I'll round it down because fun and gameplay are more important than sound and graphics, and they got lower scores.
    Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2012
    0
    Sonic Generations is a game released on the 360, PS3, PS2 (if you couldn't afford a current gen console), and the Wii (if you like crappySonic Generations is a game released on the 360, PS3, PS2 (if you couldn't afford a current gen console), and the Wii (if you like crappy gimmick motion controls). The story of the game is that Dr Eggman blasts a laser at planet Earth and the planet is divided in half. The game offers the return of the terrible open world from Sonic 06 and instead of focusing on the main gameplay, they dedicate half the game to a gimmick. This gimmick is known as Sonic the Werehog who is Sonic turning into a warewolf in the night time. This wouldn't be a problem if this didn't affect half the gameplay. Instead of being focused on speed, these levels are focused on COMBAT. And as we all know, all Sonic games with combat in it failed miserably, so there was no point in doing this. This was a disappointment because the other stages were spot on. This game is not that good. It is half good and half bad because half of the gameplay is messed up. Collapse

See all 81 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.