Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring thousands of ruthless weapon combinations and a robust skill system, Spartacus Legends delivers a variety of tools for gamers to customize their gladiators and dismember their foes. Gamers will be able to fight as Spartacus, Crixus or one of their own created gladiators as they battle with friends offline or in online multiplayer to join the ranks on the worldwide leaderboards. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Jul 22, 2013
    65
    Spartacus Legends is a free-2-play that deserves attention for a number of interesting features, such as the management phase and a certain tension attributed to the fact that you may lose your gladiator.
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    63
    It is theoretically enjoyable, but there are some issues, mostly online related, that spoil all the fun. We encourage you to give it a try, since it has a lot of entertainment to offer.
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    60
    Spartacus Legends has an interesting combat system and character progression, but fails with its servers problems, poor netcode and some graphics issues.
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    60
    Better exploitation of the license would allow Spartacus Legends of becoming a title unavoidable at least for fans of the TV series.
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    48
    Legends has missed the point of the business model entirely, giving unfortunate players a choice of grinding through shallow, unfulfilling and downright ugly combat, or forking out substantial amounts of real money to bypass said mediocrity. [Sept 2013, p.71]
  6. 20
    Most free to play games are engineered for compulsive play, but Spartacus Legends is about as addictive as swallowing sand. Thumbs down.
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    20
    It's a bad game compromised further by awkward monetisation. [Issue#101, p.84]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 38
  2. Negative: 15 out of 38
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Great for fans of the series...if the bugs and server issues get fixed. A patch is vital to this game being more than mediocre. I would have paid the 60 bucks for a smooth and complete Spartacus fighter. Instead, the developers urge players to go to the bank and pay 150 bucks for gold coins for the full game experience. This game as of now is not worth one dollar as it is nearly impossible to get on the servers. I am a die-hard Spartacus fan and a so-so fighter fan, so this game should be perfect for me. But will it get fixed? If it does and you can look past the pay scheme and the somewhat clunky fighter responses, this Tribute to all things gladiator might be just what the summer ordered. Right now, I think I will play some borderlands 2 or injustice, at least until the servers get fixed. I give the game a 8 based on it getting fixed. No fix, this game gets a 3. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2014
    8
    Let me start by saying this is a newer post check date.

    Ok, as far as I know there is no game that is remotely close to the same concept of
    gladiator fighting.
    I keep seeing people say pay to win, but the gold gain is pretty steady and quick to accumulate, granted you can buy gear before you can use it lvl wise. As far as advantage goes I dont see that as an issue considering I win 90% of my online matches and I havent payed a cent on it. The online matches and people using the same combo must have been a thing of the past because as far as I can tell so far I havent seen thst issue with the exception of hammer but thats easily remedied with daggers or unarmed. The graphics arnt half bad, if you have played a sandbox game before it has that feel. As far as the arena size goes its relatively small which I like, big maps would make for long drawn out fights. Skill far outweighs gear and rating, ive been killed by a common fighter while on a legendary toon, timing and practice make perfect.

    The voice overs are pretty much the same and the music as well but amidst the fight, I dont pay much attension to that, im not gonna say there is a best class because the individual skill involved but daggers and unarmed definitely have a speed advantage makeing it versatile and dodge worthy.

    Overall I give this game a 8/10 only a 8 because the sound/voiceover and the server connect issue I get every once in a while, but if you staying away from this game because of reviews from a person that did 2 fights or or someone claiming the game sucks but cant stop playing then read this one and it should be clear
    Definitely worth a try considering its free to play, thanks for reading and pass it along thanks : )
    Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2013
    7
    The clash of steel, the sound of tearing flesh and the roar of the crowd as the cheer with glee when another fatal strike is landed. This is the world of the gladiator, a harsh and violent existence, one that the team at Kung-Fu Factory has managed to recreated with very pleasing results. Enter the world of Spartacus Legends.

    Spartacus Legends is a free-to-play gladiatorial fighting game available now on XBLA and PSN. That's right, you heard me I said free! The game places you in control of one gladiator at the beginning, with this first recruit you fight your way through several tutorial matches and then are off on you're own to become the most renown fighter in all of Capua.

    Read the full review at www.GameFan365.com
    Collapse
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    5
    Spartacus Legends is not a fun game to play. Rough servers and bug issues plague the game from beginning to end. Do not waste your time if you have no patience. Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    4
    Has the potential for greatness. But way too many bugs. For their highest priced gold(in game purchase) is $150 dollars?!? Playing against the CPU is fine didn't fine too many bugs there but online is horrible. Servers are always down. I mean always down. Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    For being free I can't really complain to much it has potential but gets old quick but upgrading armor and equipment upgrades makes it at least a little entertaining but overall a boring fighter Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    A junk game. Just total crap. Horrible fighting, like a broken Tekken, and a pay-for-play menu thats faces you at every corner. Thanks for nothing. Is that what we are going to come to expect when free hand helds get ported to consoles? Expand

See all 38 User Reviews