Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by the Project Soul team, SOULCALIBUR V begins 17 years after the events of SOULCALIBUR IV with new heroes and returning warriors clashing in a showdown between good and evil. The tale of Patroklos, son of Sophitia Alexandra, unfolds as his family's destiny intertwines with theDeveloped by the Project Soul team, SOULCALIBUR V begins 17 years after the events of SOULCALIBUR IV with new heroes and returning warriors clashing in a showdown between good and evil. The tale of Patroklos, son of Sophitia Alexandra, unfolds as his family's destiny intertwines with the Soul swords. With the series' 8-way run, allowing for true 3D movement during matches, a refined battle system, and fine graphics, SOULCALIBUR V might be for anyone looking for a knock-down, drag-out fight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 56
  2. Negative: 1 out of 56
  1. Feb 5, 2012
    91
    The building blocks for an enduring fighter are well-laid.
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    88
    While some of the changes are questionable and some might blame Namco for not taking the "if it isn't broken, don't fix it" approach, this remains a welcome new entry that will give another boost to the fighting genre.
  3. Feb 1, 2012
    84
    Diehard fans will definitely want to check the game out, but they are also the ones who are most likely to come away slightly disappointed. And if you aren't a legacy Soulcalibur fight veteran, you may want to just rent or wait for a price drop. There are a few more fighting games coming this year and Soulcalibur V has left plenty of room for improvement.
  4. Feb 2, 2012
    80
    While I'm mildly disappointed in the linear and rather limited single player mode here in Soul Calibur V, the simple fact that Namco caught up to Capcom's feature sets in the online department is a pretty big deal. I'm far from a pro player, but I do think that SCV offers fast, offense-oriented action without the ridiculously frenetic pace and utter chaos of the Marvel vs. Capcom series.
  5. Feb 9, 2012
    78
    No doubt, Soul Calibur V is a good, if not great fighting game. However the new changes in the gameplay and roster might scare away some of the faithful fans.
  6. Jan 31, 2012
    75
    Soulcalibur V is at its absolute best with friends, when it's testing your skill, reaction times and trash talking ability. The combat is still great and the graphics are still beautiful. Outside of that, it's a slight disappointment, as this is the weakest single player experience in the series yet. The game just never attempts to give us something we haven't seen before.
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    40
    The new character customization is either much better or much worse, depending on what you're looking for in character customization. If you want to put stickers on your cape or make a short Asteroth, Soulcalibur V is the game for you. But if you want Soulcalibur IV's indepth unlockable stat-based equipment RPG, well, Soulcalibur IV is the game for you. Because Soulcalibur V has none of that. What a disappointing step backwards.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    The best 3D fighting game is return and Better than ever, more characters, more options, best mode for playing online... what else could youThe best 3D fighting game is return and Better than ever, more characters, more options, best mode for playing online... what else could you want? Are you a fan from the series? don think about it and buy it! Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2012
    9
    This is a great game. People are complaining about the single player, but I think that is absurd as this ia really a multiplayer game. theThis is a great game. People are complaining about the single player, but I think that is absurd as this ia really a multiplayer game. the netcode is very solid too. All around great game. Expand
  3. May 11, 2013
    8
    Soul Calibur took a chance by changing up the story mode, a move that did not work in its favor. Having a personalized experience for eachSoul Calibur took a chance by changing up the story mode, a move that did not work in its favor. Having a personalized experience for each character in the game is part of what gave the Soul series so much replay value. In the latest installment, that feature is lost.

    Another daring move Namco made was replacing fan-favorite characters for some fresh faces. Soul Calibur V takes place 17 years after Broken Destiny, so I believe trading in some of the characters was necessary to match the timeline. Many of the new characters bear similar fighting styles to those absent, so it is not a huge loss. However, Amy's graceful fencing and my favorite Talim's dual-wield elbow blades did not return. Truly disappointing.

    Despite the two major flaws, I still believe Soul Calibur V is a game worth being played. Both English and Japanese voice acting is flawless, the graphics are clean and crisp, the combat is excellent as always, the character customization is limitless and the character designs are original and sexy.

    If you have XBL then you will thoroughly enjoy this game. Online matches with other players against their customized characters is entertaining and with great combat it's simply unbeatable.
    If you're not an XBL user, then you might just want to stick with Soul Calibur 4. It has more replay value and you get a cooler guest character.
    Expand
  4. May 13, 2012
    7
    I love three things in the video game world, RPG's customization and fighting games. This delivers on two of the three. As far as story goesI love three things in the video game world, RPG's customization and fighting games. This delivers on two of the three. As far as story goes it's probably one of the worst i have ever played, as the most interesting characters Z.W.E.I is almost completely untouched. Also, it's boring and short, i beat it in almost 2 hours. The fighting itself is great, fluid and superbly animated. However, attacks are too strong. Playing as nightmare you can end the game in four strikes easily. The character creator is amazing and is most likely the best one i have ever seen.Which bumps this up. Now being the technical sixth game in the series it's inevitable that it is compared to the others and it nowhere even comes close to the awesomeness of soul Calibur 2 which is why i'm disappointing in this game. Collapse
  5. Jun 7, 2012
    6
    Soulcalibur V is one hell of a fighting game, but its not without its flaws. From whiny and annoying characters to the over powered characterSoulcalibur V is one hell of a fighting game, but its not without its flaws. From whiny and annoying characters to the over powered character Nightmare (who is also ridiculously fast too!) And they have rid us all of some of the best characters in the SC series! There is no longer a Talim to play as, Taki or a summing summing -mina! (Cant spell her name! The woman who was like Kilik with the bladed pole thingy!) The CPU's spam their moves quite a bit also. But apart from removing a couple of the best characters they have introduced new ones! Ezio the assassin from Assassin's Creed is a special character available to play in SCV. Ezio is a good character, not the best introduced in V but a good one! (I mean who doesn't like Ezio? He kills with tiny blades and shoots a cross-bow! I think they just stole the job i do for a living!) Then their another bunch of people with names i cant spell, but im going to give it a go! Potrokolus, the main character, theirs actually two versions of him. But he is an awful character just like his sister (who is also a character and has two character version/types) They both whine and cry about their poor little lives. So have fun with them! Theirs Devil Jin the man from Tekken. But they have actually introduced two decent characters! One man by the name of Z.W.E.I (Odd name I know, don't get me started!) His character design is pretty cool (Apart from the giant moon tattoo on his chest) and his fighting style is very interesting. He fight with a wolf that he summons from time to time. His moves a pretty weak but if you know how to play as him you can use him to a rather good extent. He is a combo powerhouse! And the other character is a woman by the name of Viola. Another interestingly designed character, she used a glowing orb to fight, but her moves too are very weak. But once again if you can play as her she is pretty damn good! Now the character customization in this game is amazing! I myself have spent a few hours creating characters. One i was perticually proud of was my Morrigan creation (Dragon Age Origins) in the style of Viola! You can pretty much create anything and any one! If you wanted too you could create a horse man/woman. Not that you want to but you know, its nice to be given the option. Show they care in kind of a weird way. Although the game is quite dreadful in a way, it also has a way of just pulling you back in to play it again. It's like it has absorbed your soul and you just have to play it one more hour. So if you like SoulCalibur then i would say buy it. Its not the best one but it is very fun to play! Plus you can play as your favorite characters! Oh, wait, they probably took them out... Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2012
    5
    This Series is a classic. And i hope this is the last one because it's becoming more repetitive by every game. I like this game but it getsThis Series is a classic. And i hope this is the last one because it's becoming more repetitive by every game. I like this game but it gets boring since i played every soul caliber Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2012
    0
    soulcalibur V is the most utterly retarded game ever. i can't believe I paid 30$ for a used version of this mess. the combos are almostsoulcalibur V is the most utterly retarded game ever. i can't believe I paid 30$ for a used version of this mess. the combos are almost impossible to do and memorize (because Y=B and X=A and you have to figure this out). also, the storyline sucks and instead of having videos between fights all you have is reading material.

    finally, there is limited possibilities for character creation (half of equipments and haircuts are jokes) I HATE THIS GAME. stay away from it and unless you haven't had puberty buy Mortal Kombat 9 instead.
    Expand

See all 43 User Reviews