User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 333 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 333
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    Although not from a mainstream blockbuster franchise, Spec Ops: The Line is a surprising solid shooter in all departments. Graphics are excellent with superb lighting and good textures one of the best looking Unreal Engine 3 games on the Xbox 360. Framerate is smooth and rarely drops even at very intensive parts. The campaign is of good length, with the highest difficulty being justAlthough not from a mainstream blockbuster franchise, Spec Ops: The Line is a surprising solid shooter in all departments. Graphics are excellent with superb lighting and good textures one of the best looking Unreal Engine 3 games on the Xbox 360. Framerate is smooth and rarely drops even at very intensive parts. The campaign is of good length, with the highest difficulty being just right. The setting of it being in Dubai manages to mix a perfect blend between realistic and intense warzone-looking parts with beautiful scenery. Level design is fairly generic but it's not too repetitive, and is generally high quality. The story isn't your conventional military shooter; it's actually written by an author so you can expect higher than average entertainment value in that department. As for the most important part in a shooter the mechanics and controls they are very impressive. Those who have played Gears of War or even Uncharted will feel right at home here. Controls are responsive, fluid and consistent for the most part. The game mechanics are your typical third person shooter, but executed with perfection. The cover mechanic is not a hassle, aiming both in and out of cover is simple and fast, you can swap shoulders etc. All the common sense stuff is here, with logical button layout. The gunplay is similar to Uncharted's mechanics; however since the weapons are fully licensed you can take advantage of selective fire for some weapons. You should not be put off buying this excellent title if you're after a solid single-player third person shooter simply because it's not branded. Be assured that this is a high quality game with few mistakes, and excels in all areas. It doesn't push the boundaries or do anything new there's nothing 'special' or unique but it does do everything very well. The only minor setback is your teammate AI. They will not position themselves well at all in combat, and whilst you can order them to attack, you can't move them into cover. There is very little you can actually order your teammates to do, but there doesn't feel like anything's missing. All in all, this is a robust third-person shooter in all aspects. Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2017
    9
    Spec Ops: The Line is a pretty bland first person shooter, but the story is a real masterpiece. One of the most clever, realistic, and powerful war games I've ever played. The art direction is genius, the voice acting is great, the graphics are solid, the story starts out pretty bland, but gets more and more complicated, engrossing, and thrilling, until it swiftly pulls the rug from underSpec Ops: The Line is a pretty bland first person shooter, but the story is a real masterpiece. One of the most clever, realistic, and powerful war games I've ever played. The art direction is genius, the voice acting is great, the graphics are solid, the story starts out pretty bland, but gets more and more complicated, engrossing, and thrilling, until it swiftly pulls the rug from under you to reveal one of the most cleverly executed war games ever released. Buy. This. Game. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2017
    8
    Spec Ops The Line is a great 3rd person shooter

    The gameplay isn't particularly original but works well for what it is.However,the AI goes through spells of either pure stupidity or dead-eye accuracy,nowhere particularly in between which is very frustrating.That said,it's not the gameplay that shines. The story steals the show here,showing all the horrors of war,and a dark,corrupt
    Spec Ops The Line is a great 3rd person shooter

    The gameplay isn't particularly original but works well for what it is.However,the AI goes through spells of either pure stupidity or dead-eye accuracy,nowhere particularly in between which is very frustrating.That said,it's not the gameplay that shines.

    The story steals the show here,showing all the horrors of war,and a dark,corrupt side to itself,the game allows you to be either hero or villain,and the game has 4 endings for different choices.To sum it up,this game is very psychological.The voice-acting is top notch

    The graphics here are solid and look nice.The game does not have any significant performance problems apart from long load times on the 360.

    The sound design is decent,but the soundtrack is great.

    Overall,Spec Ops The Line is a grim take on war that is very good.Solid mechanics across the board makes this an easy recommendation.Definitely check this one out.
    Expand
  4. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    An well-directed cinematic experience, full of "wow" moments thanks to the exciting graphics, dialogue and the clever insertion of pop music. Weapons are well ballanced and this game have the most acurate handgun i've experienced in videogames. That desert-eagle really kills! Some details put this game very up-to-date, for example the melee attack should be incorporated on every futureAn well-directed cinematic experience, full of "wow" moments thanks to the exciting graphics, dialogue and the clever insertion of pop music. Weapons are well ballanced and this game have the most acurate handgun i've experienced in videogames. That desert-eagle really kills! Some details put this game very up-to-date, for example the melee attack should be incorporated on every future shooter from now on. Really good experience, even if it's linear and scripted th only thins keeping it from getting a 10. Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    This is a great game. Wonderful voice acting and hauntingly compelling story. Can't praise this game enough. The only complaint I can find is that I wish you could roll out of the way but other than that the controls are good. This is a must play. Buy it!
  6. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    this game was fantastic! the story was well told and emotional, the characters were solid and likeable, and the gameplay was satisfying and brutal. Dubai is a beautiful destroyed city with frequent sandstorms and gunfights. I haven't had a chance to play the multiplayer but the story and single player campaign is well worth the purchase. replayability is pretty high as well with hiddenthis game was fantastic! the story was well told and emotional, the characters were solid and likeable, and the gameplay was satisfying and brutal. Dubai is a beautiful destroyed city with frequent sandstorms and gunfights. I haven't had a chance to play the multiplayer but the story and single player campaign is well worth the purchase. replayability is pretty high as well with hidden collectibles to be found and different endings and moral choices to see. overall an awesome war shooter with a great story and satisfying gameplay. I REALLY enjoyed this game. Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    "Spec Ops: The Line" is the ninth game of the franchise dating back to PC, 98, and is produced by 2K Games, using the Unreal Engine 3. The story is set in a Dubai devastated by a sandstorm, 6 months ago: some of the city's population escaped, but many were left behind in this chaotic and anarchic city; among those who stayed behind, there is a US Army Colonel, who contrary to orders, he"Spec Ops: The Line" is the ninth game of the franchise dating back to PC, 98, and is produced by 2K Games, using the Unreal Engine 3. The story is set in a Dubai devastated by a sandstorm, 6 months ago: some of the city's population escaped, but many were left behind in this chaotic and anarchic city; among those who stayed behind, there is a US Army Colonel, who contrary to orders, he decided to stay to help - all thought he was dead, until a weak broadcast is capted, and now, you and your squad enter this anarchic scenary to rescue him, and find several things toward this goal.The graphics are good but not excellent, being comparable to other games like Rainbrow 6 Vegas II or Operation Flashpoint 2 - the textures of characters have a good detail, but nothing to go to minimal skin texture. The same applies to other details such as footprints in the sand, which does not always appear, and the destruction effect, with large pieces - the details of the scenarios in the campaign are very good, and detailed.The colors of the game, that passes in a desert, have many strong colors that are heavy on a color theme, depending on the stage, and abuses of yellows and oranges, and you can opt for three tonal variations when starting the game (Vintage, Exaggerated and Normal) - obviously, the graphics are obscured a greater distance, by sand and wind, or the darkness that spread through the city without electricity.The game has a mixed musical background mixed, the main part orchestrated, with the typical style of action games. The acting is mixed, usually dialogues are good, but the acting is not perfect, and the voices are very constant in volume, whereas the general sound effects are good, especially in the climate of the place.You notice another similarity with Vegas II in relation to the enemies: it is always easy to know if there is any hidden in the stage, they scream incessantly, even when they are alone.The gameplay is of a great shooter in the 3rd person, strategic, but tending much action: there are 4 difficulties, and the most difficult (FUBAR) shall be released only after finishing the game on Hard (Suicide). The highlight is that the controls are intuitive and smooth, with no difficulty to play and enjoy the game.The stages are linear and with physical borders, having a goal, displayed on the screen, with its distance, and generally among them are facing waves of enemies to reach them - and the enemies are plentiful in the game, and are varied among survivors, and other military forces.The importance of the cover system is higher here, two or three shots from enemies kill you - and allied to it, the choice of weapons and the use of certain commands to your squad to ensure that you live longer. The grenades are throw with LB, and you can see the trajectory and possible deviations that they may have hiting objetcs.The life has regeneration, when in cover, and the damage is shown by taking a shade screen over white and black with blood around it - here, the damage in the higher difficulties is higher than in other games, but nothing too extreme.The enemy AI is mixed: generally do not have much strategy, just attack and use some cover, but every once in a while you, being the primary target of them do strange things like running behind our team, not caring that they are there, to kill you. The same applies to your Team AI: in general has a good performance, but are not extremely well-aimed and sometimes make suicidal decisions too, but do not die so much, by what I said above the enemy AI.The highlight if the gameplay is the destruction of certain structures in the game, which can fall or break in the case of glass, and the presence of climatic factors relating to sand in the game, and that much influence on the strategy used (many enemies attack from skylights high above), from the point of obscuring the vision enemy with storms of sand to break the structures of Cover / support of opponents.The variety of weapons is very good, and despite ammunition goes away fast in the action, you can get any weapons of the enemy, and re-supply points are abundant. The game's collectibles are items in the form of intelligence that give greater insight into story and do not always have the same look, with different objects each time.The game has Multiplayer, which can be played on Live or via System Link, and from what I read it is a competitive mode, based on the struggle between teams, in which changes in the scenarios by sand avalanches / storms or destruction of scenery. Seeing the trailer, seemed very similar to the MP of Vegas II .Summary: I found a great 3rd person shooter, being among my favorites: it has good graphics, with great weather effects and destruction, coupled with a strategic gameplay with more action, and well polished gameplay and controls (a detail that many other recent shooters do not have). If you like shooters with lots of action, this certainly deserves to be in your collection. Expand
  8. Jul 13, 2012
    8
    Consequences, Spec Ops is full of them. Whether stemming from moral choices or arising from the misfortunes destiny consequences play a large role in this third person shooter inspired by Heart of Darkness (the novel not the 1998 classic PS1 game). What appears to be at a glance a military affair in Dubai, is quickly a morbid and shrouded character driven fight for survival. The gameplayConsequences, Spec Ops is full of them. Whether stemming from moral choices or arising from the misfortunes destiny consequences play a large role in this third person shooter inspired by Heart of Darkness (the novel not the 1998 classic PS1 game). What appears to be at a glance a military affair in Dubai, is quickly a morbid and shrouded character driven fight for survival. The gameplay has slick shooting mechanics and satisfying firearm combat, the brutality of which sells you on the tone this shooter conveys. If only the same could be said for the level design- placing heavy emphasis on killing many soldiers with little deviation other than an occasional gun turret section or a few on rails set pieces. The sandstorms also ratchet up the variety, adding a subtle but unique dynamic. Sand is unfortunately underused though. The presentation of high sky scraper building amidst the ruins of melting hot dessert and the thunderous explosions are exhilerating. Character models look a bit bland but the chemistry between characters is engaging as you really feel the tension and pressure in the game's story. Generally The Line is a decent, functional and brilliantly immersive third person shooter that lacks variety until the very end in terms of mission design. It's a tad more than your typical third person shooter but it's one that portrays the conventions of the genre to the point it feels slightly generic. Even so how often is it do we get a full story driven third person shooter that pushes multiplayer aside? not many. Expand
  9. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    It was a good game I enjoyed it i'm a big fan of yager they took part in Rage.One of the best Developers this is a must buy my friend.Do not pass this up.
  10. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    First the negative part of the game. There was only 1 thing that I was disappointed in. The main character always seemed to have his mouth hanging open and looked like a goober. That being said, the rest of the game was quite enjoyable. The controls were very responsive, the sounds and graphics were very good, and the story was interesting. Overall I would have given the game a higher markFirst the negative part of the game. There was only 1 thing that I was disappointed in. The main character always seemed to have his mouth hanging open and looked like a goober. That being said, the rest of the game was quite enjoyable. The controls were very responsive, the sounds and graphics were very good, and the story was interesting. Overall I would have given the game a higher mark than 8 but forcing me to look like a goober was just not cool Very fun, 3rd person shooter. Expand
  11. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Spec Ops: The Line is a great game, you can't deny that. I just wanted it to be longer, it's quite short, but still, I thought it was amazing, quite underrated if you asked me, one of the best game this gen. Yes, it is that good, please buy it as soon as possible.
  12. Jul 16, 2012
    8
    Spec Ops: The Line is a loose adaptation of Conrad's Heart of Darkness. It starts off like any other shooter: guns ablazing. But, somewhere between the second and third chapter it comes into its own. A thinking man's shooter with a well-acted and introspective script, it's is only let down by conventional shooter tropes. Linearity and waves of enemies serve to break the sense of immersionSpec Ops: The Line is a loose adaptation of Conrad's Heart of Darkness. It starts off like any other shooter: guns ablazing. But, somewhere between the second and third chapter it comes into its own. A thinking man's shooter with a well-acted and introspective script, it's is only let down by conventional shooter tropes. Linearity and waves of enemies serve to break the sense of immersion so expertly crafted by the engaging plot. Ultimately, this is a fun and unique experience in a sea of MWs and BFs. Give it a shot... and you might find one of the more memorable shooters in recent memory. Expand
  13. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    the best storyline and script a shooter has EVER had, the gameplay is a little clunky, but the story was SOO well written that it had me thinking, WHILE SHOOTING! this isn't just a shooter, this is a shooter with a story that makes sense. However, the multiplayer is just average, so I guess that's what makes me give it a 9/10
  14. Dec 29, 2014
    8
    This game opened my eyes and showed me the true morality of almost every single game I have played. It isn't actually the plot that is the selling point, it's how the plot shows that there is no such thing as a hero in war. Behind its contrived title, unimaginative box art and misleading opening acts, there is a truly special experience that holds a mirror up to the industry and invitesThis game opened my eyes and showed me the true morality of almost every single game I have played. It isn't actually the plot that is the selling point, it's how the plot shows that there is no such thing as a hero in war. Behind its contrived title, unimaginative box art and misleading opening acts, there is a truly special experience that holds a mirror up to the industry and invites you to view your military shooter games in an entirely new light- providing you let it Expand
  15. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    I really like this game. The campaign is interesting, challenging, and brutal. The AI is pretty good with flanking. Multiplayer is fun, the maps are well designed and the cover system works. Although a separate button for melee and vault would be nice. It is not without flaws but still a good buy.
  16. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    A refreshing take on your standard third person shooter. Keep in mind you have to play at least half way through the 6 hour campaign before things really get interesting. Up until that point your just shooting and covering a lot telling your team to do as much of the work for you as possible. What gives this game a high score is its eventual story arcs and plot twists. I do not want toA refreshing take on your standard third person shooter. Keep in mind you have to play at least half way through the 6 hour campaign before things really get interesting. Up until that point your just shooting and covering a lot telling your team to do as much of the work for you as possible. What gives this game a high score is its eventual story arcs and plot twists. I do not want to have this review contain spoilers so I will go no further. Hear the full review on the podcast;
    http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/
    Expand
  17. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    Finally. It took long enough but we finally have a shooter with a story worth following. Highly recommended. The graphics are great, the sound design in awesome, the controls are great although I hate the fact that a few buttons do multiple moves causing some problems. The sand is a cool novelty but after a few times you will get over using it as a weapon. The story mode is perfectlyFinally. It took long enough but we finally have a shooter with a story worth following. Highly recommended. The graphics are great, the sound design in awesome, the controls are great although I hate the fact that a few buttons do multiple moves causing some problems. The sand is a cool novelty but after a few times you will get over using it as a weapon. The story mode is perfectly balanced in regards to ammo and set pieces but the difficulty is up and down. As good as the game looks the bloom is overdone at times and after a while the look of the city and desert gets a tad old. The indoor sections mix things up a bit. Multiplayer is just an add on that gets old quickly. But this is a game you will want to play for the single player anyways. Very few games have a story so deep and so emotional. Some of the things you do and see are not for the faint of heart. But this is the direction I wish more games would go. Very few shooters these days are worth playing for their story and luckily, the game is fun enough and interesting enough that you will enjoy seeing where the story goes. Great game. Expand
  18. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    People looked upon this game as a mediocre, paint-by-numbers shooter, and I did too. When you think about it, why shouldn
  19. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    The Spec Ops games are probably one of the best. Nice graphics, good story, good gameplay. Just one wrong. Only a few games section shall walk, nothing else.
    The gameplay is very good for walking outside, and by the way, even the graphics are good.
  20. Jul 14, 2017
    10
    Este videojuego esta tremendamente infravalorado, es una verdadera lastima que videojuegos como este queden a la sombra de otros videojuegos genericos y repetitivos que tienen mucho mejores notas coff coff Modern Warfere 3 y videojuegos como este no merezcan el respeto, las buenas criticas y sobre todo las ventas que merecen, es cierto que es un shooter "genérico" pero eso no importa si laEste videojuego esta tremendamente infravalorado, es una verdadera lastima que videojuegos como este queden a la sombra de otros videojuegos genericos y repetitivos que tienen mucho mejores notas coff coff Modern Warfere 3 y videojuegos como este no merezcan el respeto, las buenas criticas y sobre todo las ventas que merecen, es cierto que es un shooter "genérico" pero eso no importa si la historia que te cuentan hace que te cuestiones tu moralidad y te des cuenta que la guerra no es como el 99% de los Shooters te la cuentan. El tiempo le dará la razón a videojuegos como estos y se convertirán en videojuegos de culto. Expand
  21. Mar 24, 2014
    8
    Spec Ops The Line is not just another shooter. Although the mechanics are not the best, the harrowing, realistic storyline shows you just what the effects of war are.
    With a sizeable campaign and brilliant music design, Spec Ops certainly is outstanding. One thing I especially enjoyed in my playthrough of the game was the hard choices it presents you with in the second half of the game -
    Spec Ops The Line is not just another shooter. Although the mechanics are not the best, the harrowing, realistic storyline shows you just what the effects of war are.
    With a sizeable campaign and brilliant music design, Spec Ops certainly is outstanding. One thing I especially enjoyed in my playthrough of the game was the hard choices it presents you with in the second half of the game - and the outstanding graphical quality.
    I, as a gamer, enjoy multiple-ending games and realistic games. The plotline, unlike other shooters, is unpredictable. It shows that the developers show true thought for the soldiers. A gripping experience, to say the least.
    One other thing I must say is that, on the negative side, the campaign is not quite as good as I have been mentioning until around the one-third or halfway mark. However, if you stick through the relatively uninteresting first part, you find that the game is amazing. It demands highly of your psychology - you truly have to think. It plays on your mind, but it is the kind of game that truly makes you want to play it when you are not.
    This game is certainly in my top ten list, albeit the generic gameplay.
    Expand
  22. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    I picked up Spec Ops: The Line with the expectation of just another generic, basic, third-person shooter. I expected a main character who is a generic, "made to raise the flag" American elite soldier sent into a desert environment to blow sit up in the name of Uncle Sam. I punched myself straight in the balls when I finished it! My mind was blown by the ending. I won't spoil anything, butI picked up Spec Ops: The Line with the expectation of just another generic, basic, third-person shooter. I expected a main character who is a generic, "made to raise the flag" American elite soldier sent into a desert environment to blow sit up in the name of Uncle Sam. I punched myself straight in the balls when I finished it! My mind was blown by the ending. I won't spoil anything, but it was not what I had expected. When you get down to the gameplay, yes it is fairly generic. The closest comparison I can make is with Gears of War: The cover based shooting does feel repetitive at times, but like Gears of War it somehow doesn't feel old, adding new weapons, and new enemies just at the right time to keep you engaged. As the story progresses, it should be noted that the dialogue during combat also changes, as well as the brutality of close quarters execution moves. However, it should be said that the gameplay is very linear, and those seeking a unique gameplay experience should look elsewhere.
    The element that keeps you engaged the most, and putting up with linear cover based shooting is the story. Dubai is destroyed by catastrophic sandstorms, and you and your two comrades from Delta Force go in to locate survivors, then radio for evac, and go home. Obviously that isn't all that happens. The story just continues to unravel deeper, and deeper, keeping you on the edge of your seat, but the real KABOOM! is the endings, which all 4 of them blew my mind. How many third-person shooters have 4 different endings????
    The graphics are fantastic with realistic shadowing, and superb realism in character detail, with increasing levels of fantastic injury detail, and the sound design is very well done, with a very good soundtrack, and mostly unique gun sounds. Overall, this game is a fantastic game. The gameplay doesn't feel old or stale too often, and the story is well done. If you want a unique shooter I highly recommend it. If you want a game solely for the story, there are better games. If you want a game revolutionary gameplay, completely pass this game by.
    A solid 8/10 in my books.
    Expand
  23. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    Spec ops the line, es un obra de arte, solo en historia, en puntos de jubailidad gráficos, sonidos tecnología esta bien. La jugabilidad es mas que simple pero buena. Gráficamente esta bien, con algunos puntos flojos y algunos que otros bugs que son muy lamentables. Pero lo que si vale la pena tener este juego es por la historia y sus giros que te dejan con la boca abierta y con ganas deSpec ops the line, es un obra de arte, solo en historia, en puntos de jubailidad gráficos, sonidos tecnología esta bien. La jugabilidad es mas que simple pero buena. Gráficamente esta bien, con algunos puntos flojos y algunos que otros bugs que son muy lamentables. Pero lo que si vale la pena tener este juego es por la historia y sus giros que te dejan con la boca abierta y con ganas de tirar el Joystick por la ventana. En fin Spec ops es un excelente juego pero con algunas cosas malas que son lo de menos. Y si lo juegas te va a quedar gustando. Expand
  24. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    Spec Ops: The Line may look like a normal third person military shooter but, if you delve deeper into the game, the more you will notice it isn't your usual game. Spec Ops is a game that really makes you think about the decisions you make throughout the game. The story in Spec Ops is one of the best stories I've seen in a game. The characters and voice acting also make the game reallySpec Ops: The Line may look like a normal third person military shooter but, if you delve deeper into the game, the more you will notice it isn't your usual game. Spec Ops is a game that really makes you think about the decisions you make throughout the game. The story in Spec Ops is one of the best stories I've seen in a game. The characters and voice acting also make the game really come to life. I think that the setting of Dubai was a great design choice for the game and really offers a different feel than most games. The action and shooting mechanics all feel great, some of the set piece moments are really awesome. Spec Ops is actually a thinking mans game and is one of the few games that actually made me feel sorry or regret some of the things I did in the game. Yager did a great job on this game and I hope it sells well enough so they could possibly make a sequel. If you like story oriented games and a bit of good action, Spec Ops is the perfect game to play during the summer drought. Expand
  25. May 15, 2014
    9
    WHAT A GREAT GAME
    One of my all-time-favorite
    gorgeous environments
    good shooting
    really original story that is really gonna get you into it
    LOVED IT

    LISTEN, if you dont have it, BUY IT !
  26. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    This is the best story-based shooter I have ever played, and in fact, probably top ten of all time for stories. It forces you to take some truly gruesome actions, all under the guise of having to do the job, to protect the masses. You find yourself emotionally invested as a result, and as the story progresses, you start to feel bad about your decisions, just in time for the next moment ofThis is the best story-based shooter I have ever played, and in fact, probably top ten of all time for stories. It forces you to take some truly gruesome actions, all under the guise of having to do the job, to protect the masses. You find yourself emotionally invested as a result, and as the story progresses, you start to feel bad about your decisions, just in time for the next moment of heroics, to build your ego back up. Well thought-out, interesting characters, and with several twists throughout, you will have no idea what happened once you achieve one of the 4 (yes 4) different endings. With the ability to replay the game at the Chapter level, you can experience all the endings without putting 4 playthroughs in, which is also nice. The only gripe is the AI on Normal mode is a little goofy at times, but overwhelmingly firefights are exciting, fun, and have you looking forward to the next one. The game is beautiful, animation is quite good. This is quite simply a fantastic game. Expand
  27. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    what a great game. the actual gameplay is standard 3rd person shoot with nothing new, but all the controls work well. the story is where this game shines bright like a becon of hope for games every where. they say they drew inspiration from heart of darkness but thats where it ends. spec ops is its own unique take on it and is in no way similar to a Apocalypse Now. I have never played awhat a great game. the actual gameplay is standard 3rd person shoot with nothing new, but all the controls work well. the story is where this game shines bright like a becon of hope for games every where. they say they drew inspiration from heart of darkness but thats where it ends. spec ops is its own unique take on it and is in no way similar to a Apocalypse Now. I have never played a game through twice but this i have. the multiplayer is very basic but it is unique to this game but still enjoyable. anything else will ruin it, so this is a game you need in your collection Expand
  28. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spec Ops: the line is a great game, fantastic storyline and very playable, easy to pick up gameplay. Alright the visuals are not stunning but they still look very good. Although Spec Ops doesn't really bring anything new to the table it is well worth the purchase, the 3rd person genre has plenty to offer and Spec Ops will never be top of the pile but if you like army of two or gears of war, you won't go wrong picking this up. Expand
  29. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    When there are already hundreds of shooters like this already available, Spec Ops: The Line manages to offer a whole new experience. A mysterious and unpredictable plot, brand new game mechanics and a decent enough multiplayer, Spec Ops: The Line should manage to keep you busy this summer.
  30. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    I'd be lying if I said that this game was the best thing since sliced bread. The gunplay, while serviceable, is fairly average, the cover system needs a bit more work and the sand mechanic is simply too contextual to be of any interest. However, the game contains what is quite possibly the most profound story I have EVER experienced in a game. This is story that won't just make youI'd be lying if I said that this game was the best thing since sliced bread. The gunplay, while serviceable, is fairly average, the cover system needs a bit more work and the sand mechanic is simply too contextual to be of any interest. However, the game contains what is quite possibly the most profound story I have EVER experienced in a game. This is story that won't just make you question the motives your character has for fighting, it will ask you in quite a lot of different ways "Why do you enjoy playing these sort of games? Do you enjoy butchering and slaughtering people on screen?". It is a game that will ask you, the player "Do you feel like a hero yet?". Couple this with fantastic environments and you will be in an experience you will NEVER forget. It may not be game of the year, but Spec Ops: The Line might be the most important game of our generation in terms of its story and the questions it asks. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Aug 11, 2012
    70
    Spec Ops: The Line turned out to be a genuinely nice surprise, is designed for people over 18, not only by the constant shooting scenes but also for the tone, mature theme and psychologically demanding posture.
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Aug 8, 2012
    100
    From around the halfway mark onwards, The Line is a gripping, at time harrowing, and unforgettable experience. [Sept 2012, p.66]
  3. Aug 6, 2012
    85
    It may not be winning any awards, that's not to say that this is one of the most captivating shooters currently available to Xbox 360 users. The morality of your choices has never been so well presented as they are in Spec Ops: The Line and for that reason alone it's a game that everyone should experience, if only for a few short hours.