User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 333 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 333
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2017
    6
    C'est un jeu qui m'a fait marrer, une caricature d'un Medal Of Honor ou autre Call of Duty, ces séries bas de plafond qui se prennent très (trop) au sérieux avec leur propagande militariste tous azimuts (le fondement de la nation américaine, cela va de soi). Ce n'est pas évidemment un jeu fait par des Américains mais par des Européens : on s'y fout bien de la gueule des "Marines" oh pardonC'est un jeu qui m'a fait marrer, une caricature d'un Medal Of Honor ou autre Call of Duty, ces séries bas de plafond qui se prennent très (trop) au sérieux avec leur propagande militariste tous azimuts (le fondement de la nation américaine, cela va de soi). Ce n'est pas évidemment un jeu fait par des Américains mais par des Européens : on s'y fout bien de la gueule des "Marines" oh pardon de la "Delta Force" (mais peu importe) et de leur mentalité de "machines à tuer" venues te sauver, te libérer mais qui ne fait pas attention et découpe ta famille à la mitrailleuse. Oups. Errare humanum est, dit-on.

    Ainsi, doit-on faire quelques choix tout au long de la (trop) courte campagne dont l'histoire est hélas assez confuse : doit-on zigouiller quelques civils pour progresser ? faut-il buter le Colonel Kurtz qui a pété un câble ? doit-on abréger les souffrances d'une ordure ? Tout cela reste assez anecdotique finalement (on est pas dans un Mass Effect) et la question qu'on se pose en tant que joueur imbriqué dans ce scénario à la mords-moi-le-noeud est la suivante : pourquoi c'est le bordel à Dubai ? on n'aura pas de réponse à cette question.

    Pour le reste, c'est de l'action à la MOH/COD, plutôt distrayante dont on remarque l'excellente VF -le langage grossier y est d'ailleurs plaisant. Un jeu couloir scripté, du classique, sur un moteur Unreal pas très bien maîtrisé (avec un souci de crénelage qui plus est) mais dans un environnement inhabituel (Dubai). Bref, pas si mauvais ce Spec Ops dans le genre poisseux du call of medal kikoolol. Quant au multi, je n'en sais trop rien puisqu'il faut payer pour jouer.
    Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    Although not from a mainstream blockbuster franchise, Spec Ops: The Line is a surprising solid shooter in all departments. Graphics are excellent with superb lighting and good textures one of the best looking Unreal Engine 3 games on the Xbox 360. Framerate is smooth and rarely drops even at very intensive parts. The campaign is of good length, with the highest difficulty being justAlthough not from a mainstream blockbuster franchise, Spec Ops: The Line is a surprising solid shooter in all departments. Graphics are excellent with superb lighting and good textures one of the best looking Unreal Engine 3 games on the Xbox 360. Framerate is smooth and rarely drops even at very intensive parts. The campaign is of good length, with the highest difficulty being just right. The setting of it being in Dubai manages to mix a perfect blend between realistic and intense warzone-looking parts with beautiful scenery. Level design is fairly generic but it's not too repetitive, and is generally high quality. The story isn't your conventional military shooter; it's actually written by an author so you can expect higher than average entertainment value in that department. As for the most important part in a shooter the mechanics and controls they are very impressive. Those who have played Gears of War or even Uncharted will feel right at home here. Controls are responsive, fluid and consistent for the most part. The game mechanics are your typical third person shooter, but executed with perfection. The cover mechanic is not a hassle, aiming both in and out of cover is simple and fast, you can swap shoulders etc. All the common sense stuff is here, with logical button layout. The gunplay is similar to Uncharted's mechanics; however since the weapons are fully licensed you can take advantage of selective fire for some weapons. You should not be put off buying this excellent title if you're after a solid single-player third person shooter simply because it's not branded. Be assured that this is a high quality game with few mistakes, and excels in all areas. It doesn't push the boundaries or do anything new there's nothing 'special' or unique but it does do everything very well. The only minor setback is your teammate AI. They will not position themselves well at all in combat, and whilst you can order them to attack, you can't move them into cover. There is very little you can actually order your teammates to do, but there doesn't feel like anything's missing. All in all, this is a robust third-person shooter in all aspects. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2017
    9
    Spec Ops: The Line is a pretty bland first person shooter, but the story is a real masterpiece. One of the most clever, realistic, and powerful war games I've ever played. The art direction is genius, the voice acting is great, the graphics are solid, the story starts out pretty bland, but gets more and more complicated, engrossing, and thrilling, until it swiftly pulls the rug from underSpec Ops: The Line is a pretty bland first person shooter, but the story is a real masterpiece. One of the most clever, realistic, and powerful war games I've ever played. The art direction is genius, the voice acting is great, the graphics are solid, the story starts out pretty bland, but gets more and more complicated, engrossing, and thrilling, until it swiftly pulls the rug from under you to reveal one of the most cleverly executed war games ever released. Buy. This. Game. Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2012
    6
    This is... okay. The story's decent and not gripping at all. Gameplay is sort of like Gears of War, witch does not work as well. Multiplayer is alright, nothing great like Battlefield's multiplayer. I was hopping it would be great but it not. Spec Ops: The Line 6.4/10
  5. Mar 6, 2017
    8
    Spec Ops The Line is a great 3rd person shooter

    The gameplay isn't particularly original but works well for what it is.However,the AI goes through spells of either pure stupidity or dead-eye accuracy,nowhere particularly in between which is very frustrating.That said,it's not the gameplay that shines. The story steals the show here,showing all the horrors of war,and a dark,corrupt
    Spec Ops The Line is a great 3rd person shooter

    The gameplay isn't particularly original but works well for what it is.However,the AI goes through spells of either pure stupidity or dead-eye accuracy,nowhere particularly in between which is very frustrating.That said,it's not the gameplay that shines.

    The story steals the show here,showing all the horrors of war,and a dark,corrupt side to itself,the game allows you to be either hero or villain,and the game has 4 endings for different choices.To sum it up,this game is very psychological.The voice-acting is top notch

    The graphics here are solid and look nice.The game does not have any significant performance problems apart from long load times on the 360.

    The sound design is decent,but the soundtrack is great.

    Overall,Spec Ops The Line is a grim take on war that is very good.Solid mechanics across the board makes this an easy recommendation.Definitely check this one out.
    Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    An well-directed cinematic experience, full of "wow" moments thanks to the exciting graphics, dialogue and the clever insertion of pop music. Weapons are well ballanced and this game have the most acurate handgun i've experienced in videogames. That desert-eagle really kills! Some details put this game very up-to-date, for example the melee attack should be incorporated on every futureAn well-directed cinematic experience, full of "wow" moments thanks to the exciting graphics, dialogue and the clever insertion of pop music. Weapons are well ballanced and this game have the most acurate handgun i've experienced in videogames. That desert-eagle really kills! Some details put this game very up-to-date, for example the melee attack should be incorporated on every future shooter from now on. Really good experience, even if it's linear and scripted th only thins keeping it from getting a 10. Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2015
    7
    Unique plot and setting marred by unnecessary padding. Each chapter is polluted with sections where you fight large number of soldiers that go all out on you. There is only so many times I can hide behind cover and shoot the same generic bad guy in the head. The pacing is also pretty uneven, leaving room for boredom. I think it's overrated as a whole.
  8. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    This is a great game. Wonderful voice acting and hauntingly compelling story. Can't praise this game enough. The only complaint I can find is that I wish you could roll out of the way but other than that the controls are good. This is a must play. Buy it!
  9. May 23, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm suprpised this game is borderline obscure with poor sales. It's a shooter that has you playing as one of three marines who are sent out to Dubai to figure out what happened to civilization out there. You're all alone out there and you have to fight against the forces of evil to survive. But are things the way they seem? I don't want to spoil anything major (even though I checked the "spoilers box") but things aren't always as hey seem and there really aren't any good guys in this game. The shooting mechanics generally work well and the sandy environments look nice. It's the story that's the real attraction here. Still, nothing is particularly great and the multiplayer is pretty average. If you can buy it on sale (I bought the digital copy for around six dollars), do so if you enjoy dark stories and third-person shooting. Expand
  10. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    this game was fantastic! the story was well told and emotional, the characters were solid and likeable, and the gameplay was satisfying and brutal. Dubai is a beautiful destroyed city with frequent sandstorms and gunfights. I haven't had a chance to play the multiplayer but the story and single player campaign is well worth the purchase. replayability is pretty high as well with hiddenthis game was fantastic! the story was well told and emotional, the characters were solid and likeable, and the gameplay was satisfying and brutal. Dubai is a beautiful destroyed city with frequent sandstorms and gunfights. I haven't had a chance to play the multiplayer but the story and single player campaign is well worth the purchase. replayability is pretty high as well with hidden collectibles to be found and different endings and moral choices to see. overall an awesome war shooter with a great story and satisfying gameplay. I REALLY enjoyed this game. Expand
  11. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    "Spec Ops: The Line" is the ninth game of the franchise dating back to PC, 98, and is produced by 2K Games, using the Unreal Engine 3. The story is set in a Dubai devastated by a sandstorm, 6 months ago: some of the city's population escaped, but many were left behind in this chaotic and anarchic city; among those who stayed behind, there is a US Army Colonel, who contrary to orders, he"Spec Ops: The Line" is the ninth game of the franchise dating back to PC, 98, and is produced by 2K Games, using the Unreal Engine 3. The story is set in a Dubai devastated by a sandstorm, 6 months ago: some of the city's population escaped, but many were left behind in this chaotic and anarchic city; among those who stayed behind, there is a US Army Colonel, who contrary to orders, he decided to stay to help - all thought he was dead, until a weak broadcast is capted, and now, you and your squad enter this anarchic scenary to rescue him, and find several things toward this goal.The graphics are good but not excellent, being comparable to other games like Rainbrow 6 Vegas II or Operation Flashpoint 2 - the textures of characters have a good detail, but nothing to go to minimal skin texture. The same applies to other details such as footprints in the sand, which does not always appear, and the destruction effect, with large pieces - the details of the scenarios in the campaign are very good, and detailed.The colors of the game, that passes in a desert, have many strong colors that are heavy on a color theme, depending on the stage, and abuses of yellows and oranges, and you can opt for three tonal variations when starting the game (Vintage, Exaggerated and Normal) - obviously, the graphics are obscured a greater distance, by sand and wind, or the darkness that spread through the city without electricity.The game has a mixed musical background mixed, the main part orchestrated, with the typical style of action games. The acting is mixed, usually dialogues are good, but the acting is not perfect, and the voices are very constant in volume, whereas the general sound effects are good, especially in the climate of the place.You notice another similarity with Vegas II in relation to the enemies: it is always easy to know if there is any hidden in the stage, they scream incessantly, even when they are alone.The gameplay is of a great shooter in the 3rd person, strategic, but tending much action: there are 4 difficulties, and the most difficult (FUBAR) shall be released only after finishing the game on Hard (Suicide). The highlight is that the controls are intuitive and smooth, with no difficulty to play and enjoy the game.The stages are linear and with physical borders, having a goal, displayed on the screen, with its distance, and generally among them are facing waves of enemies to reach them - and the enemies are plentiful in the game, and are varied among survivors, and other military forces.The importance of the cover system is higher here, two or three shots from enemies kill you - and allied to it, the choice of weapons and the use of certain commands to your squad to ensure that you live longer. The grenades are throw with LB, and you can see the trajectory and possible deviations that they may have hiting objetcs.The life has regeneration, when in cover, and the damage is shown by taking a shade screen over white and black with blood around it - here, the damage in the higher difficulties is higher than in other games, but nothing too extreme.The enemy AI is mixed: generally do not have much strategy, just attack and use some cover, but every once in a while you, being the primary target of them do strange things like running behind our team, not caring that they are there, to kill you. The same applies to your Team AI: in general has a good performance, but are not extremely well-aimed and sometimes make suicidal decisions too, but do not die so much, by what I said above the enemy AI.The highlight if the gameplay is the destruction of certain structures in the game, which can fall or break in the case of glass, and the presence of climatic factors relating to sand in the game, and that much influence on the strategy used (many enemies attack from skylights high above), from the point of obscuring the vision enemy with storms of sand to break the structures of Cover / support of opponents.The variety of weapons is very good, and despite ammunition goes away fast in the action, you can get any weapons of the enemy, and re-supply points are abundant. The game's collectibles are items in the form of intelligence that give greater insight into story and do not always have the same look, with different objects each time.The game has Multiplayer, which can be played on Live or via System Link, and from what I read it is a competitive mode, based on the struggle between teams, in which changes in the scenarios by sand avalanches / storms or destruction of scenery. Seeing the trailer, seemed very similar to the MP of Vegas II .Summary: I found a great 3rd person shooter, being among my favorites: it has good graphics, with great weather effects and destruction, coupled with a strategic gameplay with more action, and well polished gameplay and controls (a detail that many other recent shooters do not have). If you like shooters with lots of action, this certainly deserves to be in your collection. Expand
  12. Jul 13, 2012
    8
    Consequences, Spec Ops is full of them. Whether stemming from moral choices or arising from the misfortunes destiny consequences play a large role in this third person shooter inspired by Heart of Darkness (the novel not the 1998 classic PS1 game). What appears to be at a glance a military affair in Dubai, is quickly a morbid and shrouded character driven fight for survival. The gameplayConsequences, Spec Ops is full of them. Whether stemming from moral choices or arising from the misfortunes destiny consequences play a large role in this third person shooter inspired by Heart of Darkness (the novel not the 1998 classic PS1 game). What appears to be at a glance a military affair in Dubai, is quickly a morbid and shrouded character driven fight for survival. The gameplay has slick shooting mechanics and satisfying firearm combat, the brutality of which sells you on the tone this shooter conveys. If only the same could be said for the level design- placing heavy emphasis on killing many soldiers with little deviation other than an occasional gun turret section or a few on rails set pieces. The sandstorms also ratchet up the variety, adding a subtle but unique dynamic. Sand is unfortunately underused though. The presentation of high sky scraper building amidst the ruins of melting hot dessert and the thunderous explosions are exhilerating. Character models look a bit bland but the chemistry between characters is engaging as you really feel the tension and pressure in the game's story. Generally The Line is a decent, functional and brilliantly immersive third person shooter that lacks variety until the very end in terms of mission design. It's a tad more than your typical third person shooter but it's one that portrays the conventions of the genre to the point it feels slightly generic. Even so how often is it do we get a full story driven third person shooter that pushes multiplayer aside? not many. Expand
  13. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    It was a good game I enjoyed it i'm a big fan of yager they took part in Rage.One of the best Developers this is a must buy my friend.Do not pass this up.
  14. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    First the negative part of the game. There was only 1 thing that I was disappointed in. The main character always seemed to have his mouth hanging open and looked like a goober. That being said, the rest of the game was quite enjoyable. The controls were very responsive, the sounds and graphics were very good, and the story was interesting. Overall I would have given the game a higher markFirst the negative part of the game. There was only 1 thing that I was disappointed in. The main character always seemed to have his mouth hanging open and looked like a goober. That being said, the rest of the game was quite enjoyable. The controls were very responsive, the sounds and graphics were very good, and the story was interesting. Overall I would have given the game a higher mark than 8 but forcing me to look like a goober was just not cool Very fun, 3rd person shooter. Expand
  15. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Spec Ops: The Line is a great game, you can't deny that. I just wanted it to be longer, it's quite short, but still, I thought it was amazing, quite underrated if you asked me, one of the best game this gen. Yes, it is that good, please buy it as soon as possible.
  16. Jul 16, 2012
    8
    Spec Ops: The Line is a loose adaptation of Conrad's Heart of Darkness. It starts off like any other shooter: guns ablazing. But, somewhere between the second and third chapter it comes into its own. A thinking man's shooter with a well-acted and introspective script, it's is only let down by conventional shooter tropes. Linearity and waves of enemies serve to break the sense of immersionSpec Ops: The Line is a loose adaptation of Conrad's Heart of Darkness. It starts off like any other shooter: guns ablazing. But, somewhere between the second and third chapter it comes into its own. A thinking man's shooter with a well-acted and introspective script, it's is only let down by conventional shooter tropes. Linearity and waves of enemies serve to break the sense of immersion so expertly crafted by the engaging plot. Ultimately, this is a fun and unique experience in a sea of MWs and BFs. Give it a shot... and you might find one of the more memorable shooters in recent memory. Expand
  17. Oct 30, 2015
    7
    Let's just say that I can't think of a better example of why you shouldn't give any importance to critic's review. This is one of the smoothest single player campaign of the last generation, with an engaging story and characters.
  18. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    the best storyline and script a shooter has EVER had, the gameplay is a little clunky, but the story was SOO well written that it had me thinking, WHILE SHOOTING! this isn't just a shooter, this is a shooter with a story that makes sense. However, the multiplayer is just average, so I guess that's what makes me give it a 9/10
  19. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    Spec Ops: The line is another game that is all about the story and the message the developers are trying to put across. From a gameplay standpoint the game is completely mediocre with standard cover based shooting and sluggish controls. However this in a sense adds to the message of the game even more, as the game goes on it forces the player to question their progress and the people theySpec Ops: The line is another game that is all about the story and the message the developers are trying to put across. From a gameplay standpoint the game is completely mediocre with standard cover based shooting and sluggish controls. However this in a sense adds to the message of the game even more, as the game goes on it forces the player to question their progress and the people they have killed as a result as the main character descends into madness. The message works rather well, at one point near the end of the game, you are asked "Do you even remember why you came here?" and this hit hard, and made me think as the game often does Expand
  20. Dec 29, 2014
    8
    This game opened my eyes and showed me the true morality of almost every single game I have played. It isn't actually the plot that is the selling point, it's how the plot shows that there is no such thing as a hero in war. Behind its contrived title, unimaginative box art and misleading opening acts, there is a truly special experience that holds a mirror up to the industry and invitesThis game opened my eyes and showed me the true morality of almost every single game I have played. It isn't actually the plot that is the selling point, it's how the plot shows that there is no such thing as a hero in war. Behind its contrived title, unimaginative box art and misleading opening acts, there is a truly special experience that holds a mirror up to the industry and invites you to view your military shooter games in an entirely new light- providing you let it Expand
  21. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    I really like this game. The campaign is interesting, challenging, and brutal. The AI is pretty good with flanking. Multiplayer is fun, the maps are well designed and the cover system works. Although a separate button for melee and vault would be nice. It is not without flaws but still a good buy.
  22. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    A refreshing take on your standard third person shooter. Keep in mind you have to play at least half way through the 6 hour campaign before things really get interesting. Up until that point your just shooting and covering a lot telling your team to do as much of the work for you as possible. What gives this game a high score is its eventual story arcs and plot twists. I do not want toA refreshing take on your standard third person shooter. Keep in mind you have to play at least half way through the 6 hour campaign before things really get interesting. Up until that point your just shooting and covering a lot telling your team to do as much of the work for you as possible. What gives this game a high score is its eventual story arcs and plot twists. I do not want to have this review contain spoilers so I will go no further. Hear the full review on the podcast;
    http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/
    Expand
  23. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    Finally. It took long enough but we finally have a shooter with a story worth following. Highly recommended. The graphics are great, the sound design in awesome, the controls are great although I hate the fact that a few buttons do multiple moves causing some problems. The sand is a cool novelty but after a few times you will get over using it as a weapon. The story mode is perfectlyFinally. It took long enough but we finally have a shooter with a story worth following. Highly recommended. The graphics are great, the sound design in awesome, the controls are great although I hate the fact that a few buttons do multiple moves causing some problems. The sand is a cool novelty but after a few times you will get over using it as a weapon. The story mode is perfectly balanced in regards to ammo and set pieces but the difficulty is up and down. As good as the game looks the bloom is overdone at times and after a while the look of the city and desert gets a tad old. The indoor sections mix things up a bit. Multiplayer is just an add on that gets old quickly. But this is a game you will want to play for the single player anyways. Very few games have a story so deep and so emotional. Some of the things you do and see are not for the faint of heart. But this is the direction I wish more games would go. Very few shooters these days are worth playing for their story and luckily, the game is fun enough and interesting enough that you will enjoy seeing where the story goes. Great game. Expand
  24. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Meh. That's all I really got from this game. This game seemed to be somewhat of a vanilla version of Rainbow Six Vegas 2, but your team isn't as controllable as it was in that one. The game play was very linear, and it was basically just a constant reply of get to a zone, take cover, kill people, move on. Painfully long loading screens, wonky AI, and overusage of what is quickly becoming synonymous with many FPS story lines.....disassociative/hallucinogenic cutscenes. Didn't really wow me, although some parts of the game were marked with some "wtf" moments (in a good way). Could have some replayability to it, but I'm probably not going to. This was a one play through-er. Expand
  25. Jul 17, 2012
    3
    I will ask you something... Is it worth pay 60 dollar for a game that the only thing is good is the story and nothing more? This game is too short (about 5 or 6 hours long), too linear, extremely generic (if you played gears of war 1,2 or 3 , army of two, kane and lunch you already played this game) and have a multiplayer that dont bring nothing new to the table. Overall a deception.
  26. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    People looked upon this game as a mediocre, paint-by-numbers shooter, and I did too. When you think about it, why shouldn
  27. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    The Spec Ops games are probably one of the best. Nice graphics, good story, good gameplay. Just one wrong. Only a few games section shall walk, nothing else.
    The gameplay is very good for walking outside, and by the way, even the graphics are good.
  28. Jul 14, 2017
    10
    Este videojuego esta tremendamente infravalorado, es una verdadera lastima que videojuegos como este queden a la sombra de otros videojuegos genericos y repetitivos que tienen mucho mejores notas coff coff Modern Warfere 3 y videojuegos como este no merezcan el respeto, las buenas criticas y sobre todo las ventas que merecen, es cierto que es un shooter "genérico" pero eso no importa si laEste videojuego esta tremendamente infravalorado, es una verdadera lastima que videojuegos como este queden a la sombra de otros videojuegos genericos y repetitivos que tienen mucho mejores notas coff coff Modern Warfere 3 y videojuegos como este no merezcan el respeto, las buenas criticas y sobre todo las ventas que merecen, es cierto que es un shooter "genérico" pero eso no importa si la historia que te cuentan hace que te cuestiones tu moralidad y te des cuenta que la guerra no es como el 99% de los Shooters te la cuentan. El tiempo le dará la razón a videojuegos como estos y se convertirán en videojuegos de culto. Expand
  29. Mar 24, 2014
    8
    Spec Ops The Line is not just another shooter. Although the mechanics are not the best, the harrowing, realistic storyline shows you just what the effects of war are.
    With a sizeable campaign and brilliant music design, Spec Ops certainly is outstanding. One thing I especially enjoyed in my playthrough of the game was the hard choices it presents you with in the second half of the game -
    Spec Ops The Line is not just another shooter. Although the mechanics are not the best, the harrowing, realistic storyline shows you just what the effects of war are.
    With a sizeable campaign and brilliant music design, Spec Ops certainly is outstanding. One thing I especially enjoyed in my playthrough of the game was the hard choices it presents you with in the second half of the game - and the outstanding graphical quality.
    I, as a gamer, enjoy multiple-ending games and realistic games. The plotline, unlike other shooters, is unpredictable. It shows that the developers show true thought for the soldiers. A gripping experience, to say the least.
    One other thing I must say is that, on the negative side, the campaign is not quite as good as I have been mentioning until around the one-third or halfway mark. However, if you stick through the relatively uninteresting first part, you find that the game is amazing. It demands highly of your psychology - you truly have to think. It plays on your mind, but it is the kind of game that truly makes you want to play it when you are not.
    This game is certainly in my top ten list, albeit the generic gameplay.
    Expand
  30. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    I picked up Spec Ops: The Line with the expectation of just another generic, basic, third-person shooter. I expected a main character who is a generic, "made to raise the flag" American elite soldier sent into a desert environment to blow sit up in the name of Uncle Sam. I punched myself straight in the balls when I finished it! My mind was blown by the ending. I won't spoil anything, butI picked up Spec Ops: The Line with the expectation of just another generic, basic, third-person shooter. I expected a main character who is a generic, "made to raise the flag" American elite soldier sent into a desert environment to blow sit up in the name of Uncle Sam. I punched myself straight in the balls when I finished it! My mind was blown by the ending. I won't spoil anything, but it was not what I had expected. When you get down to the gameplay, yes it is fairly generic. The closest comparison I can make is with Gears of War: The cover based shooting does feel repetitive at times, but like Gears of War it somehow doesn't feel old, adding new weapons, and new enemies just at the right time to keep you engaged. As the story progresses, it should be noted that the dialogue during combat also changes, as well as the brutality of close quarters execution moves. However, it should be said that the gameplay is very linear, and those seeking a unique gameplay experience should look elsewhere.
    The element that keeps you engaged the most, and putting up with linear cover based shooting is the story. Dubai is destroyed by catastrophic sandstorms, and you and your two comrades from Delta Force go in to locate survivors, then radio for evac, and go home. Obviously that isn't all that happens. The story just continues to unravel deeper, and deeper, keeping you on the edge of your seat, but the real KABOOM! is the endings, which all 4 of them blew my mind. How many third-person shooters have 4 different endings????
    The graphics are fantastic with realistic shadowing, and superb realism in character detail, with increasing levels of fantastic injury detail, and the sound design is very well done, with a very good soundtrack, and mostly unique gun sounds. Overall, this game is a fantastic game. The gameplay doesn't feel old or stale too often, and the story is well done. If you want a unique shooter I highly recommend it. If you want a game solely for the story, there are better games. If you want a game revolutionary gameplay, completely pass this game by.
    A solid 8/10 in my books.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Aug 11, 2012
    70
    Spec Ops: The Line turned out to be a genuinely nice surprise, is designed for people over 18, not only by the constant shooting scenes but also for the tone, mature theme and psychologically demanding posture.
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Aug 8, 2012
    100
    From around the halfway mark onwards, The Line is a gripping, at time harrowing, and unforgettable experience. [Sept 2012, p.66]
  3. Aug 6, 2012
    85
    It may not be winning any awards, that's not to say that this is one of the most captivating shooters currently available to Xbox 360 users. The morality of your choices has never been so well presented as they are in Spec Ops: The Line and for that reason alone it's a game that everyone should experience, if only for a few short hours.