Spider-Man 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 55
  2. Negative: 9 out of 55
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jasons.
    May 7, 2007
    5
    Um...what happened? This is just one example of what has gone wrong with SP3. In SP2 it was a real kick to climb to the top of the Empire State and look around before leaping off to the streets below. You really felt like you were really up that high. Now you go up there and the camera doesn't let you look down like it used to, the vastness of the city is obscured by...smog? I guess. Um...what happened? This is just one example of what has gone wrong with SP3. In SP2 it was a real kick to climb to the top of the Empire State and look around before leaping off to the streets below. You really felt like you were really up that high. Now you go up there and the camera doesn't let you look down like it used to, the vastness of the city is obscured by...smog? I guess. And they placed an annoying challenge icon right at the top where you want to stand and take it all in. The perfect example of improving one thing here, wrecking three things there that were already great. Obviously a company that doesn't take gamer's feedback to heart.... A real shame. Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2013
    6
    It's pretty sad when I actually found the PS2 version to be a better game. This game suffers from the films plot just as much as the other games, but also has the problem of terrible boss fights and even more annoying collectibles. You fight more gangs then villains and the black suit isn't even a game changer in the slightest. While the previous console editions aren't a whole lot better,It's pretty sad when I actually found the PS2 version to be a better game. This game suffers from the films plot just as much as the other games, but also has the problem of terrible boss fights and even more annoying collectibles. You fight more gangs then villains and the black suit isn't even a game changer in the slightest. While the previous console editions aren't a whole lot better, at least the PSP lets you swing on the go. Hop back a console generation for a better game. Expand
  3. AlexS
    May 5, 2007
    7
    At first i found the game was truly a 4/5 out of 10, but i found the more i played the more it grew on me. Some very frustrating missions were a bit of a pain, but after getting used to the 'play cheap or be cheaped' combat, the game picked up a fair bit. The swinging, although surprisingly i preferred the SM2 way (in this one when u pull the right trigger he automatically jumps At first i found the game was truly a 4/5 out of 10, but i found the more i played the more it grew on me. Some very frustrating missions were a bit of a pain, but after getting used to the 'play cheap or be cheaped' combat, the game picked up a fair bit. The swinging, although surprisingly i preferred the SM2 way (in this one when u pull the right trigger he automatically jumps to the swing- a bit kiddified for me, personally), is still a lot of good fun, and smoother than in SM2. The game certainly did not push the boundaries that Spiderman 2 set, and even bastardised the combat system to a grotesque level, but its still generally good fun to swing through. But i feel a lingering thought at the back of my mind that i might well trade it back in for something else within the week :P. Expand
  4. DavidV.
    Jul 31, 2007
    7
    It was pretty good but it didn't add much that wasn't in the previous game. It was fun swinging around the city and fight supervillains, but the robotic citizens and unrealistic gangs brought the game down a bit.
  5. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    I liked the story okay and the web slinging was fun. The controls were good. There could have been better fighting. Not the best game in the world, but it was enjoyable and I finished it.
  6. Aug 30, 2011
    7
    A game that I struggled with a lot at the beginning but once I played it a bit more, I was finding it easier and easier. It is a very creative story that I have found very very entertaining.
  7. Sep 24, 2011
    4
    To be honest as a huge fan of Spider-man I am just saddened to say that Spider-man 3 was a major let down. First of all nothing much has changed from Spider-man 2 and instead of adding more side stuff they reduced it. Now the side quests just consist of going out there talking to civilians and than beating up criminals, chasing them in a car beating their car and than beating them up andTo be honest as a huge fan of Spider-man I am just saddened to say that Spider-man 3 was a major let down. First of all nothing much has changed from Spider-man 2 and instead of adding more side stuff they reduced it. Now the side quests just consist of going out there talking to civilians and than beating up criminals, chasing them in a car beating their car and than beating them up and defusing bombs. I gotta admit defusing bombs was kind of cool but also got repetitive really fast. Plus there are no random events in the game unlike Spiderman 2, those random encounters show that any crime can happen in the city at any time and its up to Spider0man to stop it and that actually added to the feel of being spider-man but this game just threw all that out of the water. Plus the game has so many bugs its almost laughable. Ofcourse than comes the main storyline which doesn't exactly follow the movie's story and adds some new and bland villains which nobody really cares about fighting. And compared to spider man 2 once again the story is really short I beat in like 4 hours in one sitting and Spiderman 2 took me like 12 and 13 hours to complete thats how much they toned down and shortened this game. The main missions are nothing great some of them are fun but once again just like the rest of the game they get repetitive really fast. However I still see some good things about this game, the boss battles have been done really well and have been improved from Spider-man 2, but there are not that many boss battles in the game which is sad as they could have really added to the game. The game also allows you to put on the black spidey suite which just increases your health and the amount of damage you can inflict and take. Spidey is really waay overpowered when he puts that suit on which really kills any difficulty the game has to offer because if a boss fight or any other fight is going on way to long, you can just push a button and get into the black suite and destroy everyone. The game's music is good and builds up the mood and the voice is unsurprisingly good as it is done by the same actors who acted in the movie. I think the combat and swinging have been made easy and simplified which is not really a problem for me as it is really easy to get used to them unlike Spider-man 2. The graphics are just bad, I am sorry they are, the buildings look like large blocks, the character models look wooden and stiff, the animations look really awful. And to be honest this is the first game I have seen in which the cutscenes look worse than the actual game that is just a shame. In the end I must say Spider-man 3 had so much potential and could have been another great movie game like like Spider-man 2 and it could have proven that movie based games can be actually be really good but it is clear that lack of effort was put into making this game as the game clearly seems rushed and considering this was made for a multiple number of consoles that is no surprise. I really wanted to like this game but it is so half a**ed, toned down and unfinished that it is hard for even a huge fan of Spider-man like myself to like it. Sad to say that this game is an insult to the name of Spider-man. 4/10 Collapse
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 61
  2. Negative: 5 out of 61
  1. Remember how good Spider-Man 2 was? Hang onto that feeling by not playing this game.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    63
    Webslingin' remains the selling point, but the combat--although built from the ground up for this game--still consists of random button mashing. [July 2007, p.88]
  3. New York looks great, but the camera inconsistencies and helter-skelter gameplay flow takes away all the good will that Spider-Man 2: The Game had built.