Spec Ops: The Line Xbox 360

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 325
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2017
    6
    C'est un jeu qui m'a fait marrer, une caricature d'un Medal Of Honor ou autre Call of Duty, ces séries bas de plafond qui se prennent très (trop) au sérieux avec leur propagande militariste tous azimuts (le fondement de la nation américaine, cela va de soi). Ce n'est pas évidemment un jeu fait par des Américains mais par des Européens : on s'y fout bien de la gueule des "Marines" oh pardonC'est un jeu qui m'a fait marrer, une caricature d'un Medal Of Honor ou autre Call of Duty, ces séries bas de plafond qui se prennent très (trop) au sérieux avec leur propagande militariste tous azimuts (le fondement de la nation américaine, cela va de soi). Ce n'est pas évidemment un jeu fait par des Américains mais par des Européens : on s'y fout bien de la gueule des "Marines" oh pardon de la "Delta Force" (mais peu importe) et de leur mentalité de "machines à tuer" venues te sauver, te libérer mais qui ne fait pas attention et découpe ta famille à la mitrailleuse. Oups. Errare humanum est, dit-on.

    Ainsi, doit-on faire quelques choix tout au long de la (trop) courte campagne dont l'histoire est hélas assez confuse : doit-on zigouiller quelques civils pour progresser ? faut-il buter le Colonel Kurtz qui a pété un câble ? doit-on abréger les souffrances d'une ordure ? Tout cela reste assez anecdotique finalement (on est pas dans un Mass Effect) et la question qu'on se pose en tant que joueur imbriqué dans ce scénario à la mords-moi-le-noeud est la suivante : pourquoi c'est le bordel à Dubai ? on n'aura pas de réponse à cette question.

    Pour le reste, c'est de l'action à la MOH/COD, plutôt distrayante dont on remarque l'excellente VF -le langage grossier y est d'ailleurs plaisant. Un jeu couloir scripté, du classique, sur un moteur Unreal pas très bien maîtrisé (avec un souci de crénelage qui plus est) mais dans un environnement inhabituel (Dubai). Bref, pas si mauvais ce Spec Ops dans le genre poisseux du call of medal kikoolol. Quant au multi, je n'en sais trop rien puisqu'il faut payer pour jouer.
    Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2015
    7
    Let's just say that I can't think of a better example of why you shouldn't give any importance to critic's review. This is one of the smoothest single player campaign of the last generation, with an engaging story and characters.
  3. Oct 25, 2015
    7
    Unique plot and setting marred by unnecessary padding. Each chapter is polluted with sections where you fight large number of soldiers that go all out on you. There is only so many times I can hide behind cover and shoot the same generic bad guy in the head. The pacing is also pretty uneven, leaving room for boredom. I think it's overrated as a whole.
  4. May 23, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm suprpised this game is borderline obscure with poor sales. It's a shooter that has you playing as one of three marines who are sent out to Dubai to figure out what happened to civilization out there. You're all alone out there and you have to fight against the forces of evil to survive. But are things the way they seem? I don't want to spoil anything major (even though I checked the "spoilers box") but things aren't always as hey seem and there really aren't any good guys in this game. The shooting mechanics generally work well and the sandy environments look nice. It's the story that's the real attraction here. Still, nothing is particularly great and the multiplayer is pretty average. If you can buy it on sale (I bought the digital copy for around six dollars), do so if you enjoy dark stories and third-person shooting. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Meh. That's all I really got from this game. This game seemed to be somewhat of a vanilla version of Rainbow Six Vegas 2, but your team isn't as controllable as it was in that one. The game play was very linear, and it was basically just a constant reply of get to a zone, take cover, kill people, move on. Painfully long loading screens, wonky AI, and overusage of what is quickly becoming synonymous with many FPS story lines.....disassociative/hallucinogenic cutscenes. Didn't really wow me, although some parts of the game were marked with some "wtf" moments (in a good way). Could have some replayability to it, but I'm probably not going to. This was a one play through-er. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    For a fan of shooters, the ease of gameplay may be a big deterrent. However, and seeing as today's games are further breaking the boundaries of story, this one reaches for the sky and beyond. A well orchestrated story with character, fleshed out and at times dramatically surrendering. A simpleton with a pension for KVD and the Call of Duty series could never enjoy a game like this. ThoughFor a fan of shooters, the ease of gameplay may be a big deterrent. However, and seeing as today's games are further breaking the boundaries of story, this one reaches for the sky and beyond. A well orchestrated story with character, fleshed out and at times dramatically surrendering. A simpleton with a pension for KVD and the Call of Duty series could never enjoy a game like this. Though for those who want a little experimentation in exposition, as well as an interesting Apocalypse Now aesthetic, this game may very well be for you. *4 out of 5 stars." Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    Spec Ops: The line is another game that is all about the story and the message the developers are trying to put across. From a gameplay standpoint the game is completely mediocre with standard cover based shooting and sluggish controls. However this in a sense adds to the message of the game even more, as the game goes on it forces the player to question their progress and the people theySpec Ops: The line is another game that is all about the story and the message the developers are trying to put across. From a gameplay standpoint the game is completely mediocre with standard cover based shooting and sluggish controls. However this in a sense adds to the message of the game even more, as the game goes on it forces the player to question their progress and the people they have killed as a result as the main character descends into madness. The message works rather well, at one point near the end of the game, you are asked "Do you even remember why you came here?" and this hit hard, and made me think as the game often does Expand
  8. Sep 9, 2012
    6
    This is... okay. The story's decent and not gripping at all. Gameplay is sort of like Gears of War, witch does not work as well. Multiplayer is alright, nothing great like Battlefield's multiplayer. I was hopping it would be great but it not. Spec Ops: The Line 6.4/10
  9. Aug 27, 2012
    7
    Interesting story, average gunplay, good lighting and graphics.
    Didn't expect much but the single player is quite additive, when i played COD:MW3s single player it was just here we go again but Spec Ops: The Line has it's own style and is a nice change.
  10. Jul 11, 2012
    7
    This game was alright, In no way shape or form is it a "Sandbox" game. The only thing that even relates to sand is the desert itself. The storyline however, is captivating. It puts you in the shoes of your character. I am not going to say to much because I do not want to spoil anything. All and all, this game is a good game, decent shooter, decent graphics. The only disappointing thingThis game was alright, In no way shape or form is it a "Sandbox" game. The only thing that even relates to sand is the desert itself. The storyline however, is captivating. It puts you in the shoes of your character. I am not going to say to much because I do not want to spoil anything. All and all, this game is a good game, decent shooter, decent graphics. The only disappointing thing about it is the fact that they said a "sandbox" game and how your decisions effect your outcome. The only outcome it effects is which achievement you get. Expand
  11. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    Spec ops the line is just one of hunders rpg ported from consoles into pc.
    Gameplay wise its pretty boring and to easy since basicly console gamers arent that fast compared to pc gamers.
    Graphics are average even on pc. So if this game would cost 20 or so on steam it would be a good price for it, only 50 in steam is just overpriced to hell. Therefor a 6 , its not that bad its just
    Spec ops the line is just one of hunders rpg ported from consoles into pc.
    Gameplay wise its pretty boring and to easy since basicly console gamers arent that fast compared to pc gamers.
    Graphics are average even on pc.
    So if this game would cost 20 or so on steam it would be a good price for it, only 50 in steam is just overpriced to hell.
    Therefor a 6 , its not that bad its just nothing special.
    Expand
  12. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    I give this game an honest 8.5/10, since the rating only let me vote in tenths, I'll round up versus down. The Campaign is a gritty story compelling you to make decisions of war for better or worse, and leave you living with your conscience in the end. The game doesn't try to make you a hero or a victor,, it makes you slowly degrade physically and mentally (albeit your team mates too)I give this game an honest 8.5/10, since the rating only let me vote in tenths, I'll round up versus down. The Campaign is a gritty story compelling you to make decisions of war for better or worse, and leave you living with your conscience in the end. The game doesn't try to make you a hero or a victor,, it makes you slowly degrade physically and mentally (albeit your team mates too) from the ravishes of this assignment, and all you are left with in the end, is facing your decisions and living with them, and you will wonder "what if I had done this instead", in the end, and that change in gaming influence was well done. I won't detail the SP game play since 'ole Xborn74 wrote a book lol

    MP, which is why I bought it (I game tested the beta for 4 months two years ago) is good. Right now it brings to the table what the GRFS players want most, TDM and jump in the game so I can play the d*mn thing, server connectivity. Gears Of War mechanics (no roll), hardcore kills (no emptying clips for a kill, good clean shot, they're dead, that simple). Also, you can chose the rules you wanna play to a certain extent, or create a room and make your own, which I like so a friend and me can 1 v 1 each other and trash talk. The mechanics are a little loose compared to Gears, so you get clumsy now and then, but I think we all get clumsy in Gears from time to time also, so definitely not a game breaker, just learn the feel, and you're good to go. There are 5 MP modes if memory serves me right, and there isn't a big selection of maps, but neither was there in GRFS, and hopefully more will come, 2K in general, is good at supporting their games. All in all, I am pleased with the effort, sure MP might be running behind the SP in the glory, but one thing I can clearly point out to the die hard Ghost fans like myself 1) you can play the game without the server b.s. (disconnects/migrations ect...), keep your rank and awards 2) play objective or TDM/FFA 3) and save yourself the headache of hitting your head against the wall screaming wtf happened here. is it the best military shooter out there or worth $60 ? No (neither is Call of Noobs or Battlefunk), but right now it beats the could have beens, and would have beens, and that's why I believe it's worth recommending, and I have wasted $60 on a lot worse games that were promised it would to be soooo great. 2K never promised anything but a playable game to be enjoyed, and I got that (for my expectations) hands down.
    Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Aug 11, 2012
    70
    Spec Ops: The Line turned out to be a genuinely nice surprise, is designed for people over 18, not only by the constant shooting scenes but also for the tone, mature theme and psychologically demanding posture.
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Aug 8, 2012
    100
    From around the halfway mark onwards, The Line is a gripping, at time harrowing, and unforgettable experience. [Sept 2012, p.66]
  3. Aug 6, 2012
    85
    It may not be winning any awards, that's not to say that this is one of the most captivating shooters currently available to Xbox 360 users. The morality of your choices has never been so well presented as they are in Spec Ops: The Line and for that reason alone it's a game that everyone should experience, if only for a few short hours.